DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The Amendment filed April 6, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3, 22, 24, 27 and 30 have been amended; claims 2, 8, 11, 14, 17, 23, 29, and 32 have been cancelled previously; and claims 15-16 and 18-21 have been withdrawn previously. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-13, 15-16, 18-22, 24-28, 30-31 and 33-34 are currently pending and claims 1, 3-7, 9-10, 12-13, 22, 24-28, 30-31 and 33-34 are examined herein.
Status of the Rejection
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome each objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed December 5, 2025.
All 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the Applicant’s amendment.
New grounds of rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103 are necessitated by the amendments as outlined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gratzl et al. (WO2000073784A2), and in view of Yoshida et al. (US20050074869A1), Abdolahad et al. (US20170176414A1), Zhou et al. (Thinking outside the “bug”: a unique assay to measure intracellular drug penetration in gram-negative bacteria, Analytical Chemistry, 2015, 87, 3579-3584), and Attia et al. (Voltammetric monitoring of linezolid, meropenem, and theophylline in plasma, Analytical Biochemistry, 2018, 545, 54-64).
Regarding claim 1, Gratzl teaches a method of determining drug permeability of a cell membrane (an electrochemical method for measuring drug efflux from a cell membrane [Ln 14 on page 9 to Ln 18 on page 10]), the method comprising:
(a) obtaining a biological sample (preparing the cells to be studied [Ln 19 on page 9]; the cell types include cancer cells, …, nerve cells [Ln 7-13 on page 9]);
(b) dispersing at least one cell from the biological sample to a discrete location or attached to a discrete substrate (one or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined [Ln 22-25 on page 32]; cell is positioned on a substrate using hydrophilic regions [Ln 8-9 on page 32]; Fig.7 shows an array 80 of electrochemical cells 82 for simultaneous study of multiple cancer cells [Ln 25-29 on page 15]);
(c) exposing the at least one cell to one member of a drug panel in a drug solution, wherein the drug panel is composed of at least one drug at a concentration (charging [e.g., loading] cells with drugs [Ln 20 on page 9]; for doxorubicin, the drug concentration within 0.1-1.5 µM range is preferred [Ln 1-2 on page 18]; one or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined [Ln 22-25 on page 32]);
(d) incubating the at least one cell from the biological sample in the drug solution for a given time (incubating cells with drugs [Ln 20 on page 9]; the cells are incubated in this drug-containing medium for a sufficient time for the cell or cells to absorb the drug. Typically, for doxorubicin, about 1h at 37 oC is sufficient [Ln 31-33 on page 13]); and
(f) removing the drug solution (after loading/incubating cells with drugs, remove drugs/other chemicals on the cell exterior [Ln 20-25 on page 9]).
Gratzl does not explicitly teach the following limitations: (1) the at least one drug at a plurality of concentrations; (2) obtaining a first electro-analytical measurement of the discrete location adjacent to the at least one cell; (3) removing the drug solution to form a cell free drug solution; and (4) obtaining a second electro-analytical measurement of the cell free drug solution.
Gratzl further teaches one of the least well understood problems in cancer chemotherapy is the eventual resistance of tumor cells to different chemotherapeutic drugs of natural product origin, such as doxorubicin, actinomycin D, vinblastine, vincristine, or colchinine. Increasing the concentrations of one or more of these agents in small consecutive steps results in high- level cross-resistance in such cells to these as well as to many other, chemically unrelated drugs (the 2nd paragraph on page 1). One or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined (Ln 22-25 on page 32).
Abdolahad teaches an electrochemical method for detecting effect of an anticancer drug on cancer cells (abstract), and further teaches the amount of change in electrical current due to the drug treatment may depend on the drug concentration, time of treatment, cells concentration, etc. [para. 0067].
