DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status
This office action is in response to the Amendments and Arguments filed 22 May 2026. As directed by applicant, claims 1 and 12 are amended, claim 2 is cancelled and no claims are added. This is a Non- Final Office Action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11 and 12 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting. Claims 1 and 12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,511,461 in view of Ikai (Wipo Patent Application Publication WO2019/049646; citations from U.S. equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0361807) and Claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 13, and 14 are rejected over claims 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,511,461 in view of Ikai (Wipo Patent Application Publication WO2019/049646; citations from U.S. equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0361807) and Teranishi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/ 0017642).
Here is a comparison between Patent 11,511,461 and the instant application’s substance of claims 1 and 12.
Application 17/789,277
U.S. Patent 11,511,461
Claim 1. A manufacturing method for a glass film, comprising, while conveying a glass film with an upstream-side conveyor including a plurality of upstream-side belt conveyors, performing cutting on the glass film with a cutting unit, wherein the upstream-side conveyor is located on an upstream side of the cutting unit in a conveyance direction of the glass film, wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors include a first upstream-side belt conveyor having an attraction structure capable of attracting the glass film to a belt of the first upstream- side belt conveyor, the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film, wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors also include a plurality of second upstream- side belt conveyors without attraction structures, the second upstream-side belt conveyors being configured to be capable of supporting the glass film at both ends of the glass film in the width direction of the glass film, wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor and the plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors are positioned adjacent to each other in the width direction of the glass film,
Claim 1. A glass film manufacturing method comprising a cutting step of cutting a glass film with a cutting device while conveying the glass film, wherein, in the cutting step, a belt conveyor having a suction portion only at a position corresponding to a center portion of the glass film in a width direction is arranged on an upstream side of the cutting device, and wherein, in the cutting step, the glass film is supplied to the cutting device by the belt conveyor while the suction portion sucks only the central portion of the glass film in the width direction so that wrinkles of the glass film in the cutting device are suppressed.
Claim 3. The glass film manufacturing method according to claim 1, wherein the belt conveyor is divided into a plurality of belt conveyors in the width direction, and wherein the suction portion is provided only in a center belt conveyor arranged at a center portion in the width direction among the divided belt conveyors.
and wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film.
[Not disclosed in the Claims]
However, Mitsugi does not claim, “wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film”.
However, Ikai teaches, in his glass cutting apparatus,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces (¶¶¶0063, 0065,0070, “air is suctioned…can be adjusted) with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film (this is in the conveyance direction, X).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mitsugi with the teachings of Ikai, to have the suction be changeable and adjustable, in order to prepare it for cutting in a conventional way, while maintaining suction and “adjusting the suction amount of the suction pump 24” in order to make the deformation as small as possible, and this would be a conventional method done in a conventional way and achieving the expected result of maintaining attraction of the glass while preparing it for laser cutting and adjusting the suction according to the need of the sizes and materials being cut.
For claims 10, 11, 13, and 14, the missing elements from the Patent’s claims may be taught as obvious from Teranishi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/ 0017642), who teaches a downstream conveyor (15, claim 10) and also a laser cutting device (8, claim 11), and the downstream surface plate configured to suck the glass (15, claims 13 and 14) and these conventional elements and teachings would be obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention in order to properly cut (with a laser) and control the glass (with a conveyor) as it is being separated into different rollers in a conventional way without unexpected results.
For claims 3, 4, 6, 8 and 9, see the rejection below for how these elements are obvious in view of the combination with Teranishi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
[Examiner’s Note: Strikethrough indicates that the limitation is not disclosed by that reference.]
Claim(s) 1, and 10- 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsugi (Japanese Patent Publication JP2018-150131, in applicant’s IDS; Citations from sister equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/ 0164545) in view of Ikai (Wipo Patent Application Publication WO2019/049646; citations from U.S. equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0361807).
