DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 25th March 2026.
Claim 1, 17 and 18 were amended; claims 2-6 were cancelled; no new claims were added; therefore, claims 1 and 7-18 are pending in current application and are addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 25th March 2026 have been fully considered.
Applicant’s argument regarding the rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. §102 as being not anticipated by CAMPBELL (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20130099101 A1) is persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of CAMPBELL and in view of PIERSON (U.S. Patent Publication No. 20200393365 A1), necessitated by claim amendments.
New limitation have been addressed in the present Office Action. See below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9 and 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell (US 20130099101 A1, hereinafter “Campbell”), modified in view of Pierson et al. (US 20200393365 A1, hereinafter “Pierson”).
Regarding claim 1, Campbell teaches a sensing system comprising:
an emitter configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Campbell; Figs. 1-3, [0078], proximity sensor 1 comprises a radiation source 4, a returned radiation detector 12 and sensor control circuitry 13; [0094], the radiation source 4 is transmitted out of the proximity sensor and is reflected or scattered by the external object onto the returned radiation detector 12);
a detector configured to detect electromagnetic radiation (Campbell; Figs. 1-3, [0094], the radiation source 4 is transmitted out of the proximity sensor and is reflected or scattered by the external object onto the returned radiation detector 12); and,
an electronic component (Campbell; Figs. 1-3, [0078], sensor control circuitry 13) configured to interact with a circuitry of the sensing system (Campbell; [0094], when the radiation reflected or scattered by the external target object is received by the returned radiation detector 12, the sensor control circuitry 13 determines a receive time; (equivalent to an electronic component configured to interact with a circuitry of the sensing system)), wherein the electronic component is located at least partially between the emitter and the detector, and wherein the electronic component reduces an amount of electromagnetic radiation propagating from the emitter to the detector (Campbell; Fig. 2, it is clear that sensor control circuitry 13 is located at least partially between the emitter (4) and the detector (12). The sensor control circuitry 13 will block the radiation propagating from the emitter to detector due to the sensor control circuitry 13 is located in between emitter (4) and detector (12)).
Campbell does not teach,
wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilise a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry, or
wherein the electronic component comprises an inductor configured to act as a filter for the circuitry, or
wherein the electronic component comprises a resistor configured to act as a pull-up resistor or a pull-down resistor for the circuitry, or
wherein the electronic component comprises a resistor and a capacitor configured to act as an RC filter for the circuitry, or
wherein the electronic component comprises a diode configured to reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry.
Pierson teaches, wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilize a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry (Pierson; Fig. 2, [0026], [0053], the light sensor may further comprise capacitors C1 and C2 in series connected to the cathode of the photodiode and grounded (to block the AC variation of bias current Ibias resulting from bias voltage variations due to the pulse). Ground resistor Rg connected to a non-inverting output terminal of the operational amplifier and a terminal between the capacitor C1 and C2 that are adapted to eliminate voltage variation caused by the bias regulator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the sensing system taught by Campbell to include wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilize a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry taught by Pierson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to block the AC variation of bias current Ibias resulting from bias voltage variations due to the pulse (Pierson; [0026], [0053]).
Regarding claim 7, Campbell as modified above teaches the sensing system as recited in claim 1, comprising a die configured to house the circuitry of the sensing system, wherein the electronic component is located on the die (Campbell; Figs. 1-3, [0078], proximity sensor 1 comprising a circuit board 2 (equivalent to the die) and a radiation source 4 mounted on a substrate 6. On the circuit board 2 is mounted a reference radiation detector 8, an ambient radiation detector 10, a returned radiation detector 12 (equivalent to the circuitry of the sensing system) and sensor control circuitry 13 (equivalent to the electronic component)).
Regarding claim 9, Campbell as modified above teaches the sensing system as recited in claim 7, comprising a substrate configured to provide electrical connections between the die and a printed circuit board of the sensing system, wherein the emitter is located on the substrate and the detector is located on the die (Campbell; Figs. 1-3, [0078], proximity sensor 1 comprising a circuit board 2 (equivalent to a die) and a radiation source 4 mounted on a substrate 6 (equivalent to a substrate); there is wire bonding pad and wire bonding connection between substrate 6 and die can be seen in the figures 1-3 which equivalent to a substrate provide electrical connection between the die and a sensing system).
