DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses applicant’s remarks/amendments 10 December 2025.
Claims 64, 70, 78, and 83 were amended; claims 76-77 were cancelled; claims 84-85 were added; therefore, claims 64-75 and 78-85 are pending in the current application and will be addressed below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 64-85 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the specific combination of the references being used in the current rejection.
In response to applicant’s argument that references fail to show certain features of applicant’s invention, it is noted that features upon which applicant relies (i.e., details of the normal, enhanced, and emergency working modes) are not recited in the rejected claims. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).. However, these claim limitations were not present in the previous claims and were presented by amendment on 10 December 2025. Therefore, the issue of whether Liu addresses these limitations are not relevant. These amended claims containing new limitations have been addressed by Liu, Kim, Xiang, and Tan in the present Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 64, 67, 69-70, and 84-85 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu US 20220171071 A1 in view of Kim US 20140198308 A1, Xiang US 20210364608 A, and Tan US 20070181810 A1.
Regarding claim 64, Liu teaches a lidar, comprising:
a laser transmitting end, wherein the laser transmitting end has a laser, and the laser is configured for emitting a laser beam for detecting a target object (emission module 11 in Figs. 1, 15-18, [0076]);
a scanning module, wherein the scanning module is configured for guiding the laser beam emitted by the laser to scan the target object, and receiving and guiding the laser beam reflected from the target object (scanning component 2 in Figs. 1, 15-18; [0076-77]); and
a laser receiving end, wherein the laser receiving end has a detector, and the detector is configured for receiving the laser beam guided by the scanning module and reflected from the target object (receiving module 12 with detector module 121 in Figs. 1, 15-18; [0076-77, 121-122]);
wherein at least one laser transmitting end and at least one laser receiving end are integrated into a laser transceiver module group configured as a separate structural unit, and wherein the lidar comprises a plurality of laser transceiver module groups (Transceiver modules 10 in Figs. 1, 15-18; [0076-78]), the plurality of laser transceiver module groups are arranged in a distributed manner relative to the scanning module, and an at least partially stitched field of view of the lidar is formed by sub-fields of view correspondingly formed by the plurality of laser transceiver module groups (Figs. 3-12, [0085-90]),
wherein the lidar is configured to operate in a normal working mode (normal operating mode is inherent if no modes are mentioned);
wherein in the normal working mode, the sub-fields of view of the plurality of laser transceiver module groups at least partially overlap each other to form the stitched field of view of the lidar (Figs. 3-12, [0085-90]);
Liu does not explicitly teach the lidar configured to also operate in at least one of an enhanced working mode and an emergency working mode; wherein, when operating in the enhanced working mode, the lidar is configured to adjust orientations of the laser transceiver module groups to obtain an increased stitched field of view, vertical-axis angular resolution and/or horizontal angular resolution in a specific area or key area; and wherein, when operating in the emergency working mode, the lidar is configured to activate a spare laser transceiver module group to replace a failed or externally damaged laser transceiver module group.
Kim teaches translational and rotational adjustment of laser emitters (240, 340,…740 in Figs. 4-12, e.g. [0110], see also entire disclosure; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this same manipulation could be applied to all transceivers of Liu with a reasonable expectation of success).
Xiang teaches adjustment of lasers to scan areas at different horizontal and vertical resolutions ([0053-57]; although Xiang teaches using mirrors to adjust the scan areas, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that using Kim’s mechanisms to adjust Liu’s transceivers would achieve the same result with a reasonable expectation of success).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the lidar configured to also operate in at least one of an enhanced working mode and an emergency working mode; wherein, when operating in the enhanced working mode, the lidar is configured to adjust orientations of the laser transceiver module groups to obtain an increased stitched field of view, vertical-axis angular resolution and/or horizontal angular resolution in a specific area or key area similar to Kim and Xiang with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping focus lasers in regions where more information is needed.
Additionally, Tan teaches redundancy of single or set of lasers such that others are used when one or more fails ([0023, 38]; operating other lasers when one or more fails is an emergency working mode).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that when operating in the emergency working mode, the lidar is configured to activate a spare laser transceiver module group to replace a failed or externally damaged laser transceiver module group similar to Kim and Xiang with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping ensure the lidar can continue to operate even when partially damaged.
