Notice of AIA Status
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103(Maintained)
2. Claim(s) 1-11,14-15 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spears et al US 2013/0067858 (hereinafter Spears) in view of Martin US Patent 3,659,767, in further view of Irwin et al. US 2019/0380359 (hereinafter Irwin).
Regarding claim 1, Spears discloses a multi-lane system for wrapping ice cream products (par 0000), said system comprising reel holders (112) for receiving reels holding webs (118) of packaging material (par 0078),
a wrapping machine arranged to receive the ice cream products (par 0075-0076), to receive the webs (118), to enclose the ice cream products in the webs and to seal the webs such that wrapped ice cream products are formed (fig.2; sandwich is wrapped and then sealed by heated platen 34), and
a web conveying arrangement arranged to individually feed the webs of packaging material from the reels to the wrapping machine (rollers 110,114 convey web material to the wrapping machine by cutting the web into individual sheet at knife 116 fig.3; par 0078-0079),
and first sliders placed downstream the reel holders and upstream the de-tensioning devices (driver roller 114 downstream reel holder 112 and upstream driver roller 114 for holding tension in the sheet)
Spears discloses some amount of tension control of rollers 110,114 with the ability to change speeds but fails to explicitly teach wherein the web conveying arrangement comprises de-tensioning devices arranged to decrease tensions in the webs upstream the wrapping machine.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises de-tensioning devices (tension control is interpreted as de-tensioning because if there is an ability to increase tension then a decrease in tension can also be achieved) arranged to decrease tensions in the webs upstream the wrapping machine (Martin teaches an apparatus for maintaining and controlling web tension regulating apparatus 32 including driver rollers 46,48,and 50 to wind the web through the rollers which are adjustable by means of variable transmission 51 and a control console 54 to regulate the speed of the rollers and tension on the web; fig.1; col.2 lines 52-75).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Spears as modified by Martin teaches a web wrapping and conveying arrangement that allows for tension control during the wrapping but fails to explicitly teach decreasing tension from the first tension to the second tension, where the first tension is arranged from the reel and second tension is arranged at the wrapping machine.
However Irwin teaches a motor driven ice cream sandwich assembly and wrapping machine, including a controller (500) that can monitor the tension in the wrap (334) and change the feed rate to decrease or change the wrap tension (par 0023), additionally Irwin teaches control of the tension using a plurality of servo motors (238) and roller assembly (237) and sensors (505) in communication with a processor (501) and memory (502) of the controller (500) where at least a first and second predetermined rate corresponding to wrap tension in the web is taught (par 0156-0158; claim 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the wrapping and web conveying arrangement of Spears in view of Martin with the controller and servo motors as taught by Irwin to be able to decrease the tension at varying points of the wrapping operation but specifically having a first tension at the reel as the first predetermined rate and a second tension at the wrapping machine, to be able to effectively control the tension in the web along the entire packing and wrapping operation from the web reel to the final packaging stage using a plurality of motors that are easily adjustable and able to be fixed if something breaks during operation (Irwin par 0007).
Regarding claim 2, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein Spears teaches the web conveying arrangement, Spears fails to explicitly teach wherein the second sliders are placed downstream the reel holders and upstream the de-tensioning devices, wherein the second sliders are angled relative to a first feeding direction of the webs, such that the webs are turned and redirected from the first feeding direction to a second feeding direction when slid over the first sliders.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises de-tensioning devices and first sliders placed downstream the reel holders and upstream the de-tensioning devices (idler/floating rollers 210,212,214,216 allow for web 208 to slide across and pass alternatingly around; see fig. 7-8), the first sliders are angled relative to a first feeding direction of the webs, such that the webs are turned and redirected from the first feeding direction to a second feeding direction when slid over the first sliders (webs are turned and redirected through the rollers as they slide past; col.5 lines 45-70)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Martin teaches a plurality of slider rollers as one framework to redirect web except for teaching a first and second slider for de-tensioning both upstream and downstream of the wrapping machine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the de-tensioning rollers to have one set of sliders upstream and one downstream, to maintain a specific tension on either side of the wrapping area, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Additionally it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, page 2, lines 5-30, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations
Regarding claim 3, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 2, wherein Spears fails to disclose, wherein the first sliders are angled relative to the second feeding direction, such that the webs are turned and redirected from the second feeding direction to a third feeding direction when slid over the first sliders.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises second sliders placed downstream the de-tensioning devices and upstream the wrapping machine, wherein the second sliders are angled relative to the second feeding direction, such that the webs are turned and redirected from the second feeding direction to a third feeding direction when slid over the second sliders.
