DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 and 11-24 are currently pending. Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-16 and 23-24 are currently under examination.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant’s Informational Disclosure Statement, filed on 01/28/2026 has been considered. Please refer to Applicant's copy of the 1449 submitted herein.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 10/16/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Modified Rejections:
The following rejections are modified.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-16 and 23-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0296678 (previously applied) in view of US 2014/261454 (IDS dated 10/25/2022), US 2008/0254084 and Krishna (Krishna, B.V.S. et al, Journal of Hospital Infection (2010) 74, pgs. 199-203).
Regarding claim 1, the limitation of a composition comprising a homogenous solution comprising a solublizer comprising a pair of vicinal hydrogen bonding groups, wherein at least one hydrogen bonding group is a hydrogen bond donor and a saturated or unsaturated C7-C22 hydrocarbon group; an active agent at greater than 0 wt% and up to about 20 wt% with respect to the weight of the solublizer; water present in an amount less than 5 wt% with respect to the weight of the homogenous solution and hydrophilic vehicle present in an amount in mols of less than about 2:1 with respect to the amount of octenidine salt is met by the ‘678 publication teaching compositions containing chlorhexidine gluconate solubilized in hydrophobic vehicles. The composition including adhesives and articles including medical articles such as drapes (abstract). The CHG can be solubilized in a wide variety of hydrophobic vehicles [0011]. All methods taught may leave small amounts of water, which are e.g., less than 1 wt% [0013]. The composition is taught to have 2 parts by weight hydrophilic vehicle per 1 part by weight CHG [0014]. CHG is taught to be at least 5% by weight of the vehicle [0019]. The hydrophobic vehicles contain Formula I and II [0018], wherein glycerol monostearate is specifically taught, wherein the composition is homogenous (Table 2a).
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of a composition comprising a homogenous solution comprising a solublizer comprising a pair of vicinal hydrogen bonding groups, wherein at least one hydrogen bonding group is a hydrogen bond donor and a saturated or unsaturated C7-C22 hydrocarbon group; an active agent at greater than 0 wt% and up to about 20 wt% with respect to the weight of the solublizer; water present in an amount less than 5 wt% with respect to the weight of the solubilizer and octenidine slat combined and hydrophilic vehicle present in an amount in mols of less than about 2:1 with respect to the amount of octenidine salt, a pressure sensitive adhesive and plasticiser is met by the ‘678 publication teaching compositions containing chlorhexidine gluconate solubilized in hydrophobic vehicles. The composition including adhesives and articles including medical articles such as drapes (abstract). The CHG can be solubilized in a wide variety of hydrophobic vehicles [0011]. All methods taught may leave small amounts of water, which are e.g., less than 1 wt% [0013]. The composition is taught to have 2 parts by weight hydrophilic vehicle per 1 part by weight CHG [0014]. CHG is taught to be at least 5% by weight of the vehicle [0019]. The hydrophobic vehicles contain Formula I and II [0018], wherein glycerol monostearate is specifically taught, wherein the composition is homogenous (Table 2a). The solution is taught to have a pressure sensitive adhesive ([0022], [0045]) and a plasticizer [0050] and the resin system includes the elected polyester polyols [0022].
Regarding claim 4, the limitation of wherein one hydrogen-bonding group is a hydrogen-bond acceptor or wherein both hydrogen-bonding groups are hydrogen bond doners is met by the ‘678 publication teaching two hydroxyl groups [0018].
Regarding claims 6-8 and 23, the ‘678 publication teaches glycerol monostearate (Table 2a).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, the limitation of wherein the hydrophilic vehicle is selected from the group which includes glycerol is met by the ‘678 publication teaches composition including glycerol (Table 14a).
Regarding claims 13 and 15, the limitation of wherein the octenidine salt is present in an amount up to about 2 wt%, the solublizer is glycol fatty monoester present from 5-10 wt%, the pressure sensitive adhesive is present in an amount of about 65 wt% to about 75% and the plasticizer is present in an amount of about 15-25 wt% is met by the ‘678 publication teaching the active agent present at 1 wt%, glycerol monoleate at 10.7%, PSA at 74%, RES-4 at 10.7% (Table 14A) wherein the plasticizer is amorphous polyester polyol (Table 6a). As MPEP 2144.05 recites “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine optimization”.
