Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/30/2025 have been carefully and fully considered. With respect to applicant’s argument of the remarks which recites:
“ If the client side fails to receive the updated data that has been push-transmitted from the control device side due to a communication failure, for example, and such a situation occurs that there are discrepancies between the data retained on the client side and the data retained on the control device side, until a new update occurs thereafter on the control device side and the updated data is to be push-transmitted to the client side. In order to prevent such a situation from continuing for a long time, in the inventions recited in the claims of the present application, the control device transmits a request to confirm a reception state to the client when it has detected that the transmission-target data has not yet been updated within the first period of time, namely when it has detected that it has not push-transmit the data for the recent first period of time. Therefore, the control device may send a request to confirm a reception state to the client even when no missing data is discovered and the client may send a response even when there is no missing data”
The examiner disagrees and points to Odaka [0255] When observation data is transmitted periodically, the observation data itself can be used as a heartbeat signal, [0231] observation data transmitted periodically from the sensor node 150 reaches the sensor network management server 100 normally, the state determining unit 701 receives a heartbeat signal periodically from the event distributor 304. When observation data stops reaching the sensor network management server 100, the sensor network management server 100 stops receiving the heartbeat signal periodically. Hence, when the heartbeat signal disappears, the node state determining unit 701 determines that a fault has occurred in the sensor node 150 or the communication path, [0226] The sensor network management server 100 comprises the external request receiver 301, latest data storage manager 302, history data storage manager 303, event distributor 304, missing data manager 305, and sensor network communicator 306.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odaka et al. (US20080071899, herein Odaka), in view of Wester et al. (US20130190943, herein Wester).
Regarding claim 1, Odaka teaches A control device for an industrial machine (Fig. 7-8 Sensor Netowrk management server [0123] managing the environment in a food factory, or managing the environment in a facility for facility management. In that case, it is important for the site inspector to acquire environmental information in real-time as far as possible, and to perform suitable line management. When the temperature shows abnormalities due to an air-conditioning fault or fire outbreak, for example in a food factory), the control device being configured to …transmit, each time predetermined transmission-target data is updated by the control device or the industrial machine, the update data to a client being communicably coupled (Fig. 3-8 request latest data [0122] resending request may be performed at any time…this processing may be performed when …, (FIGS. 3 and 4), or it may be performed at a periodical or predetermined time (FIGS. 5 and 6)). (i.e. control device is interpreted as sensor network management server, client interpreted as management client), wherein the client that does not return a response to the control device indicating that the updated data has been received in the … transmission (Fig. 3-8, [0082] At least one of the management client 160 or operating client 165 can request observation data from the sensor network management server 100. These clients may display observation data acquired from the sensor network management server 100, [0171] The sensor network management server 100 which received a request for history data performs the processing from the step B322 to B325 of FIG. 3. In the step B324, the missing data manager 305 determines whether or not there is any data missing from the history data over a range specified by the management client 160). (i.e. if there is no missing data the client does not send a response), the control device comprising: a server configured to communicate with the client, wherein the server ([0007] A sensor node attached to a person or moving object usually operates by battery, and transmits data to a sensor network management server via a wireless channel) is further configured to: store, each time the transmission-target data is updated, the updated data; (Fig. 3-8 latest data storage manager, latest observation data, [0018] the management server has a latest data storage manager which manages the latest observation data among observation data received from the sensor terminal, a history data storage manager which manages the history of the observation data from any time when data was received from the sensor terminal to the latest observation data, [0199] latest data storage manager 302, stores the received observation data as the latest observation data, , [0118] request command, described later, is received, the sensor node 150 reads the requested history data from the data storage unit 206, and transmits it, [0123] the real-time data transmitted from the sensor node 150 is stored in either a latest data storage manager or a history data storage manager, [0411] the sensor network management server 100 can provide the user with the latest observatifon data and perfect history data, [0409] The sensor node 150 transmits history data stored in the nonvolatile memory 1104 to the sensor network management server 100 as requested. As a result, the sensor network management server 100 can acquire perfect history data without any data missing, [0411] in the sensor network management server, since the latest observation data and history data are managed separately, and the history data stored in the sensor node 150 can be acquired as needed, the sensor network management server 100 can provide the user with the latest observation data and perfect history data, [0186] According to the aforesaid processing shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, unless history data is deleted from the sensor node 150, perfect history data which definitely does not have any data missing is returned in response to a user request. Further, since missing data is compensated with a history data request from the user as a trigger, completed data can be provided when the user requests it as far as possible.) …transmit, each time the transmission-target data is updated, the updated data to the client (Fig. 3-8 provide latest data B344, [0127] the external request receiver corresponds to the client adapter) that does not return a response indicating that the updated data has been received; (Fig. 3-8 [0018] the management server has a latest data storage manager which manages the latest observation data among observation data received from the sensor terminal, [0199] latest data storage manager 302, stores the received observation data as the latest observation data, [0127] The object manager 101 corresponds to the latest data storage manager 302, [0066] The object manager 101 manages compositional information and various kinds of system parameters. For example, the object manager 101 updates information currently held based on various events received, Fig. 3-6, [0082] At least one of the management client 160 or operating client 165 can request observation