DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 18, 19, 20 and claims bellow are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20160033644 A1 in view of D0 US 10950743 B2.
Regarding claim 1 D1 teaches
1. A method of measuring a distance using a time of flight sensor comprising a substantially transparent cover covering a light emitter and one or more photodetectors, the method comprising:
emitting a series of pulses of light from the light emitter; [0008]
using the one or more photodetectors to obtain a distribution of times at which at least one photodetector of the one or more photodetectors detected photons after each emission of the series of pulses of light; and(claim 1)
analyzing the single peak to determine if (conditional limitation may never happen)the single peak includes counts of photons reflected from a target[[,]] and measuring the separation between a reference time and a point of the single peak based on the distribution of times comprises only a single peak including counts of photons reflected from a target, and
but does not teach
measuring the separation in time between the earliest peak and at least one of the one or more other peaks based on the distribution comprises two or more separate peaks.
D0 teaches
measuring the separation in time between the earliest peak and at least one of the one or more other peaks based on the distribution comprises two or more separate peaks.(col 1 47-col 2 line 8)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D0 in order to obtain time of flight.
11. A method according to claim 1 wherein the distribution is a histogram with time intervals on an x-axis and counted detections on a y-axis.(fig. 3)
10. A method according to claim 1 wherein the series of pulses of light comprises at least 75,000 pulses of light.(obvious design choice which is based on beam intensity and desired signal strength)
12. A method according to claim 1 wherein peaks are parts of the distribution above a predetermined threshold.(implicit during signal should be above background)
14. A method according to claim 1 wherein the light emitter is a vertical-cavity surface- emitting laser.[0086]
15. A method according to claim 1 wherein each of the one or more photodetectors is a single photon avalanche diode.[0005]
16. A method according to claim 1 wherein the one or more photodetectors are a plurality of photodetectors, and are used to obtain a plurality of distributions, each distribution being the distribution of times at which one or more photodetectors of the plurality of photodetectors detected photons after each emission of the emissions of the pulses of light.[0005]
Although D1 does not explicitly teach
17. A method according to claim 1, wherein the light emitter forms part of an optical stack and where the method calibrates the time of flight sensor in conjunction with the optical stack.
Using optical stack as an emitter is just obvious design choice and calibrating it with respect to the sensor is just a normal procedure in order to obtain correct time of flight.
Claim 2-4 do not have patentable weight as based on conditional limitation of claim 1 but in any case it is well known as evidenced by the PCT office action provided with current Application.
2. A method according to claim 1 wherein analyzing the single peak(continuation of the conditional limitation as number of peaks can be more than one ) to determine if it includes counts of photons reflected from a target comprises comparing one or more parameters of the peak to one or more parameters of a reference peak of a reference distribution of times obtained by:
emitting a series of pulses of light from the light emitter with no objects within a range and field of view of the at least one photodetectors; and
using the one or more photodetectors to obtain the reference distribution of times at which the at least one photodetector of the one or more photodetectors detected photons after each emission of the series of pulses of light.
3. A method according to claim 2 wherein the one or more parameters of the reference peak include the total number of photons detected in the reference peak and the time in the distribution at which the reference peak is located.
4. A method according to claim 3 wherein a background or noise level of the distribution comprising the single peak is added to the reference peak or subtracted from the single peak prior to said comparing.
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20160033644 A1 in view of D0 US 10950743 B2 further in view of D3 US 20180299552 A1.
Although D1 does not explicitly say
6. A method according to claim 1 wherein the times at which the at least one photodetector detected photons are relative to an emission of one of the series of pulses of light during or immediately (does it mean that detection period should start right after transmission ? otherwise fig 11 shows multiple time bins within the receive period) preceding a detection period in which the photon was detected.(implicit/obvious depending on the interpretation fig.11)[0052+0072]
7. A method according to claim 1 wherein the distribution is obtained in a plurality of periods each containing the emission of one of the pulses of light, each period being divided into an identical series of time intervals relative to the emission contained therein.[0163]
This is just repetition of the transmission reception cycles and then combining the results into a histogram which is commonly done for low intensity signals .
8. A method according to claim 7 wherein the distributions of times is obtained by counting a total number of photons detected by the at least one photodetectors during all of the of time intervals at each of a plurality of times relative to the emission during the detection period comprising that time interval.[0163]
9. A method according to claim 8 wherein a counted number of photons detected by the one or more photodetectors during all of the time intervals at each of the plurality of times are or contribute to values of the distribution for time intervals at the plurality of times.[0163-164]
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D0 with teachings by D1 in order to accumulate enough signal in order to separate signal from noise.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1 US 20160033644 A1 in view of D0 US 10950743 B2 further in view of D2 US 20180259645 A1.
Regarding claim 5 D1 does not teach but Dt teaches
5. A method according to claim 1 wherein the distribution of times is a distribution of times at which at least one photodetector of the one or more photodetectors detected photons before, during and after each emission of the series of pulses of light.(fig. 3)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art at the time of filing to modify teachings by D1 with teaching by D3 in order to detect background light.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645