Priority
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Noordhuis (WO2018122055) in view of Templeton (US 5,019,678) or Alexander (US 4,213,021). Noordhuis (US 2019/0343327) is being used as an English language equivalent for Noordhuis (WO2018122055).
With respect to the limitations of claim 1, Noordhuis teaches a coffee machine (title, abstract), comprising: a water reservoir (Fig 1, water reservoir 20, 0026); a water heater (thermoblock 30, 0026); a water pump (pump 40, 0026); a coffee vessel (brewing chamber 50, 0026) for receiving ground coffee; a water delivery system for delivering heated water (inlet 51, 0028) to the coffee vessel; a hydraulic circuit connecting the water reservoir, the water heater, the water pump, the coffee vessel, and the water delivery system (conduits 21, 22, 23, 0029), the hydraulic circuit including a passive valve arrangement, and the passive valve arrangement (valve unit 60, 0029) comprising: an inlet channel (Fig 3, inlet 51 having inlet channel, 0031); an outlet channel (outlet 31 having outlet channel, 0031); a valve member (valve unit 60, 0039) between the inlet and outlet channels which is biased (biasing-member 62, piston 63, coil spring 64, 0033) to isolate the inlet and outlet channels and is adapted to couple the inlet and outlet channels in response to a pressure present at the inlet channel (0039).
Noordhuis discloses the claimed invention except for an integrated valve status detector configured to detect pressure-induced movement of the valve member for providing valve status feedback, for use in control of an operation of the coffee machine.
However, Templeton discloses an integrated valve status detector (Figs 1, 2, detector housing 40, reed switch, Col 3, Lines 25-35) configured to detect pressure-induced movement of the valve member (shuttle 30, Col 3) for providing valve status feedback (Col 3, Lines 25-35, fluid flow causes movement of the shuttle 30, the resulting change in magnetic field causing the magnetic sensing means to respond. Thus it is possible to detect fluid flow in one direction), for use in control of an operation of the machine (Col 1, Lines 15-20, necessary to provide an indication of flow to ensure proper control and to prevent possible damage to the installation) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the coffee machine of Noordhuis having a valve member and controller silent to the recited valve status detector with an integrated valve status detector configured to detect pressure-induced movement of the valve member for providing valve status feedback, for use in control of an operation of the machine of Templeton for the purpose of providing an indication of flow to ensure proper control and to prevent possible damage to the coffee machine.
Additionally, Madden discloses an integrated valve status detector (Figs 1-6, switch 25, Col 3) configured to detect pressure-induced movement of the valve member for providing valve status feedback (Col 2, Lines 30-57), for use in control of an operation of the machine (Col 1, Lines 17-30, it may be desirable to activate a signal when a desired rate of fluid is flowing through the piping system and a warning signal when a dangerously low rate of fluid is flowing therethrough, or it may be desirable to activate or deactivate a flow indicator) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the coffee machine of Noordhuis having a valve member and controller silent to the recited valve status detector with an integrated valve status detector configured to detect pressure-induced movement of the valve member for providing valve status feedback, for use in control of an operation of the machine of Madden for the purpose of providing an indication of flow to ensure proper control and to prevent possible damage to the coffee machine.
With respect to the limitations of claims 2 and 3, Noordhuis in view of Alexander discloses the passive valve arrangement further comprises first and second sensor terminals adapted to move together and apart in response to movement of the valve member (Alexander, Figs 4-6, contacts 46, 47, terminals 50, 51, Col 4, Lines 23-37);
the passive valve arrangement further comprises: a drive member which is driven along a drive member axis (Alexander, Figs 4-6, barrel portion 31, Col 3) by a bias of a spring (Alexander, compression spring 36, Col 3), for urging the valve member to a closed state, the valve member is adapted to move to an open state against the bias of the spring in response to the pressure present at the inlet channel (Col 6, Lines 20-30).
