DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1 & 3-5 were rejected in the office action mailed 2/26/2026. Claims 1 & 3-5 are pending in the application and are presently examined.
Response to Amendment / Arguments
The 5/21/2026 amendment, in response to the 2/26/2026 office action, has been entered. Applicant's arguments and amendments overcame the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections based on US20110244304A1 (Shinyashiki) figures 3, 5, & 7. The present claims; however, remain rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 based on Shinyashiki figures 5, 7, & 14-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1 & 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20110244304A1 (Shinyashiki).
With regard to claim 1, Shinyashiki teaches the following limitations:
A secondary battery (paragraph 2: lithium-ion battery), comprising:
an electrode assembly (paragraphs 44 & 65; figures 7 & 15: stacked electrode assembly 10) in which a positive electrode (paragraph 44s 44 & 65; figures 7 & 15: positive electrode plate 1) and a negative electrode (paragraphs 44 & 65; figures 7 & 15: negative electrode plate 2) are stacked with a separator (paragraph 44; figure 7: separator 3. paragraph 65; figures 14-15: separator 30) interposed therebetween, wherein
the separator (3, 30) consists of a first layer (paragraph 65; figures 14-15: polyethylene heat-melting layer 30M) and a second layer (paragraph 65; figures 14-15: aramid resin) having a thermal shrinkage rate smaller than that of the first layer (Polyethylene CTE = 108 to 200 x 10-6 m/(m*oC)1. Aramid resin CTE = -2 to +2 x 10-6 m/(m*oC)2. Low CTE = low thermal shrinkage rate.), and has a tubular portion that is formed into a tubular shape (Figure A below) by the separator (3, 30) being disposed along side surfaces of the electrode assembly, to form outermost surfaces (Figure A below) of the electrode assembly (10),
Figure A: Annotated Shinyashiki Figure 7
the first layer (30M) placed in physical contact (Figure B below) with the negative electrode (2), and the second layer (30R) placed in physical contact (Figure B below) with the positive electrode (1)
in the tubular portion (Figure A above), the first layer faces an inner side and the second layer faces an outer side (Figure B below),
Figure B: Annotated Shinyashiki Figure 15
the first layer is a resin layer (paragraph 65; figures 14-15: polyethylene heat-melting layer 30M), and the second layer essentially consists of a resin (paragraph 65; figures 14-15: aramid resin) having a higher melting point or softening point than that of a resin forming the first layer (see discussion below), the resin of the second layer including at least one selected from the group consisting of an aramid resin (paragraph 65; figures 14-15: aramid resin)…
The following table shows that Shinyashiki’s heat-resistant layer 30R, with aramid resin, has a higher melting point or softening point than Shinyashiki’s heat-melting layer 30M, with polyethylene.
Claim
Layer
Material
melting point oC
first layer
heat-melting layer 30M
polyethylene
110 – 120 oC 3
second layer
heat-resistant layer 3R
aramid resin
500 oC 4
With regard to claim 3, Shinyashiki teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Shinyashiki also teaches the following claim 3 limitation:
the second layer faces the positive electrode (Figure B above)
With regard to claim 4, Shinyashiki teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Shinyashiki also teaches the following claim 4 limitations:
the positive electrode (1) consists of a plurality of positive electrodes (figures 5 & 7) and the negative electrode (2) consists of a plurality of negative electrodes (figures 5 & 7), and
the electrode assembly (10) has a stacking structure in which one sheet of the separator (3) folded in a zigzag shape (paragraph 44; figures 5 & 7) is interposed between the plurality of positive electrodes (1) and the plurality of negative electrodes (1), and the tubular portion is formed by the one sheet of the separator (figures 5 & 7)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20110244304A1 (Shinyashiki), with regard to claim 1, and further in view of US20020018930A1 (Hamano). Shinyashiki fails to teach the following claim 5 limitation, which is taught by Hamano:
an adhesive layer bonded to the positive electrode or the negative electrode and formed on at least one surface of the separator
Hamano teaches “bonding the positive electrode active material layer 7 and the negative electrode active material layer 9 to the separator 4 by a porous adhesive resin layer 11” (abstract, figure 1). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Shinyashiki’s separator to be bonded to the positive electrode or to the negative electrode 24 by an adhesive, as taught by Hamano, for securing these components together.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721
1 https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/linear-expansion-coefficients-d_95.html
2 https://www.suretex-aramid.com/blog/what-is-the-coefficient-of-thermal-expansion-of-fr-aramid-fiber-fabric-953989.html
3 https://www.xometry.com/resources/materials/polypropylene-vs-polyethylene/
4 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aramid