DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 recites the light source apparatus of claim 28, and claim 30 depends from claim 29. Claim 28 has been cancelled, and claims 29 and 30 are, therefore, indefinite as it is unclear what if any limitations they should inherit from a cancelled claim. It is assumed that they claims 29-30 should be cancelled as well.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 11 and 19 use the phrase “extending lengthwise from a first end…to a second end.” A 3-dimensional object such as the electrode in US 2014/0334510 (Bethel) at fig. 3A has an length in the x direction, a length in the y-direction, and a length in the z direction. “lengthwise” is, therefore, interpreted to allow any of the direction. Further, there are first and second ends in the x-direction, the y-direction, and the z-direction. If the claims do not specify the “lengthwise” orientation then it may be chosen from all possible orientations when applying prior art. Fig. 2A of Bethel, for example, may be interpreted to have a length wise direction in the x-direction with a first end at the left side of fig. 2A and a second end at the right side of fig. 2A.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2014/0334510 (Bethel).
For claim 11, Bethel teaches an undercut electrode fig. 2A, and 3A, 203a) comprising:
a first surface (fig. 2A, bottom of 203a) extending lengthwise (fig. 2A, left to right) from a first end of the undercut electrode (fig. 2A, left end) to a second end of the undercut electrode (fig. 2A, right end), the first end being separated from the second end by a length of the undercut electrode (length of bottom surface of 203a in the x direction) the first surface being adapted to face a gas discharge medium (fig. 2A, discharge region 205);
a second surface opposite the first surface and extending lengthwise from the first end to the second end (fig.2A, top of 203a);
a first hollowed-out portion formed across the first end of the undercut electrode between the first and second surfaces (fig. 2A, portion of 203a above 204a and fig. 3A, portion of 203a left of 204a; holes for screws 332 hollow out the portion); and
a second hollowed-out portion formed across the second end of the undercut electrode between the first and second surfaces (fig. 2A, portion of 203a above 204b and fig. 3A, portion of 203a left of 204b; holes for screws 332 hollow out the portion).
For claim 12, Bethel teaches the undercut electrode includes a bulk thickness (fig. 2A, thickness at center of 203A), and wherein the first and second hollowed-out portions each comprise an undercut portion within the second surface (fig. 2A, top surface of 203a is a portion with an undercut above 204a and 204b) wherein the first and second ends of the undercut electrode have a thickness (fig. 2A, thickness of 203a above 204a and 204b) less than the bulk thickness (fig. 2A, thickness at center of 203A).
For claim 14, Bethel teaches the first and second hollowed-out portions contain a solid non-conductive material (fig. 3A, 336, [0023]).
For claim 19, Bethel teaches a pair of opposing first and second electrodes configured to excite a gas medium to form a plasma (fig. 2A and 3A, 203a and 203b), each of the first and second electrodes comprising:
a first surface (fig. 2A, bottom of 203a and top of 203b) extending lengthwise (fig. 2A, left to right) from a first end of each of the first and second electrodes (fig. 2A, left end) to a second end of each of the first and second electrodes (fig. 2A, right end), the first end of the first electrode being separated from the second end of the first electrode by a length of the first electrode (length of bottom surface of 203a in the x direction) and the first end of the second electrode being separated from the second end of the second electrode by a length of the second electrode (length of top surface of 203b in the x direction) configured and adapted to face the gas medium (fig. 2A, discharge region 205); and
a second surface opposite the first surface and extending lengthwise from the first end to the second end (fig.2A, top of 203a bottom of 203b),
wherein each of the first and second electrodes comprises first and second recessed portions formed respectively across each of the first end and second end of each of the first and second electrodes (fig. 2A, recessed portions above and below 204a and 204b).
For claim 20, Bethel teaches each of the first and second electrodes includes a bulk thickness (fig. 2A, center thickness of 203a and 203b) and the first surface comprises a planar surface adapted to face the gas discharge medium (fig. 2a, surfaces of 203a and 203b bordering discharge region205), and wherein the first and second recessed portions each comprise an undercut portion (fig. 2A, recessed portions above and below 204a and 204b are considered undercut) wherein the first and second ends of each of the first and second electrodes have a center thickness less (fig. 2a, thickness of 203a and 203b above and below 204a and 204b) than the bulk thickness (fig. 2A, center thickness of 203a and 203b).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 24, 33 and 35 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Claims are allowed based on applicant’s arguments submitted 10/1/2025. In particular, page 8, paragraph 4 and page 7, paragraph 11
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/28/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the office incorrectly identifies the “ends” of the electrodes in Bethel at page 10, paragraph 5 of the remarks. However, as discussed in the Claim Interpretation section above the electrode may be considered to have “ends” in the x-direction the y-direction and the z-direction as the x, y, z axis shown in fig. 2A and 3A. Given a broadest reasonable interpretation for the term “end,” there is no clear reason one direction should be preferred over another. The applicant could specify the length wise direction in a manner such that Bethel’s x direction does not read on the claimed invention; however, the current claim set does not, and the applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive.
Conclusion
/Michael Carter/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828