DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
This office action is responsive to the submission filed on 12/29/2025. As directed by the submission: claim 1 has been amended, no claims have been canceled, and no claims have been added. Thus, claims 30-49 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 30-35, 37-38, 44, and 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertinetti (US 20130239960 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Bertinetti discloses a system for providing respiratory therapy, the system comprising: an apparatus (FIG. 1 Respiratory treatment apparatus 102 set forth in [0047]) for supplying a flow of breathable gas at a positive pressure for respiratory therapy (Provide Positive Airway Pressure (PAP) therapy set forth in [0011]); a first removable connectivity module (FIG. 1 Alarm module 106, removable at locking mechanism 116 set forth in [0061]-[0062]); and a second removable connectivity module (FIG. 1 Humidifier module 108, removable at locking mechanism 116 set forth in [0061]-[0062]), wherein the apparatus comprises: a pressure generator (FIG. 1 Flow generator module 104) for generating the flow of breathable gas and supplying the flow to an outlet (FIG. 1 Breathable gas output coupling 110FG set forth in [0055]); a housing (FIG. 2 Flow generator housing 104H) which contains at least the pressure generator; and at least one electrical connector (FIG.1 Electrical couplers 114 set forth in [0057]), wherein the housing comprises a cavity (Shown in annotated FIG. 5 below) configured to interchangeably receive the first removable connectivity module (Shown in FIG. 4, the flow generator housing 104H receiving alarm module housing 106H of alarm module 106) and the second removable connectivity module (Shown in FIG. 3, the flow generator housing 104H receiving the humidifier housing 108H of humidifier module 108), and wherein the at least one electrical connector (FIG.1 Electrical couplers 114 set forth in [0057]) is configured to interchangeably connect to the first removable connectivity module and the second removable connectivity module in use, wherein each of the first removable connectivity module and the second removable connectivity module comprises: a housing (FIG. 3 and 4 Humidifier housing 108H of humidifier module 108 and alarm module housing 106H of alarm module 106) which comprises a front side and a rear side (Shown in annotated FIGS. 3 and 6A-B); and at least one electrical connector side (FIG.1 Electrical couplers 114 on front side of alarm module housing 106H) on the front side, and at least one electrical connector on the rear (FIG.1 Electrical couplers 114 set forth in [0057]); wherein the housing is configured to be at least partially inserted into the cavity of the apparatus in use (Modules 106 and 108 are connected at the cavity of flow generator housing 104H shown in FIGS. 3-5, and wherein the at least one electrical connector on the rear side is configured to connect to the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus (FIGS. 1, 3, and 4 show the electrical coupler 114 of the flow generator module 104 connected to the electrical couplers of the humidifier and alarm modules 106 and 108), wherein the front side of the first removable connectivity module comprises a first electrical connector (FIG. 1 Female electric coupler 114 on the front side of module 106).
Bertinetti fails to explicitly disclose, wherein the front side of the second removable connectivity module comprises a second electrical connector, wherein the first electrical connector on the front side of the first removable connectivity module is different to the second electrical connector on the front side of the second removable connectivity module.
However, Bertinetti teaches that the pressure generator can couple to a patient interface through one or more modules, wherein the modules of the system may also have one or more electrical coupler(s) for coupling the modules together for distributing power, such as from a shared power supply, and/or for communications between the modules of the system, and that in some embodiments of such a system, the flow generator module may communicate through the humidifier module to the alarm module. Communications through additional modules may also be implemented (As set forth in [0056]-[0058]). Bertinetti also teaches that in an alternative configuration, the one or more modules may be connected to the top, bottom, front or back of the respiratory treatment apparatus, or any combination thereof (As set forth in [0112]).
