DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to the communications filed on 03/02/2026, concerning Application No. 17/790,422. The amendments to the claims filed on 03/02/2026 are acknowledged. Presently, claims 21-40 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-23 and 28-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Southard et al. (WO 2019/055684 A1, of record, cited in the applicant’s IDS filed 07/25/2022, a copy of which (herein used for citation) was provided by the applicant on 07/25/2022, hereinafter Southard) in view of Shi (US 2015/0223772 A1, of record, with publication date 08/13/2015, hereinafter Shi), and further in view of Tsuruno (JP 2017-042188 A, of record, a copy of which and a machine-generated English translation of which (herein used for citation) were provided by the examiner on 07/29/2025, hereinafter Tsuruno).
Examiner note: The applied reference Southard has common applicants with the instant application. However, based upon the earlier public availability date of the applied reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) because the public availability date of the applied reference is outside of the one-year grace period from which the instant application was filed (i.e., the instant application’s effective filing date).
Regarding claim 21, Southard discloses (embodiment of Figs. 16A-16D) an ultrasound probe (probe 40) (see, e.g., Abstract, and Figs. 1-17), comprising:
a body (probe body 102) (see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 […] As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, where the entirety of the bottom side of the body 102 is described as (Para. [0071]) and shown to be (Figs. 16B-16C) a generally flat bottom surface of the body 102);
a lens (lens 108) disposed in a cutout of the body (102) designating a head portion (probe head 44) of the ultrasound probe (40), the lens (108) configured to pass ultrasound signals therethrough (see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D, and Para. [0035], “the probe 40 includes a body 102 defining lateral surfaces 102A and end surfaces 102B, with the head 44 of the probe defining a distal end of the probe body. A lens 108 is disposed at the distal end of the probe body 102 and is configured to enable passage therethrough of ultrasonic signals”, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”);
one or more transducer elements in the head portion (44) for emitting and receiving ultrasonic signals (see, e.g., Para. [0031], “FIG. 1 shows various components of an ultrasound imaging system 10 (also referred to herein as "imaging system" or "system"), according to one embodiment. […] An ultrasound probe ("probe") 40, containing one or more transducer elements in a head 44 thereof for emitting and receiving ultrasonic signals”);
a stabilizing portion composed of a longitudinal extension of the body (102) extending away from the head portion (44) of the ultrasound probe (40), the stabilizing portion of the ultrasound probe (40) configured to stabilize the ultrasound probe (40) on a skin surface of a patient without assistance from a user of the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, and Abstract, “An ultrasound probe ("probe") for use with an ultrasound imaging system is disclosed. In particular, the probe is sized and configured so as to be supported and readily used with as little as one finger on a single hand of a user of the imaging system. This configuration enables remaining fingers on the hand of the user to be employed for other purposes, such as skin traction and patient contact. In one embodiment, therefore, an ultrasound probe is disclosed, comprising a body, a lens included on head portion of the body, a stabilizing portion extending from the body and configured to stabilize the body on a skin surface of a patient without user assistance”); and
a finger-grip portion (finger grip portion 110) composed of a generally transverse extension of the body (102) extending away from the head portion (44) of the ultrasound probe (40), the finger-grip portion (110) of the ultrasound probe (40) configured to enable the user to grasp and maneuver the ultrasound probe (40) during use thereof with no more than two or three fingers of a single hand (see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, and Abstract, “An ultrasound probe ("probe") for use with an ultrasound imaging system is disclosed. In particular, the probe is sized and configured so as to be supported and readily used with as little as one finger on a single hand of a user of the imaging system. This configuration enables remaining fingers on the hand of the user to be employed for other purposes, such as skin traction and patient contact. In one embodiment, therefore, an ultrasound probe is disclosed, comprising […] a finger grip portion configured to enable a user of the probe to grasp and maneuver the probe during use thereof with no more than two fingers on a single hand of the user”).
Southard does not specifically disclose wherein: [1] the stabilizing portion of the ultrasound probe includes a latitudinal channel extending across a generally flat surface of the stabilizing portion intended to face the skin surface of the patient, thereby reducing a surface area of the generally flat surface, [2] the latitudinal channel is spaced proximally away from the lens, [3] the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and [4] the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Shi discloses wherein: the stabilizing portion (probe guide body 104) of the ultrasound probe (handheld ultrasound probe 102) includes a latitudinal channel (gel dispenser 708) extending across a generally flat surface of the stabilizing portion (104) intended to face the skin surface of the patient, thereby reducing a surface area of the generally flat surface, and the latitudinal channel (708) is spaced proximally away from the lens (probe head 114) (see, e.g., Para. [0019-0021], and Para. [0051], “In one embodiment, the guide body 104 may include a gel dispenser 708 that may provide automatic gel dispensing. In various embodiments, automatic application of an acoustic fluid (e.g., ultrasound gel) streamlines operator workflow and enhances efficiency. The gel dispenser 708 introduces acoustic between the guide body 104 and the object being scanned (e.g., tissue). It should be noted that the gel dispenser 708 may be embodied as a recess or channel along the surface of the body 104 on the side that contacts the tissue (e.g., the bottom), thus allowing the distribution of acoustic fluid between the tissue and the guide body 104”, and Figs. 1 and 7, where the gel dispenser/recess/channel 708 is shown as the shaded region in Fig. 7, and where the lens is shown as probe head 114 in Fig. 1 and as the white rectangle positioned below the shaded area 708 in Fig. 7, such that the shaded region in Fig. 7 is shown to be spaced apart proximally away from the lens/rectangular portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the ultrasound probe of Southard by including wherein: [1] the stabilizing portion of the ultrasound probe includes a latitudinal channel extending across a generally flat surface of the stabilizing portion intended to face the skin surface of the patient, thereby reducing a surface area of the generally flat surface, and [2] the latitudinal channel is spaced proximally away from the lens, as disclosed by Shi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably allow for the distribution of acoustic fluid between the tissue and ultrasound probe, and in order to provide automatic application of an acoustic fluid (e.g., ultrasound gel) which streamlines operator workflow and enhances efficiency, as recognized by Shi (see, e.g., Para. [0051]).
Southard modified by Shi still does not specifically disclose wherein: [3] the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and [4] the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Tsuruno discloses wherein: the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side (see, e.g., Abstract, “the second housing member 12 includes a second groove 121 extending in a second direction, as a suction path”, and Page 4, lines 46-50, “As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the second housing member 12 has a plurality of second groove portions 121 on the third surface portion 12 a facing the second surface portion 11 b of the first housing member 11. Similar to the first groove 112, the second groove 121 has a substantially triangular cross section, and is formed to extend linearly in the X direction as the second direction. A plurality of second groove portions 121 are formed in parallel (parallel) to the Y direction”, and Fig. 6, where groove(s) 121 is shown to extend from a first side to a second side of a surface while defining open ends on both the first and second sides).