Regarding claim 67, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 64, wherein included angles between the laser beams emitted by the laser transmitting ends of the plurality of laser transceiver module groups and a reflective surface of the scanning module are different from each other, so that the plurality of laser transceiver module groups separately form sub-fields of view with different orientations and at least partially overlapping each other (scanning component 2 with at least 2 reflecting surfaces, Figs. 1-6, 15-18; [0076-78, 81-90]; overlapping field of view shown in at least Figs. 3-5 with each transceiver aimed at different surfaces of the scanning module; [0085-90]).
Regarding claim 69, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 64, wherein a scanning component of the scanning module is a rotating scanning component, wherein the scanning component of the scanning module comprises a double-faceted mirror, a multifaceted prism or an oscillating mirror, wherein the scanning component of the scanning module comprises a different-faceted prism, and wherein included angles between reflective side surfaces of the different-faceted prism and a central axis are different from each other and match each other, so that sub-fields of view correspondingly formed by each of the reflective side surfaces at least partially overlap each other, thereby forming a stitched field of view of the lidar (scanning component 2 with at least 2 reflecting surfaces, Figs. 1-6, 15-18; [0076-78, 81-90]; overlapping field of view shown in at least Figs. 3-5; [0085-90]).
Regarding claim 70, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 64,
wherein a scanning component of the scanning module is configured as a rotatable plate-shaped double-faceted mirror or a rotatable prism (scanning component 2 with at least 2 reflecting surfaces, shown as plate shaped in Fig. 1; [0076-78, 81-90]; scanning component 2 with at least 2 reflecting surfaces, Figs. 1-6, 15-18; [0076-78, 81-90]).
Regarding claim 84, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 64,
Lie does not explicitly teach wherein the lidar is configured to operate in the enhanced working mode, and wherein the lidar further comprises an orientation adjustment device assigned to each laser transceiver module group, the orientation adjustment device being configured to adjust the orientations of the laser transceiver module groups.
Kim teaches mechanical adjustments to orientation of laser emitters (240, 340,…740 in Figs. 4-12, e.g. [0110], see also entire disclosure; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this same manipulation could be applied to all transceivers of Liu with a reasonable expectation of success).
Additionally, Xiang teaches adjustment of lasers to scan areas at different horizontal and vertical resolutions ([0053-57]; adjusting the scan resolutions in specific areas is an enhanced working mode compared to constant resolutions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the lidar is configured to operate in the enhanced working mode, and wherein the lidar further comprises an orientation adjustment device assigned to each laser transceiver module group, the orientation adjustment device being configured to adjust the orientations of the laser transceiver module groups similar to Kim and Xiang with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping focus lasers in regions where more information is needed.
Claim 65 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu US 20220171071 A1 in view of Kim US 20140198308 A1, Xiang US 20210364608 A, and Tan US 20070181810 A1, and further in view of Guo US 20220342051 A1.
Regarding claim 65, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 64,
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the laser transmitting end further comprises a transmitting lens group, which has a laser shaping module configured for shaping the laser beam emitted by the laser, wherein the laser shaping module comprises a collimator and a homogenizer sequentially arranged along an optical axis of the laser beam.
Guo teaches a transmitting lens group including collimator and a homogenizer (560 and 570 in Figs. 74-75, [1029-1034])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the laser transmitting end further comprises a transmitting lens group, which has a laser shaping module configured for shaping the laser beam emitted by the laser, wherein the laser shaping module comprises a collimator and a homogenizer sequentially arranged along an optical axis of the laser beam similar to Guo with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of spreading the optical power of a beam more uniformly in an angle space (Guo: [1034]).
Claim 68 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu US 20220171071 A1 in view of Kim US 20140198308 A1, Xiang US 20210364608 A, and Tan US 20070181810 A1, and further in view of Mohr US 20220276353 A1. (examiner notes that the rejection to claim 66 follows this rejection to help keep claims dependent on independent claim 64 organized)
Regarding claim 68, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 64,
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the lidar further comprises an orientation adjustment device, through which the plurality of laser transceiver module groups can adjust their orientations relative to a reflective surface of the scanning module, thereby being able to change the stitched field of view and/or scanning resolution of the lidar.
Mohr teaches rotating prism disk 112 which adjusts (deflects) emitted light before reaching rotating polygonal mirror 114 ([0055-58])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the lidar further comprises an orientation adjustment device, through which the plurality of laser transceiver module groups can adjust their orientations relative to a reflective surface of the scanning module, thereby being able to change the stitched field of view and/or scanning resolution of the lidar similar to Mohr with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the scanning pattern to be adjust based on rates of rotation of the disk and scanning module.