Regarding claim 14, the limitation of the pressure-sensitive adhesive comprising an aliphatic (meth)acrylate polymer and an N-vinylpyrrolidone polymer is met by the ‘678 publication teaching isooctyl acrylate/N-vinylpyrrolidone (Table 6a).
Regarding claim 16, the limitation of further comprising a second solubilizer present in an amount of about 5 wt% to about 10 wt%, wherein the second solubilizer is a glycerol fatty monoester is met by the ‘678 publication teaching combinations of hydrophobic vehicles (claims 2-4) wherein the vehicle is present at 10.7% (Table 14a). As MPEP 2144.05 recites “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine optimization”.
The ’678 publication does not specifically teach octenidine salt, wherein the octenidine salt is solubilized in the solubilizer to provide the homogenous solution at a temperature of about 20 to 25 degrees C, or at a temperature equivalent to the melting point temperature of the solublizer (claims 1-2), specifically octenidine hydrochloride (claim 11).
The ‘454 publication teaches cationic antiseptic agents, a film forming polymer and a solvent, wherein the cationic antiseptic agent remains solubilized within the solution. The antiseptic agents is preferably octenidine dihydrochloride or chlorhexidine gluconate and the film forming polymer is an acrylate being applied to a drape (abstract).
The ’084 publication teaches antimicrobial preparations which comprise octenidine dihydrochloride in liposomes (abstract). The preferred form of the compositions includes solutions and creams [0008]. Cream compositions are taught to include glycerol monoester particularly glycerol monostearate and octenidine dihydrochloride [0024]. A composition containing octenidine dihydrochloride and glycerol monostearate is taught to be homogenized [0053].
Krishna teaches octenidine is a biguanide compound with structural similarity to chlorhexidine (page 200, 4th paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first active agent, chlorohexidine, as taught by the ‘678 publication with a second active agent, octenidine, as taught by the ‘454 publication with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches chlorohexidine for use on a drape and the ‘454 publication teaches the interchangeably of antiseptics of chlorohexidine and octenidine on medical drapes. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as Kreshna teaches octenidine and chlorhexidine to be biguanide compounds with structural similarity which are both known to be used as topical antimicrobial agents.
Regarding the limitation of octenidine salt is solubilized in the solubilizer provide the homogeneous solution at the claimed temperature, the ‘678 publication teaches the claimed solublizer with the desire for a homogenous clear composition and the ‘454 publication teaches the claimed active agent of octenidine hydrochloride wherein clear solutions are desired. Thus the combination of references teach both the claimed ingredients and the desire for a homogenous solution. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches the desire for a homogenous composition wherein glycerol monostearate is used with the active agent and the ‘084 publication teaches a homogenized composition comprising glycerol monostearate and octenidine dihydrochloride, thus providing an expectation of success in using glycerol monostearate in a homogenous composition comprising octenidine dihydrochloride.
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0296678, US 2014/261454, US 2008/0254084 and Krishna as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-16 and 23-24 above, and further in view of US 2010/0282409 (previously applied) and Manning (previously applied).
As mentioned in the above 103(a) rejection, all the limitations of claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-16 and 23-24 are taught by the combination of the ‘678 publication, the ‘454 publication, the ‘084 publication and Krishna.
The combination of references does not teach the elected solublizer, propylene glycol monoheptanoate.
The ‘409 publication teaches antimicrobial composition that include hydroalcoholic solvent system comprising a lower c2-c5 alcohol and water, cationic antimicrobial agent such as chlorohexidine gluconate and an emollient (abstract). The emollient may be C2-C18 alkyl esters of propylene glycol [0070].
Manning teaches certain food grade esters have antimicrobial properties and are selected for person care emulsion formulations (abstract). Food-grade monoesters are taught to have antimicrobial efficacy against yeast, mold and two bacteria (page 63, first column, second paragraph). Monoesters of propylene glycol were used (page 63, second column, first paragraph). Three esters having exceptional activity were propylene glycol heptanoate, propylene glycol caprylate and glyceryl caprylate (page 63, third column, second paragraph).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to include propylene glycol monoheptanoate in the hydrophobic vehicle taught by the ‘678 publication because the ‘678 publication teaches the fatty vehicle to include glycerol monostearate wherein the composition is for treatment of bacteria [0054] and Manning teaches propylene glycol to be used for antimicrobial activity. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have an expectation of success in using propylene glycol monoheptanote in the compristion taught by the ‘678 publication containing chlorhexidine as the ‘409 publication teaches the combination of chlorohexidine and C2-C18 alkyl esters of propylene glycol [0070] wherein propylene glycol heptanoate taught by Manning falls within the esters taught. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a fatty vehicle that is known to be used as an antibacterial in a fatty vehicle compristion that is used for the treatment of bacterial.
