DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
This paper is responsive to the Appeal Brief filed December 23, 2025.
Claims 8-10, 13, 14, 16-18, and 20-28 are pending.
In view of the appeal brief filed on December 23, 2025 PROSECUTION IS HEREBY REOPENED. New grounds of rejection are set forth below.
To avoid abandonment of the application, appellant must exercise one of the following two options:
(1) file a reply under 37 CFR 1.111 (if this Office action is non-final) or a reply under 37 CFR 1.113 (if this Office action is final); or,
(2) initiate a new appeal by filing a notice of appeal under 37 CFR 41.31 followed by an appeal brief under 37 CFR 41.37. The previously paid notice of appeal fee and appeal brief fee can be applied to the new appeal. If, however, the appeal fees set forth in 37 CFR 41.20 have been increased since they were previously paid, then appellant must pay the difference between the increased fees and the amount previously paid.
A Supervisory Patent Examiner (SPE) has approved of reopening prosecution by signing below
/CHARLES C JIANG/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8-10,13-14,16-18 and 20-28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim26 is objected to because of the following informalities: The preamble of claim 26 “The WTRU claim 9” is missing an “of”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 13, 14, 16, and 20, 22 and 24-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. 20210111953 to Edward Robert Hall et al. (hereinafter Hall) further in view of US Pat. Pub. 20220201093 to Nishant Gupta et al. (hereinafter Gupta).
Regarding claim 8, Hall, the primary reference, in view of Gupta, teaches A Wireless Transmit / Receive Unit (Hall discloses a wireless device that “may also be referred to as a unit” that sends and receives data. See para. [0047[ through [0050],) WTRU, hosting an Edge Enabler Client, EEC, (see Hall, para. [0037] the WTRU comprising a processor (Hall, para. [0087] and [0124] “processor.. supporting edge discovery techniques”), communication circuitry connected to a network (Hall, para. [0097] receiver 610, [0098] transceiver 920), and a memory, (Hall, para. [0118] the memory comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the WTRU to:
send, to the network, a Non-access Stratum, NAS, request comprising an Edge Data Network Configuration Server, EDNCS, discovery request indication, the EDNCS discovery request indication indicating that the WTRU wishes to access edge computing resources of the network (Hall, Fig. 15 and para. [0158] teaches that the UE 115 (shown in Fig. 3, below) at step 1505 transmits a request for edge information including a “a first indication of a first geographical area in which the UE is currently located and second indication of a second geographical area in which the UE is expected to be located in the future.” Hall para. [0159] teaches that in response the edge server provides “a set of edge data network configuration servers including one or more of a first edge data network configuration server associated with the first geographic area , or a second edge data network configuration servers associated with a second geographic area”. Therefore the request is an EDNCS discovery request indication for edge access.
Although Hall does not expressly identify the request as an NAS request, Hall instead teaches in para. [0042] teaches that in some cases edge data network components included in Fig. 3 “may be co-located with one or more core network 130 components.” Therefore, communications over EDGE-1 would be, in such an embodiment, a non-access stratum messages since they would be to the non-access stratum of the core network. Also, Hall para. [0039] teaches “In other cases, the request from the UE may be transmitted to an edge enabler server at the edge data network (e.g., via an EDGE-1 interface), and the set of edge data network configurations may include information for a number of different edge application server instances corresponding to the different geographical area, and the UE may communicate with the edge application server instance that corresponds to the appropriate geographical area of the UE, and switch to different edge application server instances based on UE movement.” Hall para. [0116] teaches that requests can be over EDGE-1 or EDGE-4. As shown below, an EDGE-1 request highlighted as “X” according to a core network embodiment, would be a NAS message to a core network “non-access stratum”. Further, a request could be over the EDGE-4 highlighted as “Y” could be a core network embodiment according to para. [0042]:
);
Although Hall identifies the edge data network components as co-located in a core network in para. [0042], Hall does NOT specifically identify the communications as , a Non-access Stratum, NAS, request.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches send, to the network, a Non-access Stratum, NAS, request. (Gupta teaches sending NAS messages from UE having an EEC. Specifically, Gupta teaches a UE with an EEC for edge communications and a NAS entity 160 for communicating with core network components as shown in Fig. 5. Further, Gupta para. [0031] teaches that the UE sends a subscription request using an edge enabler client to an edge enabler server. The UE communicates using NAS messages via NAS entity 160:
and
receive, from the network, an NAS response comprising EDNCS discovery information. (Examiner interprets EDNCS discovery information as connection information for one or more EDNCS. Hall teaches in para. [0159] and Fig. 15, that the UE receives from the edge server a set of edge data network configurations. “In some cases, the set of edge data network configurations includes connection information for a set of edge data network configuration servers including one or more of a first edge data network configuration server associated with the first geographic area, or a second edge data network configuration servers associated with the second geographic area.”