Regarding claim 1, Mitsugi discloses manufacturing method for a glass film, comprising, while conveying a glass film (G) with a belt an upstream-side conveyor including a plurality of upstream-side belt conveyors (Mitsugi, ¶13) performing cutting on the glass film with a cutting unit (Mitsugi, cutting device, 3)
wherein the upstream-side conveyor is located on an upstream side of the cutting unit in a conveyance direction of the glass film (as seen in figs. 1 and 2, at least part of it is upstream of the laser)
wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors include a first upstream-side belt conveyor (Mitsugi ¶13, describes a plurality of belts with one suction one in the center range, fig. 3) having an attraction structure capable of attracting the glass film to a belt of the first upstream- side belt conveyor, the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film (¶13, fig. 3, element 21a),
wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors also include a plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors without attraction structures (22, fig. 3), the second upstream-side belt conveyors being configured to be capable of supporting the glass film at both ends of the glass film in the width direction of the glass film (supports at the ends, fig. 3), and
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor and the plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors are positioned adjacent to each other in the width direction of the glass film (Mitsugi, ¶13, the plurality of conveyors but only the center one has the attraction structure, fig. 3, elements 22), and
However, Mitsugi does not disclose
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film.
However, Ikai teaches, in his glass cutting apparatus,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces (¶¶0063, 0065,0070, “air is suctioned…can be adjusted) with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film (this is in the conveyance direction, X).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mitsugi with the teachings of Ikai, to have the suction be changeable and adjustable, in order to prepare it for cutting in a conventional way, while maintaining suction and “adjusting the suction amount of the suction pump 24” in order to make the deformation as small as possible, and this would be a conventional method done in a conventional way and achieving the expected result of maintaining attraction of the glass while preparing it for laser cutting and adjusting the suction according to the need of the sizes and materials being cut.
Regarding claim 10, Mitsugi in view of Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein a downstream-side conveyor (Mitsugi, fig. 1, 7 are downstream side conveyors) is arranged on a downstream side in the conveyance direction of the glass film with respect to the upstream-side belt conveyor.
Regarding claim 11, Mitsugi in view of Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein the cutting unit comprises a laser cutting unit (Mitsugi, 9) capable of cutting the glass film along a longitudinal direction of the glass film.
Regarding claim 12, Mitsugi discloses a manufacturing apparatus for a glass film, the manufacturing apparatus comprising:
an upstream-side conveyor including a plurality of upstream-side belt conveyors configured to convey a glass film (¶13, conveyor 13); and
a cutting unit (3) configured to perform cutting on the glass film being conveyed by the upstream-side conveyor,
wherein the upstream-side conveyor is located on an upstream side of the cutting unit in a conveyance direction of the glass film (Mitsugi, half of 13, figs. 1 and 3),
wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors include a first upstream-side belt conveyor (Mitsugi ¶13, describes a plurality of belts with one suction one in the center range, fig. 3) having an attraction structure capable of attracting the glass film to a belt of the first upstream- side belt conveyor, the first upstream-side belt conveyor being configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film at a center of the glass film in a width direction of the glass film (¶13, fig. 3, element 21a),
wherein the upstream-side belt conveyors also include a plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors without attraction structures (22, fig. 3), the second upstream-side belt conveyors being configured to be capable of supporting the glass film at both ends of the glass film in the width direction of the glass film (supports at the ends, fig. 3), and
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor and the plurality of second upstream-side belt conveyors are positioned adjacent to each other in the width direction of the glass film (Mitsugi, ¶13, the plurality of conveyors but only the center one has the attraction structure, fig. 3, elements 22), and
Mitsugi does not disclose wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film.
However, Ikai teaches, in his glass cutting apparatus,
wherein the first upstream-side belt conveyor is configured to be capable of changing attraction forces (¶¶¶0063, 0065,0070, “air is suctioned…can be adjusted) with respect to the glass film in the conveyance direction of the glass film (this is in the conveyance direction, X).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mitsugi with the teachings of Ikai, to have the suction be changeable and adjustable, in order to prepare it for cutting in a conventional way, while maintaining suction and “adjusting the suction amount of the suction pump 24” in order to make the deformation as small as possible, and this would be a conventional method done in a conventional way and achieving the expected result of maintaining attraction of the glass while preparing it for laser cutting and adjusting the suction according to the need of the sizes and materials being cut.
