DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The amendments to the claims 24, 29 and 30 are supported by the Spec. in at least [0016, 0023] which teach the alkaline earth metal salt, alkali metal salt, NaCl and KCl. It is noted that the support for a remainer portion of the salt in the porous metal part is supported by the original method claims and in the Spec with the limitation of at least partially removing the salt/sacrificial material thus leaving some present. It is noted that no teaching is found that supports the range of the “at least partially removing” and thus none for at “at least some of sacrificial material remains”. Thus, no criticality of the range is taught nor are any ranges given in the examples or the Spec. for the sacrificial material remaining. The Spec does teach the initial Vol% [0014, 0021] of the sacrificial material in the starting material but not the remaining material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-25 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (US 20150004041 A1), herein Tanaka.
In regards to claims 24 and 29, claim 24 defines the product by how the product was made. Thus, claim 24 is a product-by-process claims. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having a porous consolidated metal part with an alkali or alkaline earth metal salt present. The reference suggests such a product.
Tanka teaches a porous aluminum part of sintered particles (i.e., consolidated) with a residual amount of NaCl present (0.2 mass % i.e., at least some) [Abstract, Table 1 example 18, 0053].
In regards to claim 25, Tanka further teaches the porous metal part is a catalyst support [0001].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 20150004041 A1), herein Tanaka, as applied to claim 24 above.
In regards to claim 30, Tanka further teaches the sacrificial/support material comprises KCl [claim 8].
Tanaka differs from claim 30 by teaching KCl in a list of possible materials, such that it cannot be said that the KCl species is anticipated.
However, it would have been obvious of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed any of the materials taught by Tanka, including KCl. The motivation for doing so is that the “selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [supports] a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 20150004041 A1), herein Tanaka, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Cho et al (US 20140004441 A1), herein Cho.
In regards to claim 26, Tanka does not expressly teach the porous part is a transport layer of a hydrogen generator.
Cho teaches a porous metal transport layer of a hydrogen generator [Abstract, 0003-0004, 0013-0014, Figs. 1A-1B]. Cho teaches the porous metal layer comprises aluminum [0018].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the porous aluminum part of Tanaka as the porous aluminum transport layer of Cho. One would have been motivated to do so as it would have been the simple substitution of one porous aluminum part of another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 20150004041 A1), herein Tanaka, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20200246873 A1), herein Kim.
In regards to claim 27, Tanka does not expressly teach the porous part is the porous medium of a heat pipe.
Kim teaches a porous aluminum metal layer for a heat pipe [0008-0010, 0014, 0051, 0054].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the porous aluminum part of Tanaka as the porous aluminum medium of the heat pipe of Kim. One would have been motivated to do so as it would have been the simple substitution of one porous aluminum part of another to obtain predictable results.
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 20150004041 A1), herein Tanaka, as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Lye et al.( WO 2006/020742 A2), herein Lye.
In regards to claim 28, Tanaka does not expressly teach the porous part is an implantable device.
Lye teaches an implantable medical device with an outer porous layer of aluminum [Abstract, 0097].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the porous aluminum part of Tanaka as the porous aluminum outer layer of an implant device as taught by Lye. One would have been motivated to do so as it would have been the simple substitution of one porous aluminum part of another to obtain predictable results.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELIZABETH COLLISTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784