Hall para. [0042] teaches that in some cases edge data network components included in Figs. 2 through 5 “may be co-located with one or more core network 130 components”. Therefore, communications are NAS messages as shown above. Since the Edge Data Network shown in Fig. 3 is “co-located” with a core network in at least one embodiment, the EDGE connections are not “application layer” connections.)
Although Hall identifies the edge data network components as co-located in a core network in para. [0042], Hall does NOT specifically identify the communications EDGE 1 as a Non-access Stratum, NAS, request.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches receive, from the network, an NAS response. (Gupta teaches sending NAS messages from UE having an EEC. Specifically, Gupta teaches a UE with an EEC for edge communications and a NAS entity 160 for communicating with core network components in Fig. 5 (see above). Gupta para. [0031] teaches that the UE sends a subscription request using an edge enabler client to an edge enable server. Further, The UE communicates using NAS messages via NAS entity 160.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Gupta with Hall to substitute an NAS message of Gupta as the EDGE-1 and EDGE-4 messages. Each of Hall and Gupta are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hall and Gupta in order to provide an application client on the UE to be aware of the latest information about the available edge computing services as taught in Gupta para. [0032].
Regarding claim 13, Hall in view of Gupta teaches “The WTRU of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the WTRU to determine, based at least in part on the EDNCS discovery information, to establish a PDU Session. (Hall teaches in para. [0159] a UE receives “connection information for a set of edge data network configuration servers”. Hall, Fig. 6, “shows a block diagram 600 of a device 605 that supports edge discovery techniques in wireless communications systems in which UE 115 receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to edge discovery techniques in wireless communications systems, etc.).
Hall does NOT specifically identify “to establish a PDU Session”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches “to establish a PDU Session”. Gupta para. [0086] teaches that when the UE (100) initiates a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session connectivity request, a core network can indicate whether edge services are possible or not possible (i.e. whether edge enabler server is available) to the UE (100) during PDU session establishment procedure for that particular PDU session.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Gupta with Hall to include the PDU session of Gupta with the EDNCS discovery information of Hall. Each of Hall and Gupta are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hall and Gupta in order to provide an application client on the UE to be aware of the latest information about the available edge computing services as taught in Gupta para. [0032].
Regarding claim 14, Hall, the primary reference, further teaches The WTRU of claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the WTRU to determine, based at least in part on the EDNCS discovery information, to obtain edge services. (Hall para. [0159]-[0160] teaches that when a UE receives a response with the set of edge data network configurations that includes connection information for a set of edge data network configuration servers, the UE may communicate with the first EDNCS, which is an edge service.)
