DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11-13 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 recites “a ester-based plasticizer” for the purpose of further examination it is interpreted as “an ester-based plasticizer”.
Claims 12, 13, and 15 are objected to based on their dependence on claim 11.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kue (KR20090038514, see machine translation for citations), in the further view of Okubo (JP2018193660, see machine translation for citations).
Regarding Claims 11-13: Kue teaches a polymer resin composition comprising an ester-based plasticizer composition comprising a 1,4 cyclohexanedicarboxylate and a polyvinyl chloride resin (page 1, lines 16-24) wherein the plasticizer composition is present in an amount of 5 to 250 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the polymer resin (page 9, line 566) overlapping the claimed range. However, Kue is silent on the polymer resin comprising the ester-based plasticizer of [Chemical Formula 1].
Okubo teaches a cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid ester, component B1, following general formula 2 (para 24), see below for structure (Page 3 of the foreign reference), wherein R2 and R3 are independently alkyl groups having 8-22 carbons (para 28) including 2-ethylhexyl (para 21) and R4 is represented by a residue obtained by removing two hydroxyl groups from a polyoxyalkylene glycol with 2 to 4 carbons or a divalent hydrocarbon group having 2 to 10 carbon atoms(para 29), overlapping the claimed range of carbon atoms.
Kue and Okubo are analogous art as they are both directed towards the same field of endeavor namely ester-based compounds with good heat resistance and compatibility with polymers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid ester of the polymer resin composition of Kue with the cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid ester of Okubo. Okubo discloses that the cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid ester represented by general formula 2 can sufficiently prevent the fibers in the precursor fiber bundle from fusing to each other (para 27). One or ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to make the substitution as cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid ester of Okubo when used as a plasticizer in the polymer resin composition of Kue would further lead to the optimization of the composites processability.
The references do not expressly teach a polymer resin composition with a ratio of heating loss of 0.01 to 1.4%. Consequently, the Office recognizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches a product prepared with all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts by a substantially similar process. According to the original specification, when the ester-based plasticizer according to the present invention is used as the plasticizer of a heat- resistant resin composition, a synergistic effect to improve physical properties such as migration resistance and heating loss is provided (Lines 188-192). Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. a ratio of heating loss of 0.01 to 1.4%, would naturally flow from a composition with all the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts prepared by a similar process. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and MPEP 2111.01 (I)(II). If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar process.
Regarding Claim 13: Modified Kue teaches all of the limitation of claim 11, as seen above. Kue further teaches the polymer resin composition comprising filler (page 10, line 574)
Regarding Claim 15: Modified Kue teaches all of the limitation of claim 11, as seen above. Kue further teaches a polymer resin molded article (page 1, line 20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 9, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argues that Okubo is directed towards preventing fiber fusion within carbon fiber precursor bundles which differs form the technical field and objective of the claimed invention, improving heat loss and migration resistance in PVC resins. Applicant argues that there would be no motivation for one of ordinary skill in the art to combine a reference directed towards carbon fiber manufacturing in the context of developing a PVC plasticizer. While Okubo does not address the problem of heat loss and migration resistance in PVC resins prior are is considered analogous are if it is reasonably pertinent or in the same field of endeavor (MPEP 2141.01(a)). Applicant cites the objective of the claimed invention as “improving heat loss and migration resistance in the PVC resins” however this is on one of the technical problems that is address by the instant application. The instant application discloses “an object of the present invention is to provide an ester-based compound with both heat resistance and compatibility being improved and a use thereof.” (US20230054496 para 7). Okubo teaches that an oil treatment liquid comprising of the cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid ester reading on chemical formula 1 of Claim 1 is used in the treatment of polyacrylonitrile fibers (para 98). Okubo further discloses that the cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid ester is able to remain stably on the surface of the precursor fiber bundle without being dispersed during a flame-retardant treatment step (para 24) and that component B1 has sufficient thermal stability to prevent the fusion of polyacrylonitrile fibers during the a flame-retardant treatment step (para 40) at 200°C to 400°C (para 2). The teaching of Okubo show an ester-based compound that has good thermal stability and compatibility with a polymer. Okubo has the same field of endeavor in ester-based compounds with heat resistance and compatibility with polymers. Since Okubo is an analogous art its is suitable to be used in an obviousness rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/T.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767 /MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767