DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim(s) 1-2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoyama et al (US 2005/0284847) in view of Schuster et al (EP 2213402).
Regarding claim 1, Aoyama discloses a magnet-equipped projection welding electrode, the electrode comprising:
a main body (Fig. 1 #6 main body) made of metal and having a cylindrical shape;
an end cover (Fig. 1 #10 end cover) made of metal, the end cover (Fig. 1 #10 end cover) attached to an end of the main body (Fig. 1 #6 main body), the end cover (Fig. 1 #10 end cover) having a through hole (Fig. 1 #19 through hole) into which a part is inserted;
a heat insulating guide sleeve (Fig. 1 #12 guide sleeve) made of an insulation material, the heat insulating guide sleeve (Fig. 1 #12 guide sleeve) being inserted into the main body (Fig. 1 #6 main body) and having a minor diameter hole (Fig. 1 #18 minor diameter section) and a major diameter hole (Fig. 1 #17 major diameter section), the minor diameter hole (Fig. 1 #18 minor diameter section) communicating with the through hole (Fig. 1 #19 through hole) of the end cover (Fig. 1 #10 end cover), the major diameter hole (Fig. 1 #17 major diameter section) having a diameter larger than a diameter of the minor diameter hole (Fig. 1 #18 minor diameter section);
a cooling water passage (Fig. 1 #32 cooling passage) formed in an outer peripheral portion of the heat insulating guide sleeve (Fig. 1 #12 guide sleeve), the cooling water passage (Fig. 1 #32 cooling passage) having an annular groove shape and disposed in a circumferential direction of the main body (Fig. 1 #6 main body);
an inlet (Fig. 1 #34 inlet pipe) and an outlet (Fig. 1 #35 outlet pipe) formed in the main body (Fig. 1 #6 main body), the inlet (Fig. 1 #34 inlet pipe) configured to supply cooling water to the cooling water passage (Fig. 1 #32 cooling passage), the outlet (Fig. 1 #35 outlet pipe) configured to discharge the cooling water from the cooling water passage (Fig. 1 #32 cooling passage);
a heat insulating portion (Fig. 1 #33 groove) being a portion of the heat insulating guide sleeve (Fig. 1 #12 guide sleeve) that is located at an inner side of the cooling water passage (Fig. 1 #32 cooling passage);
a container (Fig. 1 #14 container) slidably inserted into the major diameter hole (Fig. 1 #17 major diameter section) located on an inner side of the heat insulating portion (Fig. 1 #33 groove), the container (Fig. 1 #14 container) containing a permanent magnet (Fig. 1 #15 magnet);
and a magnetic force transmission member (Fig. 1 #3 stem) extending from the container (Fig. 1 #14 container), the magnetic force transmission member (Fig. 1 #3 stem) slidably inserted into the minor diameter hole (Fig. 1 #18 minor diameter section), wherein the permanent magnet (Fig. 1 #15 magnet), the heat insulating portion (Fig. 1 #33 groove) of the heat insulating guide sleeve (Fig. 1 #12 guide sleeve), and the cooling water passage (Fig. 1 #32 cooling passage) are disposed in a positional relationship in which the permanent magnet (Fig. 1 #15 magnet), the heat insulating portion (Fig. 1 #33 groove) of the heat insulating guide sleeve, and the cooling water passage (Fig. 1 #32 cooling passage) are arranged in a diameter direction of the main body (Fig. 1 #6 main body), and a depth dimension of the cooling water passage (Fig. 1 #32 cooling passage) as viewed in the diameter direction of the main body (Fig. 1 #6 main body), and is set to be smaller than a thickness dimension of the heat insulating portion (Fig. 1 #33 groove).
However, Aoyama does not each wherein a depth dimension (D1) of the cooling water passage as viewed in the diameter direction of the main body is set to be smaller than a thickness dimension (T1) of the heat insulating portion, and wherein a ratio (T1/D1) of the thickness dimension (T1) to the depth dimension (D1) is set to 1.40 to 1.70.
Applied prior art Aoyama fail(s) to explicitly teach that a ratio (T1/D1) of the thickness dimension (T1) to the depth dimension (D1) is set to 1.40 to 1.70 for the cooling water passage. Schuster does, however, teach geometric parameters D (corresponding with T1) and DP (corresponding with D1) for a cooling tube.
