Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 04/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 5 have been amended. Claims 22-23 have been added. Claims 1-11 and 13-23 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-3, 16-18, 20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CAI (CN 110874990 A) in view of CHOI (US 20210193758 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 15) discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (display substrate 101) comprising a first display region (display region comprises a first display sub-region AA1 and a second display sub-region display sub-region AAG), wherein the first display region comprises a first display sub-region (display sub-region AA1) and a second display sub-region (display sub-region AAG);
a plurality of first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) arranged in an array in the first display sub-region (display region AA1), wherein columns of first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) are arranged in a first direction (Y direction), first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) in each column are arranged in a second direction (X direction), first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) of two adiacent columns are misaligned (Figs. 8-9), and the first direction (Y direction) intersects with the second direction (X direction);
a plurality of first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1) arranged in an array in the second display sub-region (display sub-region AAG); and
a plurality of connecting lines (connecting lines L), wherein the connecting lines (connecting lines L) are configured to connect the first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) to the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1), and at least one of the connecting lines (e.g., connecting line L4) passes through an area between two adiacent first light emitting devices (e.g., adjacent light-emitting elements 2sp1 and 3sp1) in one column of first light emitting devices (e.g., Fig.9; 2nd column), and is connected to a first light emitting device (e.g., light-emitting element 4sp1) in another column of first light emitting devices (e.g., Fig.9; 1st column),
the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of third light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements spg) arranged in an array in the second display sub-region (display sub-region AAG), and a plurality of third pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DLg) configured to drive the third light- emitting devices (light-emitting elements spg);
wherein in the first direction (Y direction), at least one of the first pixel drive circuits (one pixel driving circuit DL1) is between two of the third pixel drive circuits (two pixel driving circuits DLg), and at least one of the third pixel drive circuits (one pixel driving circuit DLg) is between two of the first pixel drive circuits (two pixel driving circuits DL1).
CAI (e.g., Fig. 15) also discloses a plurality of first signal lines (scanning signal lines S), the plurality of first signal lines are configured to provide a first driving signal (scanning signals S) for the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1), wherein a part of the first signal lines (scanning signals S) is parallel to the connecting lines (connecting lines L). The examiner further cites CHOI as a reference. CHOI discloses a display panel similar to that disclosed by CAI, comprising a plurality of first signal lines (scanning signal lines G), the plurality of first signal lines are configured to provide a first driving signal (scanning signals G) for the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits TPDC), wherein a part of the first signal lines (scanning signals GS) is parallel to the connecting lines (connecting lines TEL). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHOI to the display device of CAI. The combination/motivation would be to provide an arrangement of signal lines to improve light transmittance for an optical sensing region.
Regarding claim 2, CAI in view of CHOI the display panel according to claim 1, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses the display panel further comprising a plurality of first signal lines (signal lines LH) outside the first display sub-region (display sub-region AA1), wherein the first signal lines (signal lines LH) are configured to connect the connecting lines (signal lines L) to the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1), and an extending direction of the first signal lines (signal lines LH) is parallel to a column direction of the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1).
Regarding claim 3, CAI in view of CHOI the display panel according to claim 1, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses wherein the substrate further comprises a second display region (display region AA2) on a periphery of the first display region (display region comprises the first display sub-region AA1 and the second display sub-region display sub-region AAG); and the display panel further comprises: a plurality of second light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp2) arranged in an array in the second display region (display region AA2), and a plurality of second pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL2) electrically connected with the second light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp2), wherein an arrangement density of the plurality of second light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp2) is higher than an arrangement density of the plurality of first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1).
Regarding claim 16, CAI in view of CHOI the display panel according to claim 1, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses wherein one end of each of the connecting lines (connecting lines L) is electrically connected with one of the first light- emitting devices (light- emitting devices sp1), and the other end of each of the connecting lines (connecting lines L) is electrically connected with one of the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1).
Regarding claim 17, CAI in view of CHOI discloses the display panel according to claim 16, CHOI (e.g., Figs. 7-10) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by XU, wherein a portion, in the first display sub-region, of each of the connecting lines is made of a transparent conductive material ([0081]; transparent connecting lines TEL). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from CHOI to the display device of CAI. The combination/motivation would be to improve light transmittance for an optical sensing region.
Regarding claim 18, CAI in view of CHOI the display panel according to claim 1, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses wherein the third pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DLg) and the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1) are alternately disposed (e.g., Figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, CAI in view of CHOI discloses the display device. CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses the display device (Figs. 1 and 22; display device), comprising a photosensitive sensor ([0039] and [0047]; under-screen optical imaging sensor), and the display panel according to claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of a light- receiving surface of the photosensitive sensor on the substrate is in the first display sub- region (Figs. 1 and [0012], [0039], [0047], [0052]).