Given the teachings of Gratzl regarding the concentrations of the one or more of these chemotherapeutic drugs affect the cross-resistance in such cells to these drugs; and one or more different drugs were studied to determine the optimum dosage and/or type of drug; and the teachings of Abdolahad regarding the drug concentration affecting drug treatment of cancer cells, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the at least one drug in the drug panel in Gratzl to provide a plurality of concentrations for the at least one drug in the drug panel, since it would allow to increase the concentrations of one or more of these agents (the at least one drug) in small consecutive steps resulting in high- level cross-resistance in such cells to these as well as to many other, chemically unrelated drugs (the 2nd paragraph on page 1 in Gratzl) and determine the optimum dosage of drug for treating the patient’s condition (the 5th paragraph on page 32 in Gratzl).
Modified Gratzl does not explicitly teach the following limitations: (2) obtaining a first electro-analytical measurement of the discrete location adjacent to the at least one cell; (3) removing the drug solution to form a cell free drug solution; and (4) obtaining a second electro-analytical measurement of the cell free drug solution.
Gratzl further teaches obtaining an electro-analytical measurement of the discrete location adjacent to the at least one cell for monitoring efflux from the cells using electrochemical monitoring equipment (steps 4a-4c in Ln27-31 on page 9). The detection methods are not limited to drug efflux, but can also be used for studying chemical influx. For example the movement of a chemical into a cell can be studies by immersing a cell in a culture medium containing the chemical and studying the increase in the chemical within the cell (Ln 3-7 on page 10). Such an arrangement can be used for studying efflux, influx, or influx and efflux simultaneously by using both internal and external electrodes/sensors (Ln 3-7 on page 24). The sensors may be spaced, for example to allow for study of variations in drug transport on the tissue level (Fig.14; Ln 32-35 on page 25).
Yoshida teaches a platform 33 employing electrochemical or optical means for studies of drug uptake and/or efflux of the cells. Drug uptake studies may include delivering a drug or other chemical of interest to the liquid medium or immersing the platform in a solution containing the drug, and studying uptake by the cells. Drug efflux (drug egress) studies may be carried out in a similar manner, but including further steps of removing the platform from the drug containing liquid after uptake has occurred and optionally washing the platform with a fresh, drug-free liquid to remove excess drug from the exterior of the cells. Efflux is then detected after placing the platform with the drug-containing cells in a fresh, drug-free liquid [para. 0062]. Thus, Yoshida teaches drug uptake and drug efflux of cells wherein the cells are, respectively, immersed in the drug solution and in a fresh drug-free liquid in the drug uptake and drug efflux studies.
Abdolahad teaches an electrochemical method for detecting effect of an anticancer drug on cancer cells, including: culturing a plurality of cancer cells to form cultured cells, attaching the cultured cells onto an array of silicon nanowires (SiNWs) electrodes, adding an anticancer drug to the attached cells onto the array of electrodes to form drug-treated cells, measuring a second electrochemical response of the drug-treated cells (abstract, Fig.3, [para. 0060]). Step 305- measuring a second electrochemical response of the drug-treated cells corresponds to the claimed step (e) of obtaining a first electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell treated with the drug solution.
Given the teachings of Gratzl regarding the detection methods are not limited to drug efflux, but can also be used for studying chemical influx, and the electrochemical monitoring equipment can be used for studying efflux, influx, or influx and efflux simultaneously by using both internal and external electrodes/sensors; the teachings of Yoshida regarding drug uptake is detected by electrochemical or optical means after placing the cells in a drug solution [para. 0062, 0064 ]; and the teachings of Abdolahad regarding measuring an electrochemical response of the drug-treated cells to determine the effect of the drug on the cells (steps 304, 305, and 306 in Fig.3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in modified Gratzl by adding the step of obtaining a first electro-analytical measurement of the discrete location adjacent to the at least one cell, as taught by combined Gratzl, Yoshida, and Abdolahad, since it would allow for rapid screening of new drugs, and the uptake/efflux by cells/cell population (Ln 7-8 on page 32 in Gratzl); and would allow to study drug uptake by using the same platform for drug efflux [para. 0062 in Yoshida] and determine the effect of the anticancer drug on the cancer cells [para. 0060, 0066 in Abdolahad].
Modified Gratzl does not explicitly teach the following limitations: (3) removing the drug solution to form a cell free drug solution; and (4) obtaining a second electro-analytical measurement of the cell free drug solution.