Regarding claim 16, Hall in view of Gupta teaches A server hosting a network function, NF, (Hall, Fig. 10, and para. [0126] teach a base station including a communications manager 1015 mapped to an NF that receives requests for edge discovery) the server comprising a processor, communication circuitry connected to a network, and a memory, (Hall, para. [0145] teaches that a base station may include a network, process, memory and inter-station communications components) the memory comprising computer-executable instructions which, when executed by the processor, cause the server to:
receive, from a Wireless Transmit / Receive Unit, WTRU, an NAS request comprising an Edge Data Network Configuration Server, EDNCS, discovery request indication, the EDNCS discovery request indication indicating to the NF that the WTRU wishes to access edge computing resources of the network (Hall, Fig. 15 and para. [0158] teaches that the UE 115 at step 1505 transmits and the server receives a request for edge information including a “a first indication of a first geographical area in which the UE is currently located and second indication of a second geographical area in which the UE is expected to be located in the future.” Hall para. [0159] teaches that in response the edge server provides “a set of edge data network configuration servers including one or more of a first edge data network configuration server associated with the first geographic area , or a second edge data network configuration servers associated with a second geographic area”. Therefore the request is an EDNCS discovery request indication for edge access.
Although Hall does not expressly identify the request as an NAS request, Hall instead teaches in para. [0042] that in some cases edge data network components included in Fig. 3 “may be co-located with one or more core network 130 components.” Therefore, communications over at least EDGE-1 would be, in such an embodiment, a non-access stratum messages since they would be to the non-access stratum of the core network. Also, Hall para. [0039] teaches “In other cases, the request from the UE may be transmitted to an edge enabler server at the edge data network (e.g., via an EDGE-1 interface), and the set of edge data network configurations may include information for a number of different edge application server instances corresponding to the different geographical area, and the UE may communicate with the edge application server instance that corresponds to the appropriate geographical area of the UE, and switch to different edge application server instances based on UE movement.” Hall para. [0116] teaches that such requests can be over EDGE-1 or EDGE-4. As shown below, an EDGE-1 request outlined in BLUE as “X” according to a core network embodiment, would be a NAS message to a core network “non-access stratum”. A request could also be over the EDGE-4 highlighted in red as “Y”:
);
Although Hall identifies the edge data network components as co-located in a core network in para. [0042], Hall does NOT specifically identify the communications as receive, from a Wireless Transmit / Receive Unit, WTRU, an NAS request.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches receive, from a Wireless Transmit / Receive Unit, WTRU, an NAS request. (Gupta teaches sending NAS messages from UE having an EEC. Specifically, Gupta teaches a UE with an EEC for edge communications and a NAS entity 160 for communicating with core network components in Fig. 5. Further, Gupta para. [0031] teaches that the UE sends a subscription request using an edge enabler client to an edge enable server. The UE communicates using NAS messages via NAS entity 160:
and
send, to the WTRU, an NAS response comprising EDNCS discovery information. (Examiner interprets EDNCS discovery information as connection information for one or more EDNCS. Hall teaches in para. [0159] and Fig. 15, that the UE receives from the edge server a set of edge data network configurations. “In some cases, the set of edge data network configurations includes connection information for a set of edge data network configuration servers including one or more of a first edge data network configuration server associated with the first geographic area, or a second edge data network configuration servers associated with the second geographic area.”
Hall para. [0042] teaches that in some cases edge data network components included in Figs. 2 through 5 “may be co-located with one or more core network 130 components”. Therefore, communications are NAS messages as shown above. Since the Edge Data Network shown in Fig. 3 is “co-located” with a core network in at least one embodiment, the EDGE connections are not “application layer” connections.)
Although Hall identifies the edge data network components as co-located in a core network in para. [0042], Hall does NOT specifically identify the communications EDGE 1 as a Non-access Stratum, NAS, request.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches send, to the WTRU, an NAS response. (Gupta teaches sending NAS messages from UE having an EEC. Specifically, Gupta teaches a UE with an EEC for edge communications and a NAS entity 160 for communicating with core network components in Fig. 5 (see above). Gupta para. [0031] teaches that the UE sends a subscription request using an edge enabler client to an edge enable server. Further, The UE communicates using NAS messages via NAS entity 160.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Gupta with Hall to substitute an NAS message of Gupta as the EDGE-1 and EDGE-4 messages. Each of Hall and Gupta are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hall and Gupta in order to provide an application client on the UE to be aware of the latest information about the available edge computing services as taught in Gupta para. [0032].