Examiner notes that in a case where one of the channels/grooves 121 that extends from one side to another and that has open ends on both sides, as taught by Fig. 6 of Tsuruno, replaces/modifies the channel/gel dispenser 708 (i.e., modify the shape of the channel), as taught by Fig. 7 of Shi, then the combination of Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses each and every limitation as recited in the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound probe of Southard modified by Shi by including wherein: [3] the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and [4] the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side, as disclosed by Tsuruno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably provide a suction path, as recognized by Tsuruno (see, e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 22, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 21, as set forth above. Southard does not specifically disclose wherein the latitudinal channel defines a concave surface.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Shi discloses wherein the latitudinal channel (gel dispenser 708) defines a concave surface (see, e.g., Para. [0051], “In one embodiment, the guide body 104 may include a gel dispenser 708 that may provide automatic gel dispensing. In various embodiments, automatic application of an acoustic fluid (e.g., ultrasound gel) streamlines operator workflow and enhances efficiency. The gel dispenser 708 introduces acoustic between the guide body 104 and the object being scanned (e.g., tissue). It should be noted that the gel dispenser 708 may be embodied as a recess or channel along the surface of the body 104 on the side that contacts the tissue (e.g., the bottom), thus allowing the distribution of acoustic fluid between the tissue and the guide body 104”, and Figs. 1 and 7, where the gel dispenser/recess/channel 708 is shown as the shaded region in Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound probe of Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno by including wherein the latitudinal channel defines a concave surface, as disclosed by Shi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably allow for the distribution of acoustic fluid between the tissue and ultrasound probe, and in order to provide automatic application of an acoustic fluid (e.g., ultrasound gel) which streamlines operator workflow and enhances efficiency, as recognized by Shi (see, e.g., Para. [0051]).
Regarding claim 23, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 21, as set forth above. Southard further discloses the ultrasound probe (probe 40) further comprising a cable conduit (cable conduit 194) composed of a curved extension of the body (probe body 102) extending away from both the stabilizing portion (stabilizing portion 146) and the head portion (probe head 44) of the ultrasound probe (40), the cable conduit (194) configured to house a distal-end portion of a power-and-data cable (cable 104) for connecting the ultrasound probe (40) to a console (console 20) and keep the power-and-data cable (104) away from the head portion (44) of the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Para. [0031], “An ultrasound probe ("probe") 40, containing one or more transducer elements in a head 44 thereof for emitting and receiving ultrasonic signals, is operably attached to the console 20 via a cable or other suitable interface, including wireless connectivity”, and Para. [0068], “A cable can extend from a cable conduit 194 at a top surface of the probe body 102”, and Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the cable conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 16A-16D, where the cable conduit 194 is shown to be positioned away from the probe head 44, such that the cable 104 that is connected to the cable conduit 194 is also positioned away from the probe head 44).
Regarding claim 28, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 21, as set forth above. Southard further discloses wherein the finger-grip portion (finger grip portion 110) of the ultrasound probe (probe 40) includes a concave surface (two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118) opposite the generally flat surface (see, e.g., Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the coble conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 16A-16D, where the finger grip portion 110 is shown to have concave surfaces 118 that are positioned opposite of the flat bottom surface where the lens 108 is positioned).
Regarding claim 29, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 28, as set forth above. Southard further discloses wherein the concave surface (two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118) of the finger-grip portion (finger grip portion 110) is an extension of a concave surface of the stabilizing portion (stabilizing portion 146) of the ultrasound probe (probe 40) intended to face away from the skin surface of the patient (see, e.g., Para. [0071], “As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, and Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the coble conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 16A-16D, where the finger grip portion 110 is shown to have concave surfaces 118 that are positioned opposite of the flat bottom surface/stabilizing portion where the lens 108 is positioned, in which the concave surfaces 118 of the finger grip portion 110 is an extension of the flat bottom surface/stabilizing portion such that the surfaces 118 are within the same wedge-shaped configuration as the flat bottom surface/stabilizing portion, and in which the concave surfaces 118 face away from the skin surface of the patient when the flat bottom surface/stabilizing portion (where the lens 108 is positioned) is placed on the skin surface of the patient).
Regarding claim 30, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 23, as set forth above. Southard further discloses wherein the ultrasound probe (probe 40) is bilaterally symmetrical about a plane of symmetry of the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Para. [0071], “As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D”, and Para. [0073], “The probes herein are also configured to be symmetrical along at least one midline axis so as to enable both left-handed and right-handed use”, and Disclosed Claim 29, “wherein the probe body is symmetrical about at least one midline axis”, and Figs. 16A-16D, where the probe 40 is shown to be bilaterally symmetrical as a wedge-shaped configuration).
Regarding claim 31, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 30, as set forth above. Southard further discloses wherein at least a portion of the body (probe body 102) is molded thermoplastic coupled together along the plane of symmetry of the ultrasound probe (probe 40) (see, e.g., Para. [0038], “Note that the engagement of the probe 40 by the hand of the user is such that the user's hand is positioned substantially parallel with respect to the skin surface of the patient, i.e., horizontally, in a typical imaging procedure. This in turn enables the user to move the probe accurately and easily, with relatively small movements across the skin surface, which results in improved imaging results. Note also that the probe body 102 in this and other embodiments includes a suitable material, such as a thermoplastic. In one embodiment, the material includes R-5100 polyphenylsulfone”, and Para. [0073], “The probes herein are also configured to be symmetrical along at least one midline axis so as to enable both left-handed and right-handed use”, and Disclosed Claim 29, “wherein the probe body is symmetrical about at least one midline axis”).
Regarding claim 32, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 31, as set forth above. Southard further discloses wherein the at least a portion of the body (probe body 102) includes the cable conduit (cable conduit 194) (see, e.g., Para. [0038], “Note that the engagement of the probe 40 by the hand of the user is such that the user's hand is positioned substantially parallel with respect to the skin surface of the patient, i.e., horizontally, in a typical imaging procedure. This in turn enables the user to move the probe accurately and easily, with relatively small movements across the skin surface, which results in improved imaging results. Note also that the probe body 102 in this and other embodiments includes a suitable material, such as a thermoplastic. In one embodiment, the material includes R-5100 polyphenylsulfone”, and Para. [0068], “A cable can extend from a cable conduit 194 at a top surface of the probe body 102”, and Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the cable conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 16A-16D).