Claims 66 and 71-74 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu US 20220171071 A1 in view of Kim US 20140198308 A1, Xiang US 20210364608 A, and Tan US 20070181810 A1, and further in view of Otani US 20190242981 A1.
Regarding claim 66, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 64, wherein the laser receiving end further has a receiving lens group, and the receiving lens group is configured for receiving and transmitting the laser beam guided by the scanning module and reflected from the target object, and converging the reflected laser beam onto the detector of the laser receiving end (receiving optical module 123 in receiving module 12, [0121]).
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the scanning module comprises a transmission scanning module and a reception scanning module, and wherein the transmission scanning module is configured for reflecting the laser beam emitted by the laser transmitting end to the target object, and the reception scanning module is configured for receiving and guiding the laser beam reflected from the target object to the laser receiving end.
Otani teaches a scanning module (4a in Figs. 1-9; [0044]) separated into transmission and receiving portions by light shielding portions (15a and 15b, Figs. 1-9; [0045-47]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the scanning module comprises a transmission scanning module and a reception scanning module, and wherein the transmission scanning module is configured for reflecting the laser beam emitted by the laser transmitting end to the target object, and the reception scanning module is configured for receiving and guiding the laser beam reflected from the target object to the laser receiving end similar to Otani with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of “suppressing entry of stray light from a light projecting space to a light receiving space (Otani: [0013]).
Regarding claim 71, Liu teaches lidar according to claim 70, wherein at least one laser transmitting end and at least one laser receiving end are integrated into a laser transceiver module group configured as a separate structural unit (Transceiver modules 10 in Figs. 1, 15-18; [0076-78]),
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the lidar further comprises an isolation mechanism, and the isolation mechanism separates a reflective surface of the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror into a transmission scanning area and a reception scanning area, wherein the isolation mechanism isolates the laser transmitting end and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group configured as the separate structural unit.
Otani teaches a plate shaped double faceted mirror (4a in Figs. 1-9; [0044]) with an isolation mechanism isolates the transmitting and receiving portions (plate shaped light shielding portions 15a and 15b, Figs. 1-9; [0045-47])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the lidar further comprises an isolation mechanism, and the isolation mechanism separates a reflective surface of the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror into a transmission scanning area and a reception scanning area, wherein the isolation mechanism isolates the laser transmitting end and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group configured as the separate structural unit similar to Otani with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of “suppressing entry of stray light from a light projecting space to a light receiving space (Otani: [0013]).
Regarding claim 72, Liu as modified above teaches lidar according to claim 71,
Liu does not explicitly teach but Otani teaches wherein the isolation mechanism is composed of a circular rotating partition and a fixed partition having a circular hole, and wherein the fixed partition is fixed on a housing of the lidar, and the rotating partition can be embedded in the circular hole of the fixed partition and rotated therein (rotating 15a is circular in Fig. 2A, Fixed portion 15b has a circular hole and is attached to the housing in Fig. 2A; [0045-47]; see also Figs. 1-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the isolation mechanism is composed of a circular rotating partition and a fixed partition having a circular hole, and wherein the fixed partition is fixed on a housing of the lidar, and the rotating partition can be embedded in the circular hole of the fixed partition and rotated therein similar to Otani with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of “suppressing entry of stray light from a light projecting space to a light receiving space (Otani: [0013]).
Regarding claim 73, Liu as modified above teaches lidar according to claim 72,
Liu does not explicitly teach but Otani teaches wherein the rotating partition has an opening, and the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror extends through the opening of the rotating partition and is fixed with the rotating partition (mirror 4a extends through light shielding portion 4a in Figs. 1-9; [0044-48]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the rotating partition has an opening, and the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror extends through the opening of the rotating partition and is fixed with the rotating partition similar to Otani with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of “suppressing entry of stray light from a light projecting space to a light receiving space (Otani: [0013]).