Regarding claim 20, Hall in view of Gupta teaches The server of claim 16, wherein the instructions further cause the server to derive the EDNCS discovery information from subscription information of the WTRU. (Hall para. [0183] teaches allowing unrestricted access by UEs with service subscriptions with the network provider stating that “expected locations of the UE would be from a subscription.” Hall teaches in para. [0159] and Fig. 15, that the UE receives from the edge server a set of edge data network configurations. “In some cases, the set of edge data network configurations includes connection information for a set of edge data network configuration servers”.)
However, Hall only addresses subscriptions generally.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches further cause the server to derive [the EDNCS] discovery information from subscription information of the WTRU. (Gupta teaches in Fig. 1a and para. [0039] “The edge enabler server (300) receive a subscription request for a dynamic information subscription from the edge enabler client (140). The subscription request includes information is related to at least one of a level of the dynamic information to be received by the at least one edge-aware application (150) during the dynamic information subscription, a trigger condition to provide at least one notification of the dynamic information to the at least one edge-aware application (150) during the dynamic information subscription, and a criteria to filter the dynamic information to be received by the at least one edge-aware application (150) during the dynamic information subscription.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute Hall’s EDNCS discovery information for Guptas “dynamic information to be received” to teach cause the server to derive the EDNCS discovery information from subscription information of the WTRU. Each of Hall and Gupta are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hall and Gupta in order to provide an application client on the UE to be aware of the latest information about the available edge computing services as taught in Gupta para. [0032].
Regarding claim 22, Hall in view of Gupta teaches The WTRU of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the WTRU to determine, based at least in part on the EDNCS discovery information, to establish a PDU Session. (Hall para. [0097] – [0098] teaches a WTRU receives ”information related to edge discovery techniques” EDNCS discovery information and in Fig. 6, which “shows a block diagram 600 of a device 605 that supports edge discovery techniques in wireless communications systems in which UE 115 receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to edge discovery techniques in wireless communications systems, etc.).
Hall does NOT specifically identify “to establish a PDU Session”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches “to establish a PDU Session”. Gupta para. [0086] teaches “When the UE (100) initiates a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session connectivity request. A core network can indicate whether edge services are possible or not possible (i.e. whether edge enabler server is available) to the UE (100) during PDU session establishment procedure for that particular PDU session.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Gupta with Hall to include the PDU session of Gupta with the EDNCS discovery information of Hall. Each of Hall and Gupta are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hall and Gupta in order to provide an application client on the UE to be aware of the latest information about the available edge computing services as taught in Gupta para. [0032].
Regarding claim 24, Hall in view of Gupta teaches wherein the instructions further cause the WTRU to determine, based at least in part on the EDNCS discovery information, to establish a PDU Session. (Hall para. [0097] – [0098] teaches a WTRU receives ”information related to edge discovery techniques” EDNCS discovery information and in Fig. 6, which “shows a block diagram 600 of a device 605 that supports edge discovery techniques in wireless communications systems in which UE 115 receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to edge discovery techniques in wireless communications systems, etc.).
Hall does NOT specifically identify “to establish a PDU Session”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches “to establish a PDU Session”. Gupta para. [0086] teaches “When the UE (100) initiates a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session connectivity request. A core network can indicate whether edge services are possible or not possible (i.e. whether edge enabler server is available) to the UE (100) during PDU session establishment procedure for that particular PDU session.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Gupta with Hall to include the PDU session of Gupta with the EDNCS discovery information of Hall. Each of Hall and Gupta are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hall and Gupta in order to provide an application client on the UE to be aware of the latest information about the available edge computing services as taught in Gupta para. [0032].
Regarding claim 25, Hall in view of Gupta teach The WTRU of claim 10, wherein the instructions further cause the WTRU to determine, based at least in part on the EDNCS discovery information, to establish a PDU Session. (Hall para. [0097] – [0098] teaches a WTRU receives ”information related to edge discovery techniques”. EDNCS discovery information and in Fig. 6, which “shows a block diagram 600 of a device 605 that supports edge discovery techniques in wireless communications systems in which UE 115 receive information such as packets, user data, or control information associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, and information related to edge discovery techniques in wireless communications systems, etc.).
