DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 08/22/2025, has been entered. Claim 1, 2, 10, 11, and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-12 are pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (KR20150089555A) in view of Lee (KR20180056131A) (refer to enclosed translations for citations).
Regarding claim 2,
Li teaches a device for one or more secondary batteries configured to correct an outer appearance of the secondary batteries [0006] comprising:
a jig member ([0008], “jig”) provided with a bottom plate (Fig. 2, 200) and one or more correction frames (Fig. 2, 300 left and right side; [0020]) which is disposed on a top surface (Fig. 2, top surface of 200) of the bottom plate 200;
each correction frame 300 being configured to receive a corresponding one of the secondary batteries (Fig. 3, 100) inserted therein [0020];
a pressing member (Fig. 2, 410/40; [0024]) provided above the jig member [0024],
the pressing member 410/400 being configured to press (wherein at least 400 presses directly on 100 in Fig. 3; [0024]) the secondary battery [0029] inserted into each of the correction frames [0029] so that the outer appearance of each secondary battery is corrected [0029] to match an outer appearance of the corresponding correction frame ([0029], which describes pressing in order to secure the full width fairness of the battery cell, thus correcting an outer appearance corresponding to correction frame 200)
wherein the pressing member 410/400 comprises: a support piece (Fig. 2, 400; [0022] preventing the pouch from gradually loosening over time [0006]) configured to uniformly support an entire top surface of the secondary battery inserted into each correction frame and configured to press the entire top surface of the secondary battery inserted into each correction frame with a uniform force by transmitted force so as to correct the outer appearance of the secondary battery (Fig. 2, 400; [0022] preventing the pouch from gradually loosening over time [0006]);
and a pressing piece configured to transmit the uniform force to the support piece (Fig. 2, rod pressing piece between 410 and 410 transmitting the force from 410; [0024]).
However, Li fails to teach the device is a rolling device for one or more secondary batteries, and wherein each correction frame comprises: an assembly frame coupled to an insertion space within the respective correction frame, the insertion space configured to receive insertion of a respective one of the secondary batteries therein, each assembly frame being configured to reduce a size of the insertion space of the respective correction frame by a thickness of the assembly frame; and a plurality of additional assembly frames having different sizes from one another, the assembly frame and the additional assembly frames together forming a set of assembly frames, and each set of assembly frames is disposed in the insertion space of a corresponding one of the correction frames to overlap each other so that each of the sizes is reduced inward, and wherein the pressing piece is a pressing roller, and the pressing roller is configured to transmit the uniform force to the support piece while moving from a first end to a second end of a top surface of the support piece, the second end being opposite from the first end.
Lee, analogous in the art of applying pressure to a pouch battery cell, teaches a rolling device for one or more secondary batteries [0001], the pressing piece is provided as a pressing roller (Lee, Fig. 3, 110; [0015]), and the pressing roller is configured to transmit the uniform force [0027] to the support piece while moving from a first end to a second end of a top surface of the support piece, the second end being opposite from the first end (Fig. 2, dashed line delineating the rolling path of 110 having a first end and a second end opposite each other; [0015]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the pressing roller 110 and supporting structures thereof for the pressing member of Lee in order to better correct an outer appearance of the secondary batteries with supplementary rolling function (Lee, [0027-0028]).
Claims 1 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (KR20150089555A) in view of Lee (KR20180056131A) (refer to enclosed translations for citations) and Fish (US938047A).
