Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-3, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by CAI (CN 110874990 A).
Regarding claim 1, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses a display panel, comprising:
a substrate (display substrate 101) comprising a first display region (display region comprises a first display sub-region AA1 and a second display sub-region display sub-region AAG), wherein the first display region comprises a first display sub-region (display sub-region AA1) and a second display sub-region (display sub-region AAG);
a plurality of first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) arranged in an array in the first display sub-region (display region AA1), wherein columns of first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) are arranged in a first direction (Y direction), first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) in each column are arranged in a second direction (X direction), first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) of two adiacent columns are misaligned (Figs. 8-9), and the first direction (Y direction) intersects with the second direction (X direction);
a plurality of first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1) arranged in an array in the second display sub-region (display sub-region AAG); and
a plurality of connecting lines (connecting lines L), wherein the connecting lines (connecting lines L) are configured to connect the first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1) to the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1), and at least one of the connecting lines (e.g., connecting line L4) passes through an area between two adiacent first light emitting devices (e.g., adjacent light-emitting elements 2sp1 and 3sp1) in one column of first light emitting devices (e.g., Fig.9; 2nd column), and is connected to a first light emitting device (e.g., light-emitting element 4sp1) in another column of first light emitting devices (e.g., Fig.9; 1st column),
the display panel further comprising:
a plurality of third light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements spg) arranged in an array in the second display sub-region (display sub-region AAG), and a plurality of third pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DLg) configured to drive the third light- emitting devices (light-emitting elements spg);
wherein in the first direction (Y direction), at least one of the first pixel drive circuits (one pixel driving circuit DL1) is between two of the third pixel drive circuits (two pixel driving circuits DLg), and at least one of the third pixel drive circuits (one pixel driving circuit DLg) is between two of the first pixel drive circuits (two pixel driving circuits DL1).
Regarding claim 2, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses the display panel according to claim 1, further comprising a plurality of first signal lines (signal lines LH) outside the first display sub-region (display sub-region AA1), wherein the first signal lines (signal lines LH) are configured to connect the connecting lines (signal lines L) to the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1), and an extending direction of the first signal lines (signal lines LH) is parallel to a column direction of the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1).
Regarding claim 3, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the substrate further comprises a second display region (display region AA2) on a periphery of the first display region (display region comprises the first display sub-region AA1 and the second display sub-region display sub-region AAG); and the display panel further comprises: a plurality of second light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp2) arranged in an array in the second display region (display region AA2), and a plurality of second pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL2) electrically connected with the second light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp2), wherein an arrangement density of the plurality of second light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp2) is higher than an arrangement density of the plurality of first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements sp1).
Regarding claim 16, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein one end of each of the connecting lines (connecting lines L) is electrically connected with one of the first light- emitting devices (light- emitting devices sp1), and the other end of each of the connecting lines (connecting lines L) is electrically connected with one of the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1).
Regarding claim 18, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1 and 8-9) discloses the display panel according to claim 1, wherein the third pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DLg) and the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits DL1) are alternately disposed (e.g., Figs. 8-9).
Regarding claim 20, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses a display device (Figs. 1 and 22; display device), comprising a photosensitive sensor ([0039] and [0047]; under-screen optical imaging sensor), and the display panel according to claim 1, wherein an orthographic projection of a light- receiving surface of the photosensitive sensor on the substrate is in the first display sub- region (Figs. 1 and [0012], [0039], [0047], [0052]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4-5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CAI (CN 110874990 A) in view of XU (US 20220199710 A1).
Regarding claim 4, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses the display panel according to claim 3, but does not disclose the plurality of first signal lines as claimed. However, XU (e.g., Figs. 1 and 10-11; Fig. 10, which is reproduced below for reference) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by CAI, further comprising
a plurality of first signal lines (signal lines S1) outside the first display sub-region (display region AA1), wherein the first signal lines (signal lines S1) are configured to connect the connecting lines (connecting lines 41A) to the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits 1022), and each of the first signal lines (signal line S1) comprises a first connecting portion (connecting portion 41) and a second connecting portion (connecting portion 51), which are connected, wherein the first connecting portion (connecting portion 41) in the second display sub-region (display region TA) and electrically connected with each first pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuits 1021) in a column of first pixel driving circuits, and the second connecting portion (connecting portion 51) in the second display region (display region AA2) and electrically connected with each second pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuits 1023) in a column of second pixel driving circuits. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Xu to the display device of CAI. The combination/motivation would be to improve light transmittance for an optical sensing region.
