Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 4, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Here, the applicant asserts that Yang fails to disclose or teach the technical features where the pads are exposed through respective openings formed in their respective layers, such that the technical means for connecting the positive and negative electrode tabs to the first and second sub-layers respectively are different from that of Yang.
Here, the applicant clarifies that in regards to limitations which have the form “the positive tab of each first energy storage unit is electrically connected through a pad formed on the surface of the fist sublayer and exposed through an opening of the first sublayer” refer to the exposure through an opening as relating to the pad, such that the pad is exposed, rather than the positive tab being exposed. For the purpose of clarity, it is recommended that this be rephrased to remove any potential ambiguity in regards to the claim language. A potential suggestion is “and wherein the pad is exposed through an opening formed in the first layer”.
Additionally, the applicant asserts that Yang fails to disclose structure having the required pad-opening relationship. This has been fully considered but has not been found to be persuasive.
Yang discloses structure wherein the pad is exposed through an opening formed on the first layer, as shown in Yang’s figure 5. Where the pad constitutes the mixed medium of the weld between positive tab 5 and sublayer structure 15, it can be seen that the location of the weld is a region uncovered by both polymer layer 14 and the encapsulating aluminum plastic film which covers the battery unit 4. Accordingly, where this lack of cover comprises the first layer failing to extend to cover the pad, this constitutes an opening of the first layer. Additionally, this same structural relationship is present between the other openings and pads, as detailed in the rejections presented below.
Additionally, it is noted that the applicant’s arguments cite a previous version of the submitted claims, which differ from the currently amended version of February 4, 2026. For the purpose of maintaining clarity during examination, it is recommended that arguments which accompany a submitted amendment reference the currently submitted claims’ language, rather than claim language which is no longer active.
Additionally, the applicant’s claims indicate that claims 17 and 20 are previously presented, rather than withdrawn, which is inconsistent with the election submitted on May 19, 2025 of Group I which consists of claims 1-16 and 18, made without traverse. As no rejoinder has been made, these claims stand withdrawn. It is requested that future claim submissions accurately represent the status of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1,3,5,7,9,12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite due to the use of multiple introductions of “a pad”, wherein there is no distinction made between pads, and wherein other references to pads are in the form of “the pad”, such that it is unclear which pad each instance of “the pad” refers to”. Here, a suggested modification to overcome this issue of indefiniteness is the use of numbering for said pads, naming them “a first pad”, “a second pad”, and so on.
Additionally, Claim 1 is indefinite as a result of limitations which have the form “the positive tab of each first energy storage unit is electrically connected through a pad formed on the surface of the fist sublayer and exposed through an opening of the first sublayer” being able be understood as referring to the exposure through an opening as relating to the pad, such that the pad is exposed, or that the positive tab being exposed. The applicant has clarified that these limitations refer to the pad as the component which is exposed.
For the purpose of clarity, it is recommended that this be rephrased to remove any potential ambiguity in regards to the claim language. A potential suggestion is “and wherein the pad is exposed through an opening formed in the first layer”.
Additionally, Claims 3, 5, 7, 9, 12-16 and 18 are rejected as a result of their dependence on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7-9, 14-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 111446486 A, with EPO machine translation used for citation purposes) further in view of He (US 20190344541 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a battery (Abstract, “The invention discloses a flexible battery”) comprising a plurality of energy storage units (Abstract, “The battery comprises a battery cell consisting of a plurality of battery cell units,”) and a connecting portion which is a flexible composite layer connected to the positive tabs of each cell unit (Paragraph 0014, “the positive flexible composite layer is connected to the positive tab of each cell unit”).
Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the connecting portion comprises a first layer, a second layer, and a third layer, with the first and third layer being made of a flexible insulating adhesive material and the second layer being made of a metal material (Paragraph 0019, “Wherein, the positive electrode flexible composite layer includes a polymer layer and a positive electrode flexible conductor,”; Paragraph 0038, “Here, a metal is used as a flexible conductor,”), shown in Yang’s figure 6, where the first and third layers 14 cover the metal conductor layers 15 of the positive electrode and 16 of the negative electrode (Paragraph 0045, “The polymer layer 14 is compounded on the positive flexible conductor 15 and the negative flexible conductor 16 to form the positive flexible composite layer 7 and the negative flexible composite layer 8. Here, a metal is used as a flexible composite conductor.”).
Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein each energy storage unit comprises a positive plate, a diaphragm, and a negative plate which are sequentially stacked and wound to form a roll core (Paragraph 0040, “Here, referring to Figures 2 to 7 again, the processed positive electrode sheet 1, the negative electrode sheet 2 and the separator 3 are wound into several battery cell units 4,”), shown in Yang’s figure 2, additionally disclosing structure where the positive plate 1 extends out of a region, and where the diaphragm 3 and negative plate 2 are sequentially stacked to form a positive tab which includes the positive tab structure 5, and in which the negative plate extends out of the region, in which the positive plate, the diaphragm, and the negative plate are sequentially stacked to form a negative tab, which includes the negative tab structure 6, again shown in their figure 2. Here, it is noted that where the bounds of “a region” are not defined beyond that it is present in a region where the positive plate, negative plate, and diaphragm are stacked, that a section of the stacked structure in the center of the configuration could be interpreted as the region, with all components extending out of said region.
Additionally, Yang discloses structure where the second layer comprises a first sublayer and a second sublayer, discussed above where the first sublayer is the positive flexible conductor 15 and the second sublayer is the negative flexible conductor 16 (Paragraph 0045, “The polymer layer 14 is compounded on the positive flexible conductor 15 and the negative flexible conductor 16 to form the positive flexible composite layer 7 and the negative flexible composite layer 8. Here, a metal is used as a flexible composite conductor.”), where the positive tab is electrically connected with the positive flexible conductor and the negative tab is electrically connected with the negative flexible conductor (Paragraph 0014, “The positive flexible composite layer is connected to the positive tab of each cell unit, and the negative flexible composite layer is connected to the negative tab of each cell unit;”).
Additionally, Yang discloses structure where the first sublayer extends out of a region in which the first layer, second layer, and third layer are stacked, where the first sublayer further includes the positive electrode tab 9, to form a positive pole of the battery, and the second sublayer extends out of a region where the first layer, second layer, and third layer are stacked, where the second sublayer further includes the negative electrode tab 10, to form a negative pole of the battery (Paragraph 0044, “The end of the positive electrode flexible composite layer 7 is connected to the positive electrode total tab 9, and the end of the negative electrode flexible composite layer 8 is connected to the negative electrode total tab 10.”
Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the plurality of energy storage units comprises a plurality of first energy storage units and a plurality of second energy storage units, the first energy storage units disposed on a side of the first layer, away from the second layer, and spaced apart from each other, and the plurality of second energy storage units disposed on a side of the third layer away from the second layer, spaced apart from each other, as shown in Yang’s figure 9, which demonstrates the connecting portion 7 having a plurality of energy storage units 4 positioned above, here the first energy storage units, and a second plurality of energy storage units positioned below, here the second energy storage units. Here, where the energy storage units are on the first and third layers respectively, they are therefore distanced from and away from the second layer. Additionally, as demonstrated in Yang’s figure 8, the energy storage units are spaced apart from each other.
Additionally, Yang discloses structure, where the positive tab of each first energy storage unit is electrically connected to the first sublayer, shown in their figure 5, where the positive tab which includes positive tab structure 5 is connected to the first sublayer 15 by means of a pad formed on the first sublayer, by means of a weld, where the welded and mixed medium of the two materials is the pad (Paragraph 0038, “and then the positive flexible composite layer 7 is connected to the positive tabs 5 of each cell unit 4. The flexible negative electrode composite layer 8 is connected to the negative electrode tab 6 of each cell unit 4, and the connection method can be ultrasonic welding or other methods;”).
Additionally, the positive tab is exposed through an opening formed in the first layer, where the termination of the first layer 14 at the vertical end of the first sublayer 15 as shown in Yang’s figure 6 constitutes an opening formed in the first layer, where through the first layer failing to extend further, and wrap to connect to the third layer 14, the positive tab of each first energy storage unit is therefore exposed to the first sublayer 15.
Additionally, the pad is exposed through an opening formed on the first layer, as shown in Yang’s figure 5. Where the pad constitutes the mixed medium of the weld between positive tab 5 and sublayer structure 15, it can be seen that the location of the weld is a region uncovered by both polymer layer 14 and the encapsulating aluminum plastic film which covers the battery unit 4. Accordingly, where this lack of cover comprises the first layer failing to extend to cover the pad, this constitutes an opening of the first layer.
Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the negative tab of each first energy storage unit is electrically connected to the second sublayer 16 by means of a pad formed on the second sublayer, by means of a weld, where the welded and mixed medium of the two materials is the pad (Paragraph 0038, “and then the positive flexible composite layer 7 is connected to the positive tabs 5 of each cell unit 4. The flexible negative electrode composite layer 8 is connected to the negative electrode tab 6 of each cell unit 4, and the connection method can be ultrasonic welding or other methods;”).
Additionally, the pad is exposed through an opening formed on the first layer, as shown in Yang’s figure 5. Where the pad constitutes the mixed medium of the weld between the negative tab 6 and sublayer structure 16, it can be seen that the location of the weld is a region uncovered by both polymer layer 14 and the encapsulating aluminum plastic film which covers the battery unit 4. Accordingly, where this lack of cover comprises the first layer failing to extend to cover the pad, this constitutes an opening of the first layer.
Additionally, Yang discloses structure, where the positive tab of each second energy storage unit is electrically connected to the first sublayer, shown in their figure 5, where the positive tab which includes positive tab structure 5 is connected to the first sublayer 15 by means of a pad formed on the first sublayer, by means of a weld, where the welded and mixed medium of the two materials is the pad (Paragraph 0038, “and then the positive flexible composite layer 7 is connected to the positive tabs 5 of each cell unit 4. The flexible negative electrode composite layer 8 is connected to the negative electrode tab 6 of each cell unit 4, and the connection method can be ultrasonic welding or other methods;”).
Additionally, the pad is exposed through an opening formed on the third layer, as shown in Yang’s figure 5. Where the pad constitutes the mixed medium of the weld between positive tab 5 and sublayer structure 15, it can be seen that the location of the weld is a region uncovered by both polymer layer 14 and the encapsulating aluminum plastic film which covers the battery unit 4. Accordingly, where this lack of cover comprises the third layer failing to extend to cover the pad, this constitutes an opening of the third layer.
Additionally, Yang discloses structure, where the negative tab of each second energy storage unit is electrically connected to the second sublayer, shown in their figure 5, where the negative tab which includes negative tab structure 5 is connected to the second sublayer 16 by means of a pad formed on the second sublayer, by means of a weld, where the welded and mixed medium of the two materials is the pad (Paragraph 0038, “and then the positive flexible composite layer 7 is connected to the positive tabs 5 of each cell unit 4. The flexible negative electrode composite layer 8 is connected to the negative electrode tab 6 of each cell unit 4, and the connection method can be ultrasonic welding or other methods;”).
Additionally, the pad is exposed through an opening formed on the third layer, as shown in Yang’s figure 5. Where the pad constitutes the mixed medium of the weld between negative tab 6 and sublayer structure 15, it can be seen that the location of the weld is a region uncovered by both polymer layer 14 and the encapsulating aluminum plastic film which covers the battery unit 4. Accordingly, where this lack of cover comprises the third layer failing to extend to cover the pad, this constitutes an opening of the third layer.
Additionally, Yang discloses structure which comprises a packaging portion which encases the plurality of energy storage units and the connecting portion (Paragraph 0039, “The packaging member 11 is used to package the plurality of cell units 4, the positive electrode flexible composite layer 7 and the negative electrode flexible composite layer 8 to obtain the flexible battery 12.”).
Additionally, Yang discloses structure where the packaging portion comprises an aluminum plastic film (Paragraph 0021, “Wherein, the packaging member is an aluminum plastic film,”), thereby comprising at least a metal layer, but fails to provide further detail regarding the specific structure of the packaging member in regards to determining if the aluminum-plastic film comprises a heat sealing layer and a protective layer.