Hall does NOT specifically identify “to establish a PDU Session”.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless communications, Gupta teaches “to establish a PDU Session”. Gupta para. [0086] teaches “When the UE (100) initiates a Protocol Data Unit (PDU) session connectivity request. A core network can indicate whether edge services are possible or not possible (i.e. whether edge enabler server is available) to the UE (100) during PDU session establishment procedure for that particular PDU session.”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have combined Gupta with Hall to include the PDU session of Gupta with the EDNCS discovery information of Hall. Each of Hall and Gupta are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine Hall and Gupta in order to provide an application client on the UE to be aware of the latest information about the available edge computing services as taught in Gupta para. [0032].
Regarding claim 26, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The WTRU of claim 9, wherein the instructions further cause the WTRU to determine, based at least in part on the EDNCS discovery information, to obtain edge services. (Hall para. [0159]-[0160] teaches that when a UE receives a response with the set of edge data network configurations that includes connection information for a set of edge data network configuration servers, the UE may communicate with the first EDNCS, which is an edge service.)
Regarding claim 27, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The WTRU of claim 10, wherein the instructions further cause the WTRU to determine, based at least in part on the EDNCS discovery information, to obtain edge services. (Hall para. [0159]-[0160] teaches that when a UE receives a response with the set of edge data network configurations that includes connection information for a set of edge data network configuration servers, the UE may communicate with the first EDNCS, which is an edge service.)
Regarding claim 28, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The WTRU of claim 23, wherein the instructions further cause the WTRU to determine, based at least in part on the EDNCS discovery information, to obtain edge services. (Hall para. [0159]-[0160] teaches that when a UE receives a response with the set of edge data network configurations that includes connection information for a set of edge data network configuration servers, the UE may communicate with the first EDNCS, which is an edge service.)
Claims 9, 10, 17, 18, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Gupta, further in view of 3GPP TSG-SA WG6 Meeting #34 Reno, Nevada 11th-15th Nov 2019, S6-102021 (hereinafter “S6”).
Regarding claim 9, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The WTRU of claim 8, wherein the EDNCS discovery information comprises at least one identifier of an EDNCS. (Hall teaches in Fig. 15, blocks 1510 and 1515 that after the UE receives the edge data network configuration, in step 1515 the UE communicates with the first EDNCS. Hall para. [0159] teaches that the UE receives connection information for a first set of EDNCSs including the first edge data network configuration server, which identifies the first EDNCS. Examiner notes that when the UE communicates directly with an EDNCS following receiving connection information, the UE has necessarily received an identifier of an EDNCS.
Table 3 teaches a sample response of a server which includes edge data networks identifiers:
)
Although Hall teaches EDN connection information, it does NOT specifically identify a EDNCS identifier.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, S6 teaches wherein the EDNCS discovery information comprises at least one identifier of an EDNCS. (S6 page 2 teaches that configuration information is to be provided to the UE in a secure manner, and cites 3GPP TR23.758 Section 7.2 1.2 for provisioning Edge Data Network configuration preconditions:
The Edge Enabler Client in UE has been configured with the address (e.g. URI) of the Edge Data Network configuration server. The address can be pre-configured or pre-defined value (e.g. http://edgeconfiguration.<domain>/provisioning) where <domain> is constructed as described in 3GPP TS 23.003 [6] clause 13.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hall and S6 to teach providing an identifier of the EDNCS to the UE. Each of Hall and S6 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted the “connection information” of Hall with the URI of the Edge Data Network configuration server in order to teach the discovery information. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine S6 with Hall in order to provide configuration information to the UE as taught in the “open issues”, page 2 of S6.
