DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 10/14/2025 have been entered. Accordingly, claims 14-25 remain pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 14, 22 and 25, Applicant argues on pages 8-9 of the remarks that Ashihara does not disclose a horizontally drive attachment arm, as now recited by the claims, noting that Ashihara’s attachment arm 20R is oriented vertically. While the Examiner agrees that Ashiara’s arm 20R is shown as a vertical member, the Examiner notes that the amended claims recite “horizontally driven attachment arm”, therefore only requiring the attachment arm to be driven horizontally, with no language requiring the attachment arm to be distinctly oriented horizontally. Therefore, as Ashihara’s attachment arm 20R is intended to assist the user in a walking motion, the attachment arm 20R is driven in a horizontal direction.
Regarding the 112a rejections previously set forth in the non-final office action, Applicant argues on page 7 of the remarks that the specification provides support for the concept of a “weight support device” and “parking positions”. Regarding the term “weight support device”, the Examiner maintains Applicant’s disclosure lacks support for this term. The Examiner again notes Applicant’s specification and Figures merely show the “weight supporting device” as a blank box 40, and is void of any further structural description that describes how the weight supporting device is connected to a user. Regarding the term “parking positions”, the Examiner maintains Applicant’s disclosure lacks any description of what is meant by “parking positions”. Applicant argues that the parking positions are mentioned as positions of the driven attachment arm on one side behind the user in the walking direction and of the guiding arm on the other side of the walking direction, however the claim recites “pivoting the driven attachment arm and the guiding attachment arm to one side or two opposing sides towards one or two parking positions in view of the walking direction”, therefore suggesting the parking position may be the orientation of the user with respect to the apparatus, the orientation of the apparatus with respect to the user.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “weight supporting device” in claims 1, 17, 22-23, and 25.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 17, 22-23, and 25, and thus their dependent claims, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 17, 22-23, and 25 all recite the limitation of “weight supporting device” however there is no description provided in Applicant’s specification as to what structural components the “weight supporting device” is comprised of, nor how the “weight supporting device” is capable of supporting a weight of the user. Furthermore, Applicant’s Figures merely show the “weight supporting device” as a blank box, therefore the Figures are also lacking any description as to how the “weight supporting device” is functionally supporting any weight. For the purpose of Examination, the Examiner has taken this limitation to mean any structural component capable of supporting any amount of user weight.
Furthermore, claim 25 recites the method steps of “pivoting the driven attachment arm and the guiding attachment arm to one side or to two opposing sides towards one or two parking positions in view of the walking direction into vicinity of the side weight supporting device(s), - moving the user from behind the one or two side weight supporting device(s) in view of the walking direction until the user is with his back in front of the harness attachment, pivoting the driven attachment arm and the guiding attachment arm from the parking positions in a use position for attaching the harness attachment with the harness of the user and, when the parking positions are separated on two sides, connecting the driven attachment arm and the guiding attachment arm at a rotative connection point at the free ends of both the driven attachment arm and the guiding attachment arm”. However, there is no description and/or Figures shown in Applicant’s specification that provides any details about what is meant by the term “parking position”. Is the term “parking position” in reference to the orientation of the user with respect to the apparatus, the orientation of the apparatus with reference to the user, or something else entirely? As it is unclear what is meant by these method steps, claim 25 cannot be properly rejected with prior art. Second, where there is a great deal of confusion and uncertainty as to the proper interpretation of the limitations of a claim, it would not be proper to reject such a claim on the basis of prior art. As stated in In re Steele, 305 F.2d 859, 134 USPQ 292 (CCPA 1962), a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should not be based on considerable speculation about the meaning of terms employed in a claim or assumptions that must be made as to the scope of the claims. MPEP 2173.06 II.