Regarding claim 13, Campbell as modified above teaches the sensing system as recited in claim 1, wherein the sensing system is a time of flight sensing system (Campbell; [0017], by providing first and second detectors, a time-of-flight algorithm may be employed for proximity sensing. [0107], provides the distance measurement using time of flight measurement; both implies the invention is for time of flight sensing system.).
Regarding claim 14, Campbell as modified above teaches the sensing system as recited in claim 1, wherein the sensing system is a proximity sensing system (Campbell; Figs. 1-3, [0078], shows a combined ambient radiation and proximity sensor 1 comprising a circuit board 2 and a radiation source 4 mounted on a substrate 6).
Regarding claim 15, Campbell as modified above teaches an electronic device (Campbell; [0094], when an external object is near the sensor 1 (e.g., when the proximity sensor is installed on a mobile phone…), a portion of the radiation emitted by the source 4 is reflected or scattered by the external object onto the returned radiation detector 12. Implies that the proximity sensor can be used in an electronic device such as mobile phone) comprising the sensing system of claim 1 (please see claim 1 mapping).
Regarding claim 16, Campbell as modified above teaches the electronic device as recited in claim 15, wherein the electronic device is a mobile phone (Campbell; [0094], when an external object is near the sensor 1 (e.g., when the proximity sensor is installed on a mobile phone…), a portion of the radiation emitted by the source 4 is reflected or scattered by the external object onto the returned radiation detector 12. Implies that the proximity sensor can be used in an electronic device such as mobile phone.).
Regarding claim 17 are the method claim processes nearly identical limitation to those of claim 1 and are thus rejected for the same reasoning.
Regarding claim 18, Campbell teaches a method of manufacturing a sensing system comprising:
providing an emitter configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Campbell; Figs. 1-3, [0078], proximity sensor 1 comprises a radiation source 4, a returned radiation detector 12 and sensor control circuitry 13; [0094], the radiation source 4 is transmitted out of the proximity sensor and is reflected or scattered by the external object onto the returned radiation detector 12);
providing a detector configured to detect electromagnetic radiation (Campbell; Figs. 1-3, [0094], the radiation source 4 is transmitted out of the proximity sensor and is reflected or scattered by the external object onto the returned radiation detector 12);
providing an electronic component configured to interact with a circuitry of the sensing system (Campbell; [0094], when the radiation reflected or scattered by the external target object is received by the returned radiation detector 12, the sensor control circuitry 13 determines a receive time. (equivalent to an electronic component configured to interact with a circuitry of the sensing system)); and,
locating the electronic component at least partially between the emitter and the detector, wherein the electronic component reduces an amount of electromagnetic radiation propagating from the emitter to the detector (Campbell; Fig. 2, it is clear that sensor control circuitry 13 is located at least partially between the emitter (4) and the detector (12). The sensor control circuitry 13 will block the radiation propagating from the emitter to detector due to the sensor control circuitry 13 is located in between emitter (4) and detector (12)).
Campbell does not teach,
wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilise a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry, or
wherein the electronic component comprises an inductor configured to act as a filter for the circuitry, or
wherein the electronic component comprises a resistor configured to act as a pull-up resistor or a pull-down resistor for the circuitry, or
wherein the electronic component comprises a resistor and a capacitor configured to act as an RC filter for the circuitry, or
wherein the electronic component comprises a diode configured to reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry.
Pierson teaches, wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilize a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry (Pierson; Fig. 2, [0026], [0053], the light sensor may further comprise capacitors C1 and C2 in series connected to the cathode of the photodiode and grounded (to block the AC variation of bias current Ibias resulting from bias voltage variations due to the pulse). Ground resistor Rg connected to a non-inverting output terminal of the operation al amplifier and a terminal between the capacitor C1 and C2 that are adapted to eliminate voltage variation caused by the bias regulator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the method taught by Campbell to include wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilize a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry taught by Pierson with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to block the AC variation of bias current Ibias resulting from bias voltage variations due to the pulse (Pierson; [0026], [0053]).