Regarding claim 10, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The WTRU of claim 9, wherein the identifier of the EDNCS is a Fully-qualified Domain Name, FQDN, or an Internet protocol, IP, Address. (Hall, para. [0081] discloses, “An example of a response message format is provided in Table 3, above. In this example, the response may include a list or set of suitable edge data networks covering different service areas associated with the different locations provided in the application client profile. In some cases, the edge enabler server 325 may retrieve the information of edge application servers 320. The information may include a list of fully qualified domain names (FQDNs) along with a mapping to the IP address(es) of the edge application servers 320 running on edge hosting platforms in the edge data network 305.”
Although Hall teaches EDN connection information, it does NOT specifically identify a EDNCS identifier as a Fully-qualified Domain Name, FQDN, or an Internet protocol, IP, Address.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, S6 teaches wherein the EDNCS discovery information comprises... an Internet protocol, IP, Address.
. (S6 page 2 teaches that configuration information is to be provided to the UE in a secure manner, and cites 3GPP TR23.758 Section 7.2 1.2 for provisioning Edge Data Network configuration preconditions:
The Edge Enabler Client in UE has been configured with the address (e.g. URI) of the Edge Data Network configuration server. The address can be pre-configured or pre-defined value (e.g. http://edgeconfiguration.<domain>/provisioning) where <domain> is constructed as described in 3GPP TS 23.003 [6] clause 13.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hall and S6 to teach providing an IP address of the EDNCS to the UE. Each of Hall and S6 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted the “connection information” of Hall with the URI of the Edge Data Network configuration server in order to teach the discovery information. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine S6 with Hall in order to provide configuration information to the UE as taught in the “open issues”, page 2 of S6.
Regarding claim 17, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The server of claim 16,wherein the EDNCS discovery information comprises at least one identifier of an EDNCS. (Hall teaches in Fig. 15, blocks 1510 and 1515 that after the UE receives the edge data network configuration, in step 1515 the UE communicates with the first EDNCS. Hall para. [0159] teaches that the UE receives connection information for a first set of EDNCSs including the first edge data network configuration server, which identifies the first EDNCS.
Table 3 teaches a sample response of a server which includes other edge data networks identifiers:
)
Although Hall teaches EDN connection information, it does NOT specifically identify a EDNCS identifier.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, S6 teaches wherein the EDNCS discovery information comprises at least one identifier of an EDNCS. (S6 page 2 teaches that configuration information is to be provided to the UE in a secure manner, and cites 3GPP TR23.758 Section 7.2 1.2 for provisioning Edge Data Network configuration preconditions:
The Edge Enabler Client in UE has been configured with the address (e.g. URI) of the Edge Data Network configuration server. The address can be pre-configured or pre-defined value (e.g. http://edgeconfiguration.<domain>/provisioning) where <domain> is constructed as described in 3GPP TS 23.003 [6] clause 13.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hall and S6 to teach providing an identifier of the EDNCS to the UE. Each of Hall and S6 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted the “connection information” of Hall with the URI of the Edge Data Network configuration server in order to teach the discovery information. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine S6 with Hall in order to provide configuration information to the UE as taught in the “open issues”, page 2 of S6.
Regarding claim 18, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The server of claim 17 wherein the identifier is a Fully- qualified Domain Name, FQDN, or an Internet protocol, IP, address. (Hall, para. [0081] discloses, “An example of a response message format is provided in Table 3. In this example, the response may include a list or set of suitable edge data networks covering different service areas associated with the different locations provided in the application client profile. In some cases, the edge enabler server 325 may retrieve the information of edge application servers 320. The information may include a list of fully qualified domain names (FQDNs) along with a mapping to the IP address(es) of the edge application servers 320 running on edge hosting platforms in the edge data network 305.” )
Although Hall teaches EDN connection information, it does NOT specifically identify a EDNCS identifier as a Fully-qualified Domain Name, FQDN, or an Internet protocol, IP, Address.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, S6 teaches wherein the EDNCS discovery information comprises... an Internet protocol, IP, Address.