Regarding claim 33, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 23, as set forth above. Southard further discloses wherein a proximal end of the cable conduit (cable conduit 194) is disposed distal a proximal end of the stabilizing portion (see, e.g., Para. [0068], “A cable can extend from a cable conduit 194 at a top surface of the probe body 102”, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, and Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the cable conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 16A-16D).
Regarding claim 34, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 23, as set forth above. Southard further discloses wherein the proximal end of the cable conduit (cable conduit 194) is oriented to define a direction of the power-and-data cable (cable 104) that is substantially parallel to the generally flat surface (see, e.g., Para. [0034], “A cable 104 is shown extending from a proximal end of the probe body 102 to operably connect the probe to the console 20 (FIG. 1), though the cable can extend from the probe in accordance with various different configurations”, and Para. [0054], “Note in the present embodiment that the cable 104, which operably connects the probe 40 to the console 20 (FIG. 1), extends from the probe body 102 at an angle from the use position of the probe {i.e., from the perspective shown in FIG. 8D). This cable configuration can reduce torque on the probe 40 by the cable 104 as well as keep the cable clear of the user's hand. Such a configuration can be included in other of the embodiments described herein”, and Para. [0068], “A cable can extend from a cable conduit 194 at a top surface of the probe body 102”, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, and Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the cable conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 8D, 9D, and 16A-16D).
Regarding claim 35, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 21, as set forth above. Southard further discloses an ultrasound system (ultrasound imaging system 10) (see, e.g., Abstract and Para. [0031]; also see, e.g., Figs. 1-17), comprising:
a console (console 20) configured for processing and depicting ultrasound images on a display (touchscreen display 30) of the console (20) (see, e.g., Para. [0031], “FIG. 1 shows various components of an ultrasound imaging system 10 (also referred to herein as "imaging system" or "system"), according to one embodiment. As shown, the system 10 includes a console 20 housing various electronic and other components necessary for processing and depicting ultrasonic images. The console 20 includes a touchscreen display 30 for depicting ultrasonic images and for enabling touch-based input by a clinician to control the device and its functionality”); and
the ultrasound probe (probe 40) according to claim 21, the ultrasound probe (40) further including: a cable conduit (cable conduit 194) composed of a curved extension of the body (probe body 102) extending away from both the stabilizing portion (stabilizing portion 146) and the head portion (probe head 44) of the ultrasound probe (40), the cable conduit (194) configured to house a distal-end portion of a power-and-data cable (cable 104) for connecting the ultrasound probe (40) to the console (20) (see, e.g., Para. [0031], “An ultrasound probe ("probe") 40, containing one or more transducer elements in a head 44 thereof for emitting and receiving ultrasonic signals, is operably attached to the console 20 via a cable or other suitable interface, including wireless connectivity”, and Para. [0068], “A cable can extend from a cable conduit 194 at a top surface of the probe body 102”, and Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the cable conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 16A-16D, where the cable conduit 194 is shown to be positioned away from the probe head 44, such that the cable 104 that is connected to the cable conduit 194 is also positioned away from the probe head 44); and
the body (probe body 102) including: the generally flat surface intended to face the skin surface of the patient (see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 […] As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, where the entirety of the bottom side of the body 102 is described as (Para. [0071]) and shown to be (Figs. 16B-16C) a generally flat bottom surface of the body 102).
Southard modified by Shi does not specifically disclose the latitudinal channel extending entirely across the generally flat surface from the first longitudinal side of the body to the second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, wherein the latitudinal channel defines the first open end at the first longitudinal side and the second open end at the second longitudinal side.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Tsuruno discloses the latitudinal channel extending entirely across the generally flat surface from the first longitudinal side of the body to the second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, wherein the latitudinal channel defines the first open end at the first longitudinal side and the second open end at the second longitudinal side (see, e.g., Abstract, “the second housing member 12 includes a second groove 121 extending in a second direction, as a suction path”, and Page 4, lines 46-50, “As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the second housing member 12 has a plurality of second groove portions 121 on the third surface portion 12 a facing the second surface portion 11 b of the first housing member 11. Similar to the first groove 112, the second groove 121 has a substantially triangular cross section, and is formed to extend linearly in the X direction as the second direction. A plurality of second groove portions 121 are formed in parallel (parallel) to the Y direction”, and Fig. 6, where groove(s) 121 is shown to extend from a first side to a second side of a surface while defining open ends on both the first and second sides).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound probe of Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno by including the latitudinal channel extending entirely across the generally flat surface from the first longitudinal side of the body to the second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, wherein the latitudinal channel defines the first open end at the first longitudinal side and the second open end at the second longitudinal side, as disclosed by Tsuruno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably provide a suction path, as recognized by Tsuruno (see, e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 36, Southard discloses a method of using an ultrasound probe (probe 40) (see, e.g., Abstract and Para. [0031]; also see, e.g., Figs. 1-17), comprising:
obtaining the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Abstract and Para. [0031]; also see, e.g., Figs. 1-17), the ultrasound probe (40) including:
a body (probe body 102) having a lens (lens 108) disposed in a cutout of the body (102) designating a head portion (probe head 44) of the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D, and Para. [0035], “the probe 40 includes a body 102 defining lateral surfaces 102A and end surfaces 102B, with the head 44 of the probe defining a distal end of the probe body. A lens 108 is disposed at the distal end of the probe body 102 and is configured to enable passage therethrough of ultrasonic signals”, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”);
a stabilizing portion composed of a longitudinal extension of the body (102) extending away from the head portion (44) of the ultrasound probe (40), the stabilizing portion of the ultrasound probe (40) configured to stabilize the ultrasound probe (40) on a skin surface of a patient without assistance from a user of the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, and Abstract, “An ultrasound probe ("probe") for use with an ultrasound imaging system is disclosed. In particular, the probe is sized and configured so as to be supported and readily used with as little as one finger on a single hand of a user of the imaging system. This configuration enables remaining fingers on the hand of the user to be employed for other purposes, such as skin traction and patient contact. In one embodiment, therefore, an ultrasound probe is disclosed, comprising a body, a lens included on head portion of the body, a stabilizing portion extending from the body and configured to stabilize the body on a skin surface of a patient without user assistance”); and
