DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendments and arguments filed on 4/22/2025 and 5/29/2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. In the claim set filed 4/22/2025, Applicant amended claim 1. In the claim set filed 5/29/2025, no new amendments were filed; Claims 2 and 6-10 are canceled; no claims are withdrawn; no claims are new.
Claims 1 and 3-5 will be examined on the merits herein.
Objections/Rejections Withdrawn
Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous Office Actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied, and constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayakawa et al. (US 2011/0301247).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Hayakawa et al. discloses a cosmetic product with a polymer containing a repeating unit (see abstract). Hayakawa et al. discloses tris(trimethylsiloxy)silylnorbornene (Monomer A), with the following structure:
(see [0101]). Hayakawa et al. discloses copolymers of tris(trimethylsiloxy)silylnorbornene-co-norbornene (Polymer 1-1), which is composed of Monomer A (i.e. component (A), see [0102]-[0105]). Hayakawa et al. discloses solutions of Polymer 1-1 in isododecane and methyltrimethicone (i.e. component (B), see [0112] and [0113]). Hayakawa et al. discloses that the composition can include an inorganic powder selected from include silica, barium sulfate, hydroxyapatite, zeolite, mica, and calcium sulfate (i.e. component (C) comprising component (C-1), see [0059]). Hayakawa et al. specifically discloses a mascara formulation with 26.5% of 30 wt % solution Polymer (I-1) in isododecane, 34% isododecane, 3% silica, and 12% talc (see Example 9, [0173]). The composition thus has 7.95% of Polymer (I-1), and 52.55% by mass of isododecane and either 3% or 12% by mass of an inorganic powder, with a mass ratio of A/B of 0.15. It is noted that the claim only requires the mass of “an inorganic powder that meets the claimed refractive index, not the total mass of all inorganic powders.
Regarding claim 4, Hayakawa et al. specifically discloses 3% or 12% by mass of an inorganic powder (see Example 9, [0173]).
Regarding claim 5, Hayakawa et al. discloses 3% or 12% by mass of an inorganic powder (see Example 9, [0173]), 3% by mass of silica reads on a 2.65 ratio.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/22/2025 and 5/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive in view of the modified grounds of rejections set forth above as necessitated by amendment.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 of copending Application No. 17/789286 in view of Hayakawa et al. (US 2011/0301247).
Copending Application No. 17/789286 is drawn to a composition for external preparation for skin comprising from 1 to 20 mass% of a norbornene/tris(trimethylsiloxy)silylnorbornene copolymer, (B) from 30 to 98 mass% of one or more selected from the group consisting of isododecane, hexamethyldisiloxane, methyl trimethicone, and polydimethylsiloxane having kinematic viscosity of 2 cSt or less at 25°C, where the mass ratio of (A)/(B) is from 0.02 to 0.25 (see claims 1, 11-14).
Copending Application No. 17/789286 does not teach a powder comprising (C-1) an inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% relative to a total mass of the composition or the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1).
The teachings of Hayakawa et al. have been set forth above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Copending Application No. 17/789286 and Hayakawa et al. to add an inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% in the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1) as taught by Hayakawa et al. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as both are drawn to compositions for external preparation for skin, and Hayakawa et al. teaches that inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% in the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1) can be successfully utilized in skin compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/ 995277 in view of Hayakawa et al. (US 2011/0301247).
Copending Application No. 17/995277 is drawn to a composition for external preparation for skin comprising from 1 to 30 mass% of a norbornene/tris(trimethylsiloxy)silylnorbornene) copolymer.
Copending Application No. 17/995277 does not teach component (B) or component (C-1) or the claimed amounts/ratios.
The teachings of Hayakawa et al. have been set forth above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Copending Application No. 17/995277 and Hayakawa et al to arrive at the instant composition. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as both are drawn to external preparation for skin comprising from 1 to 30 mass% of a norbornene/tris(trimethylsiloxy)silylnorbornene) copolymers, and Hayakawa et al. teaches components (B) and (C-1) can be successfully utilized in skin compositions in the claimed amounts/ratios.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 6, 8, and 10-12 of copending Application No. 17/995270 in view of Hayakawa et al. (US 2011/0301247).
Copending Application No. 17/995270 is drawn to a cosmetic kit comprising a norbornene/tris(trimethylsiloxy)silylnorbornene) copolymer and one or more volatile oils selected from the group consisting of isodecane, hexamethyldisiloxane, methyl trimethicone, and polydimethylsiloxane having kinematic viscosity of 2 cSt or lower at 25°C.
Copending Application No. 17/995270 does not teach a powder comprising (C-1) an inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% relative to a total mass of the composition or the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1).
The teachings of Hayakawa et al. have been set forth above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Copending Application No. 17/789286 and Hayakawa et al. to add an inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% in the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1) as taught by Hayakawa et al. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as both are drawn to compositions for external preparation for skin, and Hayakawa et al. teaches that inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% in the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1) can be successfully utilized in skin compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 5 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 17/995265in view of Hayakawa et al. (US 2011/0301247).
Copending Application No. 17/995265 is drawn to a composition for external preparation for skin comprising 4 to 18 mass% of norbornene/tris(trimethylsiloxy)silylnorbornene copolymer and from 30 to 95 mass% of one or more members selected from the group consisting of isododecane, hexamethyldisiloxane, methyl trimethicone, and polydimethylsiloxane having a kinematic viscosity of 2 cSt or less at 25°C.
Copending Application No. 17/995265 does not teach a powder comprising (C-1) an inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% relative to a total mass of the composition or the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1).
The teachings of Hayakawa et al. have been set forth above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to combine the teachings of Copending Application No. 17/995265 and Hayakawa et al. to add an inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% in the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1) as taught by Hayakawa et al. One would be motivated to do so with a reasonable expectation of success as both are drawn to compositions for external preparation for skin, and Hayakawa et al. teaches that inorganic powder having a refractive index of from 1.3 to 1.8 at 0.1 to 30 mass% in the claimed ratio of (A)/(C-1) can be successfully utilized in skin compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has requested that the provisional rejections be held in abeyance until patentable subject matter is identified. The request to hold the rejection in abeyance has been noted and as no arguments regarding the merits of the rejection have been submitted, the rejection is maintained for reasons of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Melissa L Fisher/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658