Claims 11-20 are currently pending and examined below.
Response to Applicant’s remarks
This is a non-final Office action in response to applicant's remarks/arguments filed on 11/03/2025.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 4, filed 11/03/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 11-12, 14, 17-20 under 102 and claims 13, 15-16 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Gimpel et al. (US 20190120962 A1) necessitated by the Applicant’s argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 14, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gimpel et al. (US 20190120962 A1 “Gimpel”).
Regarding claim 11, Gimpel teaches a transmission unit for a LIDAR device for emitting collimated beams into a scanning area (Para 2-3, claim 21), the transmission unit comprising:
at least one beam source (Figs. 11, para 63; light transmitter 14. See also, Figs. 1-2) configured to generate beams in the form of a beam bundle (Fig. 11, Light beam 18), the beam source being configured as a surface emitter (Para 64, the light transmitter 14 can be configured as an LED or as a laser, in particular as a VCSEL laser or as an edge emitting laser diode.) or an emitter array;
a transmission optical unit including at least one lens (Fig. 1, para 18, 66; lens 16); and
a diaphragm with at least one aperture (Fig. 11, para 89-90; a diaphragm formed by field aperture 34), which is configured to delimit a cross section of the beam bundle made up of the generated beams in a horizontal direction and/or a vertical direction (Fig.11),
the at least one lens of the transmission optical unit being situated downstream from the diaphragm in an emission direction of the beams (Fig, 11 further shows that the field aperture 34 is positioned upstream of lens 16 in the emission direction, such that the lens is situated downstream from the diaphragm, as required by claim 11).
Regarding claim 12, Gimpel teaches the transmission unit as recited in claim 11, wherein the at least one lens of the transmission optical unit includes a focal length which is configured to collimate the beams exiting from the diaphragm (Para 19 and 68; the light transmitter 14 is arranged at the focal point of the lens).
Regarding claim 14, Gimpel teaches the transmission unit as recited in claim 11, wherein the aperture of the diaphragm has an extension in the horizontal direction and/or the vertical direction, by which an edge section of the beam bundle made up of the generated beams is blocked (Gimpel teaches that the field aperture 34 of Fig. 11 is geometrically dimensioned in transverse directions to define the beam cross-section, including apertures that are elongated or extended in at least one lateral direction to shape the transmitted beam (Fig. 11, para 89-90). Thus, the diaphragm aperture has an extension in the horizontal and/or vertical direction, as claimed.).
Regarding claim 18, Gimpel teaches the transmission unit as recited in claim 11, wherein the at least one aperture of the diaphragm has a round cross section, or an oval cross section, or a rectangular cross section, or a square cross section, or a linear cross section (Fig. 11, aperture 34 has a linear cross section).
Regarding claim 20, Gimpel teaches a LIDAR device for scanning a scanning area using beams (Para 2, claim 21), comprising:
a transmission unit (Fig. 11, para 63, at least transmitter 14, lens 16. See also, figs. 1-2) configured to emit collimated beams into the scanning area (Para 2, 3. See at least fig. 1, object 22), including:
at least one beam source (Figs. 11, para 63; light transmitter 14. See also, Figs. 1-2) configured to generate beams in the form of a beam bundle (Fig. 11, Light beam 18), the beam source being configured as a surface emitter (Para 64, the light transmitter 14 can be configured as an LED or as a laser, in particular as a VCSEL laser or as an edge emitting laser diode.) or an emitter array,
a transmission optical unit including at least one lens (Fig. 1, para 18, 66; lens 16), and
a diaphragm with at least one aperture (Fig. 11, para 89-90; a diaphragm formed by field aperture 34), which is configured to delimit a cross section of the beam bundle made up of the generated beams in a horizontal direction and/or a vertical direction (Fig.11),
the at least one lens of the transmission optical unit being situated downstream from the diaphragm in an emission direction of the beams (Fig. 11 further shows that the field aperture 34 is positioned upstream of lens 16 in the emission direction, such that the lens is situated downstream from the diaphragm, as required by claim 20); and
a receiver unit configured to receive beams reflected and/or backscattered from the scanning area (Fig. 11, para 63; a light receiver 26. See also, fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 15-16, 17, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Gimpel.
Regarding claim 13, Gimpel teaches the transmission unit as recited in claim 12, wherein the at least one lens of transmission optical unit has a focal length (of at least 40 mm) (Para 68, the lens has a focal length of f=30 mm).
