DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4 and 10-13 are pending and examined on the merits.
Any rejection not reiterated below are hereby withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the species improving cognitive function, Island thistle, water and an organic solvent, ethanol in the reply filed on March 28, 2025 is acknowledged.
A search of the elected species, Cirsium nipponicum, has determined these elected species to be free of the art. Following the procedure set forth in MPEP section 803.02, the search has been extended to additional species to the extent to determine patentability. The search was extended to include Deodeo as the plant material.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/30/2026, 2/24/25, 6/30/22 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: a space is required between “60” and “mg/kg”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and; there 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1) as being anticipated by 강일준 et al. (KR 101319829 B1).
강일준 et al. teaches a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease with deodeok (Abstract) extracted in 70% ethanol (page 3, Example, Sample Preparation 2) wherein the Codonopsis composition is 0.1-99 wt% (page 5, last line). In laboratory conditions, when no temperature is given, the experiment is performed under room temperature, which is 25 degree C. Codonopsis is a healthy food (page 2, paragraph 3). A person with Alzheimer’s disease would be a subject in need thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 강일준 et al. (KR 101319829 B1).
강일준 et al. teaches a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease with deodeok (Abstract) extracted in 70% ethanol (page 3, Example, Sample Preparation 2) wherein the Codonopsis composition is 0.1-99 wt% (page 5, last line). In laboratory conditions, when no temperature is given, the experiment is performed under room temperature, which is 25 degree C. Codonopsis is a healthy food (page 2, paragraph 3). A person with Alzheimer’s disease would be a subject in need thereof.
However, 강일준 et al. does not teach 50 to 60 mg/kg daily.
The reference teaches using a dosage of Codonopsis composition is 0.1-99 wt% (page 5, last line) per day. However, the reference does not specifically teach using all of the specific dosages claimed by applicant. 강일준 et al. teaches a method of treating Alzheimer’s disease with deodeok (Abstract) extracted in 70% ethanol (page 3, Example, Sample Preparation 2). The amount of a specific dosage in a composition is clearly a result effective parameter that a person of ordinary skill in the art would routinely optimize. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The reference teaches that the dosage and administration can be varied. Thus, the reference has recognized these parameters as variables. It would have been customary for an artisan of ordinary skill to determine the optimal dosage in order to best achieve the desired results. Thus, absent some demonstration of unexpected results from the claimed parameters, this optimization of dosage amount would have been obvious at the time of applicant’s invention.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Contact Information
Catheryne Chen Examiner Art Unit 1655
/ANAND U DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1655