Regarding claim 13, Mitsugi in view of Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, and further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein at least one surface plate is located on a downstream side in the conveyance direction of the glass film with respect to the upstream-side conveyor (fig. 1, downstream part of 13),
the surface plate (13a) is configured to be capable of attracting and supporting the glass film, and
the cutting unit (3) is configured to be capable of cutting the glass film on the surface plate (it is).
Regarding claim 14, Mitsugi in view of Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 13, as above, and further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein the surface plate comprises a support surface and a suction portion (13, support with suction),
the support surface is configured to support the glass film in a contact manner (Mitsugi, fig. 3)
the suction portion is configured to suck the glass film toward the support surface (¶13), and
the cutting unit (3) is configured to be capable of cutting the glass film being sucked and supported by the surface plate (figs. 1 and 3, cutting the glass being sucked and supported).
Claims 3, 4, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mitsugi (Japanese Patent Publication JP2018-150131, in applicant’s IDS; Citations from sister equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/ 0164545) in view of Ikai (Wipo Patent Application Publication WO2019/049646; citations from U.S. equivalent U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0361807) and further in view of Teranishi (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/ 0017642).
Regarding claim 3, Mitsugi in view of Ikai teaches all the limitations of claim 1, as above, but does not further teach a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein an attraction surface of the belt of the first upstream-side belt conveyor capable of attracting the glass film is divided into a plurality of attraction zones capable of varying attraction forces with respect to the glass film in predetermined regions in the conveyance direction of the glass film. However, Teranishi teaches that a conveyor capable of attracting the glass film “is divided into a plurality of attraction zones” (Teranishi, 14,16, 15, fig. 3a). And in connection with Ikai, who teaches a belt “capable of attracting the glass film” and a conveyor “capable of varying attraction forces with respect to the glass film in predetermined regions in the conveyance direction of the glass film, thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Mitsugi in view of Ikai with the teachings of Teranishi, to have different sections with different attraction/suction forces, in order to maintain glass on the conveyor, depending on working conditions and the size and type of glass, and this would have been obvious to one using a conventional method achieving only the expected result of adjusting the force to maintain the glass on the conveyor without warping in different conditions.
Regarding claim 4, Mitsugi in view of Ikai and Teranishi teaches all the limitations of claim 3, as above, further teaches a method for manufacturing a glass film wherein the attraction surface is divided into two attraction zones in the conveyance direction of the glass film (Teranishi, 14, 16, 15; in light of the combination above, this would have been obvious)
Regarding claim 6, Mitsugi in view of Ikai and Teranishi teaches all the limitations of claim 3, as above, and but does not further teach a manufacturing method for a glass film, wherein the attraction surface is divided into three attraction zones in the conveyance direction of the glass film (Teranishi, would have been obvious in view of the combination above, zones 14,16,15).
Regarding claim 8, Mitsugi in view of Ikai and Teranishi teaches all the limitations of claim 3, and further teaches a manufacturing method for a glass film wherein the upstream-side conveyor further comprises a support member having a hollow shape and being configured to support the belt of the first upstream-side belt conveyor (Teranishi, 14, can see they are hollow for suction),
wherein the support member (6) comprises therein an air-discharge space capable of discharging air (Teranishi, ¶0061, blowing a gas), and the air-discharge space is partitioned so as to correspond to the attraction zones in the conveyance direction of the glass film, and wherein the support member and the belt comprise a communication portion configured to allow communication between the air-discharge space and a space defined between the belt and the support member (This would have been all obvious in the combination above).
Regarding claim 9, Mitsugi in view of Ikai and Teranishi teaches all the limitations of claim 8, as above, and further teaches a manufacturing method for a glass film wherein blowers which are independently controllable are connected to partitioned spaces defined by partitioning the air-discharge space, respectively (This would have been obvious in light of the combination above, Teranishi, ¶0061, the blower is independently controllable compared to the suction, as this floats the glass for laser/cutting processing, a completely different purpose).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached and previously filed forms PTO-892.
/LAWRENCE H SAMUELS/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761