Regarding claim 5, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses the display panel according to claim 3, but does not disclose the plurality of first signal lines as claimed. However, XU (e.g., Figs. 1 and 10-11; Fig. 10, which is reproduced for reference) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by CAI, further comprising: further comprising: a plurality of first signal lines (signal lines S1) outside the first display sub-region (display region AA1), and a plurality of second signal lines (signal lines S2) on the substrate, wherein the first signal lines (signal lines S1) are configured to connect the connecting lines (connecting lines 41A) to the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits 1022), and each of the second signal lines (signal lines S2) is electrically connected with one of the second pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits 1023) and disconnected from the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits 1022); and each of the first signal lines (signal lines S1) is disconnected from the second pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuits 1023), the plurality of first signal lines (signal lines S1) are configured to be connected with a first driving chip (driving circuit supplies driving signal to signal lines S1), and the plurality of second signal lines (signal lines S1) are configured to be connected with a second driving chip (driving circuit supplies driving signal to signal lines S2). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Xu to the display device of CAI. The combination/motivation would be to improve light transmittance for an optical sensing region.
Regarding claim 19, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses the display panel according to claim 3, but does not disclose wherein an arrangement density of the plurality of third light-emitting devices is equal to the arrangement density of the plurality of first light-emitting devices. However, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11) discloses the display panel similar to that disclosed by CAI, wherein an arrangement density of the plurality of third light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements 110) is equal to the arrangement density of the plurality of first light-emitting devices (light-emitting elements 210). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Xu to the display device of CAI. The combination/motivation would be to improve light transmittance for an optical sensing region.
7. Claims 6-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CAI (CN 110874990 A) in view of XU (US 20220199710 A1) and further in view of ZHANG (US 20210013272 A1).
Regarding claim 6, CAI in view of XU discloses the display panel according to claim 5, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11) discloses wherein each of the first signal lines (signal line S1) comprises a first connecting portion (first connecting portion 41) and a second connecting portion (second connecting portion 51), which are connected, wherein the first connecting (first connecting portion 41) portion is in the second display sub-region (display region TA) and electrically connected with each first pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 1022) in a column of first pixel driving circuits, and the second connecting portion (second connecting portion 51) is in the second display region (display region AA2) and disconnected from the second pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuit 1022 connected to signal lines S2). CAI and XU do not disclose wherein the substrate further comprises a bonding region configured for mounting the first driving chip and the second driving chip. However, ZHANG (e.g., Figs. 7-9 and 12-18) discloses the display panel, wherein the substrate further comprises a bonding region configured for mounting the first driving chip and the second driving chip (e.g., Figs. 1, 12, 15, and 18), wherein the bonding region is outside the second display region and distal from a side, on which the first display region is, of the second display region. (e.g., Figs. 1, 12, 15, and 18). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ZHANG to the display device of CAI in view of XU. The combination/motivation would be to provide an arrangement of driving circuits of the display device to drive pixels in different areas.
Regarding claim 7, CAI in view of XU and further in view of ZHANG discloses the display panel according to claim 6, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11) discloses wherein all of the second signal lines (signal lines S2) are in the second display region (display region AA2).
Regarding claim 8, CAI in view of XU and further in view of ZHANG discloses the display panel according to claim 7, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 9-11) discloses wherein each of the second signal lines (signal lines S2) comprises a third connecting portion and a fourth connecting portion, wherein the third connecting portion (e.g., Figs. 6 and 9) is in the second display region (display region AA2) and electrically connected with each second pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 1023) in a column of second pixel driving circuits, and the fourth connecting portion (e.g., Figs. 6 and 9) is in the second display sub-region (display region TA) and disconnected from the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuit 1022).
Regarding claim 9, CAI in view of XU and further in view of ZHANG discloses the display panel according to claim 7, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 9-11) discloses wherein the third connecting portion and the fourth connecting portion (e.g., Figs. 6 and 9) are disconnected from each other at an intersection of the second display region (display region AA2) and the second display sub-region (display region TA).