data from the sensor network management server 100. These clients may display observation data acquired from the sensor network management server 100, [0171] The sensor network management server 100 which received a request for history data performs the processing from the step B322 to B325 of FIG. 3. In the step B324, the missing data manager 305 determines whether or not there is any data missing from the history data over a range specified by the management client 160). (i.e. if there is no missing data the client does not send a response, the client only sends a response indicating there is missing data), monitor whether the transmission-target data has been subsequently updated again within a predetermined first period of time after the updated data has been stored in the server;(Fig. 3-8 Provide latest data, [0179] management server 100 is not able to receive observation data from the sensor node 150 for a long period of time, for example, a large amount of observation data will be missing, [0255] When observation data is transmitted periodically, the observation data itself can be used as a heartbeat signal, [0231] observation data transmitted periodically from the sensor node 150 reaches the sensor network management server 100 normally, the state determining unit 701 receives a heartbeat signal periodically from the event distributor 304. When observation data stops reaching the sensor network management server 100, the sensor network management server 100 stops receiving the heartbeat signal periodically. Hence, when the heartbeat signal disappears, the node state determining unit 701 determines that a fault has occurred in the sensor node 150 or the communication path, [0226] The sensor network management server 100 comprises the external request receiver 301, latest data storage manager 302, history data storage manager 303, event distributor 304, missing data manager 305, and sensor network communicator 306); transmit, only when the server has detected that the transmission-target data has not yet been updated within the first period of time [0227] determining unit 701 determines that a fault has occurred in the sensor node 150 itself, or it determines that a fault has occurred in the communication path from the sensor node 150 to the sensor network management server 100. In the example of FIG. 7, the node state determining unit 701 uses the observation data periodically transmitted from the sensor node 150 as a heartbeat signal), a request to confirm a reception state regarding the transmission-target data to the client (Fig. 8 when heartbeat is restored missing data is discovered provide requested data, [0013] In order to prevent missing data, it is necessary to ensure data reaches the sensor network management server without fail. Usually, the transmitting source waits for an acknowledgement (ACK) from the transmission destination to ensure data transfer [0232] if a heartbeat signal is received again, the node state determining unit 701 determines that the sensor node 150 or communication path has recovered from the fault. At this time, the node state determining unit 701 transmits a request which examines whether or not there is any data missing from the history data, to the missing data manager 305 (step B721)). (i.e. the request to confirm a reception state to the client is interpreted as when the heartbeat is restored and missing data is discovered after providing requested data to the client); determine, based on the reception state regarding the transmission-target data that the server has received from the client and the updated data being latest and stored in the server, whether the client has received the updated data being latest (Fig. 3-8 [0212] In the sensor network management server 100, the processing of the steps B531 and B532 of FIG. 5 is performed. The sensor network management server 100 then transmits the requested history data to the management client 160 (step 609). The step 609 corresponds to the step B533 of FIG. 5. However, in the history data transmitted here, observation data # 4 to #7 is missing, [00217] Next, the management client 160 again requests the sensor network management server 100 for history data in an arbitrary range (step 625). This request corresponds to the step B530 of FIG. 5. This request specifies a range comprising observation data # 4 to #7 as in the step 608, [0218] The sensor network management server 100 then transmits the requested history data to the management client 160 (step 626). Observation data # 4 to #7 which was missing has already been compensated at this time (step 624). Hence, in the step 626, complete history data including observation data # 4 to #7 is transmitted, Fig. 8 when heartbeat is restored missing data is discovered provide requested data, [0411] sensor network management server 100 can provide the user with the latest observation data and perfect history data); and retransmit, when the server has determined that the client has not yet received the updated data being latest, the updated data being latest to the client (Fig. 8. Missing data is discovered, provide requested data,[0121] When there is missing data, the sensor network management server 100 requests the sensor node 150 to retransmit the missing history data, [00217] Next, the management client 160 again requests the sensor network management server 100 for history data in an arbitrary range (step 625). This request corresponds to the step B530 of FIG. 5. This request specifies a range comprising observation data # 4 to #7 as in the step 608, [0218] The sensor network management server 100 then transmits the requested history data to the management client 160 (step 626). Observation data # 4 to #7 which was missing has already been compensated at this time (step 624). Hence, in the step 626, complete history data including observation data # 4 to #7 is transmitted, Fig. 8 when heartbeat is restored missing data is discovered provide requested data), thereby decreasing the number of communications between the control device and the client and ensuring that there are no discrepancy in the content of data between the control device and the client ([0247] The node state determining unit 701, when it does not receive observation data # 4, detects disappearance of the heartbeat signal (step 808), [0122] The determination of missing data and a resending request may be performed at any time. For example, this processing may be performed when history data is required by a user, (FIGS. 3 and 4), or it may be performed at a periodical or predetermined time (FIGS. 5 and 6). Alternatively, this processing may be performed based on the result of a heartbeat surveillance (FIGS. 7 and 8), or it may be performed based on a sequence number (FIGS. 9 and 10). It is also possible to combine the determination of this missing data with the processing of a resend request, [0166] When there is no ACK, the conventional sensor node determines that transmission has failed, and transmits the observation data again. However, the sensor node 150 of this embodiment goes into in a sleeping state without waiting for the ACK of the application layer from the sensor network management server 100. The sensor network management server 100 may transmit an ACK of the application layer, but the sensor node 150 of this embodiment enters the sleeping state whether or not it received the ACK, [0412] power consumption for transmission is reduced as compared with the prior art method of resending data each time transmission fails).
