DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5 and 9-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (KR-20190057923-A) (see US-20200259169-A1 for translation), and in further view of Peng (Yueying Peng, Bing Li, Yunhui Wang, Xinyi He, Jianxing Huang, and Jinbao Zhao ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces 2017 9 (5), 4397-4403 DOI: 10.1021/acsami.6b06890).
Regarding claim 1, Cho discloses a positive electrode for a lithium-sulfur battery (see e.g., Cho; [0027], [0032], regarding sulfur positive electrode and method of manufacturing sulfur composite for the positive electrode), the positive electrode comprising a current collector and a positive electrode active material layer disposed on at least one side of the current collector (see e.g., Cho; [0069]),
wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises a positive electrode active material (see e.g., Cho; [0030], [0035] regarding sulfur-carbon composite), wherein the positive electrode active material consists of a sulfur-carbon composite (see e.g., Cho; [0030], [0035]),
wherein the sulfur-carbon composite comprises a porous carbon material that provides a framework in which sulfur is fixed (see e.g., Cho; [0035], regarding porous carbon material providing a skeleton to which sulfur can be uniformly and stably fixed),
wherein the sulfur-carbon composite comprises the porous carbon material and the sulfur in at least a portion of inner and outer surfaces of the porous carbon material (see e.g., Cho; [0035], regarding porous carbon material in which sulfur is fixed; the porous carbon has pores as described in [0036], [0051] in which sulfur is impregnated within the carbon pores; [0056] further describing the sulfur at least partly inside and on the surface of the porous carbon material which corresponds with inner and outer surfaces).
Cho does not explicitly disclose wherein the positive electrode active material layer comprises an additive, and the additive comprises a transition metal-ferrocyanide compound, wherein the transition metal-ferrocyanide compound is contained in the positive electrode active material layer in an amount of 1 to 20% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total of the positive electrode active material layer.
However, Peng discloses Prussian blue which is applied in the context of lithium-sulfur batteries wherein a sulfur-Prussian blue composite, AB, and PVDF are fabricated for a cell (see e.g., Peng; page 2 “Cell Fabrication and Electrochemical Measurement”). The Prussian blue material disclosed by Peng corresponds to the claimed additive comprising a transition metal-ferrocyanide compound. Peng further discloses the sulfur-Prussian blue composite are formed in weight ratios of 95:5, 92:8, and 90:10 (see e.g., Peng; page 2 “sample synthesis”), wherein the active material layer comprises of 70% of the sulfur-Prussian blue composite (see e.g., Peng; page 2 “Cell Fabrication and Electrochemical Measurement”). Therefore, Peng discloses that the amount of Prussian blue corresponding to the claimed transition metal-ferrocyanide compound is contained in the positive electrode active material layer in weight percents of 3.5%, 5.6%, and 7%, which overlaps with the claimed range of 1 to 20% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total positive electrode active material layer. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added Prussian blue in 3.5, 5.6, or 7 wt% to the positive electrode active material layer of Cho in order to adsorb polysulfides which improves electrochemical reaction kinetics, betters cycle-life and rate performance (see e.g., Peng; page 2).
Regarding claim 2, modified Cho teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1. As above regarding claim 1, modified Cho with Peng teaches wherein the transition metal-ferrocyanide compound is Prussian blue, which is iron (III) ferrocyanide, which corresponds with the claimed transition metal-ferrocyanide compound comprising at least one selected from the group consisting of iron (III) ferrocyanide, cobalt (II) ferrocyanide, nickel (II) ferrocyanide, copper (II) ferrocyanide, and zinc (II) ferrocyanide.
Regarding claim 3, modified Cho teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1. As above regarding claim 1, modified Cho with Peng teaches wherein the transition metal-ferrocyanide compound is Prussian blue, which is iron (III) ferrocyanide as claimed.
Regarding claim 4, modified Cho teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1. Cho does not explicitly disclose that the metal-ferrocyanide compound has a water content of 10% by weight or less. However, Peng states that the preparation process of the Prussian blue particles involve multiple rounds of vacuum oven drying at 60 degrees Celsius for 12 hours (see e.g., Peng; “Experimental Section”). The drying process is described as part of a typical procedure to prepare Prussian blue because the as-synthesized PB nanoparticles were first washed with deionized water and alcohol. Subsequent drying steps resulted in a Prussian blue composite active material that is coated onto aluminum foil with a doctor blade, and another drying step such that the coin cell can be assembled (see e.g., Peng; “Experimental Section”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to dried the Prussian blue material disclosed by Peng to a water content of 10% by weight or less in order to improve chemical adsorption for polysulfides, improve electrochemical reaction kinetics, and improve cycle -life and rate performance of lithium-sulfur batteries (see e.g., Peng; page 2).
The Courts have held that "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955)". See MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 5, modified Cho teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1. Cho does not explicitly disclose wherein the transition metal-ferrocyanide compound has a lattice structure, and is vacuum-dried to remove moisture in the lattice structure. However, in the same modification as above regarding claim 1 with Peng, Peng also teaches that the Prussian blue compound, which has a lattice structure as a property of the material, is vacuum dried (see e.g., Peng; Experimental Section "Sample Synthesis" and "Cell Fabrication and Electrochemical Measurement"). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had the Prussian-blue vacuum dried as disclosed by Peng in order to improve chemical adsorption for polysulfides, improve electrochemical reaction kinetics, and improve cycle -life and rate performance of lithium-sulfur batteries (see e.g., Peng; page 2).
Regarding claim 9, modified Cho teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1. Cho further discloses wherein the porous carbon material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of graphite, graphene, carbon black, carbon nanotubes, carbon fibers, graphite and activated carbon (see e.g., Cho; [0060]).
Regarding claim 10, modified Cho teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1. Cho further discloses wherein the sulfur comprise at least one selected from the group consisting of inorganic sulfur, Li2Sn where n≥1, disulfide compounds, organosulfur compounds, and carbon-sulfur polymers (C2Sx)n where x=2.5 to 50, and n≥2 (see e.g., Cho; [0061]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Cho teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1. Cho further discloses wherein the sulfur to carbon weight ratio is preferably 8:2 to 7:3 (see e.g., Cho; [0062]), which is 70-80 wt% of sulfur, which falls within the claimed range wherein the sulfur is contained in an amount of 65 to 90% by weight based on 100% by weight of the total of the sulfur-carbon composite.
Regarding claim 12, modified Cho teaches the positive electrode according to claim 1. Cho further discloses wherein a loading amount of sulfur in the composite may be 1 mg/cm2 to 20 mg/cm2 (see e.g., Cho; [0066]), which overlaps with the claimed loading amount of sulfur of 6 to 8 mg/cm2.
MPEP 2144.05 I states that 'In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)'."
Regarding claim 13, modified Cho teaches a lithium-sulfur battery comprising the positive electrode according to claim 1; a negative electrode; and an electrolyte (see e.g., Cho; [0108]-[0109], regarding test example wherein the positive electrode, lithium foil as negative electrode, and electrolyte are prepared for a coin cell battery, see also [0083]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728