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ashihara (EP 1728492 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Ashihara discloses a user attachment for an apparatus for gait and balance rehabilitation providing a possibility for a user to receive support during walking in a walking direction (apparatus 1A assists movement of a lower limb while the user P is walking, Figures 10A-10B, Abstract and Paragraph 0102), comprising a harness attachable to the body of the user (body attachment harness 10, Abstract and Figures 1-2), a horizontally driven attachment arm (lower limb link 20R, Figure 4 and Paragraph 0056; as Ashihara’s attachment arm 20R is intended to assist the user in a walking motion, the attachment arm 20R is driven in a horizontal direction) configured to be attached at a weight supporting device (the links for lower limb 20R, the foot attachments 30R and the drive units 50R are all structurally configured to support a part of the weight of the user P transferred to each of them via the body attachment 10, Paragraph 0070; therefore as the lower limb 20R is attached to both drive unit 50R and foot attachment 30R, it is attached to a weight supporting device, Figure 4; the Examiner also notes the 112a rejection above for this particular limitation) and which can be detachably connected with the harness having a harness attachment (limb link 20R configured to be detachably connected with harness 10 via mounting member 13R, Figures 4-5 and Paragraph 0045), wherein the horizontally driven attachment arm is connected via a linkage assembly (limb link 20R comprises links 22R, 24R, Figure 4 and Paragraph 0056) which comprises a linkage attachment arm, (22R, Figure 4) with the harness attachment (22R attached to harness 10 at mounting member 13R, Figures 4-5), and in that the user attachment further comprises a guiding attachment arm (50R comprised of links 51R and 53, Figure 4) configured to be attached at the weight supporting device (the links for lower limb 20R, the foot attachments 30R and the drive units 50R are all structurally configured to support a part of the weight of the user P transferred to each of them via the body attachment 10, Paragraph 0070; therefore as the drive unit 50R is attached to both the lower limb link 20R and foot attachment 30R, it is attached to a weight supporting device, Figure 4; the Examiner also notes the 112a rejection above for this particular limitation) and which is rotatably connected with the harness attachment (drive unit 50R rotatably connected with mounting member 13R on harness 10, Figures 4-5 and Paragraph 0045) or the linkage attachment arm for a rotative connection of the driven attachment arm with the guiding attachment arm (drive unit arm 50R in rotative connection with the lower limb link 20R via actuator 42R, Figure 7) wherein the horizontally driven attachment arm (20R, Figure 4) comprises a support arm (24R, Figure 4) and a linkage arm (link 22R, Figure 7), wherein the support arm is configured to be rotatably attached on a first rotation axis at the weight supporting device at one end (link 24R configured to rotatably attached on a first rotation axis 25R at the foot attachment 30, Figure 4) and provides a second rotation axis at its other end (link 24R provides a second rotational axis 23R at opposing end, Figure 4), wherein the linkage arm is rotatably connected at the second rotation axis with the support arm at one end (link 22R is rotatably connected at the second rotational axis 23R with 24R at one end, Figure 4) and provides a third rotation axis at its other end (link 22R provides a third rotational axis 21R at its other end, Figure 7), wherein the harness attachment is rotatably connected at the third rotation axis (the harness 10 is rotatably connected at the third rotational axis 21R, Figure 4).
Regarding claim 15, Ashihara further discloses wherein the horizontally driven attachment arm (20R comprising 22R and 24R, Figure 7; as Ashihara’s attachment arm 20R is intended to assist the user in a walking motion, the attachment arm 20R is driven in a horizontal direction) comprises a force transmitting parallelogram mechanism (see the parallelogram formed by 22R and 53R, Figures 9A-9C; a drive force generated by the actuator 42R is transferred to the limb link 20R, Paragraph 0083), wherein the force transmitting parallelogram mechanism is connected between the first rotation axis and the harness attachment for orienting the harness attachment and an attached harness (parallelogram formed by 22R and 53R connected between the first rotation axis 25R and the mounting member 13R of the harness 10, Figures 9A-9C).
Regarding claim 16, Ashihara further discloses wherein the force transmitting parallelogram mechanism has a parallelogram arm connected at the first rotation axis (parallelogram formed by 22R and 53R connected between the first rotation axis 25R and the mounting member 13R of the harness 10, Figures 9A-9C and 10A), wherein said parallelogram arm is fixed, passively rotating or actively driven (see Figures 9A-9C showing the parallelogram formed from the links being actively driven).