(idler/floating rollers 210,212,214,216 allow for web 208 to slide across and pass alternatingly around; see fig. 7-8 where the web is turned and redirected through the rollers as they slide past; col.5 lines 45-70).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Martin teaches a plurality of slider rollers as one framework to redirect web except for teaching a first and second slider for de-tensioning both upstream and downstream of the wrapping machine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the de-tensioning rollers to have one set of sliders upstream and one downstream, to maintain a specific tension on either side of the wrapping area, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Additionally it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, page 2, lines 5-30, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations
Regarding claim 4, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 3, Spears as modified by Martin discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the first sliders are elongated and extend in parallel to a first axis that is angled by 30° to 60° relative to the first feeding direction, and the second sliders are elongated and extend in parallel to a second axis that is angled 30° to 60° relative to the second feeding direction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the slider rollers of Martin to have an angle between the range of 30° to 60° , since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 2, line 34-page 3 line 2 , applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein Spears further teaches the reel holders are placed at a horizontal distance from the wrapping machine, and the reel holders are placed at a vertical distance from a floor level (fig.3).
Spears as modified above discloses the claimed invention except for, wherein the reel holders are placed at a horizontal distance of at least 1 meter from the wrapping machine, and the reel holders are placed at a vertical distance of at least 0.5 meter from a floor level. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the position of the reel holders, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Please note that in the instant application, page 3, lines 3-5, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein Spears further discloses the reel holders comprise a first group of reel holders (supply reel 202) arranged for receiving a first set of reels from a first side (fig.8), and a second group of reel holders (204) arranged for receiving a second set of reels from a second side (fig,8), wherein the first set of reels is arranged to feed out first webs in a first plane and the second set of reels is arranged to feed out second webs in a second plane, wherein the first and second planes are parallel vertical planes (par 0090-0094).
Regarding claim 7, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein Spears as modified above fails to explicitly teach the de-tensioning devices are placed in a third plane, wherein said third plane is a vertical plane.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises de-tensioning devices are placed in a third plane, wherein said third plane is a vertical plane (tension control is interpreted as de-tensioning because if there is an ability to increase tension then a decrease in tension can also be achieved in vertical displacement or plane relative to the movement of the web from the supply roll) arranged to decrease tensions in the webs upstream the wrapping machine (Martin teaches an apparatus for maintaining and controlling web tension regulating apparatus 32 including driver rollers 46,48,and 50 to wind the web through the rollers which are adjustable by means of variable transmission 51 and a control console 54 to regulate the speed of the rollers and tension on the web; fig.1; col.2 lines 52-75).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Regarding claim 8, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 3, wherein Spears as modified above fails to explicitly teach the second sliders are horizontally displaced, such that the webs are horizontally displaced when fed to the wrapping machine.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises second sliders are horizontally displaced, such that the webs are horizontally displaced when fed to the wrapping machine (idler/floating rollers 210,212,214,216 allow for web 208 to slide across and pass alternatingly around and horizontally displaced; see fig. 7-8 where the web is turned and redirected through the rollers as they slide past; col.5 lines 45-70).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Regarding claim 9, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein Spears further discloses tensioning drive rollers driven by a motor for variable speed (rollers 110,114; fig.3; par 0078-0079) but fail to explicitly teach each de-tensioning device of the de-tensioning devices comprises a roller that is arranged to be rotated by a motor giving the roller a peripheral speed that is higher than a speed by which the web passes the roller.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises de-tensioning devices (tension control is interpreted as de-tensioning because if there is an ability to increase tension then a decrease in tension can also be achieved) arranged to decrease tensions in the webs upstream the wrapping machine (Martin teaches an apparatus for maintaining and controlling web tension regulating apparatus 32 including motor driver rollers 46,48,and 50 to wind the web through the rollers which are adjustable by means of variable transmission 51 and a control console 54 to regulate the speed of the rollers and tension on the web; fig.1; col.2 lines 52-75).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Martin teaches a plurality of slider rollers as one framework to redirect web except for teaching a first and second slider for de-tensioning both upstream and downstream of the wrapping machine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the de-tensioning rollers to have one set of sliders upstream and one downstream, to maintain a specific tension on either side of the wrapping area, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Additionally it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, page 2, lines 5-30, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations
Regarding claim 10, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the system according to claim 1, wherein Spears further teaches the webs of packaging material comprises polypropylene (PP) (par 0086; 0089).
Regarding claim 11, Spears discloses a method for wrapping ice cream products, said method comprising providing webs of packaging material (118) from reels placed on reel holders,
conveying the webs individually from the reels to a wrapping machine by using a web conveying arrangement (rollers 110,114 convey web material to the wrapping machine by cutting the web into individual sheet at knife 116 fig.3; par 0078-0079), feeding the webs into the wrapping machine, feeding the ice cream products into the wrapping machine, enclosing the ice cream products in the webs, and sealing (fig.2; sandwich is wrapped and then sealed by heated platen 34) and cutting the webs such that wrapped ice cream products are formed (par 0075-0079).