This clearly indicates that in an embodiment of the system as set forth in the specification, the second removable connectivity module (FIG. 1 Humidifier module 108) could be coupled between the flow generator (FIG. 1 Flow generator module 104) and the first removable connectivity module (FIG. 1 Alarm module 106). In the particular arrangement of modules as set forth above, the second removeable connectivity module would have to comprise a second electrical connector, specifically a female connector for engagement with the rear side of the first removable connectivity module. Further, the first electrical connector on the front side of the first removable connectivity module is different to the second electrical connector on the front side of the second removable connectivity module given that the first electrical connector on the front side of the removeable connectivity module and the second electrical connectivity module on the front side of the second removable connectivity module are on separate modules, and are therefore not the same. The system comprising electrical connectors on both the front and rear sides of the modules ensure that the modules may be readily separable by a trained technician for service or replacement (As set forth in [0013]).
Bertinetti as modified fails to explicitly disclose, wherein each side of the modules have a set of electrical connectors.
However, Bertinetti does teach wherein the modules of the system may also have one or more electrical coupler(s) for coupling the modules together for distributing power, such as from a shared power supply, and/or for communications between the modules of the system (As set forth in [0057]). Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to duplicate the electrical connectors on each side of the modules since it has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. Including an additional electrical connector on each side of the modules would simply provide an additional place for the modules to engage with one another for further distributing power and communication within the system.
Regarding claim 31, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti further discloses the system, wherein the cavity is located in a rear of the housing (Shown in annotated FIG. 5 below).
Regarding claim 32, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti further discloses the system, wherein the cavity comprises one or more indexing features (FIG. 5 The curved portion of the cavity edge of housing 104H as shown in the annotated figure below) to ensure that each connectivity module can only be inserted into the cavity in a single orientation.
Regarding claim 33, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 32 above.
Bertinetti discloses the system, comprising one or more indexing features (FIG. 5 The curved portion of the cavity edge of housing 104H).
Bertinetti does not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more indexing features comprises a chamfered corner of the cavity.
However, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the indexing feature a certain shape, in this case, wherein the one or more indexing features comprises a chamfered corner of the cavity in the Bertinetti device because Applicant has not disclosed that the specific shape corresponding to the indexing feature of the cavity provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. The one or more indexing features comprising a chamfered corner of the cavity, has no effect on any functions shown in the specification. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the indexing feature of Bertinetti, and the indexing feature of the Applicant, to perform equally well because both features perform the same function of ensuring that each connectivity module can only be inserted into the cavity in a single orientation.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Bertinetti to obtain the invention as specified in claim 33 because such a modification is considered to be well within the skill level of the ordinary artisan in order to achieve a desired shape of the indexing feature and thus fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Bertinetti.
Regarding claim 34, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti further discloses the system, further comprising at least one attachment mechanism (FIG. 5 Keepers 116K for engaging with the latches 116L of the modules) configured to selectively secure each connectivity module at least partially within the cavity, and wherein the attachment mechanism comprises one or more of clips, fasteners, protrusions (FIG. 5 Latches 116L), apertures (FIG. 5 Keepers 116K) or magnets.
Regarding claim 35, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti further discloses the system, further comprising a connector assembly (FIG. 5 End portion of 104 as indicated in the annotated figure below), wherein each connectivity module is configured to interchangeably connect (Shown by FIGS. 3 and 4), in use, to the connector assembly, wherein the connector assembly is fixed to the housing (FIG. 5 Flow generator housing 104H), and wherein the cavity is provided in the connector assembly (Shown in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 37, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti as modified further discloses the system, wherein the cavity comprises a slot (FIG. 5 Slot to receive electrical connector as shown in the annotated figure below) configured to receive the at least one electrical connector on the rear side, so that the at least one electrical connector on the rear side passes through the slot and connects to the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus (Shown in FIG. 1 diagram, the electrical couplers 114 connecting the modules 106 and 108 to the flow generator module 104, through the slot shown in FIG. 5).
Regarding claim 38, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti does not explicitly disclose wherein the cavity has one or more of: a depth of between approximately 15mm and approximately 35mm, a height of between approximately 50mm and approximately 80mm, and a width of between approximately 75mm and approximately 100mm.
However, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the cavity a certain set of dimensions, in this case, wherein the cavity has one or more of: a depth of between approximately 15mm and approximately 35mm, a height of between approximately 50mm and approximately 80mm, and a width of between approximately 75mm and approximately 100mm in the Bertinetti device because Applicant has not disclosed that the specific dimensions corresponding to the cavity provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. The cavity having one or more of: a depth of between approximately 15mm and approximately 35mm, a height of between approximately 50mm and approximately 80mm, and a width of between approximately 75mm and approximately 100mm, has no effect on any functions shown in the specification. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the cavity dimensions of Bertinetti, and the cavity dimensions of the Applicant, to perform equally well because both features perform the same function of ensuring that each connectivity module can be properly fit and inserted into the cavity of the device.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Bertinetti to obtain the invention as specified in claim 38 because such a modification is considered to be well within the skill level of the ordinary artisan in order to achieve desired cavity dimensions and a connection between the modules thus fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Bertinetti.
Regarding claim 44, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti further discloses the system, wherein the housing of each connectivity module comprises a shell (FIG. 3 6A-B Shell portions of housings 106H and 108H as shown in the annotated figure below) and a backplate (FIG. 3 6A-B Back plate portions of housings 106H and 108H as shown in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 47 Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti further discloses the system, wherein each of the connectivity modules further comprises an electronic printed circuit board (PCB) (Controllers of the invention are PCB set forth in [0048].
Regarding claim 48, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 47.
Bertinetti further discloses the system, wherein the electronic PCB comprises one or more identification components which enable the RPT device to detect and/or identify the respective connectivity module (The controller may enable or disable some treatment regimens based on the detection of the presence of some module set forth in [0053]).
Regarding claim 49, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the modules has one or more of: a thickness of between approximately 15mm and approximately 35mm, a height of between approximately 50mm and approximately 80mm, and a width of between approximately 75mm and approximately 100mm.
However, before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the module a certain set of dimensions, in this case, wherein each of the modules has one or more of: a thickness of between approximately 15mm and approximately 35mm, a height of between approximately 50mm and approximately 80mm, and a width of between approximately 75mm and approximately 100mm in the Bertinetti device because Applicant has not disclosed that the specific dimensions corresponding to the module provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. The modules having one or more of: a thickness of between approximately 15mm and approximately 35mm, a height of between approximately 50mm and approximately 80mm, and a width of between approximately 75mm and approximately 100mm, has no effect on any functions shown in the specification. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected the module dimensions of Bertinetti, and the module dimensions of the Applicant, to perform equally well because both features perform the same function of ensuring that each connectivity module can be properly fit and inserted into the cavity of the device.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to modify Bertinetti to obtain the invention as specified in claim 49 because such a modification is considered to be well within the skill level of the ordinary artisan in order to achieve a desired module dimension and a connection between the modules thus fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Bertinetti.
Claims 36 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertinetti (US 20130239960 A1) as applied to claims 35 and 30, in view of Panarello (US 20190117919 A1).
Regarding claim 36, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 35 above.
Bertinetti does not explicitly disclose wherein the connector assembly comprises at least one power connector. The power source associated with the connector assembly is not specified.
However, Panarello teaches wherein the connector assembly (Panarello: FIG. 1A Battery pack 102) comprises at least one power connector (Panarello: FIG. 1A Power connector 130, a DC connector set forth in [0044]).
Bertinetti and Panarello are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of respiratory therapy devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertinetti to incorporate the teaching of Panarello and include wherein the connector assembly (Panarello: FIG. 1A Battery pack 102) comprises at least one power connector (Panarello: FIG. 1A Power connector 130, a DC connector set forth in [0044]). Doing so would Supply the device with power (Panarello: Set forth in [0044]).
Regarding claim 41, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth claim 30 above.
Bertinetti does not explicitly disclose the system, wherein the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus comprises at least one power connector to facilitate the transfer of power to or from the apparatus.