Regarding claim 17, Ashihara further discloses wherein the guiding attachment arm (50R comprised of links 51R and 53R, Figure 4 and Paragraph 0083) comprises a support arm (53R, Figure 4) and a linkage guiding arm (51R, Figure 4), wherein the support arm is configured to be rotatably attached on a fourth rotation axis at the weight supporting device at one end (link 53 rotatably attached on fourth rotational axis at 54R, Figure 4; the links for lower limb 20R, the foot attachments 30R and the drive units 50R are all structurally configured to support a part of the weight of the user P transferred to each of them via the body attachment 10, Paragraph 0070; therefore as the drive unit 50R is attached to both the lower limb link 20R and foot attachment 30R, it is attached to a weight supporting device, Figure 4; the Examiner also notes the 112a rejection above for this particular limitation) and provides a fifth rotation axis at its other end, (link 53 provides a fifth rotational axis at its other end 52R, Figure 4) wherein the linkage guiding arm is rotatably connected at the fifth rotation axis with the support arm at one end (51R is rotatably connected at the fifth rotational axis 52R with the link 53R at one end, Figure 4) and provides a rotatable connection at its other end being connected with the harness attachment (link 51R provides a rotatable connection at its other end connected to harness 10, Figure 4) or with the linkage attachment arm for said rotative connection of the horizontally driven attachment arm with the guiding attachment arm (50R and 20R in rotational communication with one another, Figure 7).
Regarding claim 18, Ashihara further discloses wherein none, one or at least two of the first, second, fourth and fifth rotation axis are driven axes (all rotational axes 52R, 54R, 21R, 23R, and 25R are all driven by the hip joint actuator 41R/41L which is an electric motor, Figure 4 and Paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 19, Ashihara further discloses wherein the fourth rotation axis (54R, Figure 4) is parallel to the first rotation axis (54R parallel with 25R, Figure 4) and wherein the two axes are essentially vertical (see axes 54R and 25R being essentially vertical, Figure 4).
Regarding claim 21, Ashihara further discloses wherein one or two of the first rotation axis and the fourth rotation axis comprise torque sensors (load sensors 10aL and 10aR detects the load imposed by the user P via the body attachment 10 on the link 20R and the drive unit 50R, which comprise the first rotational axis 25R and fourth rotational axis 54R, respectively, Figure 5B and Paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 22, Ashihara discloses an apparatus for gait and balance rehabilitation comprising a main frame providing a possibility for a user to receive support during walking in a walking direction within this main frame (apparatus 1A assists movement of a lower limb while the user P is walking, Figures 10A-10B, Abstract and Paragraph 0102; “main frame” being the waist belt 11 comprising upper leg belts 12L and 12R, reinforcement members 14L and 14R, anti-loosening belts 15, of which the user is received within, Figure 5 and Paragraph 0045), a harness attachable to the body of the user (body attachment harness 10, Abstract and Figures 1-2), a weight supporting device (the links for lower limb 20R, the foot attachments 30R and the drive units 50R are all structurally configured to support a part of the weight of the user P transferred to each of them via the body attachment 10, Paragraph 0070; therefore 20R, 30R and 50R all capable of being a weight supporting device; the Examiner also notes the 112a rejection above for this particular limitation), a horizontally driven attachment arm (lower limb link 20R, Figure 4 and Paragraph 0056; as Ashihara’s attachment arm 20R is intended to assist the user in a walking motion, the attachment arm 20R is driven in a horizontal direction) attached at the weight supporting device (the links for lower limb 20R, the foot attachments 30R and the drive units 50R are all structurally configured to support a part of the weight of the user P transferred to each of them via the body attachment 10, Paragraph 0070; therefore as the lower limb 20R is attached to both drive unit 50R and foot attachment 30R, it is attached to a weight supporting device, Figure 4; the Examiner also notes the 112a rejection above for this particular limitation) and which can be detachably connected with the harness having a harness attachment (limb link 20R configured to be detachably connected with harness 10 via mounting member 13R, Figures 4-5 and Paragraph 0045), further comprising a user attachment (upper leg belts 12L and 12R, reinforcement members 14L and 14R, anti-loosening belts 15, of which the user is received within, Figure 5 and Paragraph 0045), wherein the horizontally driven attachment arm is connected via a linkage assembly (limb link 20R comprises links 22R, 24R, Figure 4 and Paragraph 0056), which comprises a linkage attachment arm (22R, Figure 