DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 26-38) in the reply filed on 09/19/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 39-45 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-25 are cancelled. Claims 26,27 are currently amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 26 have been considered but are not found persuasive, because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specifically, the water vapor permeance (WVTR) value is taught by a new reference Flitsch (US20160054593A1). See rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26-34, 37-38 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhardwaj (US20160049624A1, IDS cited 03/24/2025), in view of Flitsch (US20160054593A1)
Regarding claim 26, Bhardwaj discloses an electrochemical device (sealed battery in Fig 6G), comprising a unit stack formed by at least one unit cell (battery stack 620 in Fig 6G),
each unit cell successively including (see Fig 3A):
at least one anode current-collecting substrate (anode current collector layer 310),
at least one anode layer (anode layer 308),
at least one layer of an electrolyte material (electrolyte layer 306)
at least one cathode layer (cathode material 304), and
at least one cathode current-collecting substrate (cathode current collector 302),
the unit stack defining six faces that includes two frontal faces (i.e., sides 1,2 in the annotated Fig 6G below) opposite one another, generally parallel (note: interpreted as being parallel) to the anode, electrolyte material and cathode layers, and four lateral faces (i.e., sides 3,4,5,6 in the annotated Fig 6G below) opposite and parallel to one another in pairs;
an anode contact member (anode terminal 624);
a cathode contact member (cathode terminal 622);
a sealing member (moisture barrier 640) to protect the unit stack
Bhardwaj further discloses that the moisture barrier 640 is a metallic or ceramic coating [0108] and provides a barrier to moisture and contaminants that is substantially impervious to moisture, thus helps prevent moisture from reaching the sealant material 630 and the battery stack [0108].
However, Bhardwaj does not disclose wherein the encapsulation system has a water vapor permeance (WVTR) of less than 10-5 g/m2·d, as claimed.
In this regard, Flitsch teaches a battery element sealing and encapsulation wherein the package WVTR for a good battery package may be zero or near zero, effective in retarding or preventing the movement of moisture either out of or into the battery body [Flitsch 0175]. As such, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the WVTR of zero or near zero, which is “less than 10-5 g/m2·d” with a reasonable expectation to prevent moisture movement either out of or into the battery body [Flitsch 0175].
Bhardwaj further discloses:
an electrical connection support (substrate 610), made at least in part of a conductive material (e.g., metal substrate [0081]), provided near a first frontal face of the unit stack (i.e., side 2 in the annotated Fig 6G above); and
electrical insulation members (polymeric sealant material 630 made of polyethylene material, a polyamide material, polypropylene material, or any other thermoplastic or thermosetting polymer [0133])
A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that such materials (e.g., polyethylene, polyamide) electrically insulate. Examiner further notes that the limitation of “to insulate two distant regions of the electrical connection support from one another” is an intended use limitation and does not provide any additional structure to the electrical insulation members. Since Bhardwaj discloses electrical insulation members capable of being used in an electrochemical device, the limitation is met.
Bhardwaj further discloses wherein:
the anode contact member (anode terminal 624) electrically connects a first lateral face (i.e., side 3 of the annotated Fig 6G) of the unit stack to the electrical connection support (substrate 610) (i.e., connected via conductive material 656; see Fig 6G), and
the cathode contact member (cathode terminal 622) electrically connects a second lateral face of the unit stack (i.e., side 4 of the annotated Fig 6G), opposite the first lateral face, to the electrical connection support (substrate 610) (i.e., connected via conductive material 654; see Fig 6G)
Regarding claim 27, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 26, wherein the encapsulation system (“a metallic or ceramic coating that is sputtered” [0108]; see Fig 6G);
the encapsulation system covers the other frontal face of the unit stack (i.e., side 1 of the annotated Fig 2E above), the anode contact member (anode terminal 624), the cathode contact member (cathode terminal 622), and at least in part a face of the electrical connection support (substrate 610) that faces the unit stack (see Fig 6G).
Regarding claim 28, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 27, wherein:
the encapsulation system covers the opposite frontal faces (i.e., sides 1,2 in the annotated Fig 6G above) of the unit stack, and the lateral faces of the stack which are not covered by the anode contact member and the cathode contact member (sides 3,4 not covered by terminals 622, 624 in the annotated Fig 6G), and
the encapsulation system further occupies (note: interpreted as “covering”) part of the electrical insulation members (polymeric sealant material 630) and an intermediate space separating the electrical connection support (substrate 610) from the first frontal face of the unit stack (i.e., side 2 in the annotated Fig 6G above).
Regarding claim 29, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 26, wherein the sealing member (moisture barrier 640) covers the anode contact member and the cathode contact member (conductive materials 656 and 654 in the annotated Fig 6G). Thus, Bhardwaj discloses wherein “the sealing member comprises the anode contact member and/or the cathode contact member” as claimed.
Regarding claim 30, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 29. Bhardwaj further discloses that moisture barrier prevents moisture from penetrating to the battery stack which could otherwise degrade the battery electrodes and/or electrolyte [0103], wherein the moisture barrier may be formed along the sides of the battery stack and/or substrate by an isotropic deposition or another technique in addition to or as alternative to compressing the moisture barrier [0110]. Thus, Bhardwaj envisages the electrochemical device comprising multiple layers of moisture barriers.
While Bhardwaj does not explicitly disclose an embodiment “further comprising a mechanical stiffening system to cover the encapsulation system opposite the electrical connection support” as claimed, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added another layer of moisture barrier as a mechanical stiffening system that covers the encapsulation system opposite to the electrical connection support (substrate 610; i.e., covering the existing moisture barrier) by way of “isotropic deposition or another technique in addition to compressing the moisture barrier” [0110], with a reasonable expectation to further prevent moisture from penetrating the battery stack and further prevent the battery electrodes and/or electrolyte degradation [0103].
