DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is responsive to Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks, filed November 13, 2025. The amendment, filed November 13, 2025, is entered, wherein claims 21 – 22, 27, and 32 – 34 are amended, claims 1 – 20, 24 – 25, and 35 – 36 are canceled, and claim 26 is withdrawn.
Priority
This application is a national stage application of PCT/JP2021/000273, filed January 7, 2021, which claims benefit of domestic application 62/958,351, filed January 8, 2020.
Withdrawn Objections
4. The objection of claims 22, 24 – 25, 27, 32, and 34 in the previous Office Action, mailed August 14, 2025, is withdrawn in view of the amended claims and canceled claims.
The followings are maintained / modified grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s Amendment and Remarks, filed November 13, 2025, wherein claims 21 – 22, 27, and 32 – 34 are amended and claims 1 – 20, 24 – 25, and 35 – 36 are canceled. Previously cited references have been used to establish the maintained / modified grounds of rejection.
Maintained / Modified Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
i. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
ii. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
iii. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
iv. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or
nonobviousness.
Claims 21 – 23 and 27 – 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka (Machine Translation of WO2019/212061A) in view of Glen Research (The Glen Report, 2010, Vol. 22, Issue 1, Reference included with PTO-892).
Regarding claims 21 – 23 and 27 – 34, Kataoka teaches a segment for oligonucleotide synthesis (Abstract). Kataoka teaches the following formula:
,
wherein B is an unprotected nucleoside base; R1 is a protecting group; R2, R3, and R4 are OCH2CH2CN; R5 is a substituted or unsubstituted aliphatic group; X is an unshared electron pair; Y is H; Z is H; and the value of (m + n) is an integer of 2 – 23 (page 2, lines 2 – 10). R1 is a protecting group that can be removed under acidic conditions (page 4, line 7). The segment for oligonucleotide synthesis comprises (1) a nucleoside wherein the 5’ hydroxyl group and the nucleoside base, if necessary, are protected with a protecting group and the 3’ hydroxyl group is unprotected 3’ phosphoramidite is obtained as an intermediate in the reaction system by phosphorylating the 3’ hydroxyl group, starting from “protected 3’ unprotected nucleoside” as a starting material; and (2) the obtained intermediate and a nucleoside in which both the 3’ hydroxyl group and the 5’ hydroxyl group are unprotected. The unprotected 3’ hydroxyl group remaining at the 3’ terminal is reacted with a trivalent phosphorylating agent to form a phosphoramidite. By repeating (2) the required number of time as (n +1), and the product is synthesized (page 12, lines 2 – 7). In step (1), an activator that activates the amidite moiety is added after the reaction of unprotected 3’ hydroxyl group remaining at the 3’ terminal is reacted with a trivalent phosphorylating agent (page 12, lines 31 – 32). Kataoka explicitly teaches the following synthesis (page 13 – 14):
.
However, Kataoka does not teach the activator that is a saccharin derivative.
Glen Research teaches a number of activators for oligonucleotide synthesis and teaches that saccharin 1-methylimidazole (SMI) is a new activator for said synthesis (page 8, Left Col., para. 1). Data provided illustrates that SMI perform very well for DNA and RNA synthesis (page 8, Center Col., para. 1). Glen Research concludes that saccharin 1-methylimidazole is a useful general purpose activator for DNA and RNA synthesis with excellent performance characteristics.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the general activator as taught by Kataoka with SMI in view of Glen Research because Glen Research demonstrates the excellent performance of SMI in the study. One would have been motivated to substitute the general activator as taught by Kataoka with SMI in view of Glen Research because SMI has an excellent performance in synthesizing DNA and RNA, thereby, yielding predictable results. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to substitute the general activator as taught by Kataoka with SMI in view of Glen Research because both references are directed to synthesis of oligonucleotide and Glen Research explicitly teaches a novel activator in said synthesis, which provides excellent performance characteristics.
Responses to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed November 13, 2025, have been fully considered and are found to be not persuasive.
Regarding Kataoka, Applicant argues that Kataoka does not teach the feature “wherein in at least the last one of the coupling steps performed two or more times, the nucleoside phosphoramidite is a nucleoside phosphoramidite having three nucleoside moieties”, as set forth in amended claims 21 and 33. In response to Applicant’s argument, the examiner would like to point to the modified rejection above, wherein the disclosure of Kataoka recites the segment for use in synthesis of an oligonucleotide having the formula:
,
Wherein (m+n) is an integer of 2 – 23. Although Kataoka does not exemplified the coupling step in the disclosure, Kataoka teaches that (m+n) is an integer of 2 – 23 is sufficient to address the feature “in at least the last one of the coupling steps performed two or more times, the nucleoside phosphoramidite is a nucleoside phosphoramidite having three nucleoside moieties”. Based on the disclosure of Kataoka, one of the ordinary skill in the art would know that the coupling steps do not stop at the point where nucleoside phosphoramidite having four nucleoside moieties is obtained.