With respect to the limitations of claim 3, Noordhuis teaches the passive valve arrangement further comprises: a drive member (piston 63, 0033) which is driven along a drive member axis by a bias of a spring (biasing member 62, 0031), for urging the valve member to a closed state, the valve member is adapted to move to an open state against the bias of the spring in response to the pressure present at the inlet channel (0039).
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Noordhuis (WO2018122055) in view of Templeton (US 5,019,678) or Alexander (US 4,213,021) as applied to claims 1-3, further in view of Madden (US 2006/0032535).
With respect to the limitations of claim 4, Noordhuis discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising a cam on the drive member, one of the first and second sensor terminals is adapted to deform or be moved orthogonally to the drive member axis by the cam, thereby to change a spacing between the first and second sensor terminals, and the first and second sensor terminals together define the integrated valve status detector.
However, Madden discloses further comprising a cam on the drive member (Figs 2-4, extension member 42, cam surface 52, 0023), one of the first and second sensor terminals is adapted to deform or be moved orthogonally (Madden, electrical switch 55; Alexander, Figs 4-6, contacts 46, 47, terminals 50, 51 having moveable first contact and second contact) to the drive member axis by the cam, thereby to change a spacing between the first and second sensor terminals, and the first and second sensor terminals together define the integrated valve status detector is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the coffee machine of Noordhuis having a valve member and controller silent to the recited cam drive with the further comprising a cam on the drive member, one of the first and second sensor terminals is adapted to deform or be moved orthogonally to the drive member axis by the cam, thereby to change a spacing between the first and second sensor terminals, and the first and second sensor terminals together define the integrated valve status detector of Madden for the purpose of providing a known switch configuration that is activated based on a valve piston position (0011).
With respect to the limitations of claims 5, 6, 7 and 8, Noordhuis in view of Templeton or Alexander and Madden discloses the first and second sensor terminals are each mounted at a fixed position (Alexander, Figs 4-6, contacts 46, 47, terminals 50, 51) along the drive member axis;
the first and second sensor terminals are adapted to make and break contact (Alexander, Figs 4-6, contacts 46, 47, terminals 50, 51) by an action of the cam (Madden, cam surface 53) to make contact in the open state and break contact in the closed state;
the first sensor terminal comprises a contact arm which is biased inwardly to contact the second sensor terminal when the contact arm is not engaged by the cam, and is moved outwardly away from the second sensor terminal, against the bias of the contact arm, when the contact arm is engaged by the cam (Madden, electrical switch 55; Alexander, Figs 4-6, contacts 46, 47, terminals 50, 51);
the contact arm comprises a sloped tab (Madden, roller 57) for engagement with the cam (Madden, cam surface 52) to push the contact arm outwardly.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Noordhuis (WO2018122055) in view of Templeton (US 5,019,678) or Alexander (US 4,213,021) as applied to claim 1, further in view of Goeltenboth (US 2014/0356502).
With respect to the limitations of claim 10, Noordhuis discloses the second fluid coupling (conduits 21, 22, 23, 0029) which includes the passive valve arrangement (valve unit 60, 0029), and the passive valve arrangement is adapted to open when the pressure reaches a desired pressure (0039). Noordhuis in view of Templeton or Alexander discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising: a water delivery head for delivering the heated water to the coffee vessel; and a tamping system for compacting ground coffee in the coffee vessel by providing relative movement between the water delivery head and the coffee vessel, wherein: the tamping system comprises a hydraulic actuator; a water outlet from the water pump is coupled to the hydraulic actuator by a first fluid coupling, the water outlet from the water pump is coupled to the water delivery head by a second fluid coupling.
