DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In accordance with the amended claims, the Examiner has amended the citations.
Claim Objections
Claim 1, 5, and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation “bushings are secured desired assembled locations” appears to be missing the word “to” prior to the word “desired”. Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “bolts” of claims 1, 5, and 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5 and 15, and all subsequent dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 15, the claim limitation “bushings are secured (to) desired assembled locations using bolts without a need for precise machining location for bolting” lacks sufficient written description in the specification and further raises a new matter situation. According to the specification, [0015], “The bushings are secured using bolts and have clearance to allow them to be secured in the desired assembled locations, without the need for extremely precise machining location for the bolting” This differs from the claim language in several ways. Primarily, the important feature in this language concerns the additional clearance that allows for the bushings to not require the machining precision. Second, the specification indicates “without the need for extremely precise machining”, while the claim merely requires “without a need for precise machining”, which removes the term extremely.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 15, the claim limitation “bushings are secured (to) desired assembled locations using bolts” lacks sufficient written description in the specification and further raises a new matter situation. According to the specification, “[0036] Although the fasteners 410 and 510 are illustrated as pins and cap screws, the type of fastener is not limited and fasteners (e.g., coupler means) contemplated include bolts, screws, pins, rivets, to name a few”, the fasteners of this device are in fact pins and cap screws. The term “contemplated” indicates that the Applicant does not actually have the claimed device, but merely has considered the possibility. As a similar example, at one time it was “contemplated” that cars would run on micro-nuclear reactors, yet at the time the ran on ICE engines. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner will interpret this limitation to include a similar type of connector, such as the previously cited pin.
Claims 1, 5 and 15, and all subsequent dependent claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 5, and 15, the claim limitation “bushings are secured (to) desired assembled locations using bolts without a need for precise machining location for bolting” renders the claim indefinite, as the term “precise machining” is undefined in the specification, and further does not provide any metes and bounds for the limitation. Furthermore, it is commonly known that the use of a bushing reduces the need for “precise machining”, as the bushing creates both a barrier and cushion between the machined piece and the bolt retained within. In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner is unable to afford any weight to this limitation, as it in no way can be defined in any fashion, and further restates the purpose of a bushing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borcea, in view of Jones, US 4699414, in view of Wilcox, US 20120205930.
Regarding claim 1, Borcea discloses: A synchronized linkage for a parallel gripper (Fig. 1, gripper assembly 10) having a frame (Fig. 1, housing 11), a first cylinder (Fig. 1, piston 13), and a second cylinder (Fig. 1, piston 14), a first slidable plate (Fig. 2, finger carriers 24 and 25), and a second slidable plate (Fig. 2, finger carriers 24 and 25),
the synchronized linkage comprising:
a first link (Fig. 2, transfer link 29) having a first link end (Fig. 2, connecting pin 25a) and a second link end (Fig. 2, connection between 29 and 27) opposite the first link end, wherein the first link end is coupled to the first cylinder;
a second link (Fig. 2, transfer link 29) having a third link end (Fig. 2, connecting pin 24a) and a fourth link end opposite the third link end (Fig. 2, connection between 28 and 27), wherein the third link end is coupled to the second cylinder;
a third link (Fig. 2, cross link 27) having a central pivot (Fig. 2, pivot pin 27a), a fifth link end (Fig. 2, connecting pin 25a), and a sixth link end (Fig. 2, connecting pin 24a) opposite the fifth link end, wherein
the central pivot (Fig. 2, pivot pin 27a) is coupled to the frame between the first cylinder and the second cylinder such that the third link is rotatable about the central pivot;
the fifth link end is coupled to the second link end; and
the sixth link end is coupled to the fourth link end;
wherein, synchronized motion of the first and second cylinders and the first and second slidable plates is facilitated by the coordinated operation of the first, second and third links (see Fig. 2).