Regarding claim 1,
Li teaches a device for one or more secondary batteries configured to correct an outer appearance of the secondary batteries [0006] comprising:
a jig member ([0008], “jig”) provided with a bottom plate (Fig. 2, 200) and one or more correction frames (Fig. 2, 300 left and right side; [0020]) which is disposed on a top surface (Fig. 2, top surface of 200) of the bottom plate 200;
each correction frame 300 being configured to receive a corresponding one of the secondary batteries (Fig. 3, 100) inserted therein [0020];
a pressing member (Fig. 2, 410/40; [0024]) provided above the jig member [0024],
the pressing member 410/400 being configured to press (wherein at least 400 presses directly on 100 in Fig. 3; [0024]) the secondary battery [0029] inserted into each of the correction frames [0029] so that the outer appearance of each secondary battery is corrected [0029] to match an outer appearance of the corresponding correction frame ([0029], which describes pressing in order to secure the full width fairness of the battery cell, thus correcting an outer appearance corresponding to correction frame 200)
wherein the pressing member 410/400 comprises: a support piece (Fig. 2, 400; [0022] preventing the pouch from gradually loosening over time [0006]) configured to uniformly support an entire top surface of the secondary battery inserted into each correction frame and configured to press the entire top surface of the secondary battery inserted into each correction frame with a uniform force by transmitted force so as to correct the outer appearance of the secondary battery (Fig. 2, 400; [0022] preventing the pouch from gradually loosening over time [0006]);
and a pressing piece configured to transmit the uniform force to the support piece (Fig. 2, rod pressing piece between 410 and 410 transmitting the force from 410; [0024]).
However, Li fails to teach the device is a rolling device for one or more secondary batteries, and wherein each correction frame comprises: an assembly frame coupled to an insertion space within the respective correction frame, the insertion space configured to receive insertion of a respective one of the secondary batteries therein, each assembly frame being configured to reduce a size of the insertion space of the respective correction frame by a thickness of the assembly frame; and a plurality of additional assembly frames having different sizes from one another, the assembly frame and the additional assembly frames together forming a set of assembly frames, and each set of assembly frames is disposed in the insertion space of a corresponding one of the correction frames to overlap each other so that each of the sizes is reduced inward.
Lee, analogous in the art of applying pressure to a pouch battery cell, teaches a rolling device for one or more secondary batteries [0001]. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to substitute the pressing roller 110 and supporting structures thereof for the pressing member of Lee in order to better correct an outer appearance of the secondary batteries with supplementary rolling function (Lee, [0027-0028]).
Lee also fails to teach wherein each correction frame comprises: an assembly frame coupled to an insertion space within the respective correction frame, the insertion space configured to receive insertion of a respective one of the secondary batteries therein, each assembly frame being configured to reduce a size of the insertion space of the respective correction frame by a thickness of the assembly frame; and a plurality of additional assembly frames having different sizes from one another, the assembly frame and the additional assembly frames together forming a set of assembly frames, and each set of assembly frames is disposed in the insertion space of a corresponding one of the correction frames to overlap each other so that each of the sizes is reduced inward.
Fish, pertinent to the problem of forming frames of various sizes, teaches wherein each correction frame (Fig. 6, A; pg. 2, ln. 60-80) comprises: an assembly frame (Fig. 6, B, C; pg. 2, ln. 60-80; see Fig. 10 of instant application wherein correction frame 112 includes 112a, 112b and so on) coupled to an insertion space (Fig. 6, space within B, C, respectively) within the respective correction frame (Fig. 6, A; pg. 2, ln. 60-80), each assembly frame (Fig. 6, B, C; pg. 2, ln. 60-80) being configured to reduce a size of the insertion space of the respective correction frame A by a thickness of the assembly frame (Fig. 6, wherein the thickness of B reduces the size of the insertion space of A by the thickness of B); and a plurality of additional assembly frames having different sizes from one another (see Fig. 1, which depicts a plurality of nested assembly frames greater than the 3 in Fig. 6), the assembly frame and the additional assembly frames together forming a set of assembly frames (see Fig. 1, set of concentric circle frames), and each set of assembly frames is disposed in the insertion space of a corresponding one of the correction frames to overlap each other so that each of the sizes is reduced inward (see Fig. 1, set of concentric circle frames with size reducing inward). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the adjustable assembly frame of Li with a plurality of nested assembly frames such that each insertion space is configured to receive insertion of a respective one of the secondary batteries therein, as suggested by Fish, as Fish teaches a nested set of frames reduces time, labor, and expense required for producing various sizes, and provides easier storage (pg. 2, ln. 79-93) compared to heavy, expensive adjustable machinery.
Regarding claim 9,
Modified Li teaches the rolling device of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein each correction frame is detachably coupled to the bottom plate (Li, Fig. 1, 300, wherein side driving part 310 enables 300 to be detachably coupled to support plate 200 such that there is no space in-between them while pressing, forming an integrally shaped cavity with the correction frame detachably coupled to the bottom plate).
