Status
This office action is in response to the Amendments and Arguments filed November 28 2025. As directed by applicant, claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 11, and 12 are amended. Claim 2 is cancelled and claims 13 and 14 are added. This is a Final Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 3-14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claims 1 and 12 recite “an upstream -side conveyor including a plurality of upstream-side belt conveyors” and “wherein the upstream-side conveyor is located on an upstream side of the cutting unit in a conveyance direction of the glass film”. Now, the “upstream side belt conveyors include a first upstream-side belt conveyor” and the upstream-side belt conveyors also include “a plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors”. This means that the “first upstream-side belt conveyor” and the “plurality of second upstream side belt conveyors” must be “located on an upstream side of the cutting unit in a conveyance direction of the glass film”. However, there is no embodiment or description in the specification wherein both a “first upstream-side belt conveyor with an attraction structure” and a “second upstream side belt conveyors without an attraction structure, including the plurality of second upstream side belt conveyors, are all located upstream of the cutting unit (9). In figs. 2 & 3, it is apparent that the first upstream-side belt conveyor (19) is upstream of the cutting unit (9), but the second “upstream- side belt conveyor” without an attraction structure, including the plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors (20), is downstream of the cutting unit (9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[Examiner’s Note: Strikethrough indicates that the limitation is not disclosed by that reference.]
Claim(s) 1, 3- 6, and 8- 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teranishi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/ 0017642) in view of Ikai (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0361807) and Mitsugi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/ 0161385)
Regarding claim 1, Teranishi discloses manufacturing method for a glass film, comprising, while conveying a glass film (G) with a belt an upstream-side conveyor including a plurality of upstream-side belt conveyors (elements 14, 3, 15, fig. 3A) performing cutting on the glass film with a cutting unit (Figs. 3a, 3b, elements 8, 9, for cleaving the glass, cleaving is cutting , ¶0062)
wherein the upstream-side conveyor is located on an upstream side of the cutting unit in a conveyance direction of the glass film (Teranishi, half of 3 and 14),
wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors include a first upstream-side belt conveyor having an attraction structure capable of attracting the glass film to a belt of the first upstream- side belt conveyor (14),
and
However, Teranishi does not disclose wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film,
wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors also include a plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors without attraction structures, the second upstream-side belt conveyors being configured to be capable of supporting the glass film at both ends of the glass film in the width direction of the glass film, and
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film.
However, Mitsugi teaches, in his glass cutting apparatus, wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors also include a plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors without attraction structures, the second upstream-side belt conveyors being configured to be capable of supporting the glass film at both ends of the glass film in the width direction of the glass film (Mitsugi, fig. 2, conveyors 17a, a7b and 17c; they are located at least partially upstream of the cutting unit Mitsugi, 19), The advantage here would be of holding the glass, preparing for the cutting of the glass, which will be into three strips, so that each glass is supported. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Teranishi with the teachings of Mitsugi, to have the plurality of conveyors, without the attraction structures, upstream of the cutting unit, and capable of supporting the glass at both ends, in order to prepare to support the glass that will be cut into three sections, and so to have the three conveyors, in order to support the cut glass sections as they are being cut from the whole piece of glass.
And while Teranishi in view of Mitsugi teaches all the limitations above, it still does not teach wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film.
Now, Teranishi does teach an attraction and suction of the glass on an upstream part of the conveyor belt (Teranishi, Figs. 3b, & 4 attraction through suction holes 16a ¶0060)
However, Ikai teaches, in his glass cutting apparatus,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting (Ikai, Fig. 4, center suction 25) the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces (¶¶0065,0070, “air is suctioned…can be adjusted) with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film (this is in the conveyance direction, X).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Teranishi in view of Mitsugi with the teachings of Ikai, to stabilize the glass in the center, having suction at the center of the width and the suction being adjustable, in order to prepare it for cutting in a conventional way, and this would be a conventional method done in a conventional way and achieving the expected result of maintaining attraction of the glass while preparing it for laser cutting and adjusting the suction according to the need of the sizes and materials being cut.
