DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi (US 20220059291 A1) and further in view of Igawa (US 20180287119 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ochi teaches a separator (abstract) for electrochemical elements (abstract, [a solid electrolytic capacitor]), the separator comprising synthetic fibers (abstract, [the separator contains synthetic fiber]) and beaten cellulose fibers (abstract, [(the separator contains) fibrillated natural cellulose fiber]), wherein the beaten cellulose fibers have a Canadian standard freeness measured in accordance with JIS P 8121 of 50 ml or more and 500 ml or less (para. 0077, [a CSF value of the fiber constituting the separator is set in a range of 0 to 500 ml]).
Ochi does not teach that the beaten cellulose fibers have a number average fiber diameter of 13 µm or more.
Igawa, in the same field of endeavor, beaten cellulose fibers used in separators, teaches beaten cellulose fibers having a number average fiber diameter of 13 µm or more (Igawa, para. 0119, [an average fiber width of 18 µm])(Examiner notes that in para. 0117, Igawa teaches that Lyocell fibers are regenerated cellulose fibers and teaches that in para. 0119 the Lyocell fibers were beaten).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have processed Ochi’s beaten cellulose fibers to have a number average fiber diameter of 18 µm, as taught by Igawa, in order to make a separator in which the denseness can be increased without deterioration of the strength of the separator, thereby providing a good separator having high shielding performance, as taught by Igawa (Igawa, para. 0045).
Modified Ochi does not teach:
in a fiber diameter distribution histogram of the beaten cellulose fibers,
(1) the fibers have a maximum frequency peak in a range of 14 µm to 50 µm
(2) a ratio of the fibers having a fiber diameter of 20 µm or less is 55% or more
Modified Ochi teaches fibers with an average diameter of 18 µm. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have processed the cellulose fibers to obtain fibers within the frequency peak of 18 µm, and to obtain a ratio of 55% or more of fibers having a diameter of 18 µm, in order to make a separator in which the denseness can be increased without deterioration of the strength of the separator, thereby providing a good separator having high shielding performance, as taught by Igawa (Igawa, para. 0045).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 1, and Ochi further teaches a binder (para. 0078, [a resin such as polyvinyl alcohol … can be used as the binder material]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 1 and as discussed above, teaches the cellulose fiber diameter to be 1 micron, which reads on a ratio of the fibers having a fiber diameter of more than 30 µm is 10% or less (none)
Regarding claim 5, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 1, and Ochi further teaches the beaten cellulose fibers are beaten natural cellulose fibers (para. 0051, [fibrillated natural cellulose fiber]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 2, and Ochi further teaches that the binder is a polyvinyl alcohol-based binder (para. 0078, [a sealing resin such as polyvinyl alcohol … can be used as the binder material]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 1, and Ochi further teaches a content of the synthetic fibers is 1% by mass or more and 55% by mass or less based on a total mass of the separator (abstract, [the synthetic fiber contains 20-80 mass %]).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 1, and Ochi further teaches a content of the beaten cellulose fibers is 30% by mass or more and 95% by mass or less based on a total mass of the separator (abstract, [the content of fibrillated natural cellulose fiber is 20-80 mass %]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 2, and Ochi further teaches a content of the binder is 0.5% by mass or more and 20% by mass or less based on a total mass of the separator (para. 0078, [the content of the binder material is not particularly limited … however when the content is up to about 30 mass % (reading on all ranges), the impregnation property is hardly affected].
Regarding claim 10, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 1, and Ochi further teaches that the separator has a thickness of 10 µm or more and less than 70 µm (para. 0079, [the thickness is about 20 to 70 µm]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Ochi teaches an electrochemical element comprising the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 1 (abstract, [solid electrolytic capacitor using the separator]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 2, and Ochi further teaches that a content of the binder is 0.5% by mass or more and 8% by mass or less based on a total mass of the separator (para. 0078, [the content of the binder material is not particularly limited … however when the content is up to about 30 mass %, the impregnation property is hardly affected]. Ochi teaches about the effects of having a content mass of 30 and below, which then teaches that it is possible to have a binder content mass % of 0.5% to 20%.)
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochi (US 20220059291 A1) in view of Igawa (US 20180287119 A1), and further in view of Tanaka (US 20160293338 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ochi teaches the separator for electrochemical elements according to claim 1, and Ochi further teaches that the synthetic fibers are polyamide-based fibers. Ochi does not teach that the synthetic fibers are polyvinyl alcohol-based fibers.
Tanaka, in the same field of endeavor, fibrous separators, teaches that the fibrous component of the separator may be at least one of a polyvinyl alcohol fiber, polyamide fiber and/or regenerated cellulose fiber (para. 0062). Tanaka lists various examples of materials that can be used for the fibrous component of the separator.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator of Ochi by replacing the polyamide fiber of Ochi with the polyvinyl alcohol fiber as taught by Tanaka. The simple substitution of a known element (polyamide) for another (polyvinyl alcohol) would achieve the predictable result of providing a fibrous component that can be used to make a separator with excellent impedance characteristics and short-circuit resistance characteristics, as disclosed by Tanaka (abstract). See KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Other Pertinent Art
Mizobuchi (US 6074523 A)
“Fibers of Manila hemp pulp have a Substantially circular shape and a diameter of about 20 lum. In the case of the Manila hemp pulp, the extent of beating can be grasped as a variation in the rate of fibers having a diameter of 20 um to fibrils having a diameter of 0.4 um.” (Mizobuchi, column 6, first paragraph)
Conclusion
/V.G./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721