DETAILED ACTION
This action is written in response to the amendment filed 02/17/2026
Claim 1 has been amended
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-12 are presented for examination
This action is Final
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-5 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dijk et al. (US 10,589,892) in view of Schoch (WO 99/02428) in view of Walters et al. (US 4,083,447).
Claim 1: Van Dijk discloses an insert for a flow wrapped packaging assembly comprising:
a bottom wall panel 1 having curved edge regions (circular perimeter) (fig. 1, 5); and
wherein said insert comprises at least one tongue 6 at a top end of the first peripheral wall panel or the second peripheral wall panel peripheral wall distal from the bottom wall (fig. 1), said at least one tongue being movable between at least one closed position in which it at least partially closes the interior volume at the top end of the insert and at least one open position in which it does not impede access to the interior volume through the open top end (fig. 3, 6).
a first peripheral wall panel 3 connected by a fold line to the bottom wall panel along the front straight edge region, the first peripheral wall panel configured to define a planar front wall portion and first part of each of an opposed pair of side walls of the insert, a dispensing aperture (fig. 1);
a second peripheral wall panel 7 connected by a fold line to the bottom wall panel edge region, the second peripheral wall panel configured to define the rear wall portion and second part of each of the opposed side walls of the insert (fig. 6);
Van Dijk fails to disclose opposing planar side edges. Schoch teaches an insert having opposing sides and straight edge regions along front and rear portions which extend between the curved edge regions (see annotated figure below); and
the first part of the first peripheral wall panel connected to the second part of the second peripheral wall panel at respective ends to form the opposed pair of curved side walls at straight edge regions (fig. 4-5);
the first peripheral wall panel, second peripheral wall panel and opposed pair of side walls and the bottom wall defining an interior volume for containing product (fig. 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bottom panel shape configuration of Van Dijk to include the combination of curved and straight edge portions of Schoch to accommodate articles having varying shapes.
It is noted that it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to change the rounded edge to a planar/straight edge, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component. A change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) MPEP 214.04 IV B
Van Dijk discloses a tongue being movable between at least one closed position but fails to disclose a space left uncovered by the tongue. Walters teaches a dispensing aperture 39 defined in the planar front wall portion (fig. 8, 12);
said at least one tongue 29, 30 being movable between at least one closed position in which it at least partially closes the interior volume at the top end of the insert leaving the dispensing aperture in the planar front wall portion open and at least one open position in which it does not impede access to the interior volume through the open top end (col. 6, ll. 27-39; fig. 11, 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the panel of Van Dijk to assist in identifying the product while also providing protection,
Claim 4: Van Dijk-Schoch-Walters discloses an insert according to claim 1, wherein said bottom wall is sloped with respect to the plane of the rear wall portion of said peripheral wall (Van Dijk; fig. 3).
Claim 5: Van Dijk-Schoch-Walters discloses an insert according to claim 1, wherein said at least one tongue is connected to the distal upper end of the rear wall portion by a hinge or fold line (Van Dijk; fig. 7).
Claim 7: Van Dijk-Schoch-Walters discloses an insert as according to claim 1, wherein the dispensing aperture @21 is open at the distal upper end of the front wall portion and extends over at least 50%, or at least 60%, or at least 70% or at least 80% of the length of the front wall portion from the distal upper end towards the bottom end (Schoch; fig. 1).
Claim 8: Van Dijk-Schoch-Walters discloses an insert according to claim 1, wherein the dispensing aperture extends across substantially the whole width of the front wall portion (Van Dijk; fig. 1, 6).
Claim 9: Van Dijk-Schoch-Walters discloses an insert according to claim 1, wherein said tongue has a shape selected from the group consisting of square, rectangular, semi-circular, oblong, triangular, trapezium, oval, semi-oval, boustrophedonic, butterfly-wing shaped, bone shaped, half- bone shaped, and/or any combination thereof (Van Dijk; fig. 1).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dijk et al. (US 10,589,892) in view of Schoch (WO 99/02428) in view of Walters et al. (US 4,083,447) in view of Holley (US 2020/0277098).
Claims 10-11: Van Dijk-Schoch-Walters discloses an insert according to claim 10, but fails to disclose interlocking tab portions. Holley teaches wherein the cardboard blank comprises interlocking tab portions 56/60 configured to hold sections of the blank in their erected configuration such that the blank is erected into the insert without the use of adhesive (Holley; [0029], [0045]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the closure characteristics of Van Dijk to include the interlocking tab portions of Holley to allow for easy erection and collapsing of the blank.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Dijk et al. (US 10,589,892) in view of Schoch (WO 99/02428) in view of Walters et al. (US 4,083,447) in view of Goldsholl (US 2,966,293).
Claim 12. Van Dijk-Schoch discloses an insert according to claim 1, but fails to disclose a corrugated material. Morton teaches wherein the insert is made from a corrugated material (col. 1, ll. 15-20; fig. 1-2, 8). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the material of Van Dijk-Schoch to include the corrugated material of Morton for easy manipulation during erecting.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but in view of the amendment the search has been updated, new prior art has been identified and applied, and a new rejection has been made.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAVEN COLLINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3735
/Anthony D Stashick/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3735