Regarding claim 10,
Modified Li teaches the rolling device of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), but fails to teach wherein each correction frame comprises: an assembly frame coupled to an insertion space within the respective correction frame, the insertion space configured to receive insertion of a respective one of the secondary batteries therein, each assembly frame being configured to reduce a size of the insertion space of the respective correction frame by a thickness of the assembly frame;
Fish, pertinent to the problem of forming frames of various sizes, teaches wherein each correction frame (Fig. 6, A; pg. 2, ln. 60-80) comprises: an assembly frame (Fig. 6, B, C; pg. 2, ln. 60-80; see Fig. 10 of instant application wherein correction frame 112 includes 112a, 112b and so on) coupled to an insertion space (Fig. 6, space within B, C, respectively) within the respective correction frame (Fig. 6, A; pg. 2, ln. 60-80), each assembly frame (Fig. 6, B, C; pg. 2, ln. 60-80) being configured to reduce a size of the insertion space of the respective correction frame A by a thickness of the assembly frame (Fig. 6, wherein the thickness of B reduces the size of the insertion space of A by the thickness of B). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to replace the adjustable assembly frame of Li with a plurality of nested assembly frames such that each insertion space is configured to receive insertion of a respective one of the secondary batteries therein, as suggested by Fish, as Fish teaches a nested set of frames reduces time, labor, and expense required for producing various sizes, and provides easier storage (pg. 2, ln. 79-93) compared to heavy, expensive adjustable machinery.
Regarding claim 11,
Li in view of Lee and Fish teaches the rolling device of claim 10 (see rejection of claim 10 above), wherein each correction frame further comprises a plurality of additional assembly frames having different sizes from one another (see Fig. 1, which depicts a plurality of nested assembly frames greater than the 3 in Fig. 6), the assembly frame and the additional assembly frames together forming a set of assembly frames (see Fig. 1, set of concentric circle frames), and each set of assembly frames is disposed in the insertion space of a corresponding one of the correction frames to overlap each other so that each of the sizes is reduced inward (see Fig. 1, set of concentric circle frames with size reducing inward). Alternatively, the mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Regarding claim 12,
Li in view of Lee and Fish teaches the rolling device of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the assembly frames within each set of assembly frames each have the same thickness (see Fig. 1 and 6 of Fish, wherein the frames each have the same thickness).
Claims 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (KR20150089555A) in view of Lee (KR20180056131A), Fish (US938047A), and Kawaguchi (JP5644014B2) (refer to enclosed translations for citations).
Regarding claim 3,
Modified Li teaches the rolling device of claim 1 (See rejection of claim 1 above), but fails teach a guide means configured to guide the pressing piece to move from a first end to a second end of a top surface of the support piece, the second end being opposite from the first end. However, Kawaguchi, pertinent to the problem of uniform pressure rolling, teaches wherein the pressing member (Fig. 1, 38) further comprises a guide means (Fig. 1, 381; [0067]) configured to guide the pressing piece 38 [0026] to move from a first end (Fig. 1, left end of 381) to a second end (Fig. 1, right end of 381) of a top surface (Fig. 1, top surface of 332) of the support piece 332, the second end being opposite from the first end (Fig. 1, left and right ends of 381 are opposite; [0067]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the rolling device of Li by incorporating the guide means of Kawaguchi in order to better guide the roller from a first end to a second end of a top surface of the support piece with constant pressure over the entire surface [0066], as suggested by Kawaguchi (Fig. 1, 381; [0026] [0066]).
Regarding claim 4,
Modified Li teaches the rolling device of claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), wherein Kawaguchi teaches the guide means (Fig. 1, 381) comprises a guide piece having a guide hole (Fig. 7, hole in 381) extending from the first end to the second end (Fig. 7, left to right end of 381, respectively) of the top surface of the support piece (Fig. 7, top surface of 332), and the pressing piece 38 has a guide protrusion extending from first and second opposite ends thereof and coupled to the guide hole of the guide piece (see also Fig. 8, guide means 381 depicting protrusion of the pressing piece 38 that guide protrusion coupled to hole), the pressing piece being configured to move from the first end to the second end of the top surface of the support piece along the guide hole (Fig. 7, move from top surface of 332 along guide hole in 381).