Regarding Glen Research, Applicant argues that Glen Research also discloses the use of many other activators other than SMI and the publication is a brochure for “click chemistry”. Therefore, there is no motivation within Glen Research to specifically select SMI. Applicant also argues that the data provided by Glen Research shows that SMI does not offer superior coupling efficiency or purity compared to other disclosed alternatives and Glen Research notes that SMI may induce undesirable branching reaction. In response to Applicant’s argument regarding Glen Research is a brochure for “click chemistry”, the examiner does not agree. In fact, Glen Research discloses various chemical compounds for different uses. The examiner also does not agree that SMI does not offer superior coupling efficiency. Glen Research specifically indicates that a 6 minute coupling time for SMI outperforms ETT at 6 minute coupling time. (page 8, Center Col., para. 1). When comparing SMI and TET with the coupling time of 30 second, SMI also perform better than TET (page 8, Center Col., Table). For the undesirable branching reaction, Glen Research discloses that branching occurs with all activators and branching occurs at a level similar or slight less than 4,5-DCl for SMI (page 8, Left Col., para. 5). Based on the data and disclosure of Glen Research, one of the ordinary skill in the art would have motivated to select SMI as an activator because of the better performance. Moreover, Applicant argues that Glen Research teaches SMI causes undesirable branching and provides unpredictable results, thereby discouraging its use in the method disclosed by Kataoka. However, Glen Research provides empirical data directly contradicting this assertion. Specifically, Glen Research teaches that SMI perform very well for both DNA and RNA synthesis, showing high coupling efficiencies of 97.3 – 97.8 % for RNA and 99.6% for DNA with 30 second coupling time (page 8, Center Col., Table). These coupling efficiency values indicate highly reliable and predictable reaction performance, even under varied coupling times and substrate conditions.
Maintained / Modified Double Patenting
Claims 21 – 23 and 27 – 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/835,699 in view of Kataoka (Machine Translation of WO2019/212061A).
a. Regarding claims 21 – 23 and 27 – 34, ‘699 teaches a method for producing an oligonucleotide, comprising (a) removing a protecting group from a protected nucleoside which is directly or indirectly attached to supports and in which the protecting group is bonded to a hydroxy group, a thiol group, or the amino group at the 3’ position or the 5’ position; (b) binding a nucleoside phosphoramidite to the hydroxy group, the thiol group, or the amino group at the 3’ position or the 5’ position of the nucleoside from which the protecting group has been removed and which is directly or indirectly attached to the supports in the presence of an activator (claim 1). The activator used in the method is saccharin 1-methylimidazole (claim 4).
However, ‘699 does not teach that the nucleoside phosphoramidite is a nucleoside phosphoramidite having two or more nucleoside moieties.
Kataoka teaches a segment for oligonucleotide synthesis (Abstract). Kataoka teaches the following formula:
,
wherein B is an unprotected nucleoside base; R1 is a protecting group; R2, R3, and R4 are OCH2CH2CN; R5 is a substituted or unsubstituted aliphatic group; X is an unshared electron pair; Y is H; Z is H; and the value of (m + n) is an integer of 2 – 23 (page 2, lines 2 – 10). R1 is a protecting group that can be removed under acidic conditions (page 4, line 7). The segment for oligonucleotide synthesis comprises (1) a nucleoside wherein the 5’ hydroxyl group and the nucleoside base, if necessary, are protected with a protecting group and the 3’ hydroxyl group is unprotected 3’ phosphoramidite is obtained as an intermediate in the reaction system by phosphorylating the 3’ hydroxyl group, starting from “protected 3’ unprotected nucleoside” as a starting material; and (2) the obtained intermediate and a nucleoside in which both the 3’ hydroxyl group and the 5’ hydroxyl group are unprotected. The unprotected 3’ hydroxyl group remaining at the 3’ terminal is reacted with a trivalent phosphorylating agent to form a phosphoramidite. By repeating (2) the required number of time as (n +1), and the product is synthesized (page 12, lines 2 – 7). In step (1), an activator that activates the amidite moiety is added after the reaction of unprotected 3’ hydroxyl group remaining at the 3’ terminal is reacted with a trivalent phosphorylating agent (page 12, lines 31 – 32). Kataoka explicitly teaches the following synthesis (page 13 – 14):
.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method of oligonucleotide using a nucleoside phosphoramidite as taught by ‘699 into the production method of oligonucleotide using a nucleoside phosphoramidite having two or more nucleoside moieties in view of Kataoka because both references teach the method of producing oligonucleotide and the methods taught involve similar reagent. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify because such modification will yield predictable results. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the production method of oligonucleotide using a nucleoside phosphoramidite as taught by ‘699 into the production method of oligonucleotide using a nucleoside phosphoramidite having two or more nucleoside moieties in view of Kataoka because the references teach the same method and Kataoka explicitly teaches the type of nucleoside phosphoramidite.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 21 – 23 and 27 – 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of copending Application No. 18/835,547 in view of Kataoka (Machine Translation of WO2019/212061A).