Claim(s) 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell, modified in view of Pierson, in view of Kerness et al. (US 20150109785 A1, hereinafter “Kerness”).
Regarding claim 8, Campbell as modified above teaches the sensing system as recited in claim 7.
Campbell does not teach, wherein the emitter and the detector are located on the die.
Kerness teaches, wherein the emitter and the detector are located on the die (Kerness; Fig. 1A, 1C, [0018], the electronic device 104 (equivalent to the die) can include a sensor (e.g., photo sensor such as photodetector) configured to detect electromagnetic radiation occurring within a limited spectrum of wavelength (e.g., infrared light, visible light). The electronic device 14 includes an optically active portion 118 (e.g., a sensor portion); [0019], the illumination source 106 may be secured to the electronic device 104 using different methods, such as using wire bonding or solder bumps, on a location of the electronic device 104 that includes circuitry configured to electrically connect the illumination source 106 to the electronic device 104. Placing the illumination source 106 on the surface of the electronic device 104 can function to decrease the size and footprint of the wafer level optical device 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the sensing system taught by Campbell to include wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilize a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry taught by Pierson, include wherein the emitter and the detector are located on the die taught by Kerness with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to include a sensor portion for detect electromagnetic radiation occurring within a limited spectrum of wavelengths. Furthermore, to placing the illumination source 116 on the surface of the electronic device 104 can function to decrease the size and footprint of the wafer level optical device 100 (Kerness; [0018], [0019]).
Claim(s) 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Campbell, modified in view of Pierson, in view of Wassvik et al. (US 20160050746 A1, hereinafter “Wassvik”).
Regarding claim 10, Campbell teaches the sensing system as recited in claim 1.
Campbell does not teach, comprising a filling provided between the electronic component and the sensing system.
Wassvik teaches, comprising a filling provided between the electronic component and the sensing system (Wassvik; Fig. 3, [0043], the integrated circuit 12 (equivalent to electronic component) may be covered with a second coating 22 (equivalent to filling). Th second coating 22 may be located between the first coating 16 and the integrated circuit 12. The second coating 22 comprises an optically non-transparent material such that the integrated circuit 12 will be protected from light (emitted from light emitter 4)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the sensing system taught by Campbell to include wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilize a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry taught by Pierson, include comprising a filling provided between the electronic component and the sensing system taught by Wassvik with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using second coating 22 (an optically non-transparent material) located in between integrated circuit 12 and sensing system (light emitter 4) such that the integrated circuit 12 will be protected from light. Light might otherwise disturb the function of the integrated circuit 12 (Wassvik; [0043]).
Regarding claim 11, Campbell as modified above teaches the sensing system as recited in claim 10.
Campbell does not teach, comprising an electrode configured to receive the electronic component, wherein the filling comprises an electrically conductive adhesive configured to attach the electronic component to the electrode.
Wassvik teaches, comprising an electrode configured to receive the electronic component, wherein the filling comprises an electrically conductive adhesive configured to attach the electronic component to the electrode (Wassvik; Fig. 3, [0041], PCA 15 comprised PCB 17, and at least one group 13 of components comprising an emitter 4, a detector 5 and an integrated circuit 12. The PCB 17 may have a longitudinal extension and comprise a plurality of groups 13 of components. One or several of the components may be electrically bonded to the PCB 17 via wire bonding (equivalent to electrically conductive adhesive) where one or several wires 21 from the components are connected to the PCB 17 via pads (equivalent to electrodes); as disclosed above in claim 10, the integrated circuit 12 is covered by filling 22, all the pads and wire bonding around the integrated circuit 12 is covered by filling too. This implies the filling comprises an electrically conductive adhesive configured to attach the electronic component to the electrode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the sensing system taught by Campbell to include wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilize a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry taught by Pierson, include comprising an electrode configured to receive the electronic component, wherein the filling comprises an electrically conductive adhesive configured to attach the electronic component to the electrode taught by Wassvik with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to cover all connection between the integrated circuit 12 to the PCB 17 with filling material 22 such that the integrated circuit 12 will be protected from light. Light might otherwise disturb the function of the integrated circuit 12 (Wassvik; [0043]).
