DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hamazaki (JP 2018-199765A, attached with English translation).
Regarding claims 21 and 24, Hamazaki teaches a block copolymer comprising a hydrophobic silicone block and a hydrophilic polyethylene glycol (PEG)-containing block (Abstract).
The hydrophobic block is formed from a monomer represented by general formula (I):
where R1 is hydrogen or methyl; R2 is an alkylene group having 1-10 carbon atoms (i.e., a divalent organic linking group); and R3 is an alkyl group having 1-4 carbon atoms (p. 1-2, [0007]-[0008]). The terminus of this monomer reads on the claimed formula where R is methyl or C1-C4 alkyl; n=1; and R’ is methyl.
The hydrophilic PEG-containing block is formed from monomers according to formula (II) and (III):
where R4 and R6 are hydrogen or methyl; R5 is an alkyl group having 1-12 carbon atoms; R7 is an alkyl group having 1-18 carbon atoms; and m is an integer of 1-50 (p. 2, [0008]-[0010]). Formulas (II) and (III) read on the claimed monomers (a2-1) and (a2-2), respectively.
Additionally, Manufacturing Example 4 illustrates a method in which a first block of ethyl acrylate (corresponding to the claimed monomer a2-1) and methoxy polyethylene glycol monomethacrylate (corresponding to monomer a2-2) is formed via ATRP; and a second block is subsequently formed from a silicone-containing monomer X-22-174BX containing a functional group corresponding to the claimed formula where n=1 and R and R’=methyl.
Both Hamazaki’s broader disclosure as described above and the product of Manufacturing Example 4 anticipate the structure and composition claimed in claims 21 and 24.
Regarding claim 21, Hamazaki further teaches that the polymer may be used in a coating as a leveling agent, in amounts ranging from 0.01 to 5% by weight (p. 4-5, [0023] and [0025]). This range overlaps the claimed range of 0.0001 to 10 parts by mass relative to 100 total parts of coating with sufficient specificity to anticipate the claimed range. A prima facie case of anticipation exists where the prior art discloses a range which overlaps the claimed range. See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 24, Hamazaki further teaches synthesis of the claimed composition using ATRP (p. 4, [0022]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamazaki, and further in view of Kimiyuki (CN 101910945 A, attached with English translation). All references have been cited in a prior Office Action.
However, Hamazaki is silent as to use of a monomer of formula a1-1. In the same field of endeavor, Kimiyuki teaches use of the below monomer (pages 5 and 62, [0033]), which satisfies the limitations of claims 15-16:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Hamazaki with the monomer of Kimiyuki to arrive at the claimed invention, and to control the monomer’s susceptibility to hydrolysis, as taught by Kimiyuki (p. 5, [0033]).
However, Hamazaki is silent as to use of the composition in conjunction with an alkali-soluble resin for a resist composition. In the same field of endeavor, Kimiyuki teaches use of a similar composition (of the structure of claims 15-16) in a resist coating that contains an alkali developer solution (p. 39, [0234]) and a polymeric surfactant (p. 40, [0238]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the composition of Hamazaki with the resist coating of Kimiyuki to arrive at the claimed invention, and to provide a photosensitive resist layer that contains almost no volatile components, as taught by Kimiyuki (p. 39, [0232]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-20, 23, and 25-33 are allowable.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The closest prior art is Hamazaki and Kimiyuki. The combined references teach structures very similar to the claimed structure. However, in light of the recent amendment to the claims, wherein n is an integer from 3-4, Hamazaki and Kimiyuki no longer teach structures which read on the structure of claim 14 and its dependents. No further prior art has been located that teaches the structure as claimed in the amended claim set. The affidavit filed 02 February 2026 further supports the allowability of claims 14-20, 23, and 25-33. As such, the instant claims contain a limitation not found in the prior art, and are allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, filed 02 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 14-20, 23, and 25-33 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in light of the recent amendments to the claims. All rejections of claims 14-20, 23, and 25-33 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been withdrawn.
Regarding claims 21, 22, and 24, the affidavit filed 02 February 2026 differentiates the claimed composition in cases where n=3 or 4. Claims 21, 22, and 24 continue to include the embodiment where n=2. Further, claims 21, 22, and 24 have not been modified in any way, and Applicant’s arguments refer solely to the amended structure of monomer (a2-2), which is amended in claim 14, but not present in claims 21, 22, or 24. As such, the claims and arguments fail to overcome the rejection of record.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ELIZABETH K. AMATO
Examiner
Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762