the first and second slidable plates are each affixed to a respective one of a pair of jaws (Fig. 1, suitable gripping fingers 40A and 40B) such that actuation of the gripper results in either closing or opening of the pair of jaws, each of the pair of jaws comprises a base mounting portion (see Figs. 1-2, the portion that connects to carriers 24-25, below grooves 37-38 in Fig. 2), an extension portion (Fig. 1, the portion below the base mounting portion), and an end portion (Fig. 1, the end of the extension portion): the base portion is coupled to a respective one of the first and second slidable plates (see Fig. 1 and 2), the extension portion longitudinally extends in a first direction away from the slidable plates from the base portion (see Fig. 1 and 2),
a first fastener (Fig. 2, connecting pin 25a) configured to couple the first link end to the first cylinder;
a second fastener (Fig. 2, connection between 29 and 27) configured to couple the second link end to the fifth link end;
a third fastener (Fig. 2, connecting pin 24a) configured to couple the third link end to the second cylinder; and
a fourth fastener (Fig. 2, connection between 28 and 27) configured to couple the fourth link end to the sixth link end.
Bocea does not explicitly disclose: and the end portion extends from the longitudinal portion along another axis that extends inwards towards a workpiece to be grasped and/or manipulated.
Jones teaches: and the end portion extends from the longitudinal portion along another axis that extends inwards towards a workpiece to be grasped and/or manipulated (Fig. 1, Fingers 42 and 42, ending in fingertips 60, 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to utilize the inwardly extending portion of the gripper assembly as Taught by Jones, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this alteration is that it allows the user to better configure the gripper design to the task at hand as needed by the user.
Bocea does not explicitly disclose: wherein each of the first, second, third and fourth fasteners include a bolt (clearly stated as a pin in both Borcea and Wilcox) and a bushing, and bushings are secured desired assembled locations using bolts without a need for precise machining location for bolting.
Wilcox teaches: each of the first, second, third and fourth fasteners include a bolt (clearly stated as a pin in the reference) and a bushing (Wilcox, Fig. 1, bushings 25, 27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a bushing as taught by Wilcox in combination with the pin of Borcea, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this combination is that it allows for a more consistent and accurate fit between the parts as well as reducing wear and friction on the respective parts. The Examiner notes that the use of a bushing between a pin and hole arrangement is extremely common in the art.
Regarding claim 3, Borcea further discloses: the first, second, third and fourth fasteners comprise one or more of: a screw, a pin, and a rivet (clearly stated as a pin).
Regarding claim 4, Borcea discloses the device of claim 1.
Borcea does not explicitly disclose: wherein the bushing comprises one or more of: a metal washer, a nylon washer, a Teflon washer, a roller element, a plain bearing, or a spherical bearing.
The modified Borcea does not explicitly disclose: wherein the bushing comprises one or more of: a metal washer, a nylon washer, a Teflon washer, a roller element, a plain bearing, or a spherical bearing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the proper bushing material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilcox in view of Borcea, further in view of Jones, US 4699414.
Regarding claim 1-4, claims 1-4 have the same features as those claimed in claims 5-14. As such, the previous citations are incorporated by reference.
Regarding claim 5, Wilcox discloses: A synchronized parallel gripper device (Fig. 1, synchronized gripping mechanism 10), comprising:
a frame (Fig. 6, mechanism casing 110) having a first frame end (Fig. 6, right side),
a second frame end (Fig. 6, left side) that is opposite the first frame end,
a first cylinder portion (Fig. 6, right side, the area surrounding the piston 56) at the first frame end,
a second cylinder portion (Fig. 6, the area surrounding the piston 58) at the second frame end, and
a central portion (see Fig. 6) that is between the first cylinder portion and the second cylinder portion;
a first cylinder (Fig. 6, the area surrounding pistons 56, 58) with a first piston rod (Fig. 6, sliding links 72, 74) located about the first cylinder portion;
a second cylinder (Fig. 6, the area surrounding pistons 56, 58) with a second piston rod (Fig. 6, sliding links 72, 74) located about the second cylinder portion;
a first link (Fig. 6, pivotal connectors 24, 26) having a first link end and a second link end opposite the first link end, wherein the first link end is coupled to the first piston rod;
a second link (Fig. 6, pivotal connectors 24, 26) having a third link end and a fourth link end opposite the third link end, wherein the third link end is coupled to the second cylinder; and
a third link (Fig. 6, coupler link 30) having a central pivot (Fig. 6, pivot 32), a fifth link end, and a sixth link end opposite the fifth link end, wherein the central pivot is coupled to the frame about the central portion of the frame such that the third link is rotatable about the central pivot; the fifth link end is coupled to the second link end; and the sixth link end is coupled to the fourth link end; wherein, synchronized motion of the first and second piston rods is facilitated by the coordinated operation of the first, second and third links.