Zhou teaches: removing the drug solution to form a cell free drug solution (after incubation, the samples were centrifuged and the supernatants of the samples were collected for direct LC-MS analysis [Fig.1 and Preparation of Cells in Col.1 on page 3580]. The supernatant is deemed as the cell free drug solution), and obtaining a second measurement of the cell free drug solution (the supernatants of the samples were collected for direct LC-MS analysis [Fig.1; Preparation of Cells and Instrumentation: HPLC-MS in Col.1 on page 3580]; the change of the drug amount in the extracellular space can be calculated as Eq.2, wherein Cblank and Cex refer to the concentration of the blank control without cells and the concentration measurement of the supernatant after incubation; the concentration of linezolid in the supernatant was determined using the LC-MS method [Calculation of intracellular accumulation of the compound on page 3581; the 2nd paragraph in Col. 2 on page 3581]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in modified Gratzl by adding the steps of: removing the drug solution to from a cell free drug solution (supernatant after incubation), and obtaining a second measurement of the cell free drug solution (obtaining the drug concentration in the supernatant after incubation), as taught by Zhou, since it would allow to determine the change of the drug amount in the extracellular space (Calculation of intracellular accumulation of the compound on page 3581 in Zhou).
Zhou further teaches wherein the drug concentration of linezolid in the supernatant was measured by LC-MS instead of electro-analytical measurement (the 2nd paragraph in Col. 2 on page 3581). Thus, Modified Gratzl is silent to “electro-analytical” measurement of the cell free drug solution.
Gratzl teaches electro-analytical measurement of the drug concentration of doxorubicin (Fig.16 and Ln 3-5 on page 8).
Attia teaches electro-analytical measurement of the drug concentration of linezolid (title, abstract, Figs. 1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the electrochemical technique instead of the LC-MS technique to measure the drug concentration of the supernatant, as taught by both Gratzl and Attia, since the square wave voltammetric method would provide simple, accurate, precise, sensitive and cost-effective approach to determine drug concentration (Conclusion in Attia; Fig.16 and Ln 3-5 on page 8 in Gratzl).
Regarding claim 3, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 1, and Gratzl teaches wherein the method further comprises adding a drug-less solution to the at least one cell (after loading/incubating cells with drugs, washing cells to remove drugs/other chemicals on the cell exterior, and immersing cells in test [efflux] medium [Ln 20-25 on page 9]; one suitable efflux medium comprises NaCl 140 mM, KCl 5.4 mM, Hepes 5.5 mM, CaCl2 2.5 mM, MgCl2 0.5 mM and glucose 11 mM adjusted to pH 7.4 witth 1 M NaOH [Ln 24-26 on page 10]; drug-free efflux medium [Ln 21-23 on page 34]. The drug-free efflux medium is deemed as the claimed drug-less solution) and incubating the at least one cell from the biological sample in the drug-less solution for a given time (preconcentration of effluxed drug at the electrode surface [step 4a in Ln 27-29 on page 9]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 3, and Gratzl teaches wherein the method further comprises obtaining at least one further electro-analytical measurement of the discrete location adjacent to the at least one cell (Figs.1-2 show obtaining electro-analytical measurement of the discrete location adjacent the at least one cell 14; the working electrode 20, 50 is positioned in the efflux medium 28 at a selected distance from the cell 14 in the range of 0.5 – 2 µm [the 3rd paragraph on page 12]; measuring signals corresponding to drug concentration in step 4b of monitoring efflux from the cells using electrochemical monitoring equipment [Ln 27-30 on page 9]).
Regarding claim 5, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 1, and Gratzl teaches wherein the at least one drug is an electro-active drug (a selected electroactive drug 26, such as doxorubicin [Ln 17 on page 10]; Doxorubicin [also called Adriamycin], and some other anticancer drugs are "electroactive" [Ln 9-10 on page 4]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 1, and Gratzl teaches wherein the at least one drug is an anticancer drug (Doxorubicin [also called Adriamycin], and some other anticancer drugs are "electroactive" [Ln 9-10 on page 4]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 6, and Gratzl teaches wherein the at least one drug is one or more of the following: doxorubicin or daunorubicin (a selected electroactive drug 26, such as doxorubicin [Ln 17 on page 10]; the anticancer drug used in this latter was daunorubicin whose structure is very similar to doxorubicin [the 4th paragraph on page 26]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 1, and Gratzl teaches wherein the drug panel is comprised of multiple drugs (one or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined [Ln 22-25 on page 32]; for doxorubicin, the drug concentration within 0.1-1.5 µM range is preferred [Ln 1-2 on page 18]).
