DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of PCT/GB2020/053371 (filed 12/24/2020). Acknowledgement is made of Applicants’ claim for priority to foreign applications GB2012192.7 (filed 08/05/2020) and GB1919269.9 (filed 12/24/2019).
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/22/2026 has been received and entered into the application file.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Arguments
RE: Rejections of claims 50, 54, and 56-63 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) over Vandendriessche:
The amendment filed on 07/22/2026 removes CRE0079 (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 329) from independent claim 50. This is effective to obviate the rejections of record for claims 50, 54, and 56-63.
Accordingly, the rejections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejections of claims 51-52 and 55 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Vandendriessche in view of Schwartz:
The amendment removing CRE0079 (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 329) from independent claim 50 is effective to obviate the rejections of record for claims 51-52 and 55; accordingly, the rejections are withdrawn.
However, as Schwartz is relied upon for rejections set forth below, and in the interest of compact prosecution, the arguments pertaining thereto will now be addressed.
Applicants’ assert Schwartz does not teach two or more of CRE0071 (i.e., SEQ ID NO: 321). Respectfully, this argument is not found persuasive.
As per MPEP 2143(I)(A), a prima facie case for obviousness exists when there is a finding that the prior art included each elements claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements; a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, and that in combination, each element merely performs the same function as it does separately; and a finding that one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. Schwartz teaches synthetic myogenic promoter SPc5-12 having a sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 6 (par. 0076), which shares 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NOs: 321 and 314 (i.e., CRE0071 and CRE0051, respectively); please see Office Action Appendix I for sequence alignments and percent identity (pg. 4). Thus, Schwartz teaches the claimed elements, with the only difference being the lack of combination of said elements. Additionally, Schwartz itself evidences the skilled artisan could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods, as the disclosure teaches promoters may be operably linked to other cis-acting regulatory elements such as enhancers (pars. 0087-0090). Further, as evidenced by Arboleda-Velasquez (US 2023/0190959), the use of multiple promoters is a well-known, predictable technique in the art (par. 0012).
Applicants’ further assert Schwartz the synthetic promoter SPc5-12 is limited to skeletal muscle. Respectfully, this argument is not found persuasive. As evidenced by Le Guiner, et al. (Nat Commun. 2017), SPc5-12 is a synthetic muscle- and heart-specific promoter (pg. 2; col. 2, par. 1).
RE: Rejection of claims 50, 54, and 56-63 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over copending Application No. 18/572,668:
The amendment to copending Application No. 18/572,668 filed on 06/02/2026 is effective to obviate the rejections of record for instant claims 56-63; accordingly, these rejections are withdrawn.
Applicants’ have requested withdrawal of the instant rejections in a traversal thereof based on the earlier patent term filing date of the instant application. Respectfully, MPEP 804(I)(B)(1)(b)(i) is applicable when a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection is the only rejection remaining in an application.
As there are new grounds of prior art rejections set forth below, the remaining provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections of record for claims 50 and 54 are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
The following comments are made to establish broadest reasonable interpretation for the record.
Regarding claims 50-54: These claims recite limitations drawn to cis-regulatory elements (CREs) and/or cis-regulatory modules (CRMs). The term CRE is interpreted as a nucleic acid sequence such as an enhancer, promoter, insulator, or silencer, that can regulate or modulate the transcription of a neighboring gene; this interpretation is supported by the instant specification (pg. 137, lines 12-14). The term CRM is interpreted as a nucleic acid module, comprising two or more CREs; this interpretation is supported by the instant specification (pg. 138, lines 14-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 50, 54, and 56-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Arboleda-Velasquez (US 2023/0190959).
Arboleda-Velasquez teaches compositions, formulas, and methods for inhibiting, treating, and preventing small vessel disease (Abstract).
Regarding claims 50, 54: Arboleda-Velasquez teaches a promoter sequence for human transgelin (i.e., TAGLN, SM22α), comprising a nucleic acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 15 (par. 0050); in an embodiment, two promoters are combined to achieve cell type specificity (par. 0012). SEQ ID NO: 15 shares 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NO: 308; please see Office Action Appendix I for sequence alignments and percent identity (pgs. 2-3). Thus, Arboleda-Velasquez anticipates:
the synthetic cardiac muscle-specific CRM comprising two or more operably linked CRE0031s limitation recited in claim 50; and
the synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter comprising one CRM of claim 50 limitation recited in claim 54.
Regarding claims 56-60: Following the above discussion, Arboleda-Velasquez teaches a genetic construct comprising the promoter, wherein the promoter is operably linked to a NOTCH3 coding sequence; in an embodiment, an adeno-associated viral vector comprises said construct (par. 0009). This anticipates:
the expression cassette comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 operably linked to a sequence encoding an expression product limitation recited in claim 56;
the vector comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 57;
the vector comprising an expression cassette according to claim 56 limitation recited in claim 58; and
the AAV vector limitations recited in claims 59 and 60.
Regarding claims 61, 63: Following the above discussion, Arboleda-Velasquez teaches an embodiment wherein the viral nucleic acid molecule (e.g., in a viral particle) is transfected or transformed into a host cell (par. 0014). This anticipates:
the virion comprising a vector according to claim 57 limitation recited in claim 61; and
the cell comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 63.