Odaka does not teach push-transmit
Wester teaches push-transmit ([0043] the application platform 104 may automatically push the updated environmental measurement data and status information to the client device 116 or otherwise automatically update a GUI display presented on the client device 116 to reflect the updated environmental measurement data and the status information substantially in real-time).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Odaka’s teaching of a sensor network system transmitting data
with Wester’s teaching of automatically push transmitting data. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a sensor network system automatically push transmitting data. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by providing instantaneous communication improving system efficiency.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Odaka and Wester teach The control device according to claim 1, wherein the server stores, together with the updated data, a time when the updated data has been stored and/or an update time when the updated data has been updated (Odaka, Fig. 3-8 latest data storage manager, latest observation data, [0199] latest data storage manager 302, stores the received observation data as the latest observation data, [0105] The data stored in the data storage unit 206 includes at least, mm9it the sequence number 207, time stamp 208 and observed value 209, [0018] the management server has a latest data storage manager which manages the latest observation data among observation data received from the sensor terminal, a history data storage manager which manages the history of the observation data from any time when data was received from the sensor terminal to the latest observation data).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Odaka and Wester teach The control device according to claim 1, wherein the server stores a retransmission flag indicating that the updated data being latest has been retransmitted to the updated data storage unit (Odaka, Fig. 8, Fig. 21A, Fig. 21B, [0121] When there is missing data, the sensor network management server 100 requests the sensor node 150 to retransmit the missing history data, [0105] The data stored in the data storage unit 206 includes at least the sequence number 207, time stamp 208 and observed value 209 [0386] when time synchronization processing has not yet been performed, the sensor node 150 does not transmit observation data as real-time data, but stores it in the data storage unit 206, [0394] When the time stamp 2102 is corrected, the value of the time synchronization flag 2104 is updated to “1.” Observation data for which the value of the time synchronization flag 2104 is “1” can be used. Hence, the sensor node 150 transmits observation data generated after time synchronization processing was performed as the latest observation data. The sensor node 150, when transmission of observation data for which the value of the time synchronization flag 2104 is “1” is requested by a history data request command, transmits the observation data, [0018] the management server has a latest data storage manager which manages the latest observation data among observation data received from the sensor terminal, a history data storage manager which manages the history of the observation data from any time when data was received from the sensor terminal to the latest observation data).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Odaka and Wester teach The control device according to claim 1, wherein the industrial machine represents a machine tool, and the control device represents a numerical control device (Odaka, Fig. 4, Fig. 3, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, control device is interpreted as management server, client interpreted as management client, [0123] The sensor network system is used for example by an on-site inspector for managing the environment in a food factory, or managing the environment in a facility for facility management…When the temperature shows abnormalities due to an air-conditioning fault or fire outbreak, for example in a food factory, it is important to notify the inspector of the information observed by a sensor node in real-time ).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Odaka et al. (US20080071899, herein Odaka), in view of Wester et al. (US20130190943, herein Wester), in further view of Bidram et al. (US20200118222A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Odaka and Wester teach The control device according to claim 1, (Odaka, Fig. 4, Fig. 3, Fig. 5, Fig. 6, control device is interpreted as management server, client interpreted as management client, [0123] The sensor network system is used for example by an on-site inspector for managing the environment in a food factory, or managing the environment in a facility for facility management…When the temperature shows abnormalities due to an air-conditioning fault or fire outbreak, for example in a food factory, it is important to notify the inspector of the information observed by a sensor node in real-time).
Odaka does not teach wherein the industrial machine represents an industrial robot, and the control device represents a robot control device
Bidram teaches wherein the industrial machine represents an industrial robot, and the control device represents a robot control device ([0062] a controller unit to control the autonomous processes of the robot)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Odaka’s teaching of a sensor network system for managing a facility with Bidram’s teaching of managing a facility to control the autonomous processes of a robot. The combined teaching provides an expected result of a sensor network system for managing a facility including autonomous processes of a robot. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by “potentially reducing the cost and time required to complete otherwise inefficient operations such as basic labor, transportation, and maintenance” as shown by Bidram [0008].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Park (US20140066063) discloses a heartbeat period determination for push service in wireless network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE TRANG FOLLANSBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2117
/DARRIN D DUNN/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117