DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is a national stage entry under 35 U.S.C. § 371 of PCT/GB2020/053371 (filed 12/24/2020). Acknowledgement is made of Applicants’ claim for priority to foreign applications GB2012192.7 (filed 08/05/2020) and GB1919269.9 (filed 12/24/2019).
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 02/02/2026 has been received and entered into the application file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 02/12/2026 lists a disclosure with the Publication No. 20180034467 under U.S. Patent Application Publications, listed as corresponding to Korean Publication No. 20180034467. There is no U.S. Patent Application Publication with the aforementioned document identification number. This reference has been lined through. Korean Publication No. 20180034467 is listed on the 02/12/2026 IDS under Foreign Patent Documents.
However, this is presumed to be an editing error. The IDS filed on 04/30/2026 lists Korean Publication No. 20180034467 under Foreign Patent Documents, and additionally lists Publication No. 20190032079 under U.S. Patent Application Publications; the latter shares the same Applicant and Publication Date as the erroneous document from the 02/12/2026 IDS.
Accordingly, and as indicated in the annotated copy of the 04/30/2026 IDS, both Korean Publication No. 20180034467 and U.S. Publication No. 20190032079 have been considered by the Examiner.
Status of Prior Rejections/Response to Arguments
RE: Rejection of claims 50-63 under the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a):
The amendment to claims 50-51 and 53-55 removing the functional variant thereof claim language is sufficient to obviate the rejections of record; accordingly, the rejections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 50-63 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness:
The amendment to claims 50-51 and 53-55 removes the functional variant thereof claim language; similarly, the amendment to claim 52 removes the preferably claim language.
These amendments are sufficient to obviate the rejections of record; therefore, the rejections are withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 50-63 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) over Ding:
The amendment to claims 50-51 and 53-55 removes the functional variant thereof claim language. This changes the scope of the instant claims, as the instant claims are now directed to CREs/CRMs comprising the sequences recited therein; i.e., a sequence recited in the prior art must now share 100% sequence identity to a corresponding sequence recited in an instant claim in order to be within the scope of said claim.
Applicants assert Ding, et al. does not teach each and every element required by the claims; i.e., SEQ ID NO: 1 of Ding, et al. does not share 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 310 of claims 50-63. This argument is found persuasive.
Therefore, the rejections of record are withdrawn.
RE: Rejection of claims 50, 54, and 56-63 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over copending Application No. 18/572,668:
Applicants have requested the rejections of record be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is identified.
Respectfully, Applicants are reminded 37 CFR 1.111 requires that replies by applicant or patent owner must reply to every ground of objection and rejection in the prior Office action. Only objections or requirements as to form not necessary to further consideration of the claims may be requested to be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Nonstatutory double patenting rejections may not be held in abeyance; see MPEP 714.02.
Applicants did not traverse the instant rejections of record; accordingly, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Interpretation
The following comments are made to establish broadest reasonable interpretation for the record.
Regarding claims 50-54: These claims recite limitations drawn to cis-regulatory elements (CREs) and/or cis-regulatory modules (CRMs). The term CRE is interpreted as a nucleic acid sequence such as an enhancer, promoter, insulator, or silencer, that can regulate or modulate the transcription of a neighboring gene; this interpretation is supported by the instant specification (pg. 137, lines 12-14). The term CRM is interpreted as a nucleic acid module, comprising two or more CREs; this interpretation is supported by the instant specification (pg. 138, lines 14-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 50, 54, and 56-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Vandendriessche, et al. (US 2016/0340693).
Vandendriessche, et al. (assigned to Vrije Universiteit Brussel; hereinafter VUB) teaches nucleic acid regulatory elements which enhance muscle-specific expression of genes, in particular expression in cardiac muscle and/or skeletal muscle (Abstract).
Regarding claims 50, 54: VUB teaches a nucleic acid regulatory element for enhancing muscle specific gene expression comprising a sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 10 (par. 0011). SEQ ID NO: 10 shares 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 329, i.e. CRE0079; please see end of Office action for all sequence alignments.
VUB further teaches an embodiment wherein two identical, operably linked regulatory elements are provided as tandem repeats; i.e., two regulatory elements which each comprise SEQ ID NO: 10 (pars. 0117-0119). This anticipates the synthetic cardiac muscle-specific CRM comprising two or more operably linked CREs (CRE0079) limitation recited in claim 50, as well as the synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter comprising at least one CRM of claim 50 limitation recited in claim 54.
Regarding claims 56-61: Following the above discussion, VUB teaches an embodiment wherein the nucleic acid regulatory elements are operably linked to a transgene (par. 0027) and contained within an expression cassette (par. 0025). Further disclosed is an embodiment wherein the expression cassette is contained with an adeno-associated viral (AAV) vector (pars. 0033-0034). This anticipates:
the expression cassette comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 operably linked to a sequence encoding an expression product limitation recited in claim 56;
the vector comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 57;
the vector comprising an expression cassette according to claim 56 limitation recited in claim 58;
the AAV vector limitations recited in claims 59 and 60; and
the virion comprising a vector according to claim 57 limitation recited in claim 61.
Regarding claim 62: Following the above discussion, VUB teaches an embodiment wherein the expression cassette is contained in a pharmaceutical composition (par. 0034); this anticipates the pharmaceutical composition comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 62.
Regarding claim 63: Following the above discussion, VUB teaches an embodiment wherein the vector is used to transport the nucleic acid molecule into a host cell (par. 0146); this anticipates the cell comprising a synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54 limitation recited in claim 63.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 50-52 and 54-63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vandendriessche, et al. (US 2016/0340693) in view of Schwartz, et al. (US 2003/0074679).