Regarding claim 62: Following the above discussion, Arboleda-Velasquez teaches an embodiment wherein a pharmaceutical composition comprising the vector is administered to a subject (see e.g., pars. 0190, 0194, 0198-0199); this anticipates the pharmaceutical composition comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 62.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50, 54, and 56-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwartz, et al. (US 2003/0074679), as evidenced by Le Guiner, et al. (Nat Commun. 2017) and Arboleda-Velasquez (US 2023/0190959).
Schwartz, et al. (hereinafter Schwartz) teaches nucleic acids and vectors encoding growth hormone releasing hormone, and methods comprising use thereof (Abstract).
Regarding claims 50, 54: Schwartz teaches synthetic myogenic promoter SPc5-12, comprising a nucleic acid sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 6 (par. 0076). SEQ ID NO: 6 shares 100% sequence identity with instant SEQ ID NOs: 321 and 314; please see Office Action Appendix I for sequence alignments and percent identity (pg. 4). As evidenced by Le Guiner, et al. (Nat Commun. 2017), SPc5-12 is a synthetic muscle- and heart-specific promoter (pg. 2; col. 2, par. 1).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the SPc5-12 promoter of Schwartz by operably linking it with a second SPc5-12 promoter. This conclusion of obviousness is based on the ‘combining known alternatives rationale’. Schwartz discloses the inclusion of an SPc5-12 promoter in an expression vector (pars. 0085-0086); additionally, the disclosure teaches molecular cloning techniques, e.g., ligation (par. 0097), for combining two nucleic acid molecules. Further, as evidenced by Arboleda-Velasquez, the use of multiple promoters is a well-known technique in the art (par. 0012). Both Schwartz and Arboleda-Velasquez illustrate the skilled artisan would have more than a reasonable expectation of success in combining two promoters. Thus, the combination of two SPc5-12 promoters using methods for molecular cloning known in the art is a predictable use of known alternatives for directing expression of a coding sequence to a cell, leading to the predictable result of expression of the coding sequence product in said cell. This rationale aligns with the principle of combining known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; see MPEP 2143(I)(A).
Therefore, the modified tandem SPc5-12 promoter of Schwartz renders obvious the:
the synthetic cardiac muscle-specific CRM comprising two or more operably linked CREs selected from the group consisting of CRE0071 and CRE0051 limitation recited in claim 50; and
the synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter comprising one CRM of claim 50 limitation recited in claim 54.
Regarding claims 56-61: Following the above discussion, Schwartz teaches an expression vector comprising the promoter operably linked to a nucleotide sequence encoding a growth hormone releasing hormone, wherein the vector is an adeno-associated virus vector (pars. 0085-0086); this renders obvious:
the expression cassette comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 operably linked to a sequence encoding an expression product limitation recited in claim 56;
the vector comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 57;
the vector comprising an expression cassette according to claim 56 limitation recited in claim 58;
the AAV vector limitations recited in claims 59 and 60; and
the virion comprising a vector according to claim 57 limitation recited in claim 61.
Regarding claim 62: Following the above discussion, Schwartz teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the vector (par. 0127); this renders obvious the pharmaceutical composition comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 62.
Regarding claim 63: Following the above discussion, Schwartz teaches a host cell comprising the vector (par. 0315); this renders obvious the cell comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 63.
Double Patenting
Claims 50 and 54 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 8, 12-16, and 18 of copending Application No. 18/572,668 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 50, 54: Copending claim 6 recites a muscle-specific cis-regulatory element (CRE) comprising a sequence according to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 48-61 or 67. Copending SEQ ID NO: 61 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 320; both sequences teach CRE0069. Copending SEQ ID NO: 67 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 308; both sequences teach CRE0031. Please see Office Action Appendix I for sequence alignments and percent identity (pg. 5). Additionally, copending claim 8 recites a synthetic muscle-specific promoter comprising a CRE according to claim 6.
Copending Application No. 18/572,668 does not teach a cis-regulatory module (CRM) comprising two or more operably linked CREs.
However, copending Application No. 18/572,668 does teach each of CRE0069 and CRE0031; further, methods of DNA recombination are well known in the art (e.g., sequence and ligation independent cloning, restriction enzyme mediated integration). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the muscle-specific CRE of copending Application No. 18/572,668 by combining it with a second muscle-specific CRE, using methods for the generation of recombination known in the art; such a modification would result in a synthetic muscle-specific CRE comprising CRE0031 and CRE0069, which reads on the limitations recited in instant claims 50 and 54.
This conclusion of obviousness is based on the ‘combining known alternatives rationale’; the combination of two muscle-specific CREs is a predictable use of known alternatives of non-coding DNA involved in transcription regulation, leading to the predictable result of enhancing gene transcription. This rationale aligns with the principle of combining known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; see MPEP 2143(I)(A). This renders obvious the limitations recited in claims 50 and 54 over copending Application No. 18/572,668.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claims 51-52 and 55 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Allowable Subject Matter - Claims
Claim 53 is allowed.
Allowable Subject Matter - Sequences
SEQ ID NOs: 145, 161, 169, 171-176, 184-188, 198, 200-202, 211, 216-217, 221, 226, 232-233, 236-237, 249, 251, 253, 303, 307, 310-311, 320, 417, 514, 519-520, 523-525, 527-528, 530, 549 are free from the prior art.
Conclusion
/GINA PRONZATI/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633