Gratzl is silent to wherein the multiple drugs each at a variety of concentrations.
Gratzl further teaches one of the least well understood problems in cancer chemotherapy is the eventual resistance of tumor cells to different chemotherapeutic drugs of natural product origin, such as doxorubicin, actinomycin D, vinblastine, vincristine, or colchinine. Increasing the concentrations of one or more of these agents in small consecutive steps results in high- level cross-resistance in such cells to these as well as to many other, chemically unrelated drugs (the 2nd paragraph on page 1). One or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined (Ln 22-25 on page 32).
Abdolahad teaches the amount of change in electrical current due to the drug treatment may depend on the drug concentration, time of treatment, cells concentration, etc. [para. 0067].
Given the teachings of Gratzl regarding the concentrations of the one or more of these chemotherapeutic drugs affect the cross-resistance in such cells to these drugs; and one or more different drugs were studied to determine the optimum dosage and/or type of drug; and the teachings of Abdolahad regarding the drug concentration affecting drug treatment of the cancer cells, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drug panel in modified Gratzl to provide a variety of concentrations for each drug of the multiple drugs in the drug panel, since it would allow to check the cross-resistance in the tumor cells to different chemotherapeutic drugs (the 2nd paragraph on page 1 in Gratzl) and determine the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition (the 5th paragraph on page 32 in Gratzl).
Regarding claim 10, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 1, and Gratzl teaches wherein the biological sample comprises a cancer biopsy from a patient (a biopsy is performed on the patient to obtain cancer or other cells to be treated [the 5th paragraph on page 32]).
Regarding claim 12, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first or second electro-analytical measurement is made by one or more of the following: cyclic voltammetry (CV) or differential pulse voltammetry (DPV) (the first electrochemical responses may be for example, a cyclic voltammetry (CV) assay or a differential pulse voltammetry (DPV) response [para. 0068 in Abdolahad]; Attia teaches wherein the second electro-analytical measurement comprises CV [Electrochemical behavior of LIN and Fig.1]).
Regarding claim 13, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 5, and Gratzl teaches wherein electrode is optimized for the electro-active drug or electro-active drugs at the discrete location (a cylindrical carbon fiber microelectrode has been used to monitor doxorubicin efflux from AUXB1 and CHRC5 cell monolayers. The electrodes were found to be more stable and the signal was larger when doxorubicin reduction was used. Due to strong adsorption of the drug molecules onto the electrode surface, adsorption preconcentration could be employed to enhance the signal, i.e., the respective adsorption peak. By applying special electrochemical pretreatment, cleaning, and preconcentration protocols, doxorubicin concentrations down to 0.1 μM [in buffer with no live cells] could be detected [the 3rd paragraph on page 4]; between efflux measurements, the electrode is electrochemically preconditioned to regenerate the electrode surface and a preconcentration step is preferably carried out to preconcentrate the drug at the electrode surface to enhance the strength of the signal [Ln 10-13 on page 13]. Thus, Gratzl teaches wherein electrode is optimized for the electro-active drug).
Claims 22, 24-28, 30-31, and 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gratzl et al. (WO2000073784A2), and in view of Yoshida et al. (US20050074869A1), Abdolahad et al. (US20170176414A1), Lee et al. (Lab-free detection of single living bacteria via electrochemical collision event, Scientific Reports, 2016, 6, 30022), Zhou et al. (Thinking outside the “bug”: a unique assay to measure intracellular drug penetration in gram-negative bacteria, Analytical Chemistry, 2015, 87, 3579-3584), and Attia et al. (Voltammetric monitoring of linezolid, meropenem, and theophylline in plasma, Analytical Biochemistry, 2018, 545, 54-64).