The teachings of VUB are set forth above; claims 50, 54, and 56-63 are anticipated by the same.
Schwartz, et al. teaches methods of administering a nucleic acid sequence (Abstract).
Regarding claims 51-52: It is set forth above VUB teaches a nucleic acid molecule comprising tandem repeats of a regulatory element comprising SEQ ID NO: 10 (pars. 0011, 0117-0119), which anticipates a CRM comprising CRE0079 adjacent a second CRE0079. VUB does not teach the remaining limitations of the instant claims.
However, Schwartz, et al. teaches synthetic promoter SPc5-12 comprising a sequence as set forth in SEQ ID NO: 6 (par. 0076). SEQ ID NO: 6 shares 100% sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 321, or CRE0071; please see end of Office action for all sequence alignments.
Given that both SEQ ID NO: 10 of VUB (pars. 0077, 0084, 0091) and SEQ ID NO: 6 of Schwartz, et al. (par. 0076) are regulatory elements (e.g., enhancer, promoter) capable of increasing and/or driving gene expression in muscle cells, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the nucleic acid molecule of VUB by substituting the second regulatory element comprising SEQ ID NO: 10 with the synthetic promoter SPc5-12 comprising SEQ ID NO: 6 of Schwartz, et al. This conclusion of obviousness is based on the ‘substitution rationale’. The use of the SPc5-12 molecule of Schwartz, et al. in place of the nucleic acid regulatory element of VUB is a predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions as gene expression regulatory elements, leading to the predictable result of a nucleic acid molecule capable of driving gene expression in muscle cells. This rationale aligns with the principle of a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; see MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Thus, the modified nucleic acid molecule set forth above reads on the synthetic cardiac muscle-specific CRM comprising a combination of CRE0079 and CRE0071 limitation recited in claim 51, as well as the wherein the CREs are present in the recited order and adjacent to one another limitation recited in claim 52.
Regarding claim 55: Following the above discussion, Table D of the instant Specification evidences SP0366 comprises CRE0079 adjacent CRE0071 (pg. 26). Thus, the modified nucleic acid molecule of VUB reads on the synthetic cardiac muscle-specific promoter of claim 54, wherein the promoter is SP0366 limitation recited in claim 55.
Double Patenting
Claims 50, 54, and 56-63 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6, 8, 12-16, and 18 of copending Application No. 18/572,668 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
Regarding claims 50, 54: Copending claim 6 recites a muscle-specific cis-regulatory element (CRE) comprising as sequence according to any one of SEQ ID NOs: 48-61 or 67. Copending SEQ ID NO: 61 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 320; both sequences teach CRE0069. Copending SEQ ID NO: 67 is identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 308; both sequences teach CRE0031. Copending claim 8 recites a synthetic muscle-specific promoter comprising a CRE according to claim 6.
Copending Application No. 18/572,668 does not teach a cis-regulatory module (CRM) comprising two or more operably linked CREs.
However, copending Application No. 18/572,668 does teach each of CRE0069 and CRE0031; further, methods of DNA recombination are well known in the art (e.g., sequence and ligation independent cloning, restriction enzyme mediated integration). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the muscle-specific CRE of copending Application No. 18/572,668 by combining it with a second muscle-specific CRE, using methods for the generation of recombination known in the art; such a modification would result in a synthetic muscle-specific CRE comprising CRE0031 and CRE0069, which reads on the limitations recited in instant claims 50 and 54.
This conclusion of obviousness is based on the ‘combining known alternatives rationale’; the combination of two muscle-specific CREs is a predictable use of known alternatives of non-coding DNA involved in transcription regulation, leading to the predictable result of enhancing gene transcription. This rationale aligns with the principle of combining known prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; see MPEP 2143(I)(A). This renders obvious the limitations recited in claim 50 over copending Application No. 18/572,668.
Regarding claim 56: Following the above discussion, copending claim 12 recites an expression cassette comprising a synthetic muscle specific promoter operably linked to a sequence encoding an expression product; this reads on the limitations of claim 56.
Regarding claims 57-61: Copending claims 13-15 of copending Application No. 18/572,668 recite a vector comprising the synthetic muscle specific promoter or expression cassette (copending claim 13), which reads on the limitations of instant claims 57-58; wherein the vector is an AAV vector, an adenoviral vector, a retroviral vector, or a lentiviral vector (copending claim 14), which reads on the limitations of instant claims 59-60; a virion comprising the vector (copending claim 15), which reads on the limitations of instant claim 61.
Regarding claim 62: Copending claim 16 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the synthetic muscle specific promoter, expression cassette, vector, or virion; this reads on the limitations recited in instant claim 62.
Regarding claim 63: Copending claim 18 recites a cell comprising the synthetic muscle-specific promoter, expression cassette, vector, or virion; this reads on the limitations recited in instant claim 63.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Objections
Claim 53 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. SEQ ID NOs: 145, 161, 169, 171-176, 184-188, 198, 200-202, 211, 216-217, 221, 226, 232-233, 236-237, 249, 251, 253, 514, 519-520, 523-525, 527-528, 530, 549 are free from the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GINA PRONZATI/Examiner, Art Unit 1633
/ALLISON M FOX/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1633
SEQUENCE ALIGNMENTS
Query, ‘Qy’ (SEQ ID NO: 329) vs. Database, ‘Db’ (‘VUB’ US 2016/0340693; SEQ ID NO: 10)
Query, ‘Qy’ (SEQ ID NO: 321) vs. Database, ‘Db’ (Schwartz, et al. US 2003/0074679; SEQ ID NO: 6)