. (S6 page 2 teaches that configuration information is to be provided to the UE in a secure manner, and cites 3GPP TR23.758 Section 7.2 1.2 for provisioning Edge Data Network configuration preconditions:
The Edge Enabler Client in UE has been configured with the address (e.g. URI) of the Edge Data Network configuration server. The address can be pre-configured or pre-defined value (e.g. http://edgeconfiguration.<domain>/provisioning) where <domain> is constructed as described in 3GPP TS 23.003 [6] clause 13.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hall and S6 to teach providing an IP address of the EDNCS to the UE. Each of Hall and S6 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted the “connection information” of Hall with the URI of the Edge Data Network configuration server in order to teach the discovery information. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine S6 with Hall in order to provide configuration information to the UE as taught in the “open issues”, page 2 of S6.
Regarding claim 21, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The server of claim 17, wherein the identifier is an Internet protocol, IP. Address. (Hall, para. [0081] discloses, “An example of a response message format is provided in Table 3. In this example, the response may include a list or set of suitable edge data networks covering different service areas associated with the different locations provided in the application client profile. In some cases, the edge enabler server 325 may retrieve the information of edge application servers 320. The information may include a list of fully qualified domain names (FQDNs) along with a mapping to the IP address(es) of the edge application servers 320 running on edge hosting platforms in the edge data network 305.”)
Although Hall teaches EDN connection information, it does NOT specifically identify a EDNCS identifier as a an Internet protocol, IP, Address.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, S6 teaches wherein the EDNCS discovery information comprises an Internet protocol, IP, Address.
. (S6 page 2 teaches that configuration information is to be provided to the UE in a secure manner, and cites 3GPP TR23.758 Section 7.2 1.2 for provisioning Edge Data Network configuration preconditions:
The Edge Enabler Client in UE has been configured with the address (e.g. URI) of the Edge Data Network configuration server. The address can be pre-configured or pre-defined value (e.g. http://edgeconfiguration.<domain>/provisioning) where <domain> is constructed as described in 3GPP TS 23.003 [6] clause 13.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hall and S6 to teach providing an IP address of the EDNCS to the UE. Each of Hall and S6 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted the “connection information” of Hall with the URI of the Edge Data Network configuration server in order to teach the discovery information. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine S6 with Hall in order to provide configuration information to the UE as taught in the “open issues”, page 2 of S6.
Regarding claim 23, Hall, the primary reference, teaches The WTRU of claim 9, wherein the identifier of the EDNCS is an Internet protocol, IP, address. (Hall, para. [0081] teaches, “An example of a response message format is provided in Table 3. In this example, the response may include a list or set of suitable edge data networks covering different service areas associated with the different locations provided in the application client profile. In some cases, the edge enabler server 325 may retrieve the information of edge application servers 320. The information may include a list of fully qualified domain names (FQDNs) along with a mapping to the IP address(es) of the edge application servers 320 running on edge hosting platforms in the edge data network 305.”)
Although Hall teaches EDN connection information, it does NOT specifically identify a EDNCS identifier as a an Internet protocol, IP, Address.
In the analogous art of 3GPP 5G wireless standards, S6 teaches wherein the EDNCS discovery information comprises... an Internet protocol, IP, Address.
. (S6 page 2 teaches that configuration information is to be provided to the UE in a secure manner, and cites 3GPP TR23.758 Section 7.2 1.2 for provisioning Edge Data Network configuration preconditions:
The Edge Enabler Client in UE has been configured with the address (e.g. URI) of the Edge Data Network configuration server. The address can be pre-configured or pre-defined value (e.g. http://edgeconfiguration.<domain>/provisioning) where <domain> is constructed as described in 3GPP TS 23.003 [6] clause 13.2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Hall and S6 to teach providing an IP address of the EDNCS to the UE. Each of Hall and S6 are in the field of wireless communications. One of ordinary skill in the art would have substituted the “connection information” of Hall with the URI of the Edge Data Network configuration server in order to teach the discovery information. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine S6 with Hall in order to provide configuration information to the UE as taught in the “open issues”, page 2 of S6.
Conclusion
/MARGARET MARIE ANDERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412