Regarding claim 22, Gratzl teaches a method of determining membrane permeability of a cell to a drug (an electrochemical method for measuring drug efflux from a cell or cells [Ln 14 on page 9 to Ln 2 on page 10]), the method comprising:
(a) obtaining a biological sample (preparing the cells to be studied [Ln 19 on page 9]; the cell types include cancer cells, …, nerve cells [Ln 7-13 on page 9]);
(b) dispersing at least one cell from the biological sample to a surface or attached to a surface (one or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined [Ln 22-25 on page 32]; cell is positioned on a substrate using hydrophilic regions [Ln 8-9 on page 32]; Fig.7 shows an array 80 of electrochemical cells 82 for simultaneous study of multiple cancer cells [Ln 25-27 on page 15]) ;
(c) exposing the at least one cell to a drug solution, wherein the drug solution has a given drug concentration (charging [e.g., loading] cells with drugs [Ln 20 on page 9]; for doxorubicin, the drug concentration within 0.1-1.5 µM range is preferred [Ln 1-2 on page 18]);
(d) incubating the at least one cell from the biological sample in the drug solution for a given time (incubating cells with drugs [Ln 20 on page 9]; the cells are incubated in this drug-containing medium for a sufficient time for the cell or cells to absorb the drug. Typically, for doxorubicin, about 1h at 37 oC is sufficient [Ln 31-33 on page 13]); and
(f) removing the drug solution (after loading/incubating cells with drugs, washing cells to remove drugs/other chemicals on the cell exterior [Ln 20-25 on page 9]).
Gratzl is silent to the following limitations: (1) obtaining a first electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell by impact chemistry (IC), whereby the at least one cell from the biological sample is made to collide with an electrode; (2) removing the drug solution to form a cell free drug solution; and (3) obtaining a second electro-analytical measurement of the cell free drug solution.
Gratzl further teaches obtaining an electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell for monitoring efflux from the cells using electrochemical monitoring equipment (steps 4a-4c in Ln27-31 on page 9). The detection methods are not limited to drug efflux, but can also be used for studying chemical influx. For example the movement of a chemical into a cell can be studies by immersing a cell in a culture medium containing the chemical and studying the increase in the chemical within the cell (Ln 3-7 on page 10). Such an arrangement can be used for studying efflux, influx, or influx and efflux simultaneously by using both internal and external electrodes/sensors (Ln 3-7 on page 24). The sensors may be spaced, for example to allow for study of variations in drug transport on the tissue level (Fig.14; Ln 32-35 on page 25).
Yoshida teaches a platform 33 employing electrochemical or optical means for studies of drug uptake and/or efflux of the cells. Drug uptake studies may include delivering a drug or other chemical of interest to the liquid medium or immersing the platform in a solution containing the drug, and studying uptake by the cells. Drug efflux (drug egress) studies may be carried out in a similar manner, but including further steps of removing the platform from the drug containing liquid after uptake has occurred and optionally washing the platform with a fresh, drug-free liquid to remove excess drug from the exterior of the cells. Efflux is then detected after placing the platform with the drug-containing cells in a fresh, drug-free liquid [para. 0062]. Thus, Yoshida teaches drug uptake and drug efflux of cells wherein the cells are, respectively, immersed in the drug solution and in a fresh drug-free liquid in the drug uptake and drug efflux studies.
Abdolahad teaches an electrochemical method for detecting effect of an anticancer drug on cancer cells, including: culturing a plurality of cancer cells to form cultured cells, attaching the cultured cells onto an array of silicon nanowires (SiNWs) electrodes, adding an anticancer drug to the attached cells onto the array of electrodes to form drug-treated cells, measuring a second electrochemical response of the drug-treated cells (abstract, Fig.3, [para. 0060]). Step 305- measuring a second electrochemical response of the drug-treated cells corresponds to the claimed step (e) of obtaining a first electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell treated with the drug solution.
