DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakazato (Publication No.: JP2017191298A) cited by applicant.
Regarding claim 5, Nakazato teaches an optical combiner, comprising a first fiber structure (reference numeral 12 in Figure 5) and a second fiber structure (reference numeral 11 in Figure 5), wherein the first fiber structure and the second fiber structure are composed of the fiber structure according to claim 1, wherein in the first fiber structure, the covering part (reference numeral 20 in Figure 5) and the strand exposed part (reference numeral 12 in Figure 5) have a plurality of the optical fiber strands (reference numeral 16(18) in Figure 5), wherein in the second fiber structure, the covering part (reference numeral 20 in Figure 5) and the strand exposed part (reference numeral 11 in Figure 5) have one optical fiber strand (reference numeral 15(17) in Figure 5) , and wherein an end face of the strand exposed part of the first fiber structure and an end face of the strand exposed part of the second fiber structure are fusion-spliced (reference numeral 19 in Figure 5; “fused” “fusion” throughout the specification).
Regarding claim 7, Nakazato teaches The optical combiner according to claim 5, further comprising: a housing part (reference numeral 21 in Figure 5) housing the first fiber structure and the second fiber structure, a first fixing part (reference numeral 40B in Figure 8) fixing the first fiber structure to the housing part, and a second fixing part (reference numeral 40A in Figure 7) fixing the second fiber structure to the housing part, wherein in the first fiber structure, the first fixing part is adhered to the sealing part (reference numeral 42B in Figure 8), wherein in the second fiber structure, the second fixing part is adhered to the sealing part (reference numeral 42A in Figure 8), and wherein the first fixing part and the second fixing part each have an adhesive strength larger than that of the sealing part with respect to the housing part (e.g. by virtue of the fact that Nakazato’s fixing parts “surrounds the entire outer periphery” as in paragraph 0034, thus a larger portion of the fixing parts are adhered to the housing part).
Regarding claim 8, Nakazato teaches The optical combiner according to claim 5, wherein the sealing part (reference numeral 42B in Figure 6) of the first fiber structure is fixed to the housing part (reference numeral 21, 10 in Figure 6) , and the sealing part (reference numeral 42A in Figure 6) of the second fiber structure is fixed to the housing part (reference numeral 21, 10 in Figure 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazato in view of Fujita (JP2017191261A).
Regarding claim Regarding claim 6, Nakazato teaches The optical combiner according to claim 5, but fails to specifically teach that the sealing part has a Young's modulus of 10 MPa or less. However, Fujita teaches that utilization of a sealing part having a Young's modulus of 10 MPa or less is well known in the art (paragraph [0027]). One skilled in the art would have been motivated to utilize a sealing part having a Young's modulus of 10 MPa or less in order to fix a lid portion on a fiber accommodation portion (paragraph [0027] of Fujita). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one skilled in the art to utilize a sealing part having a Young's modulus of 10 MPa in Nakazato as taught by Fujita.
Conclusion
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635