Regarding claim 2, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but is silent regarding a manufacturing method of a glass film, when viewed in the conveyance direction of the glass film, an attraction force with respect to the glass film is relatively smaller on a side close to the manufacture-related-processing unit, and an attraction force with respect to the glass film is relatively larger on a side far from the manufacture-related-processing unit. However, Teranishi discloses having two conveyor suction section (Teranishi, fig. 3 14, 15, ¶0060). Also, in light of Ikai, it would be possible to have the attraction forces of each of conveyor belt section sections to be adjustable, according to the need of keeping the glass on the belt, and depending on the need, it would be “obvious to try” the one of three possibilities (having the first have stronger suction then the second, having the second having stronger suction than the first, or having them have equal suction strength, see MPEP 2143(E) in order to keep the film on the conveyor while it is being cut into different ribbons, and adjust for the different sizes and thicknesses.
Regarding claim 3, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein an attraction surface of the belt of the first upstream-side belt conveyor capable of attracting the glass film is divided into a plurality of attraction zones (14, 15) capable of varying attraction forces (obvious in light of Ikai, combined above) with respect to the glass film in predetermined regions in the conveyance direction of the glass film.
Regarding claim 4, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 3, as above, further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein the attraction surface is divided into two attraction zones in the conveyance direction of the glass film (Teranishi, 14,15; there may be another attraction zone further downstream)
Regarding claim 5, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 4, as above, but does not further teach a manufacturing method for glass film wherein magnitudes of the attraction forces in the attraction zones are controlled such that the attraction force in a first attraction zone of the attraction surface located on an upstream side in the conveyance direction of the glass film is relatively larger and that the attraction force in a second attraction zone of the attraction surface located on a downstream side in the conveyance direction of the glass film with respect to the first attraction zone is relatively smaller. However, given the adjustable nature of the two different suction sections (Teranishi, 14,15), it would be “obvious to try” the one of three possibilities (having the first have stronger suction then the second, having the second having stronger suction than the first, or having them have equal suction strength, see MPEP 2143(E) in order to keep the film on the conveyor while it is being transferred and then cut into different ribbons, and adjust for the different sizes and thicknesses in a conventional way, by adjusting the suction power of the different conveying sections..
Regarding claim 6, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 3, as above, and but does not further teach a manufacturing method for a glass film, wherein the attraction surface is divided into three attraction zones in the conveyance direction of the glass film. Teranishi only has two attraction zones ( 14,15). However, Ikai teaches a third attraction zone in the conveyance direction of the glass film (Ikai, fig. 4, attraction occurs through this surface suction through element 25, where the cutting takes place through element 20).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai, with a further teaching of Ikai, to have to plate where the laser cutting is being affected to also be attracting the glass film, in order to help cut the film by attracting the glass and deforming the glass during the cleaving step, using a conventional method achieving the expected result of cutting the glass (Ikai, ¶¶0063-0064).
Regarding claim 8, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 3, and further teaches a manufacturing method for a glass film wherein the upstream-side conveyor further comprises a support member having a hollow shape and being configured to support the belt of the first upstream-side belt conveyor (Teranishi, 14, can see they are hollow for suction),
wherein the support member (6) comprises therein an air-discharge space capable of discharging air (¶0061, blowing a gas), and the air-discharge space is partitioned so as to correspond to the attraction zones in the conveyance direction of the glass film, and wherein the support member and the belt comprise a communication portion configured to allow communication between the air-discharge space and a space defined between the belt and the support member.
Regarding claim 9, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 8, as above, and further teaches a manufacturing method for a glass film wherein blowers which are independently controllable are connected to partitioned spaces defined by partitioning the air-discharge space, respectively (Teranishi, ¶0061, the blower is independently controllable compared to the suction, as this floats the glass for laser/cutting processing, a completely different purpose)
Regarding claim 10, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein a downstream-side conveyor (15) is arranged on a downstream side in the conveyance direction of the glass film with respect to the upstream-side belt conveyor.
Regarding claim 11, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein the cutting unit comprises a laser cutting unit (8) capable of cutting the glass film along a longitudinal direction of the glass film.