Given the teachings of Gratzl regarding the detection methods are not limited to drug efflux, but can also be used for studying chemical influx, and the electrochemical monitoring equipment can be used for studying efflux, influx, or influx and efflux simultaneously by using both internal and external electrodes/sensors; the teachings of Yoshida regarding drug uptake is detected by electrochemical or optical means after placing the cells in a drug solution [para. 0062, 0064 ]; and the teachings of Abdolahad regarding measuring an electrochemical response of the drug-treated cells to determine the effect of the drug on the cells (steps 304, 305, and 306 in Fig.3), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in Gratzl by adding the step of obtaining a first electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell, as taught by combined Gratzl, Yoshida, and Abdolahad, since it would allow for rapid screening of new drugs, and the uptake/efflux by cells/cell population (Ln 7-8 on page 32 in Gratzl); and would allow to study drug uptake by using the same platform for drug efflux [para. 0062 in Yoshida] and determine the effect of the anticancer drug on the cancer cells [para. 0060, 0066 in Abdolahad].
Modified Gratzl is silent to: (1) wherein the first electro-analytical measurement is obtained by impact chemistry (IC), whereby the at least one cell from the biological sample is made to collide with an electrode; (2) removing the drug solution to form a cell free drug solution; and (3) obtaining a second electro-analytical measurement of the cell free drug solution.
Lee teaches detecting single living bacterial cells on ultramicroelectrode (UME) using a single-particle collision method. The number of collision events involving the bacterial cells indicated in current-time (i-t) curves corresponds to the number of bacterial cells (i.e., Escherichia coli) on the UME surface. This single-particle collision approach facilitates detecting living bacteria and determining their concentration in solution and could be widely applied to studying other bacteria and biomolecules (abstract, Fig.1). The negatively charged E. coli is attracted to the UME surface through electrophoretic migration. When an E. coli collides with and then attaches to the UME surface, the level of the steady-state current decreases immediately because the flux of the redox species is blocked by the E. coli. Therefore, a staircase current response is observed (Fig. 1, the 1st paragraph on page 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrochemical method of measuring the first electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell treated by the drug solution in modified Gratzl to obtain the first electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell by impact chemistry (IC), whereby the at least one cell from the biological sample is made to collide with an electrode, as taught by Lee, since this single-particle collision approach would facilitate detecting the properties of single cell after separation and/or attachment onto the UME surface (abstract and conclusions in Lee).
Modified Gratzl does not explicitly teach the following limitations: (2) removing the drug solution to form a cell free drug solution; and (3) obtaining a second electro-analytical measurement of the cell free drug solution.
Zhou teaches: removing the drug solution to form a cell free drug solution (after incubation, the samples were centrifuged and the supernatants of the samples were collected for direct LC-MS analysis [Fig.1 and Preparation of Cells in Col.1 on page 3580]. The supernatant is deemed as the cell free drug solution), and obtaining a second measurement of the cell free drug solution (the supernatants of the samples were collected for direct LC-MS analysis [Fig.1; Preparation of Cells and Instrumentation: HPLC-MS in Col.1 on page 3580]; the change of the drug amount in the extracellular space can be calculated as Eq.2, wherein Cblank and Cex refer to the concentration of the blank control without cells and the concentration measurement of the supernatant after incubation; the concentration of linezolid in the supernatant was determined using the LC-MS method [Calculation of intracellular accumulation of the compound on page 3581; the 2nd paragraph in Col. 2 on page 3581]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method in modified Gratzl by adding the steps of: removing the drug solution to from a cell free drug solution (supernatant after incubation), and obtaining a second measurement of the cell free drug solution (obtaining the drug concentration in the supernatant after incubation), as taught by Zhou, since it would allow to determine the change of the drug amount in the extracellular space (Calculation of intracellular accumulation of the compound on page 3581 in Zhou).
Zhou further teaches wherein the drug concentration of linezolid in the supernatant was measured by LC-MS instead of electro-analytical measurement (the 2nd paragraph in Col. 2 on page 3581). Thus, Modified Gratzl is silent to “electro-analytical” measurement of the cell free drug solution.
Gratzl teaches electro-analytical measurement of the drug concentration of doxorubicin (Fig.16 and Ln 3-5 on page 8).
Attia teaches electro-analytical measurement of the drug concentration of linezolid (title, abstract, Figs.1 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the electrochemical technique instead of the LC-MS technique to measure the drug concentration of the supernatant, as taught by both Gratzl and Attia, since the square wave voltammetric method would provide simple, accurate, precise, sensitive and cost-effective approach to determine drug concentration (Conclusion in Attia; Fig.16 and Ln 3-5 on page 8 in Gratzl).