Therefore, thickness and depth are recognized as a result-effective variables, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. Thickness and depth are In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that heat related damage or wear will be avoided. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that consideration of geometric parameters D (corresponding with T1) and DP (corresponding with D1) for a cooling tube, were disclosed in the prior art by Schuster, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set geometric parameters D (corresponding with T1) and DP (corresponding with D1) such that (T1/D1) is set to 1.40 to 1.70 for the purpose of creating a turbulent flow of cooling fluid. Turbulent flow is tied to the Reynolds number as taught by Schuster (Description ---" In addition to these dimensioning parameters, influencing the volume flow with which liquid coolant can be conducted through the cooling tube into the cavity can also be taken into account. It should have a highly turbulent flow within the cavity whose Reynolds number is greater than twice the critical Reynolds number.” and ---" It should have a highly turbulent flow within the cavity whose Reynolds number is greater than twice the critical Reynolds number. As a result, with the liquid coolant, which should preferably have a flow temperature in the range between 30 and 40 ° C, a sufficient amount of heat be removed and a corresponding cooling of the electrode unit and in particular the electrode can be achieved.” The Reynolds number for a turbulent flow is characterized as above being a Reynolds number by at least two times in the Shuster prior art.
Description---"With the in Fig. 9 As shown, the strong influence of the inner diameter D of the cooling tube 6 on the Reynolds number can be clarified. Thus, with decreasing inner diameter D, the Reynolds number increases. In summary, it can be stated that the coolant flow has a very significant influence on the Reynolds number.” Schuster ties turbulent flow to the diameter of the channel in which the cooling fluid flows.)
Furthermore, there are two ways to change the flow of cooling fluid to achieve a turbulent flow. The two ways are increasing or decreasing the thickness of the heat insulating portion (which effects the diameter of the inner tube), or increasing or decreasing the depth of the cooling channel. Both ways attempts to solve the same problem of creating a turbulent flow designed for optimal cooling of the electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to try, by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to adjust the thickness of the heat insulating portion and incorporate it into the projection welding electrode of Aoyama since there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions (thickness/diameter or depth) to the recognized need (turbulent flow) and one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success (effective cooling of the electrode).
Regarding claim 2, Aoyama in view of Schuster teaches the welding electrode as appears above (see the rejection of claim 1), but does not teach wherein a ratio (D1/W) of the depth dimension (D1) to a width dimension (W) of the cooling water passage as viewed along a central axial line of the magnet-equipped projection welding electrode is set to 0.11 to 0.21.
Applied prior art Aoyama in view of Schuster fail(s) to explicitly teach that a ratio (D1/W) of the depth dimension (D1) to a width dimension (W) of the cooling water passage is set to 0.11 to 0.21 for the cooling water passage. Schuster does, however, teach geometric parameter DP (corresponding with D1) for a cooling tube.
Therefore, depth is recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e. a variable which achieves a recognized result. In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977); MPEP 2144.05(II)(B). In this case, the recognized result is that heat related damage or wear will be avoided. Therefore, since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that consideration of geometric parameter DP (corresponding with D1) for a cooling tube, were disclosed in the prior art by Schuster, it is not inventive to discover the optimum workable range by routine experimentation, and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set geometric parameter DP (corresponding with D1) such that (D1/W) is set to 0.11 to 0.21 (As stated above, turbulent flow can be created by adjusting the diameter of the cooling channel. Description---"With the in Fig. 9 As shown, the strong influence of the inner diameter D of the cooling tube 6 on the Reynolds number can be clarified. Thus, with decreasing inner diameter D, the Reynolds number increases. In summary, it can be stated that the coolant flow has a very significant influence on the Reynolds number.” Schuster ties turbulent flow to the diameter of the channel in which the cooling fluid flows.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues combination of Aoyama and Schuster fails to disclose or suggest these features of claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagree.
The problem being solved is the creation of a turbulent flow sufficient for effective cooling of the electrode. Aoyama teaches the electrode with a cooling passage between the main body of the electrode and a heat insulating portion. Aoyama does not teach any specific dimensions for the cooling channel. However, the heat insulating portion has a thickness. Schuster teaches that a turbulent flow can be achieved by adjusting the diameter of the cooling tube or the diameter of the cooling channel.
Adjusting the thickness of the heat insulation portion of Aoyama is virtually the same as adjusting the diameter of the cooling tube of Schuster, because both effectively increases or decreases the size of the cooling channel to create the desired turbulent flow.
It would have been obvious to try adjusting the thickness of the heat insulating portion of Aoyama to achieve the desired turbulent flow.
Conclusion
/JOE E MILLS JR./Examiner, Art Unit 3761