However, Panarello teaches a system, wherein the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus comprises at least one power connector (Panarello: FIG. 1A Power connector 130, a DC connector set forth in [0044]) to facilitate the transfer of power to or from the apparatus.
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertinetti to incorporate the teaching of Panarello and include wherein the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus comprises at least one power connector (Panarello: FIG. 1A Power connector 130, a DC connector set forth in [0044]) to facilitate the transfer of power to or from the apparatus. Doing so would Supply the device with power (Panarello: Set forth in [0044]).
Claims 39 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertinetti (US 20130239960 A1) as applied to claim 30, in further view of Chen (US 20170049606 A1).
Regarding claim 39, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti does not explicitly disclose the system, wherein the apparatus comprises a protective cover configured to cover the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus in use.
However, Chen teaches wherein the apparatus comprises a protective cover (Chen: FIG. 1A Protective cover 600) configured to cover the at least one electrical connector (Chen: FIG. 1A Protective cover to the FIG. 2 Battery holder 202 containing a battery, and hence electrical connectors to connect the power supply to the other components of the device) of the apparatus in use.
Bertinetti and Chen are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Breathing assistance apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertinetti to incorporate the teaching of Chen and include wherein the apparatus comprises a protective cover (Chen: FIG. 1A Protective cover 600) configured to cover the at least one electrical connector (Chen: FIG. 1A Protective cover to the FIG. 2 Battery holder 202 containing a battery, and hence electrical connectors to connect the power supply to the other components of the device) of the apparatus in use. Doing so would protect the components within the protective cover (Chen : Set forth in [0049]).
Regarding claim 43, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti as modified fails to explicitly disclose the system, further comprising a protective cover configured to selectively cover the at least one electrical connector on the front side of each connectivity module.
However, Chen teaches a system, further comprising a protective cover (Chen: FIG. 1A Protective cover 600) configured to selectively cover the at least one electrical connector on the front side of each connectivity module (if the cover is properly covering the electrical connect, it is obvious that is would be on the front side of each module, where the electrical connector would be exposed).
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertinetti to incorporate the teaching of Chen and include a system, further comprising a protective cover (Chen: FIG. 1A Protective cover 600) configured to selectively cover the at least one electrical connector on the front side of each connectivity module (if the cover is properly covering the electrical connect, it is obvious that is would be on the front side of each module, where the electrical connector would be exposed). Doing so would protect the components within the protective cover (Chen : Set forth in [0049]).
Claim 40 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertinetti (US 20130239960 A1) as applied to claim 30, in further view of Martin (US 20180236191 A1).
Regarding claim 40, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti does not explicitly disclose the system, wherein the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus comprises at least one communication connector to facilitate the transfer of information to or from the apparatus.
However, Martin teaches wherein the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus comprises at least one communication connector (Martin: FIG. 4C data connections 4047 set forth in [0176]) to facilitate the transfer of information to or from the apparatus (Martin: Set forth in [0176]), and wherein the at least one communication connector comprises any one or more communication connectors selected from the group consisting of: D-subminiature connector; USB connector; and ethernet connector (Martin: FIG. 4H Data communication interface 4280 may use wired communication via ethernet).
Bertinetti and Martin are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of Breathing assistance apparatuses. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertinetti to incorporate the teaching of Martin and include wherein the at least one electrical connector of the apparatus comprises at least one communication connector (Martin: FIG. 4C data connections 4047 set forth in [0176]) to facilitate the transfer of information to or from the apparatus (Martin: Set forth in [0176]), and wherein the at least one communication connector comprises any one or more communication connectors selected from the group consisting of: D-subminiature connector; USB connector; and ethernet connector (Martin: FIG. 4H Data communication interface 4280 may use wired communication via ethernet). Doing so would allow for communications with digital devices such as computer networks, alarm systems, a pulse oximeter and digital recording media (Martin: Set forth in [0176]).
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertinetti (US 20130239960 A1) as applied to claim 30 above, in further view of Wondka (US 20130157571 A1).