Regarding claim 74, Liu as modified above teaches lidar according to claim 72,
Liu does not explicitly teach but Otani teaches wherein the fixed partition fixed on the housing of the lidar extends across the laser transceiver module group arranged in an interior space of the housing of the lidar, and isolates the laser transmitting end and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group configured as the separate structural unit (15 b in Figs. 1-9, [0044-48]), wherein the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror can drive the rotating partition to rotate together (Figs. 1-9, [0046]), and wherein the transmission scanning area and the reception scanning area of the plate-shaped double- faceted mirror are respectively formed on one side of the rotating partition (Figs. 1-9, [0044-48]), wherein the fixed partition and the rotating partition embedded in the circular hole of the fixed partition form a partition plane which divides an interior space of the housing of the lidar into two chambers (15a and 15b in Figs. 1-9, [0044-48]), and wherein the transmission scanning area of the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror and the laser transmitting end of the laser transceiver module group are disposed in one of the chambers, and the reception scanning area of the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group are disposed in the other chamber (15a and 15b separate the interior into light projecting space K1 and light receiving space K2 in Figs. 1-9, [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the fixed partition fixed on the housing of the lidar extends across the laser transceiver module group arranged in an interior space of the housing of the lidar, and isolates the laser transmitting end and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group configured as the separate structural unit, wherein the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror can drive the rotating partition to rotate together, and wherein the transmission scanning area and the reception scanning area of the plate-shaped double- faceted mirror are respectively formed on one side of the rotating partition, wherein the fixed partition and the rotating partition embedded in the circular hole of the fixed partition form a partition plane, which divides an interior space of the housing of the lidar into two chambers, and wherein the transmission scanning area of the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror and the laser transmitting end of the laser transceiver module group are disposed in one of the chambers, and the reception scanning area of the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group are disposed in the other chamber similar to Otani with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of “suppressing entry of stray light from a light projecting space to a light receiving space (Otani: [0013]).
Claims 75 and 83 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu US 20220171071 A1 in view of Kim US 20140198308 A1, Xiang US 20210364608 A, and Tan US 20070181810 A1, and further in view of Baeg US 20140111812 A1.
Regarding claim 75, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 70,
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the laser transmitting end further has a laser shaping module, which shapes the laser beam emitted by the laser into linear scanning laser light, and the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror reflects the linear scanning laser light and scans the target object.
Baeg teaches generator lenses to convert laser light into line-shaped laser light ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the laser transmitting end further has a laser shaping module, which shapes the laser beam emitted by the laser into linear scanning laser light, and the plate-shaped double-faceted mirror reflects the linear scanning laser light and scans the target object similar to Baeg with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the laser beam to cover a large portion of the field of view during scanning.
Regarding claim 83, Liu teaches lidar according to claim 70,
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the laser transmitting end further has a laser shaping module, which shapes the laser beam emitted by the laser into linear scanning laser light, and the rotatable prism reflects the linear scanning laser light and scans the target object.
Baeg teaches generator lenses to convert laser light into line-shaped laser light ([0065]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the laser transmitting end further has a laser shaping module, which shapes the laser beam emitted by the laser into linear scanning laser light, and the rotatable prism reflects the linear scanning laser light and scans the target object similar to Baeg with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of allowing the laser beam to cover a large portion of the field of view during scanning.
Claims 78-82 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu US 20220171071 A1 in view of Kim US 20140198308 A1, Xiang US 20210364608 A, and Tan US 20070181810 A1 and further in view of Seo WO 2017082540 A1.
Regarding claim 78, Liu teaches lidar according to claim 70,
Liu does not explicitly teach but Seo teaches wherein the lidar further comprises an isolation mechanism, and the isolation mechanism separates a reflective surface of the rotatable prism into a transmission scanning area and a reception scanning area, wherein the isolation mechanism isolates the laser transmitting end and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group configured as the separate structural unit (light shield 140 or 1401 and 1402 divides reflective surface into transmission and reception spaces, Figs. 9-33, see at least pg. 14 second paragraph and Fig. 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the lidar further comprises an isolation mechanism, and the isolation mechanism separates a reflective surface of the rotatable prism into a transmission scanning area and a reception scanning area, wherein the isolation mechanism isolates the laser transmitting end and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group configured as the separate structural unit similar to Seo with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of limiting noise by decreasing light from a light projecting space entering a light receiving space.
Regarding claim 79, Liu as modified above teaches lidar according to claim 78,
Liu does not explicitly teach but Seo teaches wherein the isolation mechanism is composed of a circular rotating partition and a fixed partition having a circular hole, and wherein the fixed partition is fixed on a housing of the lidar, and the rotating partition can be embedded in the circular hole of the fixed partition and rotated therein (140 is circular in shape and fits in circular hole defined by inner housing 160 in Figs. 24-26, see pgs. 24-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the isolation mechanism is composed of a circular rotating partition and a fixed partition having a circular hole, and wherein the fixed partition is fixed on a housing of the lidar, and the rotating partition can be embedded in the circular hole of the fixed partition and rotated therein similar to Seo with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of limiting noise by decreasing light from a light projecting space entering a light receiving space.
