DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed December 29th, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-12, and 15-17 remain pending in the application.
Claim Interpretation
The following limitations are interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre -AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claims 1, 2, 7-10, 13, and 14, states “hydraulic drive arrangement” The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing the claimed function is a hydraulic actuator (Page 6 Line 5), hydraulic circuit (Page 7 Line 24) or any other drive arrangements (Page 17 Line 26-27). Therefore, the interpretation of the of “hydraulic drive arrangement” is a hydraulic actuator, hydraulic circuit, or any other drive arrangements and equivalents thereof.
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, 13, and 14, states “electric drive arrangement” The corresponding structure in the disclosure for performing the claimed function is an electric actuator (Page 13 Line 18-19) or electric motor (Page 17 Line 28). Therefore, the interpretation of the of “electric drive arrangement” is an electric actuator or electric motor and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-13, and 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goeltenboth (US Patent No. 9125519) in view of Shih (US Patent No. 5823096) and further in view of Masciandaro (US Patent No. 9186019) and Anderl (EP Patent No. 0605750).
Regarding Claim 1, Goeltenboth teaches A coffee machine (Col 1 Line 7-8, Coffee Machine), comprising: a main housing comprising an exterior mounting port (Claim 1, Main Housing. Figure 1, Holder 12); a coffee vessel for removable fitting to the exterior mounting port of the main housing (Figure 1, Portafilter 11 fits in Holder 12), a water heater (Figure 1, Hot Water Maker 28); a water delivery system having a water delivery head for delivering heated water to the coffee vessel (Figure 1, Hot Water Maker 28 delivers water to Distribution Filter Element 33 and then onto Portafilter 11.); and a tamping system (Figure 1-2, Showcases a Tamping System).
Goeltenboth fails to teach a tamping system where the coffee vessel moves to initiate tamping. the water delivery head is positionally fixed with respect to the main housing, and the tamping system comprises an electric or hydraulic drive arrangement for displacing the coffee vessel or part thereof relative to the water delivery head, thereby to provide tamping of coffee grounds contained in the coffee vessel, wherein the coffee vessel is displaced between a first position to receive coffee grounds and a second position for the coffee grounds to be tamped by the water delivery head to brew coffee with the tamped coffee grounds, wherein the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement is adapted to displace the coffee vessel or part thereof between a first position and a second position, wherein a first position during delivery of ground coffee is below the ground coffee outlet and a second position with a top of the coffee vessel above the ground coffee outlet during delivery of heated water to the coffee vessel and to prevent steam, produced while brewing the coffee, from flowing through the ground coffee outlet towards ground coffee in the grinder, wherein the coffee vessel or the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement closes the ground coffee outlet during delivery of the heated water to the coffee vessel.
Shih teaches a coffee making apparatus (Col 1 Line 8-16, Coffee Making Apparatus) where the water delivery head is positionally fixed with respect to the main housing (Figure 1, 3, and Col 3 Line 17-34, Squeeze Member 15 acts as a water delivery head and is fixed in position within housing, where spring 112 provides cushioning effect), and the tamping system comprises an electric or hydraulic drive arrangement for displacing the coffee vessel or part thereof relative to the water delivery head, thereby to provide tamping of coffee grounds contained in the coffee vessel (Figure 2-3, Tamping system is operated by a driving motor 191, where Plunger 16 holding coffee is displaced up toward the Squeeze Member 15 to tamp the coffee). wherein the coffee vessel is displaced between a first position to receive coffee grounds (Figure 1 and 8, Showcases driving motor displacing Plunger 16 in first position where ground coffee is delivered from Feeding device 22) and a second position for the coffee grounds to be tamped by the water delivery head to brew coffee with the tamped coffee grounds (Figure 1-3, and Col 3 Line 17-34, Squeeze Member 15 acts as a water delivery head and Plunger 16 holding coffee is displaced up toward the Squeeze Member 15 to tamp the coffee), wherein the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement is adapted to displace the coffee vessel or part thereof between a first position (Figure 1 and 8, Showcases driving motor displacing Plunger 16 in first position where ground coffee is delivered from Feeding device 22), and a second position (Figure 3 and 7, Showcases Plunger 16 in second position during water delivery).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Goeltenboth’s method where the water delivery moves down in the tamping process with Shih’s method where the coffee vessel moves upward during the tamping process (MPEP 2141.06).
