DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 1,17-20,67-70 are pending.
2, Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1,17,18 67-70 in the reply filed on 11/05/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 19 and 20 are withdrawn from further consideration by the Examiner, 37 C.F.R. § 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions.
Claims 1,17,18 67-70 read on a nucleic acid encoding CAR are under consideration in the instant application.
3. Claim 67 is objected to because of the following informalities: There are two repetitive recitation of CD28 transmembrane domain . It is suggested that one recitation of CD28 transmembrane domain should be corrected to CD8 transmembrane domain for clarity and consistence with the disclosure of the specification.
5. Claims 1,17,18 67-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10253086 in view of US Patent 9745368, US Patent 7446190, UA Patent 9574014, US Patent 9708384 and US Patent 12281151
US Patent’ 086 teaches a CAR targeting CD19 and nucleic acid encoding said CAR, comprising scFvthat binds CD19 a spacer a transmembrane domain, cytoplasmic domain and CD3 zeta signaling domain. US Patent’ 086 teaches that transmembrane domain can be CD28 or CD4 or CD8. US Patent’ 086 teaches that scFv comprises SEQ ID NO114 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID:102. US Patent ‘368 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer. ( see entire document, paragraphs (6, 82, 84, 85 117, 131, 168, 214) and sequence alignment in particular).
US Patent ‘086 does not teach CAR comprising cytoplasmic domain comprising CTLA-4 of SEQ ID:17 and CD3 zeta signaling domain comprising SEQ ID N:137 , as recited in claim 1, spacer domain comprising amino acid of SEQ ID N:116, as recited in claim 68 and CD28 transmembrane domain of SEQ ID N:129 or CD4 transmembrane domain of SEQ ID N:131, as recited in claim 69.
US Patent ‘368 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising CTLA-4 cytoplasmic domain of SEQ ID NO:15 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:17. US Patent ‘368 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 134, 204 and sequence alignment in particular.)
US Patent ‘190 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising CD3 zeta signaling domain of SEQ ID NO:14 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:137. US Patent ‘190 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 8 , 12 and sequence alignment in particular.)
US Patent ‘014 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising spacer region domain of SEQ ID NO:21 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:116. US Patent ‘014 teaches that the presence of said spacer region increases binding affinity of said CAR. US Patent ‘014 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 10, 162, 163 and sequence alignment in particular.)
US Patent ‘384 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising CD28 transmembrane domain of SEQ ID NO:22 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:129. US Patent ‘014 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 3,10, and sequence alignment in particular.)
US Patent ‘151 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising CD4 transmembrane domain of SEQ ID NO:10 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:131. US Patent ‘151 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 58,117, 119 and sequence alignment in particular.)
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skill in the art could have combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective function and the combination would have yield predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention ( see KSR International Co v Teleflex Inc., 550U.S.-, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 2007).
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute CAR cytoplasmic domain, CD3 zata signaling domain , spacer domain and transmembrane domain taught by US Patent ‘086 with corresponding domains taught by US Patent 9745368, US Patent 7446190, UA Patent 9574014, US Patent 9708384 and US Patent 12281151 from with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art teaches that each of the CARs comprising said domains were well known in the art and have been successfully used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F2d 454,456,105 USPQ 233; 235 (CCPA 1955). see MPEP § 2144.05 part II A.
From the teachings of the references, it was apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention.
Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
7. The claims 1,17, 18, 67-70 are provisionally rejected on the grounds of nonstatutory double patenting of the claims of copending Applications 18/284,413, 17/256,786 and 19/178682 each in view of US Patent 10253086 , US Patent 9745368, US Patent 7446190, UA Patent 9574014, US Patent 9708384 and US Patent 12281151
Claims of copending Applications 18/284,413, 17/256,786 and 19/178682 each recited a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising scFv targeting CD6, a spacer domain a transmembrane domain a CTLA4 cytoplasmic domain and CD3 zeta signaling domain.
US Patent’ 086 teaches a CAR targeting CD19 and nucleic acid encoding said CAR, comprising scFvthat binds CD19 a spacer a transmembrane domain, cytoplasmic domain and CD3 zeta signaling domain. US Patent’ 086 teaches that transmembrane domain can be CD28 or CD4 or CD8. US Patent’ 086 teaches that scFv comprises SEQ ID NO114 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID:102. US Patent ‘368 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer. ( see entire document, paragraphs (6, 82, 84, 85 117, 131, 168, 214) and sequence alignment in particular).
US Patent ‘368 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising CTLA-4 cytoplasmic domain of SEQ ID NO:15 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:17. US Patent ‘368 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 134, 204 and sequence alignment in particular.)
US Patent ‘190 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising CD3 zeta signaling domain of SEQ ID NO:14 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:137. US Patent ‘190 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 8 , 12 and sequence alignment in particular.)
US Patent ‘014 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising spacer region domain of SEQ ID NO:21 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:116. US Patent ‘014 teaches that the presence of said spacer region increases binding affinity of said CAR. US Patent ‘014 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 10, 162, 163 and sequence alignment in particular.)
US Patent ‘384 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising CD28 transmembrane domain of SEQ ID NO:22 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:129. US Patent ‘014 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 3,10, and sequence alignment in particular.)
US Patent ‘151 teaches a nucleic acid encoding CAR comprising CD4 transmembrane domain of SEQ ID NO:10 that is 100% identical to the instantly claimed SEQ ID N:131. US Patent ‘151 teaches that said CAR can be used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.( see entire document, paragraphs 58,117, 119 and sequence alignment in particular.)
Thus it would have been to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute CAR cytoplasmic domain, CD3 zata signaling domain , spacer domain and transmembrane domain recited in claims of copending Applications 17/256,786 and 19/178682 with corresponding domains taught by US Patent 10253086 , US Patent 9745368, US Patent 7446190, UA Patent 9574014, US Patent 9708384 and US Patent 12281151 from with a reasonable expectation of success because the prior art teaches that each of the CARs comprising said domains were well known in the art and have been successfully used for immunotherapy in treating cancer.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the conflicting claims have not in fact been patented.
6. No claim is allowed.
7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Michail Belyavskyi whose telephone number is 571/272-0840. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday from 9:00 AM to 5:30 PM. A message may be left on the examiner's voice mail service. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Daniel Kolker can be reached on 571/ 272-3181
The fax number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571/273-8300
/MICHAIL A BELYAVSKYI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1644