DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's Request for Continued Examination filed 11/19/2025 includes amendments to Claims 1 and 13. Applicant states the art of record does not disclose the new limitation “a first protruding portion of the positive electrode connector is intersected with, or parallel to, a second protruding portion of the negative electrode connector.” Examiner agrees a “parallel” arrangement of a first and second protruding portion is shown in instant Figs. 4, 6, and 8; an “intersected” arrangement is shown in instant Figs. 1-3.
Examiner notes the primary reference cited in the previous action (Zhou, CN 203895512 U) does disclose “a first protruding portion of the positive electrode connector is parallel to a second protruding portion of the negative electrode connector.” However, Examiner agrees with Applicant that the references cited in the previous action do not disclose a first protruding portion of the positive electrode connector is intersected with a second protruding portion of the negative electrode connector, as required by Claim 13.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: Although the claim is clear and the scope of the claim is understood, the first and second protruding portions of Claim 13 are already recited in the independent claim (Claim 1). To ensure proper antecedent basis, please change “a first protruding portion” in Claim 13 to “the first protruding portion,” and also change “a second protruding portion” in Claim 13 to “the second protruding portion.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1 and 13 recite “a first protruding portion of the positive electrode connector” is “intersected with a second protruding portion of the negative electrode connector.” The instant disclosure does not provide a special definition of the term “intersected.” Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the limitation may be met by the first and second protruding portions overlapping with each other, but not necessarily in contact with other. This interpretation appears to be consistent with the instant invention, see Examiner’s annotations to instant Figs. 1 and 2:
17/789,960 – Figs. 1 (left) and 2 (right) Annotated by Examiner
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou, CN 203895512 U, and further in view of He et al., CN 202042544 U.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhou discloses an energy storage device (button battery [0019]), comprising a device body (battery body [0019]), an electric connector (negative electrode welding piece 5 and positive electrode welding piece 7 [0007, 0019], Figs. 1-2) and an insulating member (insulating sleeve 1 [0019], Fig. 2),
the device body has a positive electrode region (outer edge of positive electrode shell 3 insulated by bottom surface 102 [0019], Annotated Fig. 2) and a negative electrode region which are insulated from each other (outer edge of negative electrode cover 2 insulated by top surface 101 [0013-0019], Annotated Fig. 2);
the electric connector comprises a positive electrode connector connected to the positive electrode region (the positive electrode welding piece 7 is electrically connected to positive electrode shell 3 [0019, 0024]) and a negative electrode connector connected to the negative electrode region (negative electrode welding piece 5 is electrically connected to the negative electrode cover 2 [0019, 0024]);
a first part of the electric connector is connected with the negative electrode region (the negative electrode welding piece 5 is welded to the top surface of negative electrode cover 2 [0019], see “First Part” in Annotated Fig. 2);
a second part of the electric connector protrudes outward from the device body (end of the
negative electrode welding piece 5 extends out of the top surface of the negative electrode cover 2 [0019]; see “Second Part” in Annotated Fig. 2); and
the insulating member is provided on the device body and configured to prevent the device from shorting (insulating sleeve 1 [0001-0013]).
Zhou, CN 203895512 U – Fig. 2
Zhou, CN 203895512 U – Annotated Fig. 2
Although Zhou discloses an insulating layer (insulating sleeve 1), Zhou does not disclose “the insulating member comprises an insulating sleeve and an insulating layer, a first end of one of the positive electrode connector and the negative electrode connector is provided with the insulating sleeve which prevents the positive electrode connector and the negative electrode connector from shorting, and a second end is provided with the insulating layer”. However, these limitations are disclosed by He.
He discloses a battery (battery cell 1 [0024-0031], Figs. 1-3) comprising an insulating sleeve (sleeve 5 [0016, 0032], Figs. 1 and 3) and an insulating layer (protective tape 2 [0014-0015, 0031], Fig. 3), a first end of the positive electrode connector is provided with the insulating sleeve which prevents the positive electrode connector and the negative electrode connector from shorting (exposed metal positive electrode second end 31 is coated with sleeve 5 to insulate the terminal [0016, 0032]), and a second end is provided with the insulating layer (positive end 32 covered by protective tape 2, protective tape 2 wrapped around end of battery 1 [0014-0015, 0031]). He discloses the positive output wire (3) protrudes from the battery, and the insulating layer (2) protects the protruding positive output wire ([0014-0015, 0031]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the insulating sleeve and insulating layer of He to the energy storage device of Zhou, as He discloses the insulating sleeve prevents shorting, and the insulating layer protects the protruding terminal.