Regarding claim 10, CAI in view of XU and further in view of ZHANG discloses the display panel according to claim 6, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 9-11) discloses the display panel further comprising: a plurality of third signal lines (signal lines S3) on the substrate, wherein all of the third signal lines (signal lines S3) are in the second display region (display area AA2), and each of the third signal lines (signal lines S3) is electrically connected with each second pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuits 1023) in a column of second pixel driving circuits.
Regarding claim 11, CAI in view of XU and further in view of ZHANG discloses the display panel according to claim 5, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 10-11) discloses wherein each of the second signal lines (signal lines S2) comprises a third connecting portion and a fourth connecting portion (e.g., Figs. 6 and 9), which are connected, wherein the third connecting portion (e.g., Figs. 6 and 9) is in the second display region (display region AA2) and electrically connected with each second pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 1023) in a column of second pixel driving circuits, and the fourth connecting portion (e.g., Figs. 6 and 9) is in the second display sub-region (display region TA) and disconnected from the first pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuit 1022); and all of the first signal lines (signal lines S1) are in the second display sub-region (display region TA). XU does not disclose wherein the substrate further comprises a bonding region configured for mounting the first driving chip and the second driving chip. However, ZHANG (e.g., Figs. 7-9 and 12-18) discloses the display panel, wherein the substrate further comprises a bonding region configured for mounting the first driving chip and the second driving chip (e.g., Figs. 8-9 and 13-14), wherein the bonding region is outside the second display region and proximal to a side, on which the first display region is, of the second display region (e.g., Figs. 8-9 and 13-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from ZHANG to the display device of XU. The combination/motivation would be to provide an arrangement of driving circuits of the display device to drive pixels in different areas.
Regarding claim 13, CAI in view of XU and further in view of ZHANG discloses the display panel according to claim 11, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 9-11) discloses wherein each of the first signal lines (signal line S1) comprises a first connecting portion (first connecting portion 41) and a second connecting portion (second connecting portion 51), wherein the first connecting portion (first connecting portion 41) is in the second display sub-region (display region TA) and electrically connected with each first pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 1022) in a column of first pixel driving circuits, and the second connecting portion (second connecting portion 51) is in the second display region (display region AA2) and disconnected from the second pixel driving circuits (pixel driving circuit 1022 connected to signal lines; e.g., Figs. 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 14, CAI in view of XU and further in view of ZHANG discloses the display panel according to claim 13, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 9-11) discloses wherein the first connecting portion and the second connecting portion are disconnected from each other at an intersection of the second display region and the second display sub-region (e.g., Figs. 6 and 9).
Regarding claim 15, CAI in view of XU and further in view of ZHANG discloses the display panel according to claim 13, XU (e.g., Figs. 1-2, 5-6, and 9-11) discloses the display panel further comprising: a plurality of third signal lines (signal lines S3) and a plurality of fourth signal lines (signal lines S4), which are on the substrate, wherein all of the third signal lines (signal lines S3) are in the second display region (display region AA2), and each of the third signal lines (signal lines S3) is electrically connected with each second pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 1023) in a column of second pixel driving circuits; and a part of each of the fourth signal lines (signal lines S4) is in the second display region (display region AA2), the other part of each of the fourth signal lines (signal lines S4) is in the first display sub-region (display region AA1), and each of the fourth signal lines (signal lines S4) is electrically connected with each second pixel driving circuit (pixel driving circuit 1023) in a column of second pixel driving circuits.
8. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CAI (CN 110874990 A) in view of DING (US 20190393286 A1).
Regarding claim 17, CAI (e.g., Figs. 1, 8-9, and 22) discloses the display panel according to claim 16, but does not disclose wherein a portion, in the first display sub-region, of each of the connecting lines is made of a transparent conductive material. However, DING (e.g., Figs. 13 and 18-19) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by XU, wherein a portion, in the first display sub-region (display region 517), of each of the connecting lines (connecting lines 554) is made of a transparent conductive material ([0145]; e.g., ITO). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from DING to the display device of XU. The combination/motivation would be to improve light transmittance for an optical sensing region.
Response to Arguments
8. Regarding claim 1, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the reference of CAI (CN 110874990 A) has been used for new ground rejection.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623