DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
2. Claims 1-8, 10, 15, 18-22, 26, 33, 35-37 are currently pending. Claims 1-8, 10, 15, 18 have been elected without traverse in the response filed on 09/23/2025. Claims 1-8, 10, 15 and 18 are currently under examination. This office action is the first office action on the merits of the claims.
Election/Restrictions
3. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 09/23/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-22, 26, 33, 35-37 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/23/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 6, 10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Concerning claim 6 the claim recites wherein Z is a bond or -CH2- which renders the claim indefinite as it is not clear if the indication of CH2 means the specific formula of CH2 or if this can be independently optionally substituted with 1 or 2 CH3 groups as indicated in claim 1 from which the claim depends.
Concerning claim 10 The claim recites “an azido compound (R-N3)” which renders the claim indefinite as it is not clear if the indication in parenthesis is a required structure or is merely an example. Moreover The use of the R group is not clear as R is only defined in a optional rule so it is not clue what the broadest the non optional structure of R is.
Moreover the claim in second B indicates THPTA , TBTA and BTTES followed by chemical structures in parenthesis which renders the claim indefinite as it is not clear if the indicated ligands are defined by the chemical structure in parenthesi or if this is just examples of possible ligands that fit within the structure. As such it is not clear what is being referred to by the THPTA , TBTA and BTTES.
Concerning claim 18 the claim recites “TAMRA-N3” which renders the claim indefinite as it is not clear what TAMRA is, as it is not defined in the claims.
5. Claim 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 8 recites specific compounds of claim which or a salt solvate stereoisomer tautomer or any mixtures thereof. However claim 1 from which claim 8 depends does not indicate a stereoisomer or tautomer of the general chemical compound. As such the indication of stereoisomers and tautomers of the compounds indicates compounds which were not recited in claim 1 and as such claim 8 impermissibly broadens the compound of claim 1 from which claim 8 depends. Concerning claim 15 the claim recites “the chromophore of fluorogenic molecule is covalently linked to an oligonucleotide or poly nucleotide “ which refers to an optional limitation of claim 10 from which it depends. As such altering this optional limitation does not alter the scope of the claim 10 from which it depends as the required scope of the azido compound is still just that it be an azido compound. As such Claim 15 does not alter the scope of claim 10 from which it depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 1-4, 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heller (US 2014/0088192 A1; listed on the IDS filed on 06/24/2022).
Concerning claim 1 Heller teaches a compound of (paragraph 0023)
Where each of R5 and R6 is independently selected from H C1-6 alkyl C2-6 alkenyl, C2-6 alkynyl, C2-6 heterocyclyl C6-12 aryl C7-14 alkaryl C3-140 alkheterocylcyl and C1-7 heteroalkyl. In the event that one of R5 or R6 is a C2 or C4-C6 alkynyl and the other is selected from H, C1-6 alkyl, C2-6 alkynyl or C6-10aryl then the compound would correspond to the claimed compound of formula (I) where X is C(=O)NH, C(=O)N(C6-10 aryl), C(=O)N(C2-10 alkenyl or C(=O)N(C1-10alkyl), m1 is 0 and m2 is 0 or 2-4.
Heller does not specifically teach that the compound has the claimed structure of formula I.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to provide a compound having the claimed structure because Heller teaches a compound that has a structure which overlaps with the claimed structure and so it would be obvious to use the indicated groups for R5 and R6 in combination with one another because Heller teaches that the R5 and R6 groups can independently be groups that provide the claimed structure.
Concerning claim 2 Heller teaches a compound of (paragraph 0023)
Where each of R5 and R6 is independently selected from H C1-6 alkyl C2-6 alkenyl, C2-6 alkynyl, C2-6 heterocyclyl C6-12 aryl C7-14 alkaryl C3-140 alkheterocylcyl and C1-7 heteroalkyl. In the event that one of R5 or R6 is a C2 or C4-C6 alkynyl and the other is selected from H, or C1 alkyl then the compound would correspond to the claimed compound of formula (I) where X is C(=O)NH or C(=O)N(CH3), m1 is 0 and m2 is 0 or 2-4.
Heller does not specifically teach that the compound has the claimed structure of formula I.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to provide a compound having the claimed structure because Heller teaches a compound that has a structure which overlaps with the claimed structure and so it would be obvious to use the indicated groups for R5 and R6 in combination with one another because Heller teaches that the R5 and R6 groups can independently be groups that provide the claimed structure.
Concerning claim 3 Heller teaches the compound of claim 1 as is stated above. The claim as is currently drafted does not require that Y is present in the formula of the compound. As such the limitation of claim 3 is interpreted such that if y is present at least one Y must have one of the indicated formulas. However since Y is not present in the compound of Heller, m1 for the compound of heller will be zero and the formula of the compound of Heller will meet the claimed limitations.
Concerning claim 4 Heller teaches a compound of (paragraph 0023)
Where each of R5 and R6 is independently selected from H C1-6 alkyl C2-6 alkenyl, C2-6 alkynyl, C2-6 heterocyclyl C6-12 aryl C7-14 alkaryl C3-140 alkheterocylcyl and C1-7 heteroalkyl. In the event that one of R5 or R6 is a C2 or C4-C6 alkynyl and the other is selected from H then the compound would correspond to the claimed compound of formula (I) where X is C(=O)NH, m1 is 0 and m2 is 0 or 2-4. This would result in the L of the formula having the claimed structure.
Heller does not specifically teach that the compound has the claimed structure of formula I.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to provide a compound having the claimed structure because Heller teaches a compound that has a structure which overlaps with the claimed structure and so it would be obvious to use the indicated groups for R5 and R6 in combination with one another because Heller teaches that the R5 and R6 groups can independently be groups that provide the claimed structure.
Concerning claim 6 Heller teaches a compound of (paragraph 0023)
Where each of R5 and R6 is independently selected from H C1-6 alkyl C2-6 alkenyl, C2-6 alkynyl, C2-6 heterocyclyl C6-12 aryl C7-14 alkaryl C3-140 alkheterocylcyl and C1-7 heteroalkyl. In the event that one of R5 or R6 is a C2 alkynyl and the other is selected from H, C1-6 alkyl, C2-6 alkynyl or C6-10aryl then the compound would correspond to the claimed compound of formula (I) where X is C(=O)NH, C(=O)N(C6-10 aryl), C(=O)N(C2-10 alkenyl or C(=O)N(C1-10alkyl), Z is a bond,m1 is 0 and m2 is 0 or 2-4.
Heller does not specifically teach that the compound has the claimed structure of formula I.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filling to provide a compound having the claimed structure because Heller teaches a compound that has a structure which overlaps with the claimed structure and so it would be obvious to use the indicated groups for R5 and R6 in combination with one another because Heller teaches that the R5 and R6 groups can independently be groups that provide the claimed structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
7. Claims 5, and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 8, 10, 15, 18 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art of record fairly teach or suggest the particularly claimed compound structure of the composition including the compound a copper (II)salt a copper (I) ligand and an azido compound. .
Conclusion
8. Claims 1-4, 6, 8, 15 and 18 are rejected. Claims 5, 7-8, 10, 15 are allowable over the prior art of record but claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent from a rejected base claim and claims 8, 10 15,and 18 are rejected over 112.
/DAVID L MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1763
/JOSEPH S DEL SOLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1763