Spears discloses some amount of tension control of rollers 110,114 with the ability to change speeds but fails to explicitly teach wherein the web conveying arrangement comprises de-tensioning devices arranged to decrease tensions in the webs upstream the wrapping machine, and comprising turning and redirecting the webs from a first feeding direction to a second feeding direction by sliding the webs over first sliders, and redirecting the webs from the second feeding direction to a third feeding direction by sliding the webs over second sliders.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises de-tensioning devices (tension control is interpreted as de-tensioning because if there is an ability to increase tension then a decrease in tension can also be achieved) arranged to decrease tensions in the webs upstream the wrapping machine (Martin teaches an apparatus for maintaining and controlling web tension regulating apparatus 32 including driver rollers 46,48,and 50 to wind the web through the rollers which are adjustable by means of variable transmission 51 and a control console 54 to regulate the speed of the rollers and tension on the web; fig.1; col.2 lines 52-75).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Martin teaches a plurality of slider rollers as one framework to redirect web except for teaching a first and second slider for de-tensioning both upstream and downstream of the wrapping machine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the de-tensioning rollers to have one set of sliders upstream and one downstream, to maintain a specific tension on either side of the wrapping area, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Additionally it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, page 2, lines 5-30, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations
Spears as modified by Martin teaches a web wrapping and conveying method that allows for tension control during the wrapping but fails to explicitly teach decreasing tension from the first tension to the second tension, where the first tension is arranged from the reel and second tension is arranged at the wrapping machine.
However Irwin teaches a method for operating a motor driven ice cream sandwich assembly and wrapping machine, including a controller (500) that can monitor the tension in the wrap (334) and change the feed rate to decrease or change the wrap tension (par 0023), additionally Irwin teaches control of the tension using a plurality of servo motors (238) and roller assembly (237) and sensors (505) in communication with a processor (501) and memory (502) of the controller (500) where at least a first and second predetermined rate corresponding to wrap tension in the web is taught (par 0156-0158; claim 18).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the wrapping and web conveying arrangement of Spears in view of Martin with the controller and servo motors as taught by Irwin to be able to decrease the tension at varying points of the wrapping operation but specifically having a first tension at the reel as the first predetermined rate and a second tension at the wrapping machine, to be able to effectively control the tension in the web along the entire packing and wrapping operation from the web reel to the final packaging stage using a plurality of motors that are easily adjustable and able to be fixed if something breaks during operation (Irwin par 0007).
Regarding claim 14, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the method according to claim 11, Spears as modified above fails to explicitly teach comprising displacing the webs horizontally while turning and redirecting the webs using the second sliders.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises second sliders placed downstream the de-tensioning devices and upstream the wrapping machine, wherein the second sliders are angled relative to the second feeding direction, such that the webs are turned and redirected from the second feeding direction to a third feeding direction when slid over the second sliders.
(idler/floating rollers 210,212,214,216 allow for web 208 to slide across and pass alternatingly around; see fig. 7-8 where the web is turned and redirected through the rollers as they slide past; col.5 lines 45-70).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Martin teaches a plurality of slider rollers as one framework to redirect web except for teaching a first and second slider for de-tensioning both upstream and downstream of the wrapping machine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate the de-tensioning rollers to have one set of sliders upstream and one downstream, to maintain a specific tension on either side of the wrapping area, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Additionally it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that in the instant application, page 2, lines 5-30, applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitations
Regarding claim 15, Spears as modified by Martin in further view of Irwin substantially teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein Spears further discloses tensioning drive rollers driven by a motor for variable speed (rollers 110,114; fig.3; par 0078-0079) but fail to explicitly teach each de-tensioning device of the de-tensioning devices comprises a roller that is arranged to be rotated by a motor giving the roller a peripheral speed that is higher than a speed by which the web passes the roller.
However Martin teaches web conveying arrangement comprises a plurality of de-tensioning devices (tension control is interpreted as de-tensioning because if there is an ability to increase tension then a decrease in tension can also be achieved) arranged to decrease tensions in the webs upstream the wrapping machine (Martin teaches an apparatus for maintaining and controlling web tension regulating apparatus 32 including motor driver rollers 46,48,and 50 to wind the web through the rollers which are adjustable by means of variable transmission 51 and a control console 54 to regulate the speed of the rollers and tension on the web; fig.1; col.2 lines 52-75).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing, to have modified the ice cream wrapping machine with web feeding and roller speed with the tension control as taught by Martin to be able to decrease or increase the tension in the web upstream the wrapping machine in order to prevent fluctuations from one region to another to provide tension regulation which is effective yet simple in construction and operation and inexpensive to build (Martin Col. 1 lines 65-70).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/12/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 6-8 that Spears and Martin fails to teach de-tensioning rollers and that combining the teaching of Irwin with that of Spears and Martin teaches away from changing tension in the web along its length whatsoever and aims to prevent any such tension changes altogether.
In response to applicant's argument that the teaching of Irwin having changing tensions including decreasing and increasing tensions could not be used to modify the wrapping device of Spears as modified by Martin, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). In the instant case both references teach wrapping ice cream products including tension control of the wrapping web, therefore even though Spears and Martin teach maintaining a tension across a web, Irwin teaches control a web tension with the addition of the ability of decreasing or increasing tension in the web, therefore one having ordinary skill in the art to be able to decrease the tension at varying points of the wrapping operation but specifically having a first tension at the reel as the first predetermined rate and a second tension at the wrapping machine, to be able to effectively control the tension in the web along the entire packing and wrapping operation from the web reel to the final packaging stage using a plurality of motors that are easily adjustable and able to be fixed if something breaks during operation, Irwin par 0007.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731