Therefore, we look to He, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a packaging material for power storage devices (Paragraph 0001, “The present invention relates to an exterior material (i.e., packaging material) for a power storage device, such as, e.g., a battery”), comprising a protective exterior layer consisting of nylon (Paragraph 0072, “The heat resistant resin layer (outer layer) 2 is not particularly limited, and examples thereof include a stretched polyamide film such as a stretched nylon film,”), which is a protective layer that protects the battery from external heat, a metal layer which is an aluminum foil (Paragraph 0096, “The metal foil layer 4 is not particularly limited, but is exemplified by an aluminum foil,”), and a heat sealing layer (Paragraph 0112, “the heat fusible resin layer (inner layer) 3 plays a role of imparting excellent chemical resistance also against a highly corrosive electrolyte used in a lithium ion secondary battery and the like and also imparting a heat sealing property to the packaging material.”) which comprises polypropylene (Paragraph 0113, “The resin constituting the heat fusible resin layer 3 is not particularly limited, but examples thereof include polyethylene, polypropylene,”; Paragraph 0156, “Thereafter, a non-stretched polypropylene film 3 having a thickness of 30 μm was bonded to the inner side adhesive agent application surface to obtain a second laminate.”).
Additionally, He discloses that their packaging member has the benefit of having a high degree of freedom of production and consistency (Paragraph 0052, “Furthermore, in the packaging material of the present invention, regardless of which one of the lamination of the “lamination of the heat fusible resin layer and the metal foil layer” and the “lamination of the base layer and the metal foil layer” is performed at the time of the production, a packaging material having the same characteristics and the same quality can be obtained. Therefore, there is also an advantage that the degree of freedom of the production method is high.”), as well as high lamination strength (Paragraph 0053, “Therefore, it is possible to secure even greater lamination strength.”), and that said structure further acts to prevent breaking of the metal layer (Paragraph 0070, “In the first and second inventions, the base layer (outer layer) 2 is a member mainly playing a role of ensuring good formability as the packaging material 1, that is, it mainly plays a role of preventing breakage due to necking of the aluminum foil at the time of forming.”). Accordingly, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the structure of the packaging member of He to the packaging member of Yang, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitations of the instant claim.
Additionally, He makes obvious the application of heat sealing layers 3 to the packaging material about the interior of the packaging member, as shown in He’s figure 3. Here, where the heat sealing layer surrounds the interior of the packaging member, it therefore is also located at the upper and lower sides of the connecting portion. Further, where the instant claim requires that said heat sealing layer portions are heat sealed so as to wrap the energy storage units and the connecting portion there inside, the heat sealing layer of He wraps fully around the packaging member, as shown in He’s figure 4, thereby wrapping all of the energy storage units and the connecting portion within, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitations of the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 7, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the plurality of energy storage units are parallel to each other, as shown in their figure 5, and are further equally spaced apart from each other (Paragraph 0042, “and the assembly jig 21 makes the cell units equally spaced”).
Regarding Claim 8, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the plurality of energy storage units comprises a plurality of first energy storage units and a plurality of second energy storage units, the first energy storage units arranged on a side of the first layer, away from the second layer, and spaced apart from each other, and the plurality of second energy storage units arranged on a side of the third layer away from the second layer, spaced apart from each other, as shown in Yang’s figure 9, which demonstrates the connecting portion 7 having a plurality of energy storage units 4 positioned above, here the first energy storage units, and a second plurality of energy storage units positioned below, here the second energy storage units. Here, where the energy storage units are on the first and third layers respectively, they are therefore distanced from and away from the second layer. Additionally, as demonstrated in Yang’s figure 8, the energy storage units are spaced apart from each other.
Regarding Claim 9, Yang anticipates the invention of Claim 8. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the plurality of first energy storage units are parallel to and equally spaced apart from each other, as depicted in Yang’s figure 8, which further depicts that the plurality of second energy storage units are parallel to and equally spaced apart from each other. Additionally, Yang’s figures 8 and 9 depict structure where orthographic projections of the first energy storage units on the first layer are coincident with orthographic projections of the second energy storage units on the first layer. Here, this claim is interpreted as requiring that the coincidence is between the orthographic projections of the first energy storage units and second energy storage units, where the projections are coincident on the first layer, not that the first and second energy storage units are both on the first layer.
