DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements (IDS) filed 06/24/2022, 04/12/2024, 09/02/2024 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by WO 2015063096 to Kunze (Kunze, machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Kunze discloses an electrolyte containing solid particles (Claim 1), comprising: an organic solvent, an electrolyte lithium salt (claim 13) and glass particles dispersed in the liquid electrolyte (para, 226 39), and the glass is composite oxide glass comprising a lithium oxide and a phosphorus oxide (claim 2).
Regarding claim 5, Kunze discloses vinylene carbonate (para 218).
Regarding claim 7, Kunze discloses ethylene carbonate (para 218).
Regarding claim 8, Kunze discloses LiPF6 (claim 13).
Regarding claims 9-11, Kunze discloses the electrolyte containing 0.38 g of the solid particles with average diameter of 1 µm (re claims 9, 10) in 50 ml of 1M solution of LiPF6 , i.e., concentration of the solid particles is about 0. 58 % mass % ( calculated on a total weight of the electrolyte (re claim 11). It is noted that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claim 12, Kunze discloses a lithium ion secondary battery (claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2- 4 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015063096 to Kunze (Kunze, machine translation).
Regarding claims 2-4, Kunze discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. In addition, Kunze discloses the glass particles comprising L2O-P2O5 and M doped L2O-P2O5, wherein M= Si, Na, or Ta (para 143,102, 100, claims 1-5, Table 2). Kunze also teaches that the content of L2O, P2O5 and doping element M affect thermal stability of a conductive salt in an electrolyte solution. Therefore, the content of L2O, P2O5 and doping element M is a result effective variable. It has been held by the courts that discovering an optimum value or workable ranges of a result-effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, and thus not novel. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP 2144.05. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art at the time the invention was filed to optimize the content of L2O, P2O5 and doping element M in the electrolyte solution in order to provide cost-effective, non-toxic, temperature-stable additive for improving the performance during flexible use in all areas of a rechargeable lithium-ion battery with liquid electrolytes such as ensuring thermal stabilization of the conductive salt (para 38).
Regarding claims 13 and 14, Kunze discloses ethylene carbonate (para 218).
Regarding claim 15 and 16, Kunze discloses Kunze discloses LiPF6 (claim 13).
Regarding claims 17-20, Kunze discloses the electrolyte containing 0.38 g of the solid particles with average diameter of 1 µm (re claims 17, 18) in 50 ml of 1M solution of LiPF6 , i.e., concentration of the solid particles is about 0. 58 % mass % ( calculated on a total weight of the electrolyte (re claim 19,20). It is noted that a specific example in the prior art which is within a claimed range anticipates the range. See MPEP 2131.03.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2015063096 to Kunze in view of WO 2015182595 to Inoue (Inoue, machine translation)
Regarding claim 6, Kunze discloses the invention as discussed above as applied to claim 1 and incorporated therein. Kunze does not expressly disclose wherein the electrolyte comprises a suspension aid, the suspension aid is selected from one or more of the group consisting of a polymer dispersant, a surfactant and an anti-settling agent.
Inoue teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (Abstract), wherein the non-aqueous electrolyte such as diethyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate, contains a lithium salt such as LiPF6 and surfactant (3-d). Therefore, a use a surfactant in the electrolyte solutions of lithium salts in non-aqueous electrolyte such as diethyl carbonate, dimethyl carbonate, ethyl methyl carbonate is well known in the art. Since electrolyte solution of Inoue is substantially similar to that of Kunze, it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte composition of Kunze with the surfactant , as taught by Inoue in order to improve solubility of lithium salt and increase distribution of solid glass particle throughout electrolyte solution.
Conclusion
/Alexander Usyatinsky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727