Claim(s) 1-2, 12 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2016/0296678, US 2014/261454, US 2008/0254084 and Krishna as applied to claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-16 and 23-24 above, and further in view of JP 2003-081709 (previously applied).
As mentioned in the above 103(a) rejection, all the limitations of claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-16 and 23-24 are taught by the combination of the ‘678 publication and the ‘454 publication.
The combination of references does not specifically teach the elected methoxy isopropanol.
The ‘709 publication teaches bactericidal disinfectant composition (title). The composition is taught to be excellent bactericidal effect and have high safety to human body [0001]. The water-soluble alcohol having 1-4 carbon atoms include methanol, ethanol, isopropanol and 2-methoxyisorporanol, glycerin and the like [0025].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to use methoxyisopropanol for the hydrophilic vehicle taught by the ‘678 publication because the ‘678 publication teaches hydrophilic vehicles include propane diols and glycerol (Table 6b) and the ‘709 publication teaches water-soluble alcohols include e.g., methoxy isopropanol, propane diols and glycerol [0025]. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success in using one known water-soluble alcohol in place of another water soluble alcohol for a hydrophilic vehicle in a bactericidal disinfectant.
Double Patenting
9,713,659:
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 9,713,659 in view of US 2016/0296678 and US 2014/261454. The instant application and the ‘659 patent are directed to compositions that are solubilized in hydrophobic vehicle comprising glycerol monostearate, wherein water is not taught as present and comprise a small quantity of hydrophilic vehicle. The instant claims differ in that the active agent is octenidine hydrochloride at 0-20 wt% and additionally contains a plasticizer.
The ‘678 publication teaching compositions containing chlorhexidine gluconate solubilized in hydrophobic vehicles. The composition including adhesives and articles including medical articles such as drapes (abstract). The CHG can be solubilized in a wide variety of hydrophobic vehicles [0011]. All methods taught may leave small amounts of water, which are e.g., less than 1 wt% [0013]. The composition is taught to have 2 parts by weight hydrophilic vehicle per 1 part by weight CHG [0014]. CHG is taught to be at least 5% by weight of the vehicle [0019]. The hydrophobic vehicles contain Formula I and II [0018], wherein glycerol monolaurate is specifically taught, wherein the composition is homogenous (Table 2a). The solution is taught to have a pressure sensitive adhesive ([0022], [0045]) and a plasticizer [0050] and the resin system includes the elected polyester polyols [0022].
The ‘454 publication teaches cationic antiseptic agents, a film forming polymer and a solvent, wherein the cationic antiseptic agent remains solubilized within the solution. The antiseptic agents is preferably octenidine dihydrochloride or chlorhexidine gluconate and the film forming polymer is an acrylate being applied to a drape (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first active agent, chlorohexidine, as taught by the ‘659 patent with a second active agent, octenidine, as taught by the ‘454 publication with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches chlorohexidine for use on a drape and the ‘454 publication teaches the interchangeably of antiseptics of chlorohexidine and octenidine on medical drapes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a plasticizer as the ’648 publication teaches that it is known to include plasticizers in antiseptic containing compositions comprising pressure sensitive adhesives and the ‘659 patent is an antiseptic containing comprising which includes pressure sensitive adhesives.
10,016,537:
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,016,537 in view of US 2016/0296678 and US 2014/261454. The instant application and the ‘537 patent are directed to compositions that are solubilized in hydrophobic vehicle comprising glycerol monostearate, wherein water is not taught as present and comprise a small quantity of hydrophilic vehicle. The instant claims differ in that the active agent is octenidine hydrochloride at 0-20 wt% and additionally contains a plasticizer.
The ‘678 publication teaching compositions containing chlorhexidine gluconate solubilized in hydrophobic vehicles. The composition including adhesives and articles including medical articles such as drapes (abstract). The CHG can be solubilized in a wide variety of hydrophobic vehicles [0011]. All methods taught may leave small amounts of water, which are e.g., less than 1 wt% [0013]. The composition is taught to have 2 parts by weight hydrophilic vehicle per 1 part by weight CHG [0014]. CHG is taught to be at least 5% by weight of the vehicle [0019]. The hydrophobic vehicles contain Formula I and II [0018], wherein glycerol monolaurate is specifically taught, wherein the composition is homogenous (Table 2a). The solution is taught to have a pressure sensitive adhesive ([0022], [0045]) and a plasticizer [0050] and the resin system includes the elected polyester polyols [0022].
