DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, it is unclear if how or how the objectionable term “type” further limits the polyester and polyether. That is, are materials other than polyesters and polyethers intended by “type”?
In claim 7, the characterization of a soft monoacrylate having a Tg of “greater than 40°C” contradicts the specification definition of a “soft’ compound having a Tg of “ -100 to 24°C” [0055].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-6, 8-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) and (a2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over US 2020/0299440 (Wang).
Wang discloses a composition for 3D printing comprising:
30 to 70 pbw of a mixture of at least one polar acrylate oligomer (meets Applicants’ oligomer comprising at least two (meth)acrylate groups (F) and content thereof) and at least one polar acrylate monomer with a heterocyclic structure inclusive of (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate (meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate comprising a 1,3-dioxolane ring (A) and content thereof);
20 to 60 pbw of a weakly polar or non-polar acrylate component (meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (B) and content thereof);
0.5 to 5 pbw of a photoinitiator (meets Applicants’ initiator (H) and content thereof);
0.5 to 8 pbw of an additive (meets Applicants’ additive (I) and content thereof); and
0 to 4 pbw of a colorant (if present not precluded from present claims and/or meets additive (I)) (e.g., abstract, [0012-0014], [0024-0040], examples, claims).
In Table 1, Wang discloses a composition comprising:
25.6 wt.% of a polyurethane acrylate oligomer CN 9021 NS [0026] (meets Applicants’ oligomer (F) and content thereof);
20 wt.% of acryloyl morpholine (a polar acrylate monomer functional alternative to (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate per [0031]);
30.6 wt.% isobornyl acrylate (meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (B) and content thereof);
15 wt.% stearic acrylate (also meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (B) and content thereof);
2.78 wt.% photoinitiator (meets Applicants’ initiator (H)); and
6.02 wt.% of additives (meets Applicants’ additive (I) and content thereof).
As to claims 1 and 20, inasmuch as Wang clearly discloses a small genus for the polar acrylate monomer with a heterocyclic structure [0031] wherein (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate and acryloyl morpholine are listed as functional alternatives, the use of (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate in place of the acryloyl morpholine used in Table 1 would have been immediately-envisaged to one having ordinary skill in the art. That is, when the reference teaches a small genus which places a claimed species in the possession of the public, the species is anticipated, In re Schaumann, 197 USPQ 5. Notably, said immediately-envisaged composition would comprise 20 wt.% (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate (meets Applicant’s less than 50 wt.%).
As to claim 2, Wang’s immediately-envisaged composition would comprise a total 65.6 wt.% of (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate (meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (A)), isobornyl acrylate (meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (B)) and stearic acrylate (also meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (B)) (20+30.6+15 = 65.6 wt.%) (meets Applicants’ total (A)+(B) content).
As to claim 3, Wang’s immediately-envisaged composition would comprise the (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate (meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (A)), isobornyl acrylate (meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (B)) and stearic acrylate (also meets Applicants’ mono(meth)acrylate (B)) in a weight ratio of about .44 (20/45.6) (meets Applicants’ total (A) to (B) weight ratio).
As to claim 4, Wang’s (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate meets formula (I) wherein R1 is ethyl, R2 is methyl, R3 is H, R4 is H, R5 is H, R6 is H and n is 1.
As to claim 5, Wang’s stearic acrylate meets formula (II) wherein R8 is H and R7 is an aliphatic monoalcohol.
As to claim 6, Wang’s isobornyl acrylate meets Applicants definition of a hard and hydrophobic monomer [0105] and stearic acrylate meets Applicants’ definition of a soft and hydrophobic monomer [0103].
As to claim 8, Wang’s immediately-envisaged composition comprises isobornyl acrylate.
As to claim 9, Wang’s immediately-envisaged composition meets the claimed composition wherein the optional component C) is not present. That is, wherein the composition comprises 0 wt.% of component C).
As to claim 10, Wang expressly exemplifies polyurethane acrylate oligomer CN 9021 NS [0026].
As to claim 11, Wang does not expressly describe the composition in terms of glass transition temperature. However, inasmuch as the immediately-envisaged compositions meet the present requirements, both in terms of the types of materials added and their contents, it is reasonably believed that they would inherently possess the same properties because the properties are intrinsically linked to the chemical identity and formulation of a composition. “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties” because a chemical composition and its properties are inseparable, In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, MPEP 2112.01 (II). Where the claimed and prior products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established, In re Best 195 USPQ 430. Where applicant claims a composition in terms of function, property or characteristic and the composition of the prior art is the same as that of the claim but the function property or characteristic is not explicitly disclosed, a rejection under both 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is appropriate (MPEP 2112).
As to claim 12, Wang’s compositions have a viscosity of 10-15 cps (10-15 mPa.s) at 40-60°C [0055], necessarily meeting the claimed viscosity at 50°C.
As to claim 13, Wang’s composition is used as a 3D printing ink.
As to claims 14 and 15, Wang disclosing curing the compositions by exposure to UV light, i.e., radiation [0069], to produce cured printing inks.
As to claims 16 and 17, Wang discloses the production of printed 3D products.
As to claim 18, Wang disclosed cured 3D inks.
Wang anticipates the above-rejected claims in that it is reasonably believed that a composition comprising (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate in place of the acryloyl morpholine used in Table 1 would have been immediately-envisaged to one having ordinary skill in the art. In the alternative, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate in place of the acryloyl morpholine used in Table 1 as Wang clearly discloses them as viable polar monomer alternatives.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0299440 (Wang) described.
Wang does not expressly set forth a working example wherein the first polar acrylate monomer further includes a monoacrylate comprising a hydroxyl group. Wang, however, teaches that the first acrylate component can include “at least one” polar acrylate monomer [0024]. Included among viable polar acrylate monomers are hydroxyalkyl acrylate monomers such as the 2-hydroxylethyl acrylate per Table 2. Thus, it would have been within the purview of Wang’s inventive disclosure, and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to further include a hydroxyalkyl acrylate monomer in the composition per Table 1 for its expected added effect as a polar monomer. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie case of obviousness, Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0299440 (Wang) described hereinabove in view of US 2012/0149797 (Nakamura).
Wang does not expressly disclose the presently claimed monomer per formula (Ia). Nakamura, directed to a similar-such ink composition, discloses the presently claimed monomer (monomer (B-3) per [0036]) as a functional alternative to a homolog of Wang’s to (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate (monomer(B-10) per [0036]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the presently claimed monomer per formula (Ia) in place of (2-ethyl-2-methyl-1,3-dioxolan-4-yl)acrylate in Wang’s composition with the reasonable expectation of success. Case law holds that if a prior art species is structurally similar or a homolog to that claimed, its disclosure renders obvious the claimed species to one of ordinary skill in the art based on the reasonable expectation that structurally similar species usually have similar properties. See, e.g., Dillon, 919 F.2d at 693, 696, 16 USPQ2d at 1901, 1904. See also Deuel, 51 F.3d at 1558, 34 USPQ2d at 1214, MPEP 2144.08.
Conclusion
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765