DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 03/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant contends on page 2 of remarks that:
“Applicants respectfully submit that Shenzhen fails to teach "wherein the method comprises generating at a fixed second x,y-position the stack with layers having a layer height (H), thereby providing the stack with a second stack height (H12) at the fixed second x,y position, wherein height variations of each layer of the stack of layers are compensated by gradually changing one or more layer heights to provide a constant total stack height or a total stack height of 0.9 H12/H to provide spatially varying optical effects in combination with light transmissive polymeric thermoplastic material," as claimed above."
The examiner disagrees. While modified Shenzhen is not specific about varying the layer height to provide spatially varying optical effects in combination with light transmissive polymeric thermoplastic material, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the layer thickness ratio to achieve a desired aesthetic effect as taught by Hikmet (page 10, lines 28-34- page 11, lines 1-10) and the method of modified Shenzhen is capable of controlling the layer relationship as claimed which would inherently result in optical effects when used with light transmissive polymeric thermoplastic material as Hikmet teaches (ABS “optical component” “luminaire”, page 3, lines 1-10 and 14-20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenzhen of record (CN110271183A) in view of Hikmet of record (WO2018224395A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Shenzhen teaches a method and a device for forming a micro-layer thickness of a three-dimensional object (P0009) which is construed to be a method for producing a 3D item by means of fused deposition modelling using a 3D printer.
Shenzhen teaches a printing substrate (P0026) which meets the limitation of a 3D printing stage and Shenzhen further teaches a molten linear material having a slightly variable line width and a slightly variable line height, and the resulting fusion surface of the N+1 layer and the N layer is a curved surface, mainly because the linear material is heated and melted and then on the platform as needed. The fusion deposition on the same level is performed to generate a thin layer of a three-dimensional object having a micro-thickness layer, and then the same layer of fusion deposition and superposition fusion are deposited on the upper micro-thickness layer on-demand. A thin layer of micro-thickness is formed in the next layer, and a structure having a plurality of micro-thickness-thick sheets is gradually formed, thereby constructing a desired three-dimensional object having a micro-layer thickness (P0027) which meets the limitation of a stack of layers of a 3D printed material is generated by layer-wise depositing an extrudate from 3D printable material providing each layer of the stack with a non-constant layer height (H), wherein at a fixed first x,y-position: (i) the layer height (H) increases for consecutive layers and then the layer height (H) decreases for consecutive layers, or (ii) the layer height (H) decreases for consecutive layers and then the layer height (H) increases for consecutive layers.
Annotated Figure 3 of Shenzen
Shenzhen teaches a method of 3D printing but is silent to at least part of the 3D printable material comprising a light transmissive polymeric thermoplastic material to show optical effects and controlling the optical effects by a printing method.
Hikmet, in the same field of endeavor, 3D printing, teaches at least part of the 3D printable material comprising a light transmissive polymeric thermoplastic material to show optical effects and controlling the optical effects by a printing method (ABS “optical component” “luminaire”, page 3, lines 1-10 and 14-20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light transmissive polymeric thermoplastic material in a 3D printing method for the purpose of creating an aesthetically pleasing visual effect as taught by Hikmet (page 2, lines 9-11).
While modified Shenzhen is not specific about the ratio of layer thickness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the layer thickness ratio to achieve a desired aesthetic effect as taught by Hikmet (page 10, lines 28-34- page 11, lines 1-10) and the method of modified Shenzhen is capable of controlling the layer relationship as claimed such as gradually changing one or more layer heights to provide a constant total stack height (fig.3). The height variations of each layer of the stack of layers of Shenzhen appear to be compensated to provide a total stack height of 0.9 ≤ H12/H11 ≤1 which is relatively constant (fig.3 above).
Regarding claim 4, Hikmet teaches wherein the polygonal cross-section of the core portion 15 rotates or spirals within the enveloping shell portion 13 in order to create such a locally dependent optical effects (page 13 lines 33-34- page 14 lines 1-4) which meets the limitation of printing a plurality of maximum overall heights (HU) and minimum overall heights (HL2) in the stack, where the maximum overall heights (HU) and minimum overall heights (HL2) of each layer follow a spiral on a surface of the 3D item and wherein the method comprises printing a concave 3D item (fig.8).
Regarding claim 5, Hikmet teaches that the optical component is built up of a plurality of identical layers 11 stacked on top of each other (Page 10 lines 28-34) construed to be printing the layers for the subset of a total number of layers at the fixed first x,y position with a constant layer width (W).
Regarding claim 6, Shenzhen teaches a sinusoidal curve as the shape of the layer (fig.3) construed to be that the method comprises printing the layers for the subset of a total number of layers at the fixed first x,y-position with layer heights (H) that vary according to a mathematical function selected from the group consisting of sinusoidally, triangularly, saw tooth, and square, or a combination of two or more of these.
Regarding claim 7, modified Shenzhen teaches light transmissive polymeric thermoplastic material is transparent for visible light (page 10, lines 21-27) but is silent to the specific wavelength of light transmitting to be in a range of 450-650 nm. However, it is well known that the visible light spectrum is the range of 380-700 nm (NASA, Visible Light, teaching reference, https://science.nasa.gov/ems/09_visiblelight/) and as the claimed range is practically the whole visible spectrum, it would be obvious that visible light transmission of the material would be in this range.
Regarding claim 8, Hikmet teaches the 3D printable material and the 3D printed material comprise one or more of polycarbonate (PC), polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP), polyethylene naphthalate (PEN), styrene-acrylonitrile resin (SAN), polysulfone (PSU), polyphenylene sulfide (PPS), polytethylene terephthalate (PET), poly(methyl methacrylate) (PMMA), polystyrene (PS), styrene acrylic copolymers (SMMA), and polyurethane (PU) (Page 17, lines 15-20).
Conclusion
/ERICA HARTSELL FUNK/Examiner, Art Unit 1741