Regarding Claims 12 and 13, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 1, Additionally, as discussed above, He’s example 1 comprises a layered 35 micron aluminum foil layer (Paragraph 0155, “35 μm thick aluminum foil 4”), 15 micron thick nylon (Paragraph 0156, “A biaxially stretched nylon film (base layer) 2 having a hot water shrinkage percentage of 5.0% and a thickness of 15 μm”), and 30 microns thick polypropylene (Paragraph 0157, “Thereafter, a non-stretched polypropylene film 3 having a thickness of 30 μm was bonded to the inner side adhesive agent application surface to obtain a second laminate.”), where the materials of said layer meet the requirements of claim 12, thereby presenting structure where the total thickness of the heat sealing layer, the metal layer, and the protective layer is 85 microns, meeting the requirement of claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein an orthographic projection of each energy storage unit on the first layer comprises a rectangle, as shown in Yang’s figure 5.
Regarding Claim 15, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the battery is composed of a plurality of the same battery cell unit 4 (Paragraph 0038, “including a battery cell 13 composed of a plurality of battery cell units 4”), shown in their figure 1. Accordingly, where the battery cell units are identical, they therefore have the same properties, including volume energy density and volume.
Additionally, Yang’s energy storage units 4 are rectangular prisms, as shown in their figure 1, which therefore means the capacity of each unit is equal to the volume energy density of each unit multiplied by the volume of the unit. Here, an area of the orthographic projection of the energy storage on the first layer, is equivalent to an area of the base of the cell, and a height of the energy storage unit in a direction away from the first layer is a height of the cell, and accordingly, the product of those values S and h, is the volume of the energy storage unit. Accordingly, this means that the total capacity of the battery is equal to the volume of a unit, multiplied by the volume energy density of a unit, multiplied by the number of units in the battery, thereby reading upon the limitations of the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 16, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 8. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein the battery is composed of a plurality of the same battery cell unit 4 (Paragraph 0038, “including a battery cell 13 composed of a plurality of battery cell units 4”), shown in their figure 1. Accordingly, where the battery cell units are identical, they therefore have the same properties, including volume energy density and volume, applying said similarity to both the first and second energy storage units’ volume energy density and volume. Additionally, this means that the similarity extends between the first energy storage units, where they are all the same battery cell units 4.
Additionally, Yang’s energy storage units 4 are rectangular prisms, as shown in their figure 1, which therefore means the capacity of each unit is equal to the volume energy density of each unit multiplied by the volume of the unit. Here, an area of the orthographic projection of the energy storage on the first layer, is equivalent to an area of the base of the cell, and a height of the energy storage unit in a direction away from the first layer is a height of the cell, and accordingly, the product of those values S and h, is the volume of the energy storage unit. Accordingly, this means that the total capacity of the battery is equal to the volume of a first energy storage unit, multiplied by the volume energy density of a first energy storage unit, multiplied by the number of first energy storage units in the battery, which is then added to the same formula, substituting the first energy storage units for the second energy storage units, thereby reading upon the limitations of the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 18, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 8. Additionally, Yang discloses structure wherein an orthographic projection of each energy storage unit on the first layer comprises a rectangle, as shown in Yang’s figure 5.
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 111446486 A, with EPO machine translation used for citation purposes) and further in view of He (US 20190344541 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yoshii (US 20200280071 A1) and Suehiro (US 20190363330 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein the total thickness of the first layer, the second layer, and the third layer is in a range from 10 to 40 microns, Yang is silent in regards to the thickness of their connecting portion.
In regards to the thickness of the first layer and third layer, we look to Yoshii, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing structure which comprises a secondary battery which has a positive electrode lead coated in an insulating adhesive material (Abstract, “A secondary battery according to one embodiment of the present disclosure comprises a positive electrode, a negative electrode, a positive electrode lead that is electrically connected to the positive electrode,”). Here, where the connecting parts of Yang are flexible layers which conductively connect to individual energy storage units, they therefore act as leads and have analogous structure. Here, Yoshii further discloses that their insulating layer comprises a polypropylene film (Paragraph 0066, “Then, the negative electrode lead on the exposed part and the exposed part were covered with an insulating tape. The insulating tape was obtained by forming an adhesive layer made from a rubber-based resin on a substrate layer made from a polypropylene film”), the same composition as the first and third layers of Yang’s connecting portion (Paragraph 0020, “Wherein, the polymer layer is at least one of the following: a polypropylene film”).
