DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claim 21) is acknowledged. Claim 22 was intended to include in Group II but was inadvertently omitted from the election/restriction requirement sent on 06/13/2025. Therefore, claim 22 is included in the elected Group II, thus Group II includes claims 21 and 22.
Therefore, claims 1, 3-5 and 7-20 are withdrawn from further consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03. Applicants preserve their right to file a divisional on the non-elected subject matter.
Claims 21 and 22 are examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Nadeau et al (US 2015/0152473).
Nadeau teaches a method of detection of two targets in a biological sample utilizing two analyte specific binding entities (proximity pair) such as antibodies that binds to two different epitopes on the same analyte or different analytes in close proximity (para [0007]). Nadeau teaches that each analyte specific binding entity (e.g. antibody) is conjugated to a single-stranded nucleic acid (an oligonucleotide moiety; i.e. a barcode) (para [0007]) wherein the single-stranded nucleic acid (barcode) when in close proximity, partially hybridize to each other, thus each barcode is distinct (having different sequence) (Figs. 1G, 1J). Nadeau teaches providing one or more hybridization blocker oligonucleotides (hybridization blocker) which hybridizes with the oligonucleotide moieties of the proximity member (para [0008]). Nadeau teaches a detection of two or more targets in a biological sample, comprising:
a) contacting the sample with first and second proximity member (i.e. antibody) having the oligonucleotide moieties (i.e. barcodes) in a reacting mixture, wherein the oligonucleotide moieties (i.e. the barcodes) are hybridized to the hybridization blocker (i.e. a barcode precursor comprising a double-stranded nucleic region comprising a distinct barcode hybridized to a segment of a blocker strand); b) dissociating the hybridization blocker from the barcode oligonucleotides (i.e. removing the blocker strands from the barcode precursors to form single-stranded barcodes); and c) allowing amplicon to form between the analyte-bound proximity pair (para [0008]) and detecting the antibody-barcode conjugates bound to the target by detecting amplicon dependent amplification product using the barcode (para [0095] and claims 1, 20 and 24). Therefore, the reference is deemed to anticipate the cited claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Giedt et al (Nature communications 2018).
In regards to claims 21 and 22, Giedt teaches detection of two or more targets by contacting the sample with two or more antibody-barcode conjugates wherein each antibody-barcode conjugate comprises an antibody capable of binding to different target (see Fig.2: mAb-DNA conjugates against EGFR and pS6) and a barcode wherein the barcode is hybridized with a blocker strand (
, mAb-DNA-Fl: Fig. 1). Giedt teaches detecting the antibody-barcode conjugates (mAb-DNA-Fl) bound to the target and removing the blocker strand having the fluorophores by washing in deionized water (page 2, lines 27-34 of 2nd col.).
Giedt does not disclose that the barcode of each antibody-barcode conjugate is distinct, but however, Giedt teaches that mAb–DNA-Fl conjugates containing different fluorochromes for each mAb in each imaging cycle (page 2, lines 27-34 of 2nd col.) wherein the blocker strand comprises complementary oligo with two linked fluorochromes (Fig.1;
). Therefore, from the description in mind, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage distinct barcode for each antibody-DNA-Fl conjugates with various complementary oligo with various fluorochromes with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 21 and 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nadeau et al (US 2015/0152473) as described above for claim 22 and further in view of Xlaochum et al (WO 2011/022820A1).
Nadeau has been cited above anticipating claim 22. Nadeau teaches a method of detection of two targets in a biological sample utilizing two analyte specific binding entities (proximity pair) such as antibodies that binds to two different epitopes on the same analyte or different analytes in close proximity (para [0007]). Nadeau teaches that each analyte specific binding entity (e.g. antibody) is conjugated to a single-stranded nucleic acid (an oligonucleotide moiety; i.e. a barcode) (para [0007]) wherein the single-stranded nucleic acid (barcode) when in close proximity, partially hybridize to each other, thus each barcode is distinct (having different sequence) (Figs. 1G, 1J). Nadeau teaches providing one or more hybridization blocker oligonucleotides (hybridization blocker) which hybridizes with the oligonucleotide moieties of the proximity member (para [0008]). Nadeau teaches a detection of two or more targets in a biological sample, comprising:
a) contacting the sample with first and second proximity member (i.e. antibody) having the oligonucleotide moieties (i.e. barcodes) in a reacting mixture, wherein the oligonucleotide moieties (i.e. the barcodes) are hybridized to the hybridization blocker; b) dissociating the hybridization blocker from the barcode oligonucleotides; and c) allowing amplicon to form between the analyte-bound proximity pair (para [0008]) and detecting the antibody-barcode conjugates bound to the target by detecting amplicon dependent amplification product using the barcode (para [0095] and claims 1, 20 and 24).
Nadeau discloses blocker strand hybridized to barcode but does not specifically mention that the blocker strand hybridizes to the barcode over the entire length or the blocker strand hybridizes to the barcode over the entire length and further comprises a 5’ or 3’ toehold overhang. However, Nadeau discloses blocker blocking various regions of the barcode and also having 5’ or 3’ overhang (Fig. 4EE, Fig. 4G, 4I 11A) to reduce non-specific interactions and improve sensitivity (para [0008] & [0108]).
Xlaochum teaches proximity assay utilizing first targeting molecule having an first oligonucloetide having a free end and a second targeting molecule having a second oligonucleotide having a free end, wherein the first oligonucleotide is complementary to the second oligonucleotide, wherein upon binding of the targeting molecule to the target molecule, the free end of the oligonucleotide hybridizes at or near the free end of the oligonucleotides (abstract). Xlaochum teaches utilizing blocking oligonucleotides to block the free end of the first and second oligonucleotides to improve background signal. Xlaochum teaches that the blocking agent may comprise a blocking oligonucleotide that may hybridize in whole or in part to the portion of the oligonucleotide of the first probe that is complementary to that of the second probe. In another embodiment, the blocking agent may comprise a blocking oligonucleotide that may hybridize in whole or in part to the portion of the oligonucleotide of the second probe that is complementary to that of the first probe. In a further embodiment, the blocking agent may comprise a blocking oligonucleotide that may hybridize in whole or in part to the portion of the oligonucleotide of the first probe that is complementary to that of the second probe; and a blocking oligonucleotide that may hybridize in whole or in part to the portion of the oligonucleotide of the second probe that is complementary to that of the first probe. Xlaochum teaches that a blocking oligonucleotide may be of any composition and length that is suitable for use in reducing and/or preventing background hybridization of the probes. A skilled person would appreciate that the blocking agent may reversibly block the hybridization of the probes. A blocking agent of the invention is not permanently attached to a probe (i.e. by cross-linking or covalent bond), and thus blocking of a probe may be reversed. For example, a blocking agent may be a blocking oligonucleotide that hybridizes to a probe. The blocking oligonucleotide may dissociate from the probe due to conditions, such as, elevated temperatures and/or through random motion (i.e. association/disassociation) of molecules (pages 22-23).
Therefore, given the teaching of Xlaochum that blocking oligonucleotide improves background signals and that a blocking oligonucleotide that may hybridize in whole or in part to the portion of the oligonucleotide of the first probe that is complementary to that of the second probe and given the fact that Nadeau provides the basic concept of providing blocker strand for hybridizing to barcode for reducing non-specific interaction and improving sensitivity, one of ordinary skilled in the art can easily envisage different variations of blockers hybridizing to various regions of the barcode including blocking the entire region of barcode for optimization depending on the detection process of the barcode because discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art.
Conclusion
/SHAFIQUL HAQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1678