However, Goeltenboth discloses further comprising: a water delivery head for delivering the heated water (Fig 1, distribution filter element 33, 0045) to the coffee vessel (portafilter 11, 0045); and a tamping system for compacting ground coffee in the coffee vessel by providing relative movement between the water delivery head and the coffee vessel (drive unit 32, 0055, the force required for the tampering can be applied in response to the downwards movement), the tamping system comprises a hydraulic actuator (0048, 0055, hydraulic manner); a water outlet from the water pump (pump 31, 0046) is coupled to the hydraulic actuator by a first fluid coupling (0048, 0055, hydraulic manner), the water outlet from the water pump (31) is coupled to the water delivery head by a second fluid coupling (Fig 3, hot water connection 38, 0045) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the coffee machine of Noordhuis in view of Templeton or Alexander silent to a water delivery head and tamping system with the recited water delivery head and tamping system of Goeltenboth for the purpose of providing a known distribution filter element configuration that has a dual function of tamping the coffee powder and provides for the supply of pressurized water via a distribution filter (0045), thereby improving the overall versatility of the device.
Claims 11-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Noordhuis (WO2018122055) in view of Templeton (US 5,019,678) or Alexander (US 4,213,021) and Goeltenboth (US 2014/0356502) as applied to claims 1 and 10, further in view of Upston (US 2016/0150911).
With respect to the limitations of claims 11 and 12, Noordhuis in view of Templeton or Alexander and Goeltenboth discloses the claimed invention except for further comprising a controller which receives valve status information from the integrated valve status detector, the controller is adapted to switch off the water heater when the valve member is in a closed state and to switch on the water heater when the valve member is in an open state; further comprising a main housing having an exterior mounting port, the coffee vessel is for removable fitting to the exterior mounting port.
However, Upston discloses further comprising a controller which receives valve status information from the integrated valve status detector, the controller is adapted to switch off the water heater when the valve member is in a closed state and to switch on the water heater when the valve member is in an open state (0214, when the sensor 2104 indicates that the ball valve is open, the control PCB 2105 will now allow power to be delivered to the steam boiler 2101); further comprising a main housing having an exterior mounting port, the coffee vessel is for removable fitting to the exterior mounting port (Fig 1, shows filter basket 124 being mounted to an exterior mounting port) is known in the art. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adapt the coffee machine of Noordhuis in view of Templeton or Alexander and Goeltenboth having a controller, valve, and coffee vessel silent to the recited valve status information and removable coffee vessel with the further comprising a controller which receives valve status information from the integrated valve status detector, the controller is adapted to switch off the water heater when the valve member is in a closed state and to switch on the water heater when the valve member is in an open state; further comprising a main housing having an exterior mounting port, the coffee vessel is for removable fitting to the exterior mounting port of Upston for the purpose of providing a known controller configuration that works in connection with the valve member to operate the major functions of the device and a known removable coffee vessel that is easy to clean.
With respect to the limitations of claims 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 and 18, Noordhuis in view of Templeton or Alexander, Goeltenboth and Upston discloses the water delivery head is positionally fixed with respect to the main housing (Goeltenboth, Fig 1, distribution filter element 33), and the hydraulic actuator of the tamping system is for displacing the coffee vessel relative to the water delivery head, thereby to provide tamping of coffee grounds contained in the coffee vessel (Goeltenboth, Figs 1, 2, 0055);
further comprising a bean reservoir (Goeltenboth, Fig 1, bean container 20, 0044) and a coffee grinder (Goeltenboth, grinder 21, 0044) having a ground coffee outlet (Goeltenboth, chute 23, 0044);
further comprising a controller (Goeltenboth, controller 24, 0047), which is adapted to control at least one of: heating of water; grinding of coffee beans; dosing of the ground coffee to the coffee vessel; displacement of the coffee vessel relative to the water delivery head; and the delivery of the heated water (Goeltenboth, 0047-0048); the water delivery head comprises a water distribution disc (Goeltenboth, distribution filter 34, 0045-0046) for providing an area of water delivery to the ground coffee;
the water delivery head comprises a filter, and the filter enables passage of water and retains the ground coffee (Goeltenboth, distribution filter 34, 0045-0046);
the tamping system comprises an electric drive arrangement (0048, 0055, electromotive) for displacing the coffee vessel.
Response to Amendments
Claim 1 has been amended.
Claims 1-8 and 10-18 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 4/10/2026 with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-18 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/THIEN S TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761 5/6/2026