Goeltenboth in view of Shih fails to teach a coffee vessel wherein a first position during delivery of ground coffee is below the ground coffee outlet and a second position with a top of the coffee vessel above the ground coffee outlet during delivery of heated water to the coffee vessel and to prevent steam, produced while brewing the coffee, from flowing through the ground coffee outlet towards ground coffee in the grinder.
Masciandaro teaches a coffee making machine (Abstract, Coffee Making Machine) where a first position during delivery of ground coffee below the ground coffee outlet (Figure 2D, Showcases infusion chamber in first position where ground coffee is delivered from hopper 36 above the infusion chamber), and a second position with a top of the coffee vessel above the ground coffee outlet during delivery of heated water to the coffee vessel (Figure 2E, Showcases infusion chamber in second position where it’s above the outlet of hopper 36 during water delivery).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Shih’s first and second position with Masciandaro’s first and second position where the coffee vessel is below the ground coffee outlet in first position and above under second position (MPEP 2141.06).
Goeltenboth in view of Shih and Masciandaro fails to teach that the coffee vessel or the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement closes the ground coffee outlet during delivery of the heated water to the coffee vessel.
Anderl teaches a coffee maker (Paragraph 1, Coffee Machine) where the coffee vessel or the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement closes the ground coffee outlet during delivery of the heated water to the coffee vessel (Figure 1, The discharge Chute 11a, 11b can be closed with a slide 13a, 13b, whereby the slide 13a, 13b, by a controller 14 during brewing process).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Goeltenboth in view of Shih and Masciandaro to incorporate the mechanism of closing the coffee ground outlet as stated in Anderl. This system allows for the closing and opening of the coffee ground outlet to be done automatically (Paragraph 18, Automatic process).
Regarding Claim 2, Goeltenboth in view of Masciandaro, and Anderl fails to teach a coffee vessel where the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement is for displacing the coffee vessel or part thereof up and down.
Shih teaches a coffee making apparatus (Col 1 Line 8-16, Coffee Making Apparatus) where the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement is for displacing the coffee vessel or part thereof up and down (Figure 2-3, Tamping system is operated by a driving motor 191, where Plunger 16 holding coffee is displaced up toward the Squeeze Member 15).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Goeltenboth’s method where the water delivery moves down in the tamping process with Shih’s method where the coffee vessel moves upward during the tamping process (MPEP 2141.06).
Regarding Claim 3, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the coffee vessel comprises a filter or filter basket (Goeltenboth: Figure 4a, Portafilter 11, contains Brewing Filter 17).
Regarding Claim 4, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the coffee vessel further comprises a support in which the filter or the filter basket is housed (Goeltenboth: Figure 1, Chamber 15 houses Brewing Filter 17).
Regarding Claim 5, Goeltenboth in view of Masciandaro, and Anderl fails to teach a coffee vessel where the filter or the filter basket is displaced relative to the support, or the filter or the filter basket and the support are displaced together.
Shih teaches a coffee making apparatus (Col 1 Line 8-16, Coffee Making Apparatus) where the filter or the filter basket is displaced relative to the support, or the filter or the filter basket and the support are displaced together (Figure 1 and 3, Infusing Container 160 and Sifter Member 165 are both Displaced up).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted Goeltenboth’s method where the water delivery moves down in the tamping process with Shih’s method where the coffee vessel moves upward during the tamping process (MPEP 2141.06).
Regarding Claim 6, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the water delivery head comprises a water distribution disc, and optionally a filter (Goeltenboth: Figure 3, Distribution Filter 34 acts as a water distribution disc and is housed in Distribution Filter Element 33a).
Regarding Claim 7, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement of the tamping system is an electric drive arrangement (Goeltenboth: Col 2 Line 46-53, Tamping System uses an electrically or hydraulically operating drive).
Regarding Claim 8, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the tamping by the electric drive arrangement is position controlled (Goeltenboth: Col 2 Line 46-53, Tamping System uses an electrically operating drive to control the positions of components).
