DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Applicants' arguments, filed 02/13/2026, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites wherein the 1,3-butylene glycol product contains at least one selected from the group consisting of a compound represented by Formula (A) and a compound represented by Formula (B). The claim is indefinite since the claim recites “contains” and “selected from the group consisting of,” which have different scopes. It is unclear whether the product may contain other compounds other than the compound of Formula (A) and/or compound of Formula (B) or whether the product is limited to the compounds of Formula (A) and/or Formula (B).
Claims 16 and 17 recite wherein, in a state wherein the 1,3-butylene glycol product has not undergone a test in which 1,3-butylene glycol product is kept at 180°C for 3 hours in air atmosphere, there is a content of methyl vinyl ketone, 1-hydroxy3-butanone, acetone, formaldehyde, crontonaldehyde, acetaldol, and acetaldehyde. The claim is indefinite since it is unclear wherein the claim still requires the product to comprise compound of Formula (A) and/or compound of Formula (B) and in the amount recited in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 2, 3, 5-7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claims 2, 3, 5-7 and 20 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 since each of these claims recite an amount of the compound of Formula (A) and/or the compound of Formula (B) that exceeds the less than 8 ppm limit for each of the compound of Formula (A) and the compound of Formula (B) recited in claim 1.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, 20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Khandurina et al., (WO 2018/183628 A1, Oct. 04, 2018) (hereinafter Khandurina).
Khandurina teaches in the background that 1,3-BG (which also can be referred to as 1,3- butylene glycol) can be petro-BG, which is produced in a chemical process from petroleum derived acetylene via its hydration ([0004]). Khandurina discloses a bioderived 1,3-BG that is cosmetic grade (Claim 10). The bioderived 1,3-BG has a chemical purity of 99.9% or more ([0010]). The term "bioderived" means produced from or synthesized by a biological organism ([0087]). The bioderived 1,3-BG has overall lower levels of "heavies" and "lights" contaminants than petro-BG ([00134]). The term "lights" refers to compounds in a 1,3-BG sample that elute at earlier retention times than 1,3-BG, e.g., in a GC-MS chromatogram or an LC-MS chromatogram ([0090]). The term "heavies" refers to compounds in a 1,3-BG sample that elute at later retention times than 1,3-BG, e.g., in a GC-MS chromatogram or an LC-MS chromatogram ([0091]). The following exemplary compounds are believed to be present at a level of less than 1 ppm: acetaldehyde, 3-buten-2-one (methyl vinyl ketone), diacetyl, 2-butenal (crotonaldehyde), 3-hydroxy-2-butanone (acetoin), or combinations thereof ([00153]). The bioderived 1,3-BG may have nondetectable or less than 10 ppm of 3-hydroxy-butanal (i.e., acetaldol) and 4-hydroxy-2-butanone (i.e., 1-hydroxy-3-butanone) ([00154] and [00155]). The bioderived 1,3-BG may also contain acetone as a contaminant (Table 11).
Accordingly, Khandurina anticipates the instant claims insofar as disclosing a bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol having a chemical purity of 99.9% or more ([0010]), wherein the contaminants include methyl vinyl ketone, 4-hydroxy-2-butanone (i.e., 1-hydroxy-3-butanone, acetone, crotonaldehyde, 3-hydroxy-butanal (i.e., acetaldol), and acetaldehyde ([00153]-[00155] and Table 11). As noted in the instant specification on page 18, last paragraph, methyl vinyl ketone, 1-hydroxy-3-butanone, acetone, formaldehyde, crotonaldehyde, acetaldol, and acetaldehyde are precursors of the compounds represented by Formula (A) or (B). As noted in the specification in paragraph [0197], when the initial contents of acetaldehyde, crotonaldehyde, methyl vinyl ketone, acetone, formaldehyde, butylaldehyde, acetaldol, and 1-hydroxy-3-butanone were low, impurities represented by Formulas (1) to (10) did not increase so much or did not increase at all. Therefore, since the bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol of Khandurina may comprise an amount of the precursors that form the compounds represented by Formula (A) and/or (B), the bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol of Khandurina comprises an amount of the compounds of Formula (A) and/or (B). Additionally, since the bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol of Khandurina has a chemical purity of 99.9% or more and the amount of contaminants in the bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol of Khandurina may be less than 1 ppm, the compounds represented by Formula (A) and/or (B) formed from the contaminants would be less than 1 ppm as well.
In regards to instant claim 1 reciting keeping 1,3-butylene glycol at 180°C for 3 hours, this is merely a product-by-process limitation. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113. As discussed above, Khandurina teaches a 1,3-buytlene glycol product having less than 1 ppm of contaminants, which meets the instant claims. Therefore, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.
Regarding claim 4, since Khandurina teaches substantially the same precursors of the compounds represented by Formulas (A) and/or (B), the bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol of Khandurina necessarily has substantially the same compounds of Formulas (A) and/or (B).
Regarding claims 11-13, since Khandurina teaches substantially the same1,3- butylene glycol product as claimed, the 1,3-butylene glycol product of Khandurina has substantially the same properties as the 1,3-butylene glycol product claimed.
Regarding claim 14, as noted in the instant specification in paragraph [0010], acetic acid is an impurity of an acetaldol. As discussed above, Khandurina teaches less than 10 ppm acetaldol. Therefore, the 1,3-butylene glycol product of Khandurina has less than 16 ppm acetic acid.
Regarding claim 22, the claim is a product-by-process claim. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113. In the instant case, as discussed above, Khandurina discloses a bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol produced from or synthesized by a biological organism, which is substantially the same as the product claimed. Therefore, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that the natural result flowing from the method as taught in Khandurina would not necessarily and inevitably result in the claimed, 1,3-butylene glycol product.
The Examiner does not find Applicant’s argument to be persuasive. A 1,3-butylene glycol product comprising a compound represented by Formula (A) and/or a compound represented by Formula (B), wherein the amount of each compound is less than 8 ppm appears to be the result of a 1,3-butylene glycol product having low levels of methyl vinyl ketone, 1-hydroxy-3-butanone, acetone, formaldehyde, crotonaldehyde, acetaldol, and acetaldehyde. As noted in the instant specification in paragraph [0056], methyl vinyl ketone, 1-hydroxy-3-butanone, acetone, formaldehyde, crotonaldehyde, acetaldol, and acetaldehyde are precursors of the compounds represented by Formula (A) or (B). As discussed above, Khandurina teaches a bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol having a chemical purity of 99.9% or more ([0010]), wherein contaminants include methyl vinyl ketone, 4-hydroxy-2-butanone (i.e., 1-hydroxy-3-butanone, acetone, crotonaldehyde, 3-hydroxy-butanal (i.e., acetaldol), and acetaldehyde ([00153]-[00155] and Table 11). Therefore, since Khandurina teaches a 1,3-butylene glycol product having low levels of methyl vinyl ketone, 1-hydroxy-3-butanone, acetone, formaldehyde, crotonaldehyde, acetaldol, and acetaldehyde and these compounds develop into the claimed compounds of Formula (A) and/or (B), the bioderived 1,3-butylene glycol of Khandurina comprises substantially the same amount of compounds of Formula (A) or Formula (B) as claimed. As such, Applicant’s argument is unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Claims 1-17, 20 and 22 are rejected.
No claims are allowed.
/TRACY LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614