Wilcox does not explicitly disclose:
a first slidable plate coupled to the first piston rod;
a second slidable plate coupled to the second piston rod;
the first and second slidable plates are each affixed to a respective one of a pair of jaws such that actuation of the device results in either closing or opening of the pair of jaws, each of the pair of jaws comprises a base mounting portion, an extension portion, and an end portion: the base portion is coupled to a respective one of the first and second slidable plates, the extension portion longitudinally extends in a first direction away from the slidable plates from the base portion.
a first fastener configured to couple the first link end to the first cylinder;
a second fastener configured to couple the second link end to the fifth link end;
a third fastener configured to couple the third link end to the second cylinder; and
a fourth fastener configured to couple the fourth link end to the sixth link end.
each of the first, second, third and fourth fasteners include a bolt (clearly stated as a pin in the reference) and a bushing (Wilcox, Fig. 1, bushings 25, 27).
Borcea teaches: a first slidable plate (Fig. 2, finger carriers 24 and 25) coupled to the first piston rod;
a second slidable plate (Fig. 2, finger carriers 24 and 25) coupled to the second piston rod;
the first and second slidable plates are each affixed to a respective one of a pair of jaws (Fig. 1, suitable gripping fingers 40A and 40B) such that actuation of the device results in either closing or opening of the pair of jaws, each of the pair of jaws comprises a base mounting portion (see Figs. 1-2, the portion that connects to carriers 24-25, below grooves 37-38 in Fig. 2), an extension portion (Fig. 1, the portion below the base mounting portion), and an end portion (Fig. 1, the end of the extension portion): the base portion is coupled to a respective one of the first and second slidable plates (see Fig. 1 and 2), the extension portion longitudinally extends in a first direction away from the slidable plates from the base portion (see Fig. 1 and 2),
a first fastener (Fig. 2, connecting pin 25a) configured to couple the first link end to the first cylinder;
a second fastener (Fig. 2, connection between 29 and 27) configured to couple the second link end to the fifth link end;
a third fastener (Fig. 2, connecting pin 24a) configured to couple the third link end to the second cylinder; and
a fourth fastener (Fig. 2, connection between 28 and 27) configured to couple the fourth link end to the sixth link end.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize the finger carriers as taught by Borcea in combination with the device of Wilcox, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this combination is that it clearly shows a connecting use of the piston device. The Examiner notes that it is a near certainty that the Wilcox device connects to some form of manipulation device. .
The modified Wilcox does not explicitly disclose: and the end portion extends from the longitudinal portion along another axis that extends inwards towards a workpiece to be grasped and/or manipulated
Jones teaches: and the end portion extends from the longitudinal portion along another axis that extends inwards towards a workpiece to be grasped and/or manipulated (Fig. 1, Fingers 42 and 42, ending in fingertips 60, 62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the time of filing to utilize the inwardly extending portion of the gripper assembly as Taught by Jones, thereby combining prior art elements to achieve a predictable result. The benefit of this alteration is that it allows the user to better configure the gripper design to the task at hand as needed by the user.
The modified Borcea does not explicitly disclose: wherein the bushing comprises one or more of: a metal washer, a nylon washer, a Teflon washer, a roller element, a plain bearing, or a spherical bearing.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to utilize the proper bushing material, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice.