a finger-grip portion (finger grip portion 110) composed of a generally transverse extension of the body (102) extending away from the head portion (44) of the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D, and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”, and Abstract, “An ultrasound probe ("probe") for use with an ultrasound imaging system is disclosed. In particular, the probe is sized and configured so as to be supported and readily used with as little as one finger on a single hand of a user of the imaging system. This configuration enables remaining fingers on the hand of the user to be employed for other purposes, such as skin traction and patient contact. In one embodiment, therefore, an ultrasound probe is disclosed, comprising […] a finger grip portion configured to enable a user of the probe to grasp and maneuver the probe during use thereof with no more than two fingers on a single hand of the user”);
placing the head portion (44) and the stabilizing portion of the ultrasound probe (40) on the skin surface of the patient (see, e.g., Para. [0034], “In operation of the system 10, a lens portion of the head 44 of the probe 40 is placed against the skin of the patient so as to ultrasonically image a cross-sectional slice of a vessel, such as a vein, or other internal body tissue of the patient below the surface of the skin. Indeed, a target location of the vessel imaged by the probe 40 is disposed a substantially vertical depth below the end of the probe”, and Para. [0046], “The probe 40 of the embodiment of FIGS. 6A-6E further includes a stabilizing portion 146 configured to maintain the probe in an upright, usable position on the skin surface of the patient even when the user's hand is not contacting the probe. In the present embodiment, the stabilizing portion 146 includes an angled leg 148 extending from the lateral surface 102A opposite the tab 144, best seen in FIG. 6D. The leg 148 extends downward (from the perspective shown in FIG. 6D) so as to provide a lower surface substantially flush with the lens 108 of the probe head 44. In this way, the leg 148 stabilizes the probe 40 by providing a second contacting surface for the skin, in addition to the lens 108. Note that the stabilizing portion 146 can also enable the probe 40 to be manipulated by a single finger, in one embodiment”, and Abstract, “An ultrasound probe ("probe") for use with an ultrasound imaging system is disclosed. In particular, the probe is sized and configured so as to be supported and readily used with as little as one finger on a single hand of a user of the imaging system. This configuration enables remaining fingers on the hand of the user to be employed for other purposes, such as skin traction and patient contact. In one embodiment, therefore, an ultrasound probe is disclosed, comprising a body, a lens included on head portion of the body, a stabilizing portion extending from the body and configured to stabilize the body on a skin surface of a patient without user assistance”; also see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D and Para. [0071], “FIGS. 16A-16D depict various details of the probe 40 and its finger grip portion 110 for enabling grasping, supporting, and handling of the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways, according to another embodiment. As shown, the probe body 102 includes a generally wedge-shaped configuration, with the lens 108 of the probe head 44 disposed on a bottom surface thereof, from the perspective shown in FIGS. 16C and 16D. Note that the flat bottom surface of the probe body 102, best seen in FIG. 16B, serves as a stabilizing portion in the present embodiment for enabling the probe 40 to rest without assistance on the skin surface of the patient”);
enabling probing ultrasound signals to be emitted into the patient from one or more transducer elements in the head portion (44) for emitting and receiving ultrasonic signals for ultrasound imaging (see, e.g., Para. [0031], “FIG. 1 shows various components of an ultrasound imaging system 10 (also referred to herein as "imaging system" or "system"), according to one embodiment. As shown, the system 10 includes a console 20 housing various electronic and other components necessary for processing and depicting ultrasonic images. The console 20 includes a touchscreen display 30 for depicting ultrasonic images and for enabling touch-based input by a clinician to control the device and its functionality. An ultrasound probe ("probe") 40, containing one or more transducer elements in a head 44 thereof for emitting and receiving ultrasonic signals, is operably attached to the console 20 via a cable or other suitable interface, including wireless connectivity”, and Para. [0034], “In operation of the system 10, a lens portion of the head 44 of the probe 40 is placed against the skin of the patient so as to ultrasonically image a cross-sectional slice of a vessel, such as a vein, or other internal body tissue of the patient below the surface of the skin. Indeed, a target location of the vessel imaged by the probe 40 is disposed a substantially vertical depth below the end of the probe”);
moving the ultrasound probe (40) for the ultrasound imaging by the finger-grip portion (110) of the ultrasound probe (40) using no more than two or three fingers of a single hand (see, e.g., Para. [0036], “In the present embodiment, the probe 40 includes a finger grip portion 110 configured to enable the user of the probe to grasp, support, and handle the probe with one or more fingers of a single hand of the user while leaving one or more fingers of the user's hand free to be used in other ways”, and Abstract, “An ultrasound probe ("probe") for use with an ultrasound imaging system is disclosed. In particular, the probe is sized and configured so as to be supported and readily used with as little as one finger on a single hand of a user of the imaging system. This configuration enables remaining fingers on the hand of the user to be employed for other purposes, such as skin traction and patient contact. In one embodiment, therefore, an ultrasound probe is disclosed, comprising […] a finger grip portion configured to enable a user of the probe to grasp and maneuver the probe during use thereof with no more than two fingers on a single hand of the user”; also see, e.g., Figs. 16A-16D);
applying an ultrasound gel to the skin surface of the patient before placing the head portion (44) and the stabilizing portion of the ultrasound probe (40) on the skin surface of the patient (see, e.g., Para. [0032], “In one embodiment, an optional cap including a hydrogel insert can be removably attached to the head 44 of the probe 40 so as to cover a lens portion thereof. The hydrogel insert provides an ultrasonically transparent interface between the probe head 44 and the skin surface”); and
removing the ultrasound probe (40) from the skin surface of the patient (see, e.g., Para. [0003], “the probe is configured in one embodiment to enable the user's hand to be positioned substantially horizontally with respect to (parallel to) the skin surface of the patient, thus enabling relatively accurate probe positioning (e.g., lifting, placing, pressing, etc.) and scanning operations to be performed”, and Para. [0037], “the probe 40 is placed between a forefinger (index finger) and a middle finger of a single hand of the user such that an inside portion of the forefinger engages one of the grip surfaces 118 and an inside portion of the middle finger engages the other grip surface on the opposing side of the probe. In this way, the user is able to lift, maneuver, slide, and otherwise move the probe 40 with only two fingers during operation of the imaging system 10”, and Para. [0039], “the retention portion enables the probe 40 to remain attached with the finger of the use even when the finger and/or hand of the user is lifted from the skin surface, which enables the user to perform other tasks without putting down the probe”, and Para. [0066], “The articulating component 178 enables relative movement between the probe head 44 and the cylindrical ring, thus enabling freedom of movement of the probe 40. This is useful when it is desired to lift the lens 108 above the skin surface while desiring to keep one or more fingers on the skin surface”).
