DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2016/0351816) (Kim).
In reference to claims 1, 3, and 5-7, Kim teaches a compound of H-146 as shown below that reads on the claimed materials.
For Claim 1: Reads on a compound of formula A wherein m is 1, n is 1, L is a single bond, R7 is a bond to L, R1 to R2, R4 to R5, and R7 to R8 are each hydrogen, R3 is a substituted aryl, HAr is a group of structural formula 1, Y is C(CH3)2, X is C(CH3)2, R13 is a bonded to L, and R11 to R12 and R14 to R20 are each hydrogen.
For Claim 3: Reads on n is 1 and m is 1.
For Claim 5: Reads on a single bond.
For Claim 6: Reads on wherein X and Y are C(CH3)2.
For Claim 7: Reads on methyl.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8 and 10- are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2016/0351816) (Kim).
In reference to claims 2 and 8, Kim teaches a H-146 as shown above.
The compound H-146 is a positional isomer of the instantly claimed material, wherein the phenanthroline is bonded to the polycyclic ring system at different positions. It is noted that compounds which are position isomers (compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus) are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties. In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977). See also In re May, 574 F.2d 1082, 197 USPQ 601 (CCPA 1978) (stereoisomers prima facie obvious). In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound presently claimed, and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
In reference to claim 10-11, 15, and 17-18, Kim teaches the compound as described above for claim 1 and further teaches that the compound is used in an organic EL device comprising an organic layer between an anode and a cathode with several layers including emission layers, hole transport layers, electron transport layers etc. wherein the emission layer includes a host and dopant (Kim [0009] [0295] [0367] [0348]). Lee further teaches that the layers are deposited by wet coating or dry coating methods (Kim [0441]).
While Kim does not exemplify a device with the specific configuration and composition, it would have been obvious to the ordinarily skilled artisan to have used the materials taught by Kim in the device structures taught by Kim.
It is noted that Kim may not use the same names of layers as those instantly claimed however the layers meet all positional and compositional requirements of those claimed.
Claims 12-14, 16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2015/0349270) (Kim) in view of Liao et al (US 2006/0040132) (Liao).
In reference to claims 12-14, 16 and 19, Kim teaches the device as described above for claim 10 and further teaches that the device can comprise additional layers. Kim does not expressly teach that the device comprises additional emitting layers with the claimed p type and n type charge generation layers between them or is used in display panel.
With respect to the difference, Liao teaches, in analogous art, a tandem OLED device structure comprising a plurality of light emitting layers with n and p type charge generating layers in between (Liao see figs 3, 8) and teaches that the N-type layers comprise a host and a dopant wherein the hosts are phenanthroline derivatives (Liao [0115]). Liao further teaches that the use of such a device structure is used in a flat display and results in a device with high luminance and brightness, improved lifetime, improved color stability with simple fabrication steps (Liao[0003] [0008] to [0020]).
In light of the motivation of using the tandem device structure as described above, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the tandem device structure as described by Liao in order to prepare a device with high luminance and brightness, improved lifetime, improved color stability with simple fabrication steps and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Claim 9 is drawn to specific compounds of formula 1. A search of the prior art did not identify these materials.
The closest prior art identified is Kim et al (US 2015/0349270) (Kim). Kim teaches compounds within the formula 1 but does not specifically teach the instantly claimed materials of claim 9. None of the teachings of Kim or of the prior art as a whole provide sufficiently specific motivation to modify the compounds of Kim to arrive at the compounds of claim 9.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/Sean M DeGuire/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786