Regarding claim 6, the modified Wilcox further discloses: a first shoe (Fig. 1, intermediate links 20, 22) formed with the first piston rod (Fig. 1, cylinder rods 44, 46), and a second shoe (Fig. 1, intermediate links 20, 22) formed with the second piston rod (Fig. 1, cylinder rods 44, 46).
Regarding claim 7, the modified Wilcox further discloses: a first shoe (Fig. 1, intermediate links 20, 22) coupled to the first piston rod (Fig. 1, cylinder rods 44, 46); a second shoe (Fig. 1, intermediate links 20, 22) coupled to the second piston rod (Fig. 1, cylinder rods 44, 46); wherein the synchronized motion of the first and second shoes is facilitated by the coordinated operation of the first and second shoe via the first, second, and third links.
Regarding claim 8, the modified Wilcox discloses: a channel in the first shoe that is configured to couple first piston rod to the first shoe (Fig. 2, the channel in which bearing 25 sits), and a channel in the second shoe that is configured to couple second piston rod to the second shoe (Fig. 2, the channel in which bearing 25 sits).
Regarding claim 9, the modified Wilcox further discloses: a first shoe (Wilcox, Fig. 1, intermediate links 20, 22) coupled to the first piston rod (Wilcox, Fig. 1, cylinder rods 44, 46);
a second shoe (Wilcox, Fig. 1, intermediate links 20, 22) coupled to the second piston rod (Wilcox, Fig. 1, cylinder rods 44, 46), a first slidable plate (Borcea, Fig. 2, finger carriers 24 and 25) formed to the first shoe; and
a second slidable plate (Borcea, Fig. 2, finger carriers 24 and 25) formed to the second shoe; wherein
the synchronized motion of the first and second slidable plates is facilitated by the coordinated operation of the first and second shoes via the first, second, and third links.
Regarding claim 10, a first shoe (Wilcox, Fig. 1, intermediate links 20, 22) coupled to the first piston rod (Wilcox, Fig. 1, cylinder rods 44, 46);
a second shoe (Wilcox, Fig. 1, intermediate links 20, 22) coupled to the second piston rod (Wilcox, Fig. 1, cylinder rods 44, 46),
a channel formed in an exterior portion of the frame (Borcea, Col. 3, line 34, “The respective finger carriers 24, 25 are slidably supported between the housing extension 11A and 11B by means of opposed track members 31, 32 and associated roller bearing means 33, 34. As shown in FIG. 1, the inner surface of the respective housing extensions. 11A, 11B are provided with a V-shaped groove 35, 36 extending longitudinally thereof. The respective finger carriers are likewise provided with a complementary groove 37, 38 on opposite sides thereof.”); a first slidable plate (Borcea, Fig. 2, finger carriers 24 and 25) coupled to the first shoe and located in the channel; and a second slidable plate (Borcea, Fig. 2, finger carriers 24 and 25) coupled to the second shoe and located in the channel; wherein the synchronized motion of the first and second slidable plates is facilitated by the coordinated operation of the first and second shoe via the first, second, and third links.
Regarding claim 12, the modified Wilcox further discloses: a first piston (Fig. 6, pistons 56, 58) coupled to the first piston rod and located in the first cylinder portion; and a second piston (Fig. 6, pistons 56, 58) coupled to the second piston rod and located in the second cylinder portion.
Regarding claim 13, the modified Wilcox further discloses: the first and second pistons each comprise at least one disk with a gasket positioned between a wall of the corresponding cylinder and the edge of the at least one disk (Fig. 6, each of the pistons 56, 58 have a larger diameter piston disk on the end. Further, while not explicitly disclosed in Wilcox, the channel for the gasket can be clearly seen in the drawings. Finally, this feature is explicitly disclosed in Borcea as gaskets 15B and 16B, as well as the gaskets 13a and 14a ).
Regarding claim 15-16, claims 15-16 have the same features as those claimed in claims 5-14. As such, the previous citations are incorporated by reference.
Conclusion
/DANIEL JEREMY LEEDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731