Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation " said aluminium, Al, or a compound thereof " in lines 1-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2006046753 A1(WO’753).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 11-13, WO’753 discloses a PCBN having the following composition listed on V-3.
The cBN content is 55 vol%. The Al content is 10 vol%. The NbN content is 20 vol%. The binder content (Al + NbN +NbC) is 45 vol%.
WO’753 further disclose one of carbide, nitride, carbonitride, boride, borocarbide, boronitride and oxide of at least one metal element selected from among metals of groups 4, 5 and 6 of the periodic table, iron group metals and Al. This constitution enables it to firmly hold the cBN particles together. See [0026].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use Al2O3 in the PCBN to firmly hold the PCBN particles together. See [0026]. Substituting one known compound (NbC) for another (Al2O3) for the same purpose is known in the art.
Regarding claim 6, WO’753 further disclose one of carbide, nitride, carbonitride, boride, borocarbide, boronitride and oxide of at least one metal element selected from among metals of groups 4, 5 and 6 of the periodic table, iron group metals and Al. This constitution enables it to firmly hold the cBN particles together. See [0026]. ]. Substituting one known compound (NbC) for another (Al2O3) for the same purpose is known in the art.
Regarding claim 14, IWO’753 discloses that t is preferable that proportion pcBN of the cBN particles 2 to the entire cBN sintered material 1 is in a range from 45 to 80% by area. See [0027]. Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)
Double Patenting
Claims 1,6-7,9,11-14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 and 14 of copending Application No. 18563111 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both applications disclose a PCBN body comparing comprising: cubic boron nitride particles and a binder matrix material comprising aluminium, Al2O3, and/or titanium or a compound thereof, and - the binder matrix material further comprising oxide compounds, nitride compounds and/or oxynitride compounds, wherein the nitride compounds are selected from: HfN, VN, NbN.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1,6-7,9,11-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant argues that because the claims of the '111 Application require the presence of, amongst other things, at least one metal oxide, wherein the at least one metal oxide includes between 20 and 100 vol.% of zirconium oxide. In contrast, independent claim 1, as amended, requires A1203 as a metal oxide, and does not include zirconium oxide.
The Examiner respectfully submits that the transitional phrase "consisting essentially of" limits the scope of a claim to the specified materials or steps "and those that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s)" of the claimed invention. In re Herz, 537 F.2d 549, 551-52, 190 USPQ 461, 463 (CCPA 1976) ,"A ‘consisting essentially of’ claim occupies a middle ground between closed claims that are written in a ‘consisting of’ format and fully open claims that are drafted in a ‘comprising’ format." PPG Industries v. Guardian Industries, 156 F.3d 1351, 1354, 48 USPQ2d 1351, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 1998). See also Atlas Powder v. E.I. duPont de Nemours & Co., 750 F.2d 1569, 224 USPQ 409 (Fed. Cir. 1984); In re Janakirama-Rao, 317 F.2d 951, 137 USPQ 893 (CCPA 1963); Water Technologies Corp. vs. Calco, Ltd., 850 F.2d 660, 7 USPQ2d 1097 (Fed. Cir. 1988). For the purposes of searching for and applying prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, absent a clear indication in the specification or claims of what the basic and novel characteristics actually are, "consisting essentially of" will be construed as equivalent to "comprising." See, e.g., PPG, 156 F.3d at 1355, 48 USPQ2d at 1355. If an applicant contends that additional steps or materials in the prior art are excluded by the recitation of "consisting essentially of," applicant has the burden of showing that the introduction of additional steps or components would materially change the characteristics of the claimed invention. In re De Lajarte, 337 F.2d 870, 143 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1964).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHUANGYI ABU ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731