Gimpel fails to explicitly teach the at least one lens of transmission optical unit has a focal length of at least 40 mm. The focal length together with the emission angle determine the diameter of the collimated beam. A person skilled in the art would choose the focal length at a given emission angle according to the required beam diameter.
Also, the specification contains no disclosure of either the critical nature of the claimed [wherein the at least one lens of transmission optical unit has a focal length of at least 40 mm] or any unexpected results arising therefrom. Where patentability is said to be based upon particular chosen [wherein the at least one lens of transmission optical unit has a focal length of at least 40 mm] or upon another variable recited in a claim, the Applicant must show that the chosen [wherein the at least one lens of transmission optical unit has a focal length of at least 40 mm] are critical. In re Woodruf, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 15, Gimpel fails to explicitly teach the transmission unit as recited in claim 14, wherein the edge section of the beam bundle made up of the generated beams which is blocked by the diaphragm includes a portion of at least 10% of a total radiant energy of the generated beams.
Gimpel teaches using a diaphragm in the form of a field aperture (34) to laterally delimit the transmitted beam cross-section, thereby blocking peripheral portions of the beam bundle (para 89-90; Fig. 11).
While Gimpel does not expressly quantify the exact percentage of radiant energy blocked, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that configuring the diaphragm to block at least 10% of the beam energy is a routine and predictable design choice, as even modest reductions in beam width or numerical aperture inherently remove a significant portion of radiant energy, and the claimed threshold represents a result-effective variable selected to achieve desired.
Regarding claim 16, Gimpel fails to explicitly teach the transmission unit as recited in claim 11, wherein to increase an eye safety limiting value, at least regional lateral blocking of the generated beams by the diaphragm is provided.
Gimpel teaches providing regional lateral beam limiting using the field aperture (34) to delimit the transmitted beam cross-section and suppress peripheral beam portions, thereby reducing irradiance outside the intended transmission region and suppressing extraneous light (para 89-90; Fig. 11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that such lateral beam limiting inherently increases compliance with eye-safety limits, as reducing beam cross-section and peripheral irradiance directly reduces accessible emission levels, a well-known and predictable relationship in LIDAR and laser safety design.
Regarding claim 17, Gimpel fails to explicitly teach the transmission unit as recited in claim 11, wherein the generated beams have a linear cross section or a rectangular cross section, the generated beams having a greater extension in the vertical direction than in the horizontal direction.
Gimpel teaches shaping the transmitted beam cross-section using a diaphragm, including a linear field aperture (34) as illustrated in FIG. 11, which produces a transmitted beam having a linear cross section (para 89-90; FIG. 11).
Although Gimpel does not expressly specify the relative vertical and horizontal extensions of the resulting beam, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to orient the linear aperture such that the beam has a greater extension in the vertical direction than in the horizontal direction, as the orientation and aspect ratio of a linear aperture are routine optical design choices used to tailor beam geometry to scanning patterns, field-of-view requirements, and irradiance distribution, yielding predictable results.
Regarding claim 19, Gimpel fails to explicitly teach the transmission unit as recited in claim 11, further comprising:a rotatable or pivotable mirror element downstream from the at least one lens of the transmission optical unit or the diaphragm or the transmission unit, and the mirror is rotatable or pivotable.
Gimpel teaches that the disclosed transmission/reception module, including the embodiment illustrated in FIG. 11, is intended for use in laser scanners and LIDAR devices in which a transmitted beam is scanned across a monitored area (para 2-3). Gimpel further explains that, in such laser scanners, the scanning movement is achieved by a rotating mirror to expand the measured zone (Para 3) and a common deflection mirror that relates both to the transmission path and to the reception path generally remaining conceivable, for example to optimize the construction space or the installation (Para 63).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a rotatable or pivotable mirror downstream from the Fig. 11 transmission unit when implementing the module in a scanning LIDAR system, as such mirrors are a well-known and conventional mechanism for beam scanning and are expressly identified by Gimpel as the standard approach for laser scanners.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jerker Hellstroem (US 6095200 A), teaches Opto-electronic Sensor Device For A Yarn Feeder
Iten et al. (US 3675029 A), teaches methods and means for measuring the velocities of localized portions of flowing media
/JEMPSON NOEL/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645