Regarding claim 42, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti further discloses the system, wherein the at least one electrical connector on the front side of one or more of the first removable connectivity module (FIG. 1 Alarm module 106) and the second removably connectivity module (FIG. 1 Humidifier module 108) comprises at least one connector (FIG. 1 Electrical couplers 114)
Bertinetti as modified does not explicitly specify that the type of connector is a USB connector, a d-subminiature connector, an ethernet connector, an SpO2 sensor connector and/or a remote alarm connector.
However, Wondka teaches a type of connector used to connect modules includes USB connecters and ethernet connectors, and d-subminiature connectors (Wondka: FIG. 4 and set forth in [0059]).
Bertinetti and Wondka are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of respiratory medical equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertinetti to incorporate the teaching of Wondka and include wherein a type of connector used to connect modules includes USB connecters and ethernet connectors, and d-subminiature connectors (Wondka: FIG. 4 and set forth in [0059]). Doing so would ensure that the transmitter module can be connected to all conceivable alarm outlet jacks that are anticipated to be found on medical devices (Wondka: Set forth in [0059]).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertinetti (US 20130239960 A1), as applied to claim 30, in further view of Chow (US 20190262568 A1).
Regarding claim 45, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti as modified does not explicitly disclose the system, wherein the shell is ultrasonically welded to the backplate.
However, Chow teaches wherein the shell (Chow: FIG. 4B-4D Housing 3208 set forth in [0186]) is ultrasonically welded (Chow: Set forth in [0186]) to the backplate (Chow: FIG. 4B-4D Wall 3404 set forth in [0186]).
Bertinetti and Chow are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of respiratory medical equipment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertinetti to incorporate the teaching of Chow and include wherein the shell (Chow: FIG. 4B-4D Housing 3208 set forth in [0186]) is ultrasonically welded (Chow: Set forth in [0186]) to the backplate (Chow: FIG. 4B-4D Wall 3404 set forth in [0186]). Doing so would provide the non-releasable attachment of the two components (Chow: Set forth in [0186]).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bertinetti (US 20130239960 A1) as applied to claim 30, in further view of Xiang (US 8371860 B2).
Regarding claim 46, Bertinetti as modified discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed as set forth for claim 30 above.
Bertinetti as modified does not explicitly disclose the system, wherein the at least one connector on the rear side of each connectivity module comprises edge contacts.
However, Xiang teaches a connector comprising edge contacts (Xiang: FIG. 2 Golden fingers 103 and 101).
Bertinetti and Xiang are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of electrical connectors. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Bertinetti to incorporate the teaching of Xiang and include , wherein the at least one connector on the rear side of each connectivity module comprises edge contacts (Xiang: FIG. 2 Golden fingers 103 and 101). Doing so would increase abrasion resistance and stability of the connector (Xiang: Set forth in column 1 lines 30-34).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues with respect to claim 30, and therefore the dependent claims 31-49 that a duplication of the electrical connectors would mean that the first electrical connector on the front side of the first removable connectivity module would not be different from the second electrical connector on the front side of the second removable connectivity module, and that the purpose of the modules from the current application is to allow for attachment of different connection mechanisms to the apparatus.
However, given the argument regarding the difference between the first electrical connector on the front side of the first removable connectivity module and the second electrical connector on the front side of the second removable connectivity module, the limitation "different" in line 29 of claim 1 is being interpreted to mean "separate" or "not the same as another". Claim 30 sets forth no as to the specific “structure”, “purpose”, etc. for each of the electrical connectors to specify how the term “different” should be interpreted. The electrical connectors on the front side of each module are different/separate/not the same given that they are on separate modules. While the applicant argues that the purpose of Bertinetti and the current application are different, the applicant would like to note that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the "purpose" of the system disclose in the application) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
New grounds of rejection are made above to address the amendments to claim 30.
Conclusion
/KEIRA EILEEN CALLISON/ Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785