He – Fig. 1 (left) and Fig. 3 (right)
Modified Zhou’s energy storage device would adhere He’s protective tape 2 (see cap-like shape in He Fig. 3) to the insulating sleeve 1 of Zhou, and add He’s sleeve 5 to a first end of the positive electrode connector. Thus, the insulating member of Modified Zhou comprises an insulating sleeve (sleeve 5 of He) an insulating layer (sleeve 1 of Zhou and protective tape 2 of He).
Modified Zhou
Modified Zhou discloses the positive electrode connector is provided with the insulating member (Zhou, annular side wall 103 of insulating sleeve 1 [0019]; He, protective tape 2 wrapped around end of battery 1 [0014-0015, 0031], positive end 32 covered by protective tape 2 in Fig. 1, exposed metal positive electrode second end 31 is coated with sleeve 5 [0032]), and
wherein one end of the positive electrode connector and one end of the negative electrode connector are welded to the device body (Zhou, spot welding [0024]), and a first protruding portion of the positive electrode connector is parallel to a second protruding portion of the negative electrode connector (see Annotation to Modified Zhou):
Annotation to Modified Zhou
Regarding Claim 3, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhou discloses the positive electrode region and the negative electrode region are disposed opposite to each other (Zhou, the battery shell comprises a buckled top negative electrode cover 2 and a bottom positive electrode shell 3 [0019], Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 4, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhou discloses protruding parts of the positive electrode connector and the negative electrode connector extending from the device body in a first direction are equal in height (see “H” and “First Direction” in Annotated Zhou Fig. 2).
Zhou, CN 203895512 U – Annotated Fig. 2
Regarding Claim 5, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhou discloses the electric connector is in the shape of a sheet or a strip (Zhou, welding tabs fit through rectangular notches, see tab dimensions [0021]), and the insulating member is sleeved on an end of the electric connector (He, exposed metal positive electrode second end 31 is dipped in liquid to form the sleeve 5 [0032]).
Regarding Claim 11, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhou discloses the insulating member comprises a first insulating member (Zhou, upper portion of annular side wall 103 of insulating sleeve 1) and a second insulating member (Zhou, top surface 101 of the insulating sleeve 1), the first insulating member is provided between the device body and the second part of the electric connector (see “First Insulating Member” on Modified Zhou drawing), and the second insulating member is provided outside the first part of the electric connector (Zhou, top surface 101 of the insulating sleeve 1 is attached to the outer edge of the top surface of the negative electrode cover 2 [0019], see “Second Insulating Member” on Modified Zhou drawing).
Modified Zhou
Regarding Claim 12, Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Zhou discloses the insulating layer comprises an upper insulating layer covering the positive electrode region (Zhou, surface 102 of insulating sleeve 1, and portion of He protective tape 2), a lower insulating layer covering the negative electrode region (Zhou, surface 101 of the insulating sleeve 1) and a side insulating layer (side portion of He protective tape 2, taped to side wall 103), two ends of the side insulating layer are respectively connected to the upper insulating layer and the lower insulating layer (He’s cap-shaped protective tape 2 is adhered to insulating sleeve 1), and a protruding portion of the electric connector protrudes from a gap between the side insulating layer and the device body (see Modified Zhou drawing).
Regarding the “upper” and “lower” limitations of the insulating layers, modified Zhou meets these limitations when the energy storage device is rotated 180º, as shown:
Modified Zhou – Rotated 180º
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhou as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Newman et al., US 20190067648 A1.
Regarding Claim 6, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Although modified Zhou discloses a portion of the electric connector is of an L-shaped structure (positive electrode welding piece 7 is L-shaped, see Fig. 2), modified Zhou does not disclose the other portion of the electric connector (negative electrode welding piece 5) is also an L-shaped structure. However, an L-shaped electric connector is disclosed by Newman.
Newman discloses an electric connector (terminal tab 112 [0029-0032]) can be a flat solid metal connector, or the connector may optionally be bent along an unattached portion of the tab in an L-shape ([0032], Fig. 1B). Newman discloses the L-shaped version of the electric connector comprises two sides connected together (terminal tab 112a and first attachment point 114 [0038-0040], Fig. 1B), one of which is fixedly connected to the device body (114 may be welded, brazed, or soldered to the first terminal 108 [0030]), and the other of which protrudes outward from the device body (112a [0029-0030], Fig. 1B). Newman discloses the terminal tab may function as a busbar, or may connect to an external busbar ([0029]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhou’s electric connector be of an L-shaped structure as a whole, as Newman discloses an electric connector may either be flat or L-shaped. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Newman et al., US 20190067648 A1 – Fig. 1B
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhou as applied to Claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Moon, US 20110039131 A1.