The ‘454 publication teaches cationic antiseptic agents, a film forming polymer and a solvent, wherein the cationic antiseptic agent remains solubilized within the solution. The antiseptic agents is preferably octenidine dihydrochloride or chlorhexidine gluconate and the film forming polymer is an acrylate being applied to a drape (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first active agent, chlorohexidine, as taught by the ‘537 patent with a second active agent, octenidine, as taught by the ‘454 publication with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches chlorohexidine for use on a drape and the ‘454 publication teaches the interchangeably of antiseptics of chlorohexidine and octenidine on medical drapes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a plasticizer as the ’648 publication teaches that it is known to include plasticizers in antiseptic containing compositions comprising pressure sensitive adhesives and the ‘537 patent is an antiseptic containing comprising which includes pressure sensitive adhesives.
10,456,509:
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8, 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,456,509 in view of US 2016/0296678 and US 2014/261454. The instant application and the ‘659 patent are directed to compositions that are solubilized in hydrophobic vehicle comprising glycerol monostearate, wherein water is not taught as present and comprise a small quantity of hydrophilic vehicle. The instant claims differ in that the active agent is octenidine hydrochloride at 0-20 wt% and additionally contains a plasticizer.
The ‘678 publication teaching compositions containing chlorhexidine gluconate solubilized in hydrophobic vehicles. The composition including adhesives and articles including medical articles such as drapes (abstract). The CHG can be solubilized in a wide variety of hydrophobic vehicles [0011]. All methods taught may leave small amounts of water, which are e.g., less than 1 wt% [0013]. The composition is taught to have 2 parts by weight hydrophilic vehicle per 1 part by weight CHG [0014]. CHG is taught to be at least 5% by weight of the vehicle [0019]. The hydrophobic vehicles contain Formula I and II [0018], wherein glycerol monolaurate is specifically taught, wherein the composition is homogenous (Table 2a). The solution is taught to have a pressure sensitive adhesive ([0022], [0045]) and a plasticizer [0050] and the resin system includes the elected polyester polyols [0022].
The ‘454 publication teaches cationic antiseptic agents, a film forming polymer and a solvent, wherein the cationic antiseptic agent remains solubilized within the solution. The antiseptic agents is preferably octenidine dihydrochloride or chlorhexidine gluconate and the film forming polymer is an acrylate being applied to a drape (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute a first active agent, chlorohexidine, as taught by the ‘509 patent with a second active agent, octenidine, as taught by the ‘454 publication with a reasonable expectation of success because the simple substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. M.P.E.P. §2144.07 states "The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945).” When substituting equivalents known in the prior art for the same purpose, an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982). M.P.E.P. §2144.06. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches chlorohexidine for use on a drape and the ‘454 publication teaches the interchangeably of antiseptics of chlorohexidine and octenidine on medical drapes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a plasticizer as the ’648 publication teaches that it is known to include plasticizers in antiseptic containing compositions comprising pressure sensitive adhesives and the ‘509 patent is an antiseptic containing comprising which includes pressure sensitive adhesives.
Response to Arguments:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are not deemed to be persuasive.
Applicant argues it appears the office is asserting that a mere desire to solubilize antimicrobials is evidence that all solvents and liquid substances will solubilize both octenidine dihydrochloride and CHG simply because both shown to be soluble in ethanol. In no way would a skilled artisan look to the ‘454 publication and assume with any intellectual honesty that anything that solubilizes ocetneidine dihydrochloride will automatedly solubilize CHG. This statement must be true if one were to reasonably assert that it would be obvious to use octenidine instead of CHG within the compositions of the ‘678 publication.
In response, Applicant is referred to the modified rejection above. Kreshna teaches octenidine and chlorhexidine are structurally similar compounds used as antimicrobials. The ’084 publication teaches antimicrobial preparations which comprise octenidine dihydrochloride in liposomes (abstract). The preferred form of the compositions includes solutions and creams [0008]. Cream compositions are taught to include glycerol monoester particularly glycerol monostearate and octenidine dihydrochloride [0024]. A composition containing octenidine dihydrochloride and glycerol monostearate is taught to be homogenized [0053]. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches chlorohexidine for use on a drape and the ‘454 publication teaches the interchangeably of antiseptics of chlorohexidine and octenidine on medical drapes. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as Kreshna teaches octenidine and chlorhexidine to be biguanide compounds with structural similarity which are both known to be used as topical antimicrobial agents.