Southard does not specifically disclose wherein: [1] the stabilizing portion of the ultrasound probe includes a latitudinal channel extending across a generally flat surface of the stabilizing portion intended to face the skin surface of the patient, thereby reducing a surface area of the generally flat surface and a gel-induced suction between the generally flat surface and the skin surface of the patient when removing the ultrasound probe from the skin surface of the patient, [2] the latitudinal channel is spaced proximally away from the lens, [3] the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and [4] the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Shi discloses wherein: the stabilizing portion (probe guide body 104) of the ultrasound probe (handheld ultrasound probe 102) includes a latitudinal channel (gel dispenser 708) extending across a generally flat surface of the stabilizing portion (104) intended to face the skin surface of the patient, thereby reducing a surface area of the generally flat surface and a gel-induced suction between the generally flat surface and the skin surface of the patient when removing the ultrasound probe (102) from the skin surface of the patient, and the latitudinal channel (708) is spaced proximally away from the lens (probe head 114) (see, e.g., Para. [0019-0021], and Para. [0051], “In one embodiment, the guide body 104 may include a gel dispenser 708 that may provide automatic gel dispensing. In various embodiments, automatic application of an acoustic fluid (e.g., ultrasound gel) streamlines operator workflow and enhances efficiency. The gel dispenser 708 introduces acoustic between the guide body 104 and the object being scanned (e.g., tissue). It should be noted that the gel dispenser 708 may be embodied as a recess or channel along the surface of the body 104 on the side that contacts the tissue (e.g., the bottom), thus allowing the distribution of acoustic fluid between the tissue and the guide body 104”, and Figs. 1 and 7, where the gel dispenser/recess/channel 708 is shown as the shaded region in Fig. 7, and where the lens is shown as probe head 114 in Fig. 1 and as the white rectangle positioned below the shaded area 708 in Fig. 7, such that the shaded region in Fig. 7 is shown to be spaced apart proximally away from the lens/rectangular portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Southard by including wherein: [1] the stabilizing portion of the ultrasound probe includes a latitudinal channel extending across a generally flat surface of the stabilizing portion intended to face the skin surface of the patient, thereby reducing a surface area of the generally flat surface and a gel-induced suction between the generally flat surface and the skin surface of the patient when removing the ultrasound probe from the skin surface of the patient, and [2] the latitudinal channel is spaced proximally away from the lens, as disclosed by Shi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably allow for the distribution of acoustic fluid between the tissue and ultrasound probe, and in order to provide automatic application of an acoustic fluid (e.g., ultrasound gel) which streamlines operator workflow and enhances efficiency, as recognized by Shi (see, e.g., Para. [0051]).
Southard modified by Shi still does not specifically disclose wherein: [3] the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and [4] the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Tsuruno discloses wherein: the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side (see, e.g., Abstract, “the second housing member 12 includes a second groove 121 extending in a second direction, as a suction path”, and Page 4, lines 46-50, “As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the second housing member 12 has a plurality of second groove portions 121 on the third surface portion 12 a facing the second surface portion 11 b of the first housing member 11. Similar to the first groove 112, the second groove 121 has a substantially triangular cross section, and is formed to extend linearly in the X direction as the second direction. A plurality of second groove portions 121 are formed in parallel (parallel) to the Y direction”, and Fig. 6, where groove(s) 121 is shown to extend from a first side to a second side of a surface while defining open ends on both the first and second sides).
Examiner notes that in a case where one of the channels/grooves 121 that extends from one side to another and that has open ends on both sides, as taught by Fig. 6 of Tsuruno, replaces/modifies the channel/gel dispenser 708 (i.e., modify the shape of the channel), as taught by Fig. 7 of Shi, then the combination of Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses each and every limitation as recited in the claim.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Southard modified by Shi by including wherein: [3] the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and [4] the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side, as disclosed by Tsuruno. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably provide a suction path, as recognized by Tsuruno (see, e.g., Abstract).
Regarding claim 37, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the method of claim 36, as set forth above. Southard further discloses the method further comprising grasping the ultrasound probe (probe 40) before moving the ultrasound probe (40), the grasping including placing at least one of an index finger or a middle finger on a concave surface (two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118) of the finger-grip portion (finger grip portion 110) of the ultrasound probe (40) and a thumb on an opposing, generally flat surface of the finger-grip portion (110) of the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Para. [0037], “In the present embodiment, the probe 40 is placed between a forefinger (index finger) and a middle finger of a single hand of the user such that an inside portion of the forefinger engages one of the grip surfaces 118 and an inside portion of the middle finger engages the other grip surface on the opposing side of the probe. In this way, the user is able to lift, maneuver, slide, and otherwise move the probe 40 with only two fingers during operation of the imaging system 10. Note that other fingers of the user's hand can alternatively be used to hold the probe 40. This further enables the remaining three fingers of the user's hand to be employed in other ways during ultrasonic imaging by the probe 40”).
Regarding claim 38, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the method of claim 37, as set forth above. Southard further discloses wherein grasping the ultrasound probe (probe 40) orients a palm of the single hand substantially parallel to the skin surface of the patient (see, e.g., Para. [0037], “In the present embodiment, the probe 40 is placed between a forefinger (index finger) and a middle finger of a single hand of the user such that an inside portion of the forefinger engages one of the grip surfaces 118 and an inside portion of the middle finger engages the other grip surface on the opposing side of the probe. In this way, the user is able to lift, maneuver, slide, and otherwise move the probe 40 with only two fingers during operation of the imaging system 10. Note that other fingers of the user's hand can alternatively be used to hold the probe 40. This further enables the remaining three fingers of the user's hand to be employed in other ways during ultrasonic imaging by the probe 40”, and Para. [0038], “Note that the engagement of the probe 40 by the hand of the user is such that the user's hand is positioned substantially parallel with respect to the skin surface of the patient, i.e., horizontally, in a typical imaging procedure. This in turn enables the user to move the probe accurately and easily, with relatively small movements across the skin surface, which results in improved imaging results”).
Regarding claim 39, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the method of claim 36, as set forth above. Southard further discloses the method further comprising connecting a power-and-data cable (cable 104) of the ultrasound probe (probe 40) to a console (console 20) of an ultrasound imaging system (ultrasound imaging system 10) (see, e.g., Para. [0031], “FIG. 1 shows various components of an ultrasound imaging system 10 (also referred to herein as "imaging system" or "system"), according to one embodiment. As shown, the system 10 includes a console 20 housing various electronic and other components necessary for processing and depicting ultrasonic images. The console 20 includes a touchscreen display 30 for depicting ultrasonic images and for enabling touch-based input by a clinician to control the device and its functionality. An ultrasound probe ("probe") 40, containing one or more transducer elements in a head 44 thereof for emitting and receiving ultrasonic signals, is operably attached to the console 20 via a cable or other suitable interface, including wireless connectivity”, and Para. [0068], “A cable can extend from a cable conduit 194 at a top surface of the probe body 102”, and Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the cable conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 16A-16D, where the cable conduit 194 is shown to be positioned away from the probe head 44, such that the cable 104 that is connected to the cable conduit 194 is also positioned away from the probe head 44), the power-and-data cable (104) extending from a cable conduit (cable conduit 194) of the ultrasound probe (40) composed of a curved extension of the body (probe body 102) extending away from both the stabilizing portion (stabilizing portion 146) and the head portion (probe head 44) of the ultrasound probe (40) configured to keep the power-and-data cable (104) away from the head portion (44) of the ultrasound probe (40) (see, e.g., Para. [0031], “An ultrasound probe ("probe") 40, containing one or more transducer elements in a head 44 thereof for emitting and receiving ultrasonic signals, is operably attached to the console 20 via a cable or other suitable interface, including wireless connectivity”, and Para. [0068], “A cable can extend from a cable conduit 194 at a top surface of the probe body 102”, and Para. [0072], “The cable conduit 194 extends from the probe body 102 and two finger grip portions 110 are included, namely, two channels 210 that are defined by the body and are disposed adjacent the cable conduit so as to provide two concavely shaped grip surfaces 118”, and Figs. 16A-16D, where the cable conduit 194 is shown to be positioned away from the probe head 44, such that the cable 104 that is connected to the cable conduit 194 is also positioned away from the probe head 44).