Examiner notes that the term “mechanical stiffening system” is interpreted as any component that enhances mechanical strength of the electrochemical device. A person having ordinary skill in the art would understand that multiple layers of moisture barrier that form “a robust seal against moisture reaching the battery stack” [0110] would enhance the mechanical strength of the electrochemical device, and thus, can be considered as a “mechanical stiffening system” as claimed.
Regarding claim 31, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 26, wherein:
the electrical connection support (substrate 610) is a single-layer metal grid (i.e., “metal substrate” [0081]) or a single-layer silicon interlayer (“silicon-based material such as silicon wafer” [0081]),
the electrical insulation member (polymeric sealant material 630) comprises one or more free spaces made in the electrical connection support (i.e., area between the substrate 610 and moisture barrier 640; see Fig 6G) and
the free spaces filled with an electrically-insulating material (e.g., a polyethylene material, a polyamide material, polypropylene material, or any other thermoplastic or thermosetting polymer [0133]), and
the two distant regions of the electrical connection support are placed on either side of the free spaces (i.e., space formed between the substrate 610 and moisture barrier 640 formed on opposite ends of substrate 610 in Fig 6G).
Regarding claim 32, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 31, wherein:
the electrical connection support (substrate 610) comprises a single free space (note: interpreted as unoccupied or uncovered surface; i.e., uncovered surface of substrate 610 on the ends in Fig 6G), and
the two distant regions of the electrical connection support are placed on either side of the free space (i.e., the ends of the substrate 610 overlap with the uncovered surface of the substrate 610, as shown in Fig 6G).
Regarding claim 33, The electrochemical device of claim 31, wherein the electrical connection support comprises two free spaces (i.e., ends of the substrate 610) between which a central base plate of the electrical connection support is provided (see the annotated Fig 6G below).
Regarding claim 34, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 26, wherein the electrical connection support (substrate 610) can be a silicon-based material, a ceramic or metal substrate, or a polymeric substrate that may be coated with a passivation layer such as an insulating film [0082] (i.e., multilayer).
However, Bhardwaj does not disclose wherein the electrical connection support is a multilayer printed circuit board. In this regard, Bhardwaj discloses wherein the substrate 610 may be bonded to another substrate 661 comprising control chips, traces and interconnects patterned on the substrate, which resembles the claimed printed circuit board. It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added such printed circuit board in the multilayer of Bhardwaj, as Bhardwaj discloses that such sealed thin film batteries comprising the printed circuit board as claimed can be incorporated into various devices (e.g., body-mountable and/or implantable devices, remote sensors etc) and may be particularly advantageous in environments with moisture [0103].
A person having ordinary skill in the art would further understand that each layer of the electrical connection support comprising, for example, a metal substrate coated with a passivation layer would have at least one conductive zone (i.e., metal substrate) and at least one insulating zone (i.e., a passivation layer), which meets the claimed limitation of “each layer of the multi-layer printed circuit board comprises at least one conductive zone and at least one insulating zone”.
Bhardwaj further discloses:
the conductive zones of the layers (e.g., substrate 610 such as metal substrate) forming electrical connection paths (i.e., via conductive material 654, 656 and mounting pads 658,660) to connect the anode contact member (anode terminal 624) and the cathode contact member (cathode terminal 622) respectively to the face of the electrical connection support which is opposite the unit stack (i.e., the lower surface of the substrate 610).
Regarding claim 37, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 26, wherein the anode contact member (anode terminal 624) or the cathode contact member (cathode terminal 622) comprises a conductive adhesive (metal paste such as silver, gold, platinum that fills the aperture 650, 652; i.e., conductive material 654, 656) [0129].
Regarding claim 38, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 26, wherein the anode contact member or the cathode contact member (terminals 622 or 624) comprises a metal foil (i.e., current collector formed of a conductive material such as titanium, cobalt, gold [0082, 0086]).
Claim(s) 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhardwaj (US20160049624A1, IDS cited 03/24/2025), in view of Nishide (US11804638B2, IDS cited 03/24/2025, US20210167471A1 was used for citation, previously cited).
Regarding claims 35 and 36, Bhardwaj discloses the electrochemical device of claim 26, wherein the polymeric sealant material is formed over the battery stack.
However, Bhardwaj does not disclose wherein the electrochemical device “further comprises a rigid connection member to rigidly connect one of the frontal faces of the unit stack to the electrical connection support“ (claim 35), “wherein the rigid connection member comprises a non-conductive adhesive” (Claim 36).
In this regard, Nishide teaches a packaged solid-state battery 200 that includes a solid-state battery 100, an insulating cover layer 30, an insulating cover layer 30’ between solid-state battery and supporting substrate (see Fig 4; [0176]), an inorganic cover film 50, and a substrate 10, wherein the cover layer seals the solid-state battery on the supporting substrate ([0152 Nishide]; see Fig 4) and is made of epoxy-based resin, a silicone-based resin, and a liquid crystal polymer (i.e., non-conductive adhesive) [0063 Nishide]. Nishide further teaches that the insulating cover layer seals the solid-state battery on the support substrate [0152 Nishide] and prevents moisture transmission from the exterior up to the battery laminate [0091 Nishide].
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to have added a rigid connection member, such as the insulating cover layer made of epoxy or silicon-based resin or a liquid crystal polymer disposed between the electrode stack and the substrate as taught by Nishide, with a reasonable expectation to seal (thus forming “rigid connection”) the solid-state battery on the support substrate [0152 Nishide] while also preventing moisture transmission from the exterior up to the battery laminate [0091 Nishide].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751
5/12/2026