DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant claims are the national stage entry of PCT/CN2020/100525 filed 7 July 2020. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of foreign priority to foreign application CN202010011513.8 filed 6 January 2020. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e). Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application. The effective filing date of the instant claims is thus 7 July 2020.
Examiner’s Note
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 23 September 2025 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application. In the Applicant’s response, filed 23 September 2025, it is noted that claims 1-4, 6-7, 10-12, and 16-19 have been amended and find support throughout the specification. No new matter or claims have been added.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-8 and 10-19 are pending.
Claim 7-8 and 10 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 and 11-19 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Instant claims 6 and 16-19 recite “…alginate derivatives… gelatin derivatives… collagen derivatives… hyaluronic acid derivatives…” and several additional derivatives of recited agents. The generic term "derivatives" encompass a potentially large groups of compounds; there is no disclosure of this term that would permit the determination of which compounds are within the scope of these compounds, what portion of the molecule, if any, is retained in common with the elected compound, which properties, if any, are required to satisfy the analog limitation, etc. A review of the disclosure identified no compounds identified as a derivative or analog of any compound, no reduction to practice, no identified partial structure, no discussion of physical or chemical properties, functional characteristics or method of making any derivative or analog of the recited species. The disclosure contains insufficient written description to demonstrate applicant was in possession of the genera of "derivatives" of these compounds; furthermore, the description does not place the public in possession of any of these generic groups of compounds. As such, claims 6 and 16-19 are rejected as lacking written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 6 and 16-19 recites the limitation "wherein a crosslinking agent used for preparing the scaffold body…" There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation of the crosslinking agent in the claim.
Claim 6 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claims 6 and 16-19 recites the broad recitations of lists of natural materials, synthetic materials, and crosslinking agents, and the claim also recites “the scaffold body is made of polyglycolic acid and fibrin, and the crosslinking agent is thrombin” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0030212) in view of Walter et al. (US 5,863,297).
Zhang teaches tissue constructs that include a scaffold having one or more channels, a hydrogel, and growth factors (abstract) useful as a human bone mimics [0041]. The construct may comprise biodegradable polylactic acid (PLA) fibers or gelatin-comprising hydrogels [0041]. The tissue construct can be fabricated into a scaffold that may include a central channel having a diameter from about 500 mm to about 2000 mm and may also comprise a plurality of peripheral channels [0049]. The scaffold may have an average pore size of from about 50 mm to about 300 mm and a porosity of between about 10% to 40% [0050]. The scaffold may have a compression modulus from about 0.03 to about 0.6 GPa [0051]. In one example, the construct is prepared by stacking units with a 200 mm line distance (interpreted as meaning diameter) to form a cylinder comprising a 2 mm channel in the center [0068]. The scaffold, when compressed, has a maximum strain of 20% [0071]. Zhang teaches that a person skilled in the art will recognize other components and configurations may be used [0036].
Zhang does not teach a Young’s modulus of 0.1 kPa to 10 MPa.
Walter teaches that is it desirable that a biodegradable implant designed for tissue ingrowth have mechanical properties similar to those of the tissue into which is it place, which is typically an elastic (Young’s) modulus of less than 1 MPa (col 2, lns 4-9). It is desirable that the implant be porous and more specifically have a Young’s modulus most preferably ranging from about 0.1 to about 10 MPa (col 4, lns 9-18). Walter also notes that suitable biodegradable polymers for use in bone implants can include PLA, polyglycolic acid (PGA), or mixtures thereof (col 5, lns 15-20) and that cross-linking agents may be used (col 10, lns 17-19).
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the porous, three-dimensional tissue scaffold implant for bone regeneration of Zhang which comprises a center channel, additional channels/pores, and growth factors. The composition can be made of PLA and/or gelatin, however Walter teaches that PGA is a suitable alternative biodegradable polymer for use in scaffolds. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to substitute one equivalent component or process for another, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06). Zhang teaches ranges that overlap with the claimed porosity and average pore diameter. The Example in Zhang teaches a 2 mm channel in the cylindrical scaffold, which makes a 2 mm (0.2 cm) overall length/height of the scaffold as obvious. The ratio of height to diameter would accordingly be 2:200 or 0.1:10.
Walter teaches that a biodegradable implant designed for tissue ingrowth should have a Young’s modulus most preferably ranging from about 0.1 to about 10 MPa. It should be noted that the compression modulus of Zhang is not the same thing as a Young’s modulus, thus Zhang is silent as to the desired Young’s modulus and therefore it would have been obvious to look to Walter for its teaching of a suitable range.
Regarding the porosity, pore diameter, and height and diameter of the scaffold, these values are taught in suitable ranges in Zhang but the art further teaches that alternative configurations may be used. As such, it would have been obvious to modify each of these parameters to read on the instant claims. That being said and in lieu of objective evidence of unexpected results, the parameters of the scaffold can be viewed as variables which achieve the recognized result of successfully preparing a bone mimic scaffold. The optimum or workable range of each of these parameters can be accordingly characterized as routine optimization and experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05 (II)B). “[Discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art.” In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276 (CCPA 1980).
The scaffold of Zhang is taught as having a compression strain of 20% and does not indicate damage or deformation, thus rendering obvious instant claims 5 and 13-15.
Thus, it would have been obvious to prepare the scaffold of Zhang with the Young’s modulus of Walter, thus rendering obvious instant claims 1-5 and 11-15.
Claims 1-6 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2019/0030212) in view of Walter et al. (US 5,863,297) in view of Knothe Tate et al. (US 2005/0107887) in view of Guelcher et al. (US 2010/0068171).
Zhang and Walter, as applied supra, are herein applied in their entirety for the teaching of a scaffold having one or more channels, a hydrogel, and growth factors useful as a human bone mimics.
Zhang does not teach wherein the scaffold body is made of PGA and fibrin and the crosslinking agent is thrombin.
Knothe Tate teaches suitable cross-linking agents useful in scaffolds made from bone-endogenous materials [0043]. Thrombin is taught as being one such cross-linking agent [0043].
Guelcher teaches scaffolds for tissue engineering comprising biopolymers such as PLA or PGA [0005]. Guelcher further teaches that formulation as an injectable hydrogel, such as fibrin, supports bone ingrowth in vivo when combined with growth factors [0005].
It would have been prima facie obvious to prepare the bone scaffold of Zhang and Walter, as described above, which can comprise PLA or PGA along with a hydrogel. Since Guelcher teaches that fibrin hydrogel is useful for supporting bone ingrowth, it would have been obvious to select fibrin as the hydrogel of Zhang. Moreover, it would have been obvious to use thrombin as the cross-linking agent suggested by Walter. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07). The resulting composition, which comprises scaffolds comprising PGA, thrombin, and fibrin used together for supporting bone growth, would have been obvious to the skilled artisan, thus rendering obvious instant claims 1-6 and 11-19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 23 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The pending rejections have been modified based on the amended claims. Xuenong and Kumaraswamy have been withdrawn as prior art and arguments against are thus considered moot and will not be further addressed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613