Regarding the limitation of octenidine salt is solubilized in the solubilizer provide the homogeneous solution at the claimed temperature, the ‘678 publication teaches the claimed solublizer with the desire for a homogenous clear composition and the ‘454 publication teaches the claimed active agent of octenidine hydrochloride wherein clear solutions are desired. Thus the combination of references teach both the claimed ingredients and the desire for a homogenous solution. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches the desire for a homogenous composition wherein glycerol monostearate is used with the active agent and the ‘084 publication teaches a homogenized composition comprising glycerol monostearate and octenidine dihydrochloride, thus providing an expectation of success in using glycerol monostearate in a homogenous composition comprising octenidine dihydrochloride.
Applicant argues glycol fatty monoesters solubilize octenidine hydrochloride and do not solubilize CHG. The office appears to rely on both octenidine hydrochloride and CHG being soluble in ethanol, which is hindsight reasoning.
In response, One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches the desire for a homogenous composition wherein glycerol monostearate is used with the active agent and the ‘084 publication teaches a homogenized composition comprising glycerol monostearate and octenidine dihydrochloride, thus providing an expectation of success in using glycerol monostearate in a homogenous composition comprising octenidine dihydrochloride.
Applicant argues the present disclosure has shown glycol fatty monoesters do not solvate CHG yet do solvate octenidine hydrochloride. It is an explicit showing that any given solvent cannot be said to inherently solvate a compound A simply because it solvates a compound B under the assertion that compound A and compound B are interchangeable in other contexts.
In response, the instant specification states that octenidine hydrochloride is soluble in glycol fatty monoester which are known to be ineffective solvents for chlorhexidine gluconate, i.e. glycol fatty monoesters do not form homogenous solutions with chlorhexidine gluconate. Applicant points to the instant specification however has not provide factual data. Attorney’s arguments cannot take the place of factual data wherein factual data is required. Additionally, One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches the desire for a homogenous composition wherein glycerol monostearate is used with the active agent and the ‘084 publication teaches a homogenized composition comprising glycerol monostearate and octenidine dihydrochloride, thus providing an expectation of success in using glycerol monostearate in a homogenous composition comprising octenidine dihydrochloride. Further it is noted that independent claim 2 does not require a homogenous composition, rather just the solubilizer be present.
Applicant argues the observation of CHG being soluble in glycerol monolaurate is wholly irrelevant as to whether sone of ordinary skill would expect octenidine hydrochloride to be soluble within glycerol monolaurate. A showing that CHG and octenidine are both soluble in ethanol is not a sufficient argument. A skilled artisan would have no way to look at the ‘454 publication and expect that octenidine hydrochloride would be soluble in glycerol monolaurate.
In response, one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as the ‘678 publication teaches the desire for a homogenous composition wherein glycerol monostearate is used with the active agent and the ‘084 publication teaches a homogenized composition comprising glycerol monostearate and octenidine dihydrochloride, thus providing an expectation of success in using glycerol monostearate in a homogenous composition comprising octenidine dihydrochloride. One of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success as Kreshna teaches octenidine and chlorhexidine to be biguanide compounds with structural similarity which are both known to be used as topical antimicrobial agents. Thus, octenidine and chlorhexidine are both taught to be used as antimicrobial agents, have structural similarity and used in combination with glycerol monostearate.
Applicant argues the ‘409 publication and Manning do not cure the deficiencies of the ‘678 publication and the ‘454 publication.
In response Applicant’s arguments regarding the ‘678 publication and the ‘454 publication are addressed as first presented.
Applicant argues the ‘709 publication does not cure the deficiencies of the ‘678 publication and the ‘454 publication.
In response Applicant’s arguments regarding the ‘678 publication and the ‘454 publication are addressed as first presented.
Double Patenting:
Applicant argues the ‘659 patent, the ‘537 patent, the ’509 patent and the ‘093 patent does not provide the motivation to modify the teachings of Menon to replace CHG with octenidine. See discussion above.
In response, Applicant’s arguments regarding Menon are addressed as first presented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Examiner Contact Information
/LYNDSEY M BECKHARDT/Examiner, Art Unit 1613