Regarding claim 12, Teranishi discloses a manufacturing apparatus for a glass film, the manufacturing apparatus comprising:
an upstream-side conveyor including a plurality of upstream-side belt conveyors configured to convey a glass film (elements 14, 3, 15, fig. 3A); and
a cutting unit (Teranishi, 8,9) configured to perform cutting on the glass film being conveyed by the upstream-side conveyor,
wherein the upstream-side conveyor is located on an upstream side of the cutting unit in a conveyance direction of the glass film (Teranishi, half of 3 and 14),
wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors include a first upstream-side belt conveyor having an attraction structure capable of attracting the glass film to a belt of the first upstream-side belt conveyor (conveyor 14), ,
and
However, Teranishi does not disclose wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film,
wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors also include a plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors without attraction structures, the second upstream-side belt conveyors being configured to be capable of supporting the glass film at both ends of the glass film in the width direction of the glass film, and
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film.
However, Mitsugi teaches, in his glass cutting apparatus, wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors also include a plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors without attraction structures, the second upstream-side belt conveyors being configured to be capable of supporting the glass film at both ends of the glass film in the width direction of the glass film (Mitsugi, fig. 2, conveyors 17a, a7b and 17c; they are located at least partially upstream of the cutting unit Mitsugi, 19), The advantage here would be of holding the glass, preparing for the cutting of the glass, which will be into three strips, so that each glass is supported. Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Teranishi with the teachings of Mitsugi, to have the plurality of conveyors, without the attraction structures, upstream of the cutting unit, and capable of supporting the glass at both ends, in order to prepare to support the glass that will be cut into three sections, and so to have the three conveyors, in order to support the cut glass sections as they are being cut from the whole piece of glass.
And while Teranishi in view of Mitsugi teaches all the limitations above, it still does not teach wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film.
Now, Teranishi does teach an attraction and suction of the glass on an upstream part of the conveyor belt (Teranishi, Figs. 3b, & 4 attraction through suction holes 16a ¶0060)
However, Ikai teaches, in his glass cutting apparatus,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting (Ikai, Fig. 4, center suction 25) the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces (¶¶0065,0070, “air is suctioned…can be adjusted) with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film (this is in the conveyance direction, X).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Teranishi in view of Mitsugi with the teachings of Ikai, to stabilize the glass in the center, having suction at the center of the width and the suction being adjustable, in order to prepare it for cutting in a conventional way, and this would be a conventional method done in a conventional way and achieving the expected result of maintaining attraction of the glass while preparing it for laser cutting and adjusting the suction according to the need of the sizes and materials being cut.
Regarding claim 13, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further teach a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein at least one surface plate is located on a downstream side in the conveyance direction of the glass film with respect to the upstream-side conveyor,
the surface plate is configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film, and
the cutting unit is configured to be capable of cutting the glass film on the surface plate.
However, Ikai teaches wherein at least one surface plate (Figs. 3 & 4; elements 26a-26c) is located on a downstream side in the conveyance direction of the glass film with respect to the upstream-side conveyor (located downstream from the conveyors what would be combined from Teranishi),
the surface plate is configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film (Ikai, attraction occurs through this surface, fig. 4, suction through element 25), and
the cutting unit (Ikai, 20) is configured to be capable of cutting the glass film on the surface plate.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai, with a further teaching of Ikai, to have to plate where the laser cutting is being affected to also be attracting the glass film, in order to help cut the film by attracting the glass and deforming the glass during the cleaving step, using a conventional method achieving the expected result of cutting the glass (Ikai, ¶¶0063-0064).
Regarding claim 14, Teranishi in view of Mitsugi and Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 13, as above, and further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein the surface plate comprises a support surface and a suction portion (Ikai, surface 26 and suction area 25),
the support surface is configured to support the glass film in a contact manner (partially supports the glass while sucking/attaching and it is contactless in that area figs. 3,5,7)
the suction portion is configured to suck the glass film toward the support surface (Ikai, ¶0060), and
the cutting unit is configured to be capable of cutting the glass film being sucked and supported by the surface plate (figs. 4,5, this would have been obvious in the combination with Ikai, above).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 28 November 2025 with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-14 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mitsugi.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached Form PTO-892.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761