Regarding Claims 8 and 9, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhou discloses the positive electrode connector comprises a metal connector (Zhou, positive electrode connector welding piece is a portion of the conductive electrode tab and is welded [0021, 0024]), the metal connector comprises a welding portion (Zhou, one end of the positive electrode welding piece extends from the positive electrode notch to the bottom surface of the positive electrode shell [0008], see Metal Connector Structure Annotated by Examiner) and a guide portion (see Metal Connector Structure Annotated by Examiner), and the welding portion is welded on the device body (positive electrode welding piece 7 is welded on the bottom surface of the positive electrode shell 3 [0019]; Claim 8). Zhou also discloses the metal connector further comprises a positioning structure (see Metal Connector Structure Annotated by Examiner; Claim 9).
Zhou, CN 203895512 U – Annotated Fig. 2
Metal Connector Structure Annotated by Examiner
Modified Zhou does not disclose the claimed lead-out section, wherein one end of the lead-out section is welded on the guide portion, and the guide portion is configured to guide a lead-out direction of the lead-out section. However, a lead-out section of a metal connector is disclosed by Moon.
Moon discloses a lead-out section (connection tab 331 [0073-0075], Figs. 5A-B), wherein one end of the lead-out section is welded on a guide portion (electrode tab 110 spot welded to connection tab 331 [0070-0077]), and the guide portion is configured to guide a lead-out direction of the lead-out section (connection tab 331 is welded in a direction to electrically connect electrode tab 110 and 210 [0071-0074]). Moon discloses the lead-out section (331) electrically connects adjacent secondary batteries to form a battery pack, and also connects the batteries to a protective circuit module (“PCM”), wherein the PCM controls the batteries ([0066-0067, 0072-0080]).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to weld one end of a lead-out section to a guide portion, as disclosed by Moon, in the positive electrode connector of modified Zhou, in order to connect adjacent batteries to form a battery pack, and also to connect a controller (PCM).
Moon, US 20110039131 A1 – Figs. 5A-B
Modified Zhou
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhou as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Przybyla, US 3630783 A.
Regarding Claim 10, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhou
discloses the insulating member is a tube mounted by heat-shrinking (hollow ring body with annular surfaces [0009-0013]; heat shrinking [0023]), but does not disclose the insulating member is an adhesive tape, a plastic tube or a rubber tube. However, this limitation is taught by Przybyla.
Przybyla discloses a cylindrical cell can 20 covered by a tubular jacket 40, wherein the tubular jacket 40 is a heat-shrinkable tube of plastic material (Col. 3, lines 26-39; Figs. 1-4). Przybyla discloses the tubular jacket 40 is a cost-effective manufacturing method, and the jacket flanges at the top and bottom of the cell effectively seal the can 20 (Col. 3, lines 50-69).
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Zhou’s insulating member to be a plastic tube, as Przybyla discloses a plastic tube may be used as a heat-shrinkable insulating member to seal a battery can, and the plastic tube is also a cost-effective manufacturing choice.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Zhou as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Aoi et al., US 6440601 B1.
Regarding Claim 13, modified Zhou discloses all limitations as set forth above. Modified Zhou does not disclose “the first protruding portion of the positive electrode connector is intersected with the second protruding portion of the negative electrode connector.” However, this is taught by Aoi.
Aoi teaches a cylindrical battery cell comprising terminals on opposite ends of the cell (cells 43, 44 have positive terminals 43a, 44a and negative terminals 43b, 44b facing opposite directions, see Fig. 12; Col. 15, lines 33-35). Aoi teaches in order to establish a parallel connection between two batteries, the positive and negative terminals on each battery will need a first protruding portion on a positive electrode connector (connector piece 130b on cell 43, or 130a/d on cell 44) and a second protruding portion on a negative electrode connector (connector piece 133a on cell 43, or 133b on cell 44), wherein the first and second protruding portions intersect via an interconnecting line 130e and 133c to form an electrical connection (Col. 15, Lines 18-62; Fig. 12) .
Before the effective filing date of the present invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to extend the first and second protruding portions of modified Zhou, and have the protruding portions intersect, as Aoi teaches this configuration can be used to establish a parallel connection between two batteries.
Aoi – Fig. 12
Conclusion
/BETHANY C GARCIA/Examiner, Art Unit 1721
/ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721