Yoshii discloses that their lead’s insulating layer has a thickness ranging from 2 to 30 microns (Paragraph 0055, “A thickness of the insulating layer 36 is preferably within a range of 2 to 30 μm, for example. By setting the thickness of the insulating layer 36 to 2 μm or more, occurrence of an internal short circuit or an increase in battery temperature, which arises when the insulating tape 30 breaks due to a foreign matter, is suppressed compared with a case where the thickness of the insulating layer 36 is less than 2 μm. An insulating layer 36 having a thickness exceeding 30 μm may require other components to have reduced volumes so as to allow the case body 16 with a predetermined size to house the electrode assembly 14.”), further disclosing that when the thickness is too high, other components need reduced size to effectively accommodate their electrode assembly, and that when the thickness is 2 microns or greater, the occurrence of a short circuit is suppressed. Accordingly, in order to maximize space efficiency, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to minimize the thickness of the insulating layer within the range where it suppresses short circuit occurrence, thereby making obvious structure where an insulating adhesive material which makes up the first and third layers of the connecting part of Yang is each 2 microns or less.
Additionally, in regards to the thickness of the second layer, we look to Suehiro, which is an analogous art to the instant application, a battery comprising an electrode lead (Abstract, “A wound battery includes: a battery case having an opening; an electrode group and electrolyte; a sealing body for blocking the opening of the battery case; and a gasket for insulating the sealing body from the battery case. The first electrode is connected to the sealing body via a first current collecting lead,”). Here, Suehiro discloses that the lead of their battery is preferably from 30 to 50 microns (Paragraph 0030, “In a small battery, the thickness of the lead is preferably 30 μm or more and 100 μm or less, more preferably 80 μm or less, further more preferably 50 μm or less. By making the thickness of the lead such small, the lead does not very often apply an unnecessary external force to the electrode group, and a small battery of a high reliability can be obtained.”), stating that said structure minimizes external forces on the surrounding electrode material, as well as presenting high reliability. Accordingly, where minimizing the effect that the lead has on other components is desirable in the perspective of stability and reliability, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to make use of the smallest electrode lead thickness of Suehiro, which is 30 microns as the thickness of the second layer of the connecting part of Yang.
Accordingly, where Suehiro makes obvious a second part with a thickness of 30 microns, and Yoshii makes obvious a first part and third part each with a thickness of 2 microns, together the total thickness of the combined connecting part is 34 microns, which falls within the 10-40 micron range of the instant claim, thereby reading upon and making obvious said limitation.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 111446486 A, with EPO machine translation used for citation purposes) and further in view of He (US 20190344541 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fukuoka (US 20200044226 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, modified Yang makes obvious the invention of Claim 1. Additionally, in regards to the limitation of the instant claim which requires structure wherein a material of the first sublayer comprises aluminum and a material of the second sublayer comprises copper, Yang is silent in regards to the compositions of the first sublayer 15 and second sublayer 16.
Therefore, we look to Fukuoka, which is an analogous art to the instant application, disclosing a battery which comprises leads (Paragraph 0021, “A positive electrode lead 12 is connected to each positive electrode collector exposed portion 11b, and a negative electrode lead 14 is connected to each negative electrode collector exposed portion 13b”). Here, where the first and second sublayers of Yang are flexible layers which conductively connect to individual energy storage units, they therefore act as leads. Fukuoka further discloses that their positive electrode leads comprise aluminum, where aluminum is selected due to high stability when exposed to a positive electrode potential and excellent electron conductivity (Paragraph 0026, “Regarding the positive electrode lead 12 and the current-collection plate 18, preferably, a metal material that can be stably present inside the battery even when being exposed to a positive electrode potential and that has excellent electron conductivity is used, and examples of such a metal material include aluminum and aluminum alloys.”), and that copper is selected as a negative electrode lead material due to high stability when exposed to a negative electrode potential and high electron conductivity (Paragraph 0026, “Meanwhile, regarding the negative electrode lead 14, preferably, a metal material that can be stably present inside the battery even when being exposed to a negative electrode potential and that has excellent electron conductivity is used, and examples of such a metal material include nickel, copper, and alloys containing nickel and copper.”).
Accordingly, based on these benefits, it would be obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art to apply the aluminum of Fukuoka to the first sublayer of Yang and the copper of Fukuoka to the second sublayer of Yang, thereby reading upon and making obvious the limitations of the instant claim.
Conclusion
/J.W.E./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725