Regarding claim 22, CAI in view of CHOI discloses the display device according to claim 1. CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses wherein the connecting lines (connecting line L) extend in the first direction (Y direction), and a first light-emitting device (light-emitting elements sp1) and a first pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuits DL1) connected via a same connecting line (connecting line L) are arranged along the first direction (Y direction).
Regarding claim 23, CAI in view of CHOI discloses the display device according to claim 22. CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses wherein for any two first light- emitting devices in adjacent columns (e.g., light-emitting elements sp1-1 and SP1-2 in adjacent 1st and 2nd columns), an orthographic projection of a connecting line (connecting line L) connected to one of the two first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1-1) on the substrate does not overlap with an orthographic projection of the other first light-emitting device(light-emitting elements sp1-2) on the substrate.
5. Claims 4 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CAI (CN 110874990 A) in view of CHOI (US 20210193758 A1) and further in view of XU (US 20220199710 A1).
Regarding claim 4, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses the display panel according to claim 3, but does not disclose the plurality of first signal lines as claimed. However, XU (e.g., Figs. 1 and 10-11; Fig. 10, which is reproduced below for reference) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by CAI, further comprising
a plurality of first signal lines (signal lines S1) outside the first display sub-region (display region AA1), wherein the first signal lines (signal lines S1) are configured to connect the connecting lines (connecting lines 41A) to the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits 1022), and each of the first signal lines (signal line S1) comprises a first connecting portion (connecting portion 41) and a second connecting portion (connecting portion 51), which are connected, wherein the first connecting portion (connecting portion 41) in the second display sub-region (display region TA) and electrically connected with each first pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuits 1021) in a column of first pixel driving circuits, and the second connecting portion (connecting portion 51) in the second display region (display region AA2) and electrically connected with each second pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuits 1023) in a column of second pixel driving circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Xu to the display device of CAI in view of CHOI. The combination/motivation would be to improve light transmittance for an optical sensing region.
Regarding claim 19, CAI in view of CHOI discloses the display panel according to claim 3, but does not disclose wherein an arrangement density of the plurality of third light-emitting devices is equal to the arrangement density of the plurality of first light-emitting devices. However, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11) discloses the display panel similar to that disclosed by CAI, wherein an arrangement density of the plurality of third light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements 110) is equal to the arrangement density of the plurality of first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements 210). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Xu to the display device of CAI in view of CHOI. The combination/motivation would be to improve light transmittance for an optical sensing region.
Response to Arguments
8. Regarding claim 1, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of CHOI (US 20210193758 A1) has been used for new ground rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 5-11 and 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to a display device including an optical sensor. The closet prior arts, CAI (CN 110874990 A), XU (US 20220199710 A1), ZHANG (US 20210013272 A1), and CHOI (US 20210193758 A1), individually or in combination, discloses A display panel, comprising: a substrate comprising a first display region and a plurality of first signal lines, wherein the first display region comprises a first display sub-region and a second display sub-region, light transmittance of the first display sub-region is higher than light transmittance of the second display sub-region; a plurality of first light-emitting devices arranged in an array in the first display sub- region, wherein columns of first light-emitting devices are arranged in a first direction, first light-emitting devices in each column are arranged in a second direction, first light- emitting devices of two adjacent columns are misaligned, and the first direction intersects with the second direction; a plurality of first pixel driving circuits arranged in an array in the second display sub-region; and a plurality of connecting lines, wherein the connecting lines are configured to connect the first light-emitting devices to the first pixel driving circuits, and at least one of the connecting lines passes through an area between two adjacent first light emitting devices in one column of first light emitting devices, and is connected to a first light emitting device in another column of first light emitting devices; the display panel further comprising: a plurality of third light-emitting devices arranged in an array in the second display sub-region, and a plurality of third pixel driving circuits configured to drive the third light- emitting devices; wherein in the first direction, at least one of the first pixel drive circuits is between two of the third pixel drive circuits, and at least one of the third pixel drive circuits is between two of the first pixel drive circuits; the plurality of first signal lines are configured to provide a first driving signal for the first pixel driving circuits, wherein a part of the first signal lines is parallel to the connecting lines, but fails to teach wherein the first signal lines are configured to connect the connecting lines to the first pixel driving circuits, and each of second signal lines is electrically connected with one of the second pixel driving circuits and disconnected from the first pixel driving circuits; and each of the first signal lines is disconnected from the second pixel driving circuits, the plurality of first signal lines are configured to be connected with a first driving chip, and the plurality of second signal lines are configured to be connected with a second driving chip.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623