Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed Oct. 1, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-8 remain pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-8 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 2 from bottom, ‘aborbtionon’ should read “absorption”
Claims 2, 4-8 deepened on claim 1 are objected as well.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dubrow et al. (US 2012/0113672), further in view of Bekenstein et al. (Highly luminescent colloidal nanopaltes …, published on Dec. 15, 2015 in J. Am. Chem. Soc. 2015, 137, 16008-16011).
Regarding claim 1, Dubrow discloses that, as illustrated in Figs. 6A-6C and 7A-7C, a method for widening color space with a much-reduced thickness compared to film applications in displays such as tablet and mobile phone, characterized by steps of:
coating materials ([0071] (i.e., including spray coating (lines 14-17))), which form an oxygen and moisture barrier ([0167], lines 1-8 (i.e., the QD film 602 (upper) (including QD phosphor material 604 (as shown in Fig. 6A or 6B or 6C)) and the reflective film 608 (lower) as shown in Fig. 6A-6B); [0168]; [0120], lines 1-8 from bottom), on lower and upper surface of a light waveguide (e.g., in Fig. 6A, item 606 ([0167], line 606 (the light guide panel (LGP) waveguide))) being used in displays by spray coating ([0071]);
Further, as illustrated in Figs. 6B and 6C (also see attached annotated Figure I), Dubrow discloses that, the QD film 602 deposited on the upper surface of the light guide and the lower surface of the light guide include the QD phosphor material 604 ([0168], lines 6-7). Dubrow discloses that, in [0120], the phosphor material (i.e., in the QD phosphor material 604) of the present invention further comprises a matrix material in which the QDs are embedded or otherwise disposed (lines 1-3). Dubrow discloses that, in [0120], in preferred embodiments, the matrix material completely surrounds the QDs and provides a protective barrier which prevents deterioration of the QDs caused by environmental such as oxygen, moisture, and temperature (lines 4-8 from bottom). Thus, at least, the QD phosphor material 604 provides the oxygen and moisture protective barrier;
coating color enriching materials on the light waveguide, which is coated with an oxygen and moisture barrier on the upper and lower surface thereof by spray coating ([0047]; [0054]; [0168] (e.g., the QD film 602 includes a top barrier layer 620 between the QD phosphor layer 604 and the LGP 606 (lines 5-7)); Here, the QD phosphor layer 604 may include color enriching materials ([0063])), and
re-coating the upper and lower surfaces of the color enriching material coated light waveguide, with a material forming an oxygen and moisture barrier (e.g., the top barrier layer 620 as shown in Fig. 6A and the bottom barrier layer 622 as shown in Fig. 6C ([0168])).
It is noticed that, in ABSTRACT of Dubrow, high-efficiency, high brightness, and high color purity quantum dot (QD) based lighting device are developed. Here, high color purity quantum dot (QD) such as materials, films can be considered as the color enriching materials. Dubrow discloses how to obtain color purity and tunability of quantum dot (QD) materials or films (see [0051] - [0055]).
Dubrow discloses that, surfaces of the light waveguide, the upper and lower surfaces of which are coated with transparent metal oxide nanoparticle solutions are coated with quantum dot (i.e., QD ([0006])) and nanoplate solutions (e.g., scattering beads 2440, 2540 in Figs. 24 and 25 ([0165], [0189])) having color enriching characteristic by means of spraying method ([0071] (i.e., including spray coating (lines 14-17)); [0099] (e.g., the luminescent nanocrystals can be further coated with one or more inorganic layers comprising an aluminum oxide (Si2O3) (lines 1-5 from bottom)).
As illustrated in Fig. 6B (also see labels of attached annotated Figure II), the (second) QD phosphor layer (604) is coated on the (first/upper) oxygen and moisture barrier layer 622.
Dubrow individually teaches the waveguide attached with the QD film in Figs. 6B, 6C, respectively. Each of these configurations is utilized to improve the performance of the waveguide. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skilled in the art to combine each of these embodiments into one configuration logically flows from their having been individually taught in the prior art as being known for achieving the same purpose.
Dubrow discloses that, the upper and lower surfaces of the light waveguide coated with color enriching materials are coated by spraying transparent metal oxide nanoparticle solutions preferably A1203 nanoparticle in order to protect them against oxygen and moisture ([0071] (i.e., including spray coating (lines 14-17)); [0099] (e.g., the luminescent nanocrystals can be further coated with one or more inorganic layers comprising an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) (lines 1-5 from bottom))).
Specifically, Dubrow discloses that, in [0089], additional exemplary nanostructures include, but not limited to, nanowire, …, tripods, …, nanoparticles, and similar structures having at least one region or characteristic dimension with a dimension of less than, …, about 10 nm (lines 1-8). Here, at least a nano tripod is a type of nanoplate.