Regarding claim 24, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 22, and Gratzl teaches wherein the method further comprises adding a drug-less solution to the at least one cell (after loading/incubating cells with drugs, washing cells to remove drugs/other chemicals on the cell exterior, and immersing cells in test [efflux] medium [Ln 20-25 on page 9]; one suitable efflux medium comprises NaCl 140 mM, KCl 5.4 mM, Hepes 5.5 mM, CaCl2 2.5 mM, MgCl2 0.5 mM and glucose 11 mM adjusted to pH 7.4 witth 1 M NaOH [Ln 24-26 on page 10]; drug-free efflux medium [Ln 21-23 on page 34]. The drug-free efflux medium is deemed as the claimed drug-less solution) and incubating the at least one cell from the biological sample in the drug-less solution for a given time (preconcentration of effluxed drug at the electrode surface [step 4a in Ln 27-29 on page 9]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 24, and Gratzl teaches wherein the method further comprises obtaining at least one further electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell from the biological sample (Figs.1-2 show obtaining electro-analytical measurement of the at least one cell 14; the working electrode 20, 50 is positioned in the efflux medium 28 at a selected distance from the cell 14 in the range of 0.5 – 2 µm [the 3rd paragraph on page 12]; measuring signals corresponding to drug concentration in step 4b of monitoring efflux from the cells using electrochemical monitoring equipment [Ln 27-30 on page 9]).
Regarding claim 26, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 22, and Gratzl teaches wherein the drug is an electro-active drug (a selected electroactive drug 26, such as doxorubicin [Ln 17 on page 10]; Doxorubicin [also called Adriamycin], and some other anticancer drugs are "electroactive" [Ln 9-10 on page 4]).
Regarding claim 27, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 22, and Gratzl teaches wherein the drug is an anticancer drug (Doxorubicin [also called Adriamycin], and some other anticancer drugs are "electroactive" [Ln 9-10 on page 4]).
Regarding claim 28, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 27, and Gratzl teaches wherein the drug is one or more of the following: doxorubicin or daunorubicin (a selected electroactive drug 26, such as doxorubicin [Ln 17 on page 10]; the anticancer drug used in this latter was daunorubicin whose structure is very similar to doxorubicin [the 4th paragraph on page 26]).
Regarding claim 30, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 22, and Gratzl teaches wherein the dispersing of the at least one cell from the biological sample to the surface or attached to the surface a drug panel is repeated on multiple discrete surfaces (multiple cancer cells 14 or groups of cancer cells using an array 80 of electrochemical cells 82 in Fig.7. A single cell 14, or a population of cells, is positioned in each of the wells on a hydrophilic area 96 [Ln 25 on page 15 to Ln 2 on page 16]; charging [e.g., loading] cells with drugs [Ln 20 on page 9]; for doxorubicin, the drug concentration within 0.1-1.5 µM range is preferred [Ln 1-2 on page 18]; one or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined [Ln 22-25 on page 32]. Thus a drug panel is repeated on multiple discrete surfaces of the wells of the electrochemical cells 82) so that multiple drugs are available (provision of in-situ monitoring of drugs [Ln 23-24 on page 6]; one or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined [Ln 22-25 on page 32]) .
Modified Gratzl further teaches a variety of concentrations for the drug of doxorubicin (doxorubicin of fixed concentrations of 0.2, 0.5 and 1 μM [the 3rd paragraph on page 35 in Gratzl]) available for IC electro-analytical measurement (Lee teaches the IC electro-analytical measurement, as outlined in the rejection of claim 22 above).
Gratzl is silent to wherein the multiple drugs at a variety of concentrations or combinations of drugs each at a variety of concentrations.