Claims 24-25 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Southard (WO 2019/055684 A1) in view of Shi (US 2015/0223772 A1) and Tsuruno (JP 2017-042188 A), as applied to claims 23 and 39 above, and further in view of Kashimura et al. (US 2021/0079258 A1, of record, with effectively filed date 09/13/2019 (i.e., foreign priority), hereinafter Kashimura).
Regarding claim 24, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 23, as set forth above. Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno does not specifically disclose the ultrasound probe further comprising a cable boot having a distal-end portion disposed in an opening of the cable conduit, the cable boot configured to house the distal-end portion of the power-and-data cable proximal of the cable conduit and keep the power-and-data cable farther away from the head portion of the ultrasound probe.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Kashimura discloses the ultrasound probe further comprising a cable boot (protective member 22) having a distal-end portion disposed in an opening of the cable conduit (ultrasonic probe terminal 23), the cable boot (22) configured to house the distal-end portion of the power-and-data cable (probe cable 10) proximal of the cable conduit (23) and keep the power-and-data cable (10) farther away from the head portion of the ultrasound probe (see, e.g., Para. [0006], “A sheath made of an electrical insulating member is formed on a surface of a cable. This sheath is desired to have no stickiness or the like, but a good slidability (sliding property). On the other hand, an end portion of the cable is subjected to a termination, during which a protective member such as a boot or the like is attached to the sheath with an adhesive. Here, in the cable with the protective member having been attached thereto, for example, when the end portion of the cable is bent, a coating film, which has been formed on a surface of the sheath, may be peeled off, which may lead to the protective member detaching from the cable. That is, the cable is required to have no stickiness or the like but a good slidability on the surface of that cable, and a resistance of the coating film formed on the surface of the sheath to being peeled off”, and Para. [0042], “When the cable is used as, e.g., a probe cable, a boot may be attached to a terminal of the cable as a protective member”, and Para. [0098], “As shown in FIG. 2A, for example, a probe cable 20 is configured in such a manner that an ultrasonic probe terminal 23 (hereinafter, also referred to as simply a terminal 23) and a protective member 22 for protecting that terminal 23 are attached to one end of the cable 10, while a connector 24 is attached to the other end of the cable 10. The terminal 23 is connected to, for example, an ultrasonic probe, while the connector 24 is connected to, for example, a main body portion of the ultrasonic imaging device. The protective member 22 is a so-called boot, and as shown in FIG. 2B, is fitted over the coating film 14 to cover the coating film 14 with an adhesion layer 21 therebetween”, and Para. [0115], “In the probe cable 20, the protective member 22 is fitted over the coating film 14 at one end of the cable 10 with the adhesion layer 21 between it and the coating film 14. In the present embodiment, since the adhesion strength between the overlying coating film 14 and the underlying sheath 13 can be made high, for example even when the protective member 22 is acted on by a bending pressure, it is possible to suppress the occurrence of a peeling of the coating film 14 from the sheath 13 and a subsequent detaching of the protective member 22”, and Fig. 2A, where the protective member/boot 22 positions the cable 10 to face away from the distal head portion of the probe; also see, e.g., Para. [0139] and Fig. 5; also see, e.g., Para. [0142-0143] and Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound probe of Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno by including the ultrasound probe further comprising a cable boot having a distal-end portion disposed in an opening of the cable conduit, the cable boot configured to house the distal-end portion of the power-and-data cable proximal of the cable conduit and keep the power-and-data cable farther away from the head portion of the ultrasound probe, as disclosed by Kashimura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably protect both the cable and the terminal of the probe that attaches the probe to the cable from bending pressure being acted upon the cable, as recognized by Kashimura (see, e.g., Para. [0042], [0098], and [0115]).
Regarding claim 25, Southard modified by Shi, Tsuruno, and Kashimura discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 24, as set forth above. Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno does not specifically disclose wherein the cable boot is configured to attenuate a bending radius of the power-and-data cable about the opening of the cable conduit, thereby reducing a risk of damaging the power-and-data cable at the opening of the cable conduit where the power-and-data cable is most likely to overbend.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Kashimura discloses wherein the cable boot (protective member 22) is configured to attenuate a bending radius of the power-and-data cable (probe cable 10) about the opening of the cable conduit (ultrasonic probe terminal 23), thereby reducing a risk of damaging the power-and-data cable (10) at the opening of the cable conduit (23) where the power-and-data cable (10) is most likely to overbend (see, e.g., Para. [0006], “A sheath made of an electrical insulating member is formed on a surface of a cable. This sheath is desired to have no stickiness or the like, but a good slidability (sliding property). On the other hand, an end portion of the cable is subjected to a termination, during which a protective member such as a boot or the like is attached to the sheath with an adhesive. Here, in the cable with the protective member having been attached thereto, for example, when the end portion of the cable is bent, a coating film, which has been formed on a surface of the sheath, may be peeled off, which may lead to the protective member detaching from the cable. That is, the cable is required to have no stickiness or the like but a good slidability on the surface of that cable, and a resistance of the coating film formed on the surface of the sheath to being peeled off”, and Para. [0042], “When the cable is used as, e.g., a probe cable, a boot may be attached to a terminal of the cable as a protective member”, and Para. [0098], “As shown in FIG. 2A, for example, a probe cable 20 is configured in such a manner that an ultrasonic probe terminal 23 (hereinafter, also referred to as simply a terminal 23) and a protective member 22 for protecting that terminal 23 are attached to one end of the cable 10, while a connector 24 is attached to the other end of the cable 10. The terminal 23 is connected to, for example, an ultrasonic probe, while the connector 24 is connected to, for example, a main body portion of the ultrasonic imaging device. The protective member 22 is a so-called boot, and as shown in FIG. 2B, is fitted over the coating film 14 to cover the coating film 14 with an adhesion layer 21 therebetween”, and Para. [0115], “In the probe cable 20, the protective member 22 is fitted over the coating film 14 at one end of the cable 10 with the adhesion layer 21 between it and the coating film 14. In the present embodiment, since the adhesion strength between the overlying coating film 14 and the underlying sheath 13 can be made high, for example even when the protective member 22 is acted on by a bending pressure, it is possible to suppress the occurrence of a peeling of the coating film 14 from the sheath 13 and a subsequent detaching of the protective member 22”, and Fig. 2A, where the protective member/boot 22 positions the cable 10 to face away from the distal head portion of the probe, and where the member/boot 22 acts as a protective member that protects both the cable and the terminal of the probe that attaches the probe to the cable from bending pressure being acted upon the cable; also see, e.g., Para. [0139] and Fig. 5; also see, e.g., Para. [0142-0143] and Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound probe of Southard modified by Shi, Tsuruno, and Kashimura by including wherein the cable boot is configured to attenuate a bending radius of the power-and-data cable about the opening of the cable conduit, thereby reducing a risk of damaging the power-and-data cable at the opening of the cable conduit where the power-and-data cable is most likely to overbend, as disclosed by Kashimura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably protect both the cable and the terminal of the probe that attaches the probe to the cable from bending pressure being acted upon the cable, as recognized by Kashimura (see, e.g., Para. [0042], [0098], and [0115]).