4), with the harness attachment (22R attached to harness 10 at mounting member 13R, Figures 4-5), and wherein the user attachment further comprises a guiding attachment arm (50R comprised of links 51R and 53, Figure 4) configured to be attached at the weight supporting device (the links for lower limb 20R, the foot attachments 30R and the drive units 50R are all structurally configured to support a part of the weight of the user P transferred to each of them via the body attachment 10, Paragraph 0070; therefore as the drive unit 50R is attached to both the lower limb link 20R and foot attachment 30R, it is attached to a weight supporting device, Figure 4; the Examiner also notes the 112a rejection above for this particular limitation) and which is rotatably connected with the harness attachment (drive unit 50R rotatably connected with mounting member 13R on harness 10, Figures 4-5 and Paragraph 0045) or the linkage attachment arm for a rotative connection of the horizontally driven attachment arm with the guiding attachment arm (drive unit arm 50R in rotative connection with the lower limb link 20R via actuator 42R, Figure 7), wherein the horizontally driven attachment arm comprises a support arm (24R, Figure 4) and a linkage arm (link 22R, Figure 7), wherein the support arm is configured to be rotatably attached on a first rotation axis at the weight supporting device at one end (link 24R configured to rotatably attached on a first rotation axis 25R at the foot attachment 30, Figure 4) and provides a second rotation axis at its other end (link 24R provides a second rotational axis 23R at opposing end, Figure 4), wherein the linkage arm is rotatably connected at the second rotation axis with the support arm at one end (link 22R is rotatably connected at the second rotational axis 23R with 24R at one end, Figure 4) and provides a third rotation axis at its other end (link 22R provides a third rotational axis 21R at its other end, Figure 7), wherein the harness attachment element is rotatably connected at the third rotation axis (the harness 10 is rotatably connected at the third rotational axis 21R, Figure 4).
Regarding claim 23, Ashihara further discloses wherein the weight supporting device (the links for lower limb 20R, the foot attachments 30R and the drive units 50R are all structurally configured to support a part of the weight of the user P transferred to each of them via the body attachment 10, Paragraph 0070; therefore 20R, 30R and 50R all capable of being a weight supporting device; the Examiner also notes the 112a rejection above for this particular limitation), comprises a first weight supporting unit (left foot attachment 30L, Figure 2) and a second weight supporting unit (right foot attachment 30L, Figure 2), wherein the horizontally driven attachment arm is attached at the first supporting unit (20R attached at both foot attachments 30L and 30R, Figures 2-3) and the guiding attachment arm is attached at the second weight supporting unit (50R attached at both foot attachments 30L and 30R via link 24L, Figures 2-3), wherein the horizontally driven attachment arm with the guiding attachment arm are attached at the first weight supporting unit and the second weight supporting unit respectively in a distance one from the other in a transverse direction in view of the intended walking direction of a user (see transverse distance between left and right foot attachments 30R and 30L, Figure 2).
Regarding claim 24, Ashihara further discloses wherein the connection between the guiding attachment arm and the horizontally driven attachment arm at either the harness attachment or the linkage attachment arm is detachable (both 50R and 20R are detachable with the harness 11 via the mounting members 13R, 13L, Figures 4-5A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ashihara (EP 1728492 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Ashihara teaches the user attachment according to claim 17, however the embodiment shown in Figures 1-10A is silent wherein the first rotation axis of the horizontally driven attachment arm as well as the fourth rotation axis of the guiding attachment arm are concentric one to the other.
However, Ashihara teaches an alternative embodiment of the walking assistance device (Figure 10B) wherein the first rotational axis of the driven attachment arm and the fourth axis of the guiding attachment are merged together as one, therefore are concentric with one another (see rotational axes merged at concentric axis 42R, Figure 10B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment shown in Figure 10A of Ashihara with the embodiment shown in Figure 10B of Ashihara, as having the two rotational axes merge together to form concentric axes with one another would provide a device with less overall components, potentially reducing the overall manufacturing time and costs.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SARAH B LEDERER/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/MARGARET M LUARCA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785