Gratzl further teaches one of the least well understood problems in cancer chemotherapy is the eventual resistance of tumor cells to different chemotherapeutic drugs of natural product origin, such as doxorubicin, actinomycin D, vinblastine, vincristine, or colchinine. Increasing the concentrations of one or more of these agents in small consecutive steps results in high- level cross-resistance in such cells to these as well as to many other, chemically unrelated drugs (the 2nd paragraph on page 1). One or more of the cells are deposited on a substrate and one or more different drugs studied, and the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition is determined [Ln 22-25 on page 32].
Abdolahad teaches an electrochemical method for detecting effect of an anticancer drug on cancer cells (abstract), and further teaches the amount of change in electrical current due to the drug treatment may depend on the drug concentration, time of treatment, cells concentration, etc. [para. 0067].
Given the teachings of Gratzl regarding the concentrations of the one or more of these chemotherapeutic drugs affect the cross-resistance in such cells to these drugs; and one or more different drugs were studied to determine the optimum dosage and/or type of drug; and the teachings of Abdolahad regarding the drug concentration affecting drug treatment of cancer cells, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the drug panel in modified Gratzl to provide a variety of concentrations for each drug of the multiple drugs in the drug panel, since it would allow to check the cross-resistance in the tumor cells to different chemotherapeutic drugs (the 2nd paragraph on page 1 in Gratzl) and determine the optimum dosage and/or type of drug for treating the patient’s condition (the 5th paragraph on page 32 in Gratzl).
Regarding claim 31, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 22, and Gratzl teaches wherein the biological sample comprises a cancer biopsy from a patient (a biopsy is performed on the patient to obtain cancer or other cells to be treated [the 5th paragraph on page 32]).
Regarding claim 33, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 22, wherein the electrode is a wire electrode (the IC electrode used in Lee is a carbon fiber ultramicroelectrode [section of preparation of C-UMEs on page 5; Fig.1 in Lee], which is a wire electrode. Examiner notes the working electrode 20 in Fig.1 of Gratzl is also a carbon fiber microdiskelectrode [Ln 15-16 on page 10 in Gratzl], which is a wire electrode).
Regarding claim 34, modified Gratzl teaches the method of claim 26, wherein the electrode is optimized for the electro-active drug (the IC electrode used in Lee is a carbon fiber ultramicroelectrode [section of preparation of C-UMEs on page 5; Fig.1 in Lee]; the working electrode 20 in Fig.1 of Gratzl is also a carbon fiber microdiskelectrode [Ln 15-16 on page 10 in Gratzl]. Gratzl further teaches a cylindrical carbon fiber microelectrode has been used to monitor doxorubicin efflux from AUXB1 and CHRC5 cell monolayers. The electrodes were found to be more stable and the signal was larger when doxorubicin reduction was used. Due to strong adsorption of the drug molecules onto the electrode surface, adsorption preconcentration could be employed to enhance the signal, i.e., the respective adsorption peak. By applying special electrochemical pretreatment, cleaning, and preconcentration protocols, doxorubicin concentrations down to 0.1 μM [in buffer with no live cells] could be detected [the 3rd paragraph on page 4]; between efflux measurements, the electrode is electrochemically preconditioned to regenerate the electrode surface and a preconcentration step is preferably carried out to preconcentrate the drug at the electrode surface to enhance the strength of the signal [Ln 10-13 on page 13]. Thus, Gratzl teaches wherein the electrode, which is essentially the same as the IC electrode of Lee, is optimized for the electro-active drug of doxorubicin).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks Pgs. 10-23, filed 4/6/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejections have been fully considered, and all prior art rejections from the previous office action are withdrawn in view of the amendment.
Applicant’s Argument #1:
Regarding the 103 rejections, applicant argues at pages 10-23 that pending Claims 1 and 22 are amended to recite "and (g) obtaining a second electro-analytical measurement of the cell free drug solution." The cited references alone or in combination fail to teach the above limitation. In view of the above amendments and remarks, the Office is respectfully requested to reconsider and withdraw the rejection of Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 10, 12 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly being unpatentable over Gratzl, in view of Yoshida and Abdolahad, and similarly, the rejection of Claims 22, 24-28, 30, 31, 33, and 34 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as unpatentable over Gratzl, in view of Yoshida, Abdolahad, and Lee.
Examiner’s Response #1:
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejections for claims 1 and 22 above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIZHI QIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1795