Regarding claim 40, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses the method of claim 39, as set forth above. Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno does not specifically disclose wherein moving the ultrasound probe by the finger-grip portion of the ultrasound probe does not overbend the power-and-data cable due to attenuation of a bending radius of the power-and-data cable by a cable boot having a distal-end portion disposed in an opening of the cable conduit from which the power-and-data cable extends.
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound probes, Kashimura discloses wherein moving the ultrasound probe by the finger-grip portion of the ultrasound probe does not overbend the power-and-data cable (probe cable 10) due to attenuation of a bending radius of the power-and-data cable (10) by a cable boot (protective member 22) having a distal-end portion disposed in an opening of the cable conduit (ultrasonic probe terminal 23) from which the power-and-data cable (10) extends (see, e.g., Para. [0006], “A sheath made of an electrical insulating member is formed on a surface of a cable. This sheath is desired to have no stickiness or the like, but a good slidability (sliding property). On the other hand, an end portion of the cable is subjected to a termination, during which a protective member such as a boot or the like is attached to the sheath with an adhesive. Here, in the cable with the protective member having been attached thereto, for example, when the end portion of the cable is bent, a coating film, which has been formed on a surface of the sheath, may be peeled off, which may lead to the protective member detaching from the cable. That is, the cable is required to have no stickiness or the like but a good slidability on the surface of that cable, and a resistance of the coating film formed on the surface of the sheath to being peeled off”, and Para. [0042], “When the cable is used as, e.g., a probe cable, a boot may be attached to a terminal of the cable as a protective member”, and Para. [0098], “As shown in FIG. 2A, for example, a probe cable 20 is configured in such a manner that an ultrasonic probe terminal 23 (hereinafter, also referred to as simply a terminal 23) and a protective member 22 for protecting that terminal 23 are attached to one end of the cable 10, while a connector 24 is attached to the other end of the cable 10. The terminal 23 is connected to, for example, an ultrasonic probe, while the connector 24 is connected to, for example, a main body portion of the ultrasonic imaging device. The protective member 22 is a so-called boot, and as shown in FIG. 2B, is fitted over the coating film 14 to cover the coating film 14 with an adhesion layer 21 therebetween”, and Para. [0115], “In the probe cable 20, the protective member 22 is fitted over the coating film 14 at one end of the cable 10 with the adhesion layer 21 between it and the coating film 14. In the present embodiment, since the adhesion strength between the overlying coating film 14 and the underlying sheath 13 can be made high, for example even when the protective member 22 is acted on by a bending pressure, it is possible to suppress the occurrence of a peeling of the coating film 14 from the sheath 13 and a subsequent detaching of the protective member 22”, and Fig. 2A, where the protective member/boot 22 positions the cable 10 to face away from the distal head portion of the probe, and where the member/boot 22 acts as a protective member that protects both the cable and the terminal of the probe that attaches the probe to the cable from bending pressure being acted upon the cable; also see, e.g., Para. [0139] and Fig. 5; also see, e.g., Para. [0142-0143] and Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the method of Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno by including wherein moving the ultrasound probe by the finger-grip portion of the ultrasound probe does not overbend the power-and-data cable due to attenuation of a bending radius of the power-and-data cable by a cable boot having a distal-end portion disposed in an opening of the cable conduit from which the power-and-data cable extends, as disclosed by Kashimura. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to desirably protect both the cable and the terminal of the probe that attaches the probe to the cable from bending pressure being acted upon the cable, as recognized by Kashimura (see, e.g., Para. [0042], [0098], and [0115]).
Claims 26-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Southard (WO 2019/055684 A1) in view of Shi (US 2015/0223772 A1), Tsuruno (JP 2017-042188 A), and Kashimura (US 2021/0079258 A1), as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of JP S63-281632 A (a copy of which and a machine-generated English translation of which are herein provided by the examiner and used for citation, hereinafter JP ‘632).
Regarding claim 26, Southard modified by Shi, Tsuruno, and Kashimura discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 24, as set forth above. Southard modified by Shi, Tsuruno, and Kashimura does not specifically disclose wherein the cable conduit includes an extension extending proximally away from a proximal end of the cable conduit along only a bottom side of the cable boot, the extension configured to reinforce the cable boot in keeping the power-and-data cable away from the head portion.
Examiner notes that, as set forth above, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno is further modified by Kashimura, where Kashimura discloses the ultrasound probe further comprising a cable boot (protective member 22) (see, e.g., Para. [0006], [0042], [0098], Para. [0115], and Fig. 2A, where the protective member/boot 22 positions the cable 10 to face away from the distal head portion of the probe, and where the member/boot 22 acts as a protective member that protects both the cable and the terminal of the probe that attaches the probe to the cable from bending pressure being acted upon the cable; also see, e.g., Para. [0139] and Fig. 5; also see, e.g., Para. [0142-0143] and Fig. 7).