Dubrow discloses that, the quantum dots (i.e., QD ([0006])) used increase color richness in display technologies; whereas nanoplates provide sharp (pure) colors ([0047]) and have a high absorption coefficient ([0048] (e.g., increasing the absorption of primary light and subsequent emission of secondary light by the QDs (lines 1-2 from bottom))).
Further, in the same field of endeavor, anisotropic two-dimensional nanoplates, Bekenstein discloses that, freestanding quasi-two-dimensional (2D) nanoplates (NPLs) have demonstrated exceptional photophysical properties, such as increased exciton binding energy, enhanced absorption cross sections with respect to bulk, low threshold stimulated emission, and notable optical nonlinearities (page 16008, lines 1-5 (left col.)). Thus, Bekenstein discloses that, the solution containing nanoplates having a high absorption coefficient.
The claimed the solution containing nanoplates having a high absorption coefficient is that the substitution of one known element for another is prima facie obvious IF it yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. In this case, something to do with coating the film with nanostructures to enhance its absorption coefficient comes from Dubrow itself.
Annotated Figure I (Based on Figs. 6B and 6C in the teachings of Dubrow)
Annotated Figure II (Based on Figs. 6B and 6C in the teachings of Dubrow)
Regarding claims 2, 7, Dubrow discloses that, before the light waveguide being used in edge-lit displays ([0082]) is integrated into the related display (e.g., as shown in Fig. 7A), its upper and lower surfaces are coated by spraying transparent metal oxide nanoparticle solutions, i.e., preferably Al2O3 nanoparticles which enable to form an oxygen and moisture barrier ([0071] (i.e., including spray coating (lines 14-17)); [0099] (e.g., the luminescent nanocrystals can be further coated with one or more inorganic layers comprising an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) (lines 1-5 from bottom (related to claim 7))).
Regarding claim 4, Dubrow discloses that, the quantum dots (i.e., QD ([0006])) used increase color richness in display technologies; whereas nanoplates provide sharp (pure) colors ([0047]) and have a high absorption coefficient ([0048] (e.g., increasing the absorption of primary light and subsequent emission of secondary light by the QDs (lines 1-2 from bottom))).
Specifically, Dubrow discloses that, in [0089], additional exemplary nanostructures include, but not limited to, nanowire, …, tripods, …, nanoparticles, and similar structures having at least one region or characteristic dimension with a dimension of less than, …, about 10 nm (lines 1-8).
Thus, Dubrow points out the nanostructures may have two-dimensional characters. Here, at least a nano tripod is a type of nanoplate.
Regarding claims 5, 8, Dubrow discloses that, the upper and lower surfaces of the light waveguide coated with color enriching materials are coated by spraying transparent metal oxide nanoparticle solutions preferably A1203 nanoparticle in order to protect them against oxygen and moisture ([0071] (i.e., including spray coating (lines 14-17)); [0099] (e.g., the luminescent nanocrystals can be further coated with one or more inorganic layers comprising an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) (lines 1-5 from bottom)). Dubrow discloses that, before the light waveguide being used in edge-lit displays ([0082]) is integrated into the related display (e.g., as shown in Fig. 7A), its upper and lower surfaces are coated by spraying transparent metal oxide nanoparticle solutions, i.e., preferably Al2O3 nanoparticles which enable to form an oxygen and moisture barrier ([0071] (i.e., including spray coating (lines 14-17)); [0099] (e.g., the luminescent nanocrystals can be further coated with one or more inorganic layers comprising an aluminum oxide (Al2O3) (lines 1-5 from bottom (related to claim 8))).
Regarding claim 6, Dubrow discloses that, the invention is directed to backlighting units for display devices such as mobile phones, smart phones ([0006], lines 1-9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/1/2025 have been fully considered. They are not persuasive.
In response to applicant’s arguments (as amended) in claim 1 that the Examiner is misleading of the reference of Dubrow for teaching that surfaces of the light waveguide, the upper and lower surfaces of which are coated with transparent mental oxide nanoparticles with coated quantum dots and nanoplate solutions, referencing specifically to paragraph [0099], and Dubrow does not teach the two-dimensional nanostructures such as nanoplatelets with unique optical anisotropy and high absorption coefficients, contributing to sharper color contrast, it is not persuasive.
Specifically, Dubrow discloses that, in [0089], additional exemplary nanostructures include, but not limited to, nanowire, …, tripods, …, nanoparticles, and similar structures having at least one region or characteristic dimension with a dimension of less than, …, about 10 nm (lines 1-8).
Thus, Dubrow points out the nanostructures may have two-dimensional characters. Here, at least a nano tripod is a type of nanoplate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIBIN LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741