Regarding Claim 9, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the water delivery system comprises a water pump (Goeltenboth: Col 3 Line 18-26 and Figure 1, Water delivery system uses Water Pump 31), and wherein the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement is a hydraulic drive arrangement which uses pressure delivered by the water pump (Goeltenboth: Col 3 Line 18-26 and Figure 1, Water from Boiler, which is hydraulically connected to Distribution Filter Element, is pushed out at required pressure by a pump).
Regarding Claim 10, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the tamping by the hydraulic drive arrangement is pressure controlled (Goeltenboth: Col 6 Line 17-20, Controller 24 controls heating device in the Boiler 28, the Pump 31, the hydraulic Drive Unit 32 of the Distribution Filter Element 33, therefore, tamping is pressure is controlled).
Regarding Claim 11, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the tamping system further comprises a passive valve for selecting between a tamping mode of the water pump and a water delivery mode of the water pump (Goeltenboth: Col 7 Line 50-60 and Figure 7, Distribution Filter Element 33e is moved downward for tamping and then Plunger 41 is moved upward from Distribution Filter Element 33e using Lever 45 for water delivery).
Regarding Claim 12, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the coffee maker includes a coffee bean reservoir and a grinder having a ground coffee outlet (Goeltenboth: Figure 1, Coffee Bean Container 20, Grinder 21, and Chute 23).
Regarding Claim 15, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the coffee maker include a controller, which is adapted to control at least one of the following: heating of water; grinding of coffee beans; dosing of the ground coffee to the coffee vessel; the displacement of the coffee vessel or part thereof relative to the water delivery head; and the delivery of the heated water (Goeltenboth: Col 6 Line 2-6 and 17-18, The Operating Unit 25 is used to start and stop the brewing process and for inputting parameters Like water quantity, cup size, beverage type which include heating the water).
Regarding Claim 16, Goeltenboth in view of Shih teaches that the tamping system further comprises a valve implemented as a mechanical lock which is actuated either by a separate handle, or by an action of attaching or detaching the coffee vessel (Goeltenboth: Col 5 Line 4-12, Lock 18 that locks Portafilter 11 into Holder 12 when its attached.).
Regarding Claim 17, Goeltenboth in view of Shih, Masciandaro, and Anderl teaches that the controller controls the water heater and a water pump of the water delivery system to perform coffee brewing process (Goeltenboth: Col 6 Line 2-6 and 17-18, The Operating Unit 25 is used to start and stop the brewing process and for inputting parameters Like water quantity, cup size, beverage type which include heating the water).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 29th, 2025 have been fully considered. The applicant, on Page 5-8, argues that Goeltenboth in view of Shih fails to teach that the water delivery head is displaced between a first position to receive coffee grounds below the ground coffee outlet and a second position with a top of the coffee vessel above the ground coffee outlet for the coffee grounds to be tamped by the water delivery head to brew coffee with the tamped coffee grounds and to prevent steam, produced while brewing the coffee. The rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of Masciandaro.
Applicant's arguments filed December 29th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant, on Page 9, argues that Anderl fails to teach that the coffee vessel is displaced above the discharge chute to prevent steam from flowing back in. However, the movement of the coffee vessel is taught by Shih. One cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, Claim 1 states that the closure can by done by either the coffee vessel or the electric or hydraulic drive arrangement, which reads as two alternative method of closure where one does not require the movement of the coffee vessel. Also the applicant assumes that the Slides structure in Anderl cannot block the steam yet fails to provide any evidence to back up the argument.
The applicant, on Page 10-11, argues that Shih cannot be considered analogous art. However, a reference is analogous art to the claimed invention if: (1) the reference is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, even if it addresses a different problem; or (2) the reference is reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor, even if it is not in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention). Shih is from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention as both relate to creating a coffee beverage.
The applicant, on Pages 11-12, argues that Goeltenboth and Shih are structurally incompatible. However, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of those references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art." In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 425, 208 USPQ 871, 881 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
/HAMZEH HICHAM AMIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/IBRAHIME A ABRAHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761