Regarding claim 80, Liu as modified above teaches lidar according to claim 79,
Liu does not explicitly teach but Seo teaches wherein the rotating partition has an opening, and the rotatable prism extends through the opening of the rotating partition and is fixed with the rotating partition (polygonal mirrors 1201-1202 fit in and through 140 in Figs. 24-26, see pgs. 24-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the rotating partition has an opening, and the rotatable prism extends through the opening of the rotating partition and is fixed with the rotating partition similar to Seo with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of limiting noise by decreasing light from a light projecting space entering a light receiving space.
Regarding claim 81, Liu as modified above teaches lidar according to claim 80,
Liu does not explicitly teach but Seo teaches wherein the fixed partition fixed on the housing of the lidar extends across the laser transceiver module group arranged in an interior space of the housing of the lidar, and isolates the laser transmitting end and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group configured as the separate structural unit, wherein the rotatable prism can drive the rotating partition to rotate together, and wherein the transmission scanning area and the reception scanning area of the rotatable prism are respectively formed on one side of the rotating partition (part of 160 is the fixed partition and together with 140 separates the structure into emitting (top) and receiving (bottom) portions in Figs. 24-26; and 140 rotates with mirrors polygonal prism 1201-1202; see pgs. 24-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the fixed partition fixed on the housing of the lidar extends across the laser transceiver module group arranged in an interior space of the housing of the lidar, and isolates the laser transmitting end and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group configured as the separate structural unit, wherein the rotatable prism can drive the rotating partition to rotate together, and wherein the transmission scanning area and the reception scanning area of the rotatable prism are respectively formed on one side of the rotating partition similar to Seo with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of limiting noise by decreasing light from a light projecting space entering a light receiving space.
Regarding claim 82, Liu as modified above teaches lidar according to claim 79,
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the fixed partition and the rotating partition embedded in the circular hole of the fixed partition form a partition plane, which divides an interior space of the housing of the lidar into two chambers, and wherein the transmission scanning area of the rotatable prism and the laser transmitting end of the laser transceiver module group are disposed in one of the chambers, and the reception scanning area of the rotatable prism and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group are disposed in the other chamber (part of 160 is the fixed partition and together with 140 separates the structure into emitting (top) and receiving (bottom) portions in Figs. 24-26; see pgs. 24-27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the fixed partition and the rotating partition embedded in the circular hole of the fixed partition form a partition plane, which divides an interior space of the housing of the lidar into two chambers, and wherein the transmission scanning area of the rotatable prism and the laser transmitting end of the laser transceiver module group are disposed in one of the chambers, and the reception scanning area of the rotatable prism and the laser receiving end of the laser transceiver module group are disposed in the other chamber similar to Seo with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of limiting noise by decreasing light from a light projecting space entering a light receiving space.
Claim 85 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu US 20220171071 A1 in view of Kim US 20140198308 A1, Xiang US 20210364608 A, and Tan US 20070181810 A1 and further in view of Sekiguchi US 20190228537 A1.
Regarding claim 85, Liu teaches the lidar according to claim 64,
Liu does not explicitly teach wherein the lidar is configured to operate in the emergency working mode, and wherein the lidar comprises a control module or a fault detection device configured to detect whether one of the laser transceiver module groups fails or is externally damaged, and upon detection, switch to the emergency working mode to put the spare laser transceiver module group into use.
Tan teaches redundancy of single or set of lasers such that others are used when one or more fails ([0023, 38]; operating other lasers when one or more fails is an emergency working mode).
Sekiguchi teaches detecting failure in a laser radar distance measurement unit and triggering a notification ([0121, 129, 290]; one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Sekiguchi would provide Tan and Liu with a way to detect the laser failure and alert to need to operate the redundant laser)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Liu such that the lidar is configured to operate in the emergency working mode, and wherein the lidar comprises a control module or a fault detection device configured to detect whether one of the laser transceiver module groups fails or is externally damaged, and upon detection, switch to the emergency working mode to put the spare laser transceiver module group into use similar to Tan and Sekiguchi with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of helping ensure the lidar can continue to operate even when partially damaged.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.C.F./Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ISAM A ALSOMIRI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645