Regarding claim 12, Campbell as modified above teaches the sensing system as recited in claim 10.
Campbell does not teach, comprising an electrical contact and a conductive connector configured to connect the electronic component to the electrical contact, wherein the filling comprises a non-conductive adhesive configured to attach the electronic component to the sensing system.
Wassvik teaches, comprising an electrical contact and a conductive connector configured to connect the electronic component to the electrical contact, wherein the filling comprises a non-conductive adhesive configured to attach the electronic component to the sensing system (Wassvik; Fig. 3, [0041], The PCB 17 may have a longitudinal extension and comprise a plurality of groups 13 of components. One or several of the components may be electrically bonded to the PCB 17 via wire bonding (equivalent to electrically conductive adhesive) where one or several wires 21 from the components are connected to the PCB 17 via pads (equivalent to electrodes); [0043], the integrated circuit 12 may be covered with a second coating 22 (equivalent to filling). Th second coating 22 may be located between the first coating 16 and the integrated circuit 12. The second coating 22 comprises an optically non-transparent material or specially formulated resin (equivalent to non-conductive adhesive) with filter characteristics such that the integrated circuit 12 will be protected from light; as disclosed above in claim 10, the integrated circuit 12 is covered by filling 22, all the pads and wire bonding around the integrated circuit 12 is covered by filling too. This implies the filling comprises a non-conductive adhesive configured to attach the electronic component to the sensing system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the sensing system taught by Campbell to include wherein the electronic component comprises a capacitor configured to at least partially stabilize a voltage of the circuitry and/or reduce an effect of a field acting on the circuitry taught by Pierson, include comprising an electrical contact and a conductive connector configured to connect the electronic component to the electrical contact, wherein the filling comprises a non-conductive adhesive configured to attach the electronic component to the sensing system taught by Wassvik with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is to cover all connection between the integrated circuit 12 to the PCB 17 with filling material 22 such that the integrated circuit 12 will be protected from light. Light might otherwise disturb the function of the integrated circuit 12 (Wassvik; [0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pierson et al. (US 20200393365 A1) disclosed in Fig. 2, paragraph [0053], a resistor R0 may further be connected to the anode of the photodiode (1) and set to absorb offset current and shift down the measurement offset current intensity I0 to some reliable range. Implies the resistor R0 is used as a pull-down resistor for the circuitry.
Yang et al. (US 20160142145 A1) disclosed in Fig. 5b, paragraph [0083], the collector of PNP triode TR1 is connected to an optical emitter via an inductor or a magnetic bead L28, thus to provide a bias current I3 for light emitting diode in the optical emitter and drive the light emitting diode to emit laser. The inductor or magnetic bead L28 in the circuit may filter the noise interference in the bias current I3 (equivalent to an inductor act as a filter for the circuitry), so that the interference resistance of the bias current I3 is improved.
Nakanishi et al. (US 20020126356 A1) disclosed in paragraph [0037], the electronic elements are preamplifier for amplifying photocurrent of the PD and a processing IC for binarizing or demodulating the amplified photocurrent. Capacitors for stabilizing the source voltage (equivalent to capacitor for stabilize a voltage of the circuitry), RC filter or LRC filter (equivalent to inductor filter) for eliminating noise are electronic elements common to the transmitting module and the receiving module.
Kaneshiro et al. (US 20030138186 A1) disclosed in Fig. 1, Fig. 6, paragraph [0042], at the optics 36, the majority of the light follows the light path 23 and a small portion is reflected along the light path 24 to the bottom mirror 40. The bottom mirror 40 reflects the light along the light path 25 to the top mirror 38, which reflects the light along the light path 26 to the monitor diode array 15 in the integrated circuit 14. The monitor diode array 15 allows feedback control by the integrated circuit 14 of the optoelectronic element 16 (acting as a transmitter to converts the electrical signals into light signals along the light path 22 in the transparent optical substrate 30 [0041]).
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645