Regarding claim 5,
Modified Li teaches the rolling device of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the support piece (see rejection of claim 1 above) but fails to teach wherein the support piece is configured to be moved by an elevation means that is coupled to the support piece and the bottom plate. Kawaguchi teaches wherein a support piece (Fig. 1, 333; [0037]) is configured to be moved away from or towards the bottom plate by an elevation means (Fig. 1, 333; [0037]) that is coupled to the support piece and the bottom plate 332 ([0037], “it is preferable to further include position adjusting means 333 for adjusting the relative position of the roller 38 and the first frame 331 in the height direction”). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate the teachings of Kawaguchi such that the support piece is configured to be moved by an elevation means in order to enable a predetermined pressure to be applied to the mold (Kawaguchi; [0037]).
Regarding claim 6,
Modified Li teaches the rolling device of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above), wherein the elevation means is an elevation rod (Kawaguchi, [0029], [0034], “ball screw”, wherein a ball screw is a type of rod) extending from the top surface of the bottom plate 332 (wherein 321 moved by ball screw is attached to the top surface of bottom plate 332). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have an elevation rod extending from the top surface of the bottom plate coupled so that the support piece of modified Lee is movable in a vertical direction relative to the bottom plate in order to adjust the relative position of the roller, enabling a predetermined pressure to be applied to the mold (Kawaguchi, [0037]).
Regarding claim 7,
Modified Li teaches the rolling device of claim 6 (see rejection of claim 6 above), wherein the elevation means 333 comprises a hook piece (Fig. 1, wherein 333 is a curved spacer with a curved outer surface, see https://www.thefreedictionary.com/hook) coupled to the elevation rod (Fig. 1, ball screw adjacent to 333; wherein all elements are directly are indirectly coupled) and configured to adjust a height [0037] of the support piece 332 in the vertical direction (see Fig. 1, wherein 333 displaces along a vertical direction) relative to the bottom plate (Kawaguchi, Fig. 1, 333; [0037], position adjusting means)
Regarding claim 8,
Modified Li teaches the rolling device of claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), wherein the hook piece is a nut screw-coupled to a screw thread formed on a circumferential surface of the elevation rod the nut being configured to ascend or descend in the vertical direction along the elevation rod (Kawaguchi, [0029] [0034], “second moving means…ball screw” wherein, in a different embodiment of a position adjusting means is a ball screw, wherein a ball screw must include a nut in order to encase ball bearings to the threading of the screw). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have wherein the hook piece is a nut screw-coupled to a screw thread, as taught by Kawaguchi, so as to adjust the height of the support piece relative to the bottom plate of modified Lee as Kawaguchi teaches this as an acceptable embodiment of a position adjusting means enabling a predetermined pressure to be applied to the mold. A rationale to support a conclusion that a claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP §§ 2143 and 2143.02).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 08/22/2025, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Fish.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that that moving the roller across 400 would tilt the support piece 400 and not provide uniform distribution of force. However, this is not persuasive, as support piece 400 is supported by 410, such that tilting does not necessarily occur, and a gap causing tilting is easily avoided is only present in cases where the battery 100 is taller than the frame 300 or the frame is made taller than the battery. Further, outside of Fig. 5, Li is entirely silent to the presence of this gap, which has nothing to do with the object of Li’s invention. Making support/sizing adjustments is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Applicant further argues that the bowed profile makes it harder to avoid tilted. However, this is still not persuasive, as tilting is easily avoidable (see above).
Additionally, achieving a more uniform force distribution, while not required for the combination, is later achieved in the combination with Kawaguchi (see rejection of claim 3 above), wherein Kawaguchi teaches a guide rail allows for more uniform distribution of pressure over the entire surface [0066].
Applicant argues that the remaining claims should be allowed in view of an allowable claim 1 and 2. However, this is not persuasive, as the rejections on claim 1 and 2 have been sustained.
Conclusion
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1728 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723