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, JP ‘632 discloses wherein the cable conduit (universal cord 15, connector 58) includes an extension (a portion of connector 58) extending proximally away from a proximal end of the cable conduit (15, 58) along only a bottom side of the cable (coaxial cable bunches 36, 42 positioned within universal cord 15; and electric cable cords 17a, 17b), the extension (58) configured to reinforce the cable (36, 42; 17a, 17b) in keeping the power-and-data cable (36, 42; 17a, 17b) away from the head portion of the ultrasound probe (ultrasonic probe 23) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, where the coaxial cable bunches 36, 42 (corresponding to the claimed power-and-data cable) are shown to be positioned within the universal cord 15, such that the universal cord 15 is a tubing/conduit for the coaxial cable bunches 36, 42, and Modified Fig. 7 provided below, where the universal cord 15 and the connector 58 as indicated in Modified Fig. 7 correspond to the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed cable conduit composed of a curved extension extending away from the ultrasonic probe, and Modified Fig. 9 provided below, where the claimed cable conduit (corresponding to the universal cord 15 and the connector 58 as indicated in Modified Fig. 7) includes a portion of the connector 58 as indicated in Modified Fig. 9 (corresponding to the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed extension) that extends away from the curved extension (the remaining portions of the cable conduit as interpreted) only along the bottom side/one side of the cables 36, 42 within the universal cord 15, which keeps the cables 36, 42 within the universal cord 15 and the cables 17 positioned away from the ultrasonic probe 23, as shown in the figures).
Examiner notes that in a case where the universal cord 15 and the connector 58 of JP ‘632 (as indicated in Modified Fig. 7 below corresponding to the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed cable conduit) are included in place of the cable conduit 194 of Southard’s invention (such that the cable conduit 194 of Southard is modified by JP’ 632), then the extension of JP ‘632 (the portion of the connector 58 as indicated in Modified Fig. 9 below corresponding to the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed extension) can be provided in Southard’s invention (such that this combination of Southard, Shi, and Kashimura further modified by JP ‘632 teaches each and every limitation as recited in the claim).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound probe of Southard modified by Shi, Tsuruno, and Kashimura by including wherein the cable conduit includes an extension extending proximally away from a proximal end of the cable conduit along only a bottom side of the cable, the extension configured to reinforce the cable in keeping the power-and-data cable away from the head portion of the ultrasound probe, as disclosed by JP ‘632. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide improved cable management, as demonstrated by Figs. 7 and 9 of JP ‘632.
Modified Fig. 7 of JP ‘632 (annotated by the examiner)
Modified Fig. 9 of JP ‘632 (annotated by the examiner)
Regarding claim 27, Southard modified by Shi, Tsuruno, Kashimura, and JP ‘632 discloses the ultrasound probe of claim 26, as set forth above. Southard modified by Shi, Tsuruno, and Kashimura does not specifically disclose wherein the extension is disposed immediately adjacent an outside surface of the cable boot.
Examiner notes that, as set forth above, Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno is further modified by Kashimura, where Kashimura discloses the ultrasound probe further comprising a cable boot (protective member 22) (see, e.g., Para. [0006], [0042], [0098], Para. [0115], and Fig. 2A, where the protective member/boot 22 positions the cable 10 to face away from the distal head portion of the probe, and where the member/boot 22 acts as a protective member that protects both the cable and the terminal of the probe that attaches the probe to the cable from bending pressure being acted upon the cable; also see, e.g., Para. [0139] and Fig. 5; also see, e.g., Para. [0142-0143] and Fig. 7).
However, in the same field of endeavor of ultrasound imaging, JP ‘632 discloses wherein the extension (a portion of connector 58) is disposed immediately adjacent an outside surface of the cable (coaxial cable bunches 36, 42 positioned within universal cord 15; and electric cable cords 17a, 17b) (see, e.g., Figs. 2-4, where the coaxial cable bunches 36, 42 (corresponding to the claimed power-and-data cable) are shown to be positioned within the universal cord 15, such that the universal cord 15 is a tubing/conduit for the coaxial cable bunches 36, 42, and Modified Fig. 7 provided below, where the universal cord 15 and the connector 58 as indicated in Modified Fig. 7 correspond to the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed cable conduit composed of a curved extension extending away from the ultrasonic probe, and Modified Fig. 9 provided below, where the claimed cable conduit (corresponding to the universal cord 15 and the connector 58 as indicated in Modified Fig. 7) includes a portion of the connector 58 as indicated in Modified Fig. 9 (corresponding to the examiner’s interpretation of the claimed extension) that extends away from the curved extension (the remaining portions of the cable conduit as interpreted) only along the bottom side/one side of the cables 36, 42 within the universal cord 15, which keeps the cables 36, 42 within the universal cord 15 and the cables 17 positioned away from the ultrasonic probe 23, as shown in the figures).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the ultrasound probe of Southard modified by Shi, Tsuruno, and Kashimura by including wherein the extension is disposed immediately adjacent an outside surface of the cable, as disclosed by JP ‘632. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide improved cable management, as demonstrated by Figs. 7 and 9 of JP ‘632.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks filed 03/02/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Southard (WO 2019/055684 A1), Shi (US 2015/0223772 A1), and Tsuruno (JP 2017-042188 A), Applicant argues that Tsuruno does not teach the “latitudinal channel [that] defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side”, as required by independent claim 21; and therefore, Applicant argues that Southard, Shi, and Tsuruno fail to each and every element of independent claim 21.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and emphasizes that Tsuruno does disclose wherein: the latitudinal channel extends entirely across the generally flat surface from a first longitudinal side of the body to a second longitudinal side of the body, the second longitudinal side disposed opposite the first longitudinal side, and the latitudinal channel defines a first open end at the first longitudinal side and a second open end at the second longitudinal side (see, e.g., Tsuruno: Abstract, “the second housing member 12 includes a second groove 121 extending in a second direction, as a suction path”, and Page 4, lines 46-50, “As shown in FIGS. 5 and 6, the second housing member 12 has a plurality of second groove portions 121 on the third surface portion 12 a facing the second surface portion 11 b of the first housing member 11. Similar to the first groove 112, the second groove 121 has a substantially triangular cross section, and is formed to extend linearly in the X direction as the second direction. A plurality of second groove portions 121 are formed in parallel (parallel) to the Y direction”, and Fig. 6, where groove(s) 121 is shown to extend from a first side to a second side of a surface while defining open ends on both the first and second sides).
Examiner emphasizes that in a case where one of the channels/grooves 121 that extends from one side to another and that has open ends on both sides, as taught by Fig. 6 of Tsuruno, replaces/modifies the channel/gel dispenser 708 (i.e., modify the shape of the channel), as taught by Fig. 7 of Shi, then the combination of Southard modified by Shi and Tsuruno discloses each and every limitation as recited in the claim.
Therefore, Examiner emphasizes that the combination of Southard, Shi, and Tsuruno does disclose each and every limitation of the independent claim 21, as set forth above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.D./Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798