b. Regarding claims 21 – 23 and 27 – 34, ‘547 teaches a method for producing an oligonucleotide, comprising binding a nucleoside phosphoramidite to the hydroxy group, the thiol group, or the amino group at the 3’ position or the 5’ position of the nucleoside which is directly or indirectly attached to the supports in the presence of an activator (claim 1). The activator used in the method is saccharin 1-methylimidazole (claim 4).
However, ‘547 does not teach that the nucleoside phosphoramidite is a nucleoside phosphoramidite having two or more nucleoside moieties.
Kataoka teaches a segment for oligonucleotide synthesis (Abstract). Kataoka teaches the following formula:
,
wherein B is an unprotected nucleoside base; R1 is a protecting group; R2, R3, and R4 are OCH2CH2CN; R5 is a substituted or unsubstituted aliphatic group; X is an unshared electron pair; Y is H; Z is H; and the value of (m + n) is an integer of 2 – 23 (page 2, lines 2 – 10). R1 is a protecting group that can be removed under acidic conditions (page 4, line 7). The segment for oligonucleotide synthesis comprises (1) a nucleoside wherein the 5’ hydroxyl group and the nucleoside base, if necessary, are protected with a protecting group and the 3’ hydroxyl group is unprotected 3’ phosphoramidite is obtained as an intermediate in the reaction system by phosphorylating the 3’ hydroxyl group, starting from “protected 3’ unprotected nucleoside” as a starting material; and (2) the obtained intermediate and a nucleoside in which both the 3’ hydroxyl group and the 5’ hydroxyl group are unprotected. The unprotected 3’ hydroxyl group remaining at the 3’ terminal is reacted with a trivalent phosphorylating agent to form a phosphoramidite. By repeating (2) the required number of time as (n +1), and the product is synthesized (page 12, lines 2 – 7). In step (1), an activator that activates the amidite moiety is added after the reaction of unprotected 3’ hydroxyl group remaining at the 3’ terminal is reacted with a trivalent phosphorylating agent (page 12, lines 31 – 32). Kataoka explicitly teaches the following synthesis (page 13 – 14):
.
It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method of oligonucleotide using a nucleoside phosphoramidite as taught by ‘547 into the production method of oligonucleotide using a nucleoside phosphoramidite having two or more nucleoside moieties in view of Kataoka because both references teach the method of producing oligonucleotide and the methods taught involve similar reagent. It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify because such modification will yield predictable results. Therefore, one skilled in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to modify the production method of oligonucleotide using a nucleoside phosphoramidite as taught by ‘547 into the production method of oligonucleotide using a nucleoside phosphoramidite having two or more nucleoside moieties in view of Kataoka because the references teach the same method and Kataoka explicitly teaches the type of nucleoside phosphoramidite.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks:
Applicant’s Remarks, filed November 13, 2025, have been fully considered and are found to be not persuasive.
Regarding ‘699 and ‘547, Applicant argues that each are later-filed and published after the present application. Therefore, they are not proper references for obviousness-type double patenting rejections. However, the rejection is consistent with established practice for addressing nonstatutory double patenting. As explained in MPEP 804(II)(B)(5), a later-expiring patent may serve as a proper reference in one-way obviousness-type double patenting rejection unless the applicant can show that the claims could not have been filed in a single application and that the Office was solely responsible for any delay that caused the reference patent to issue first. In the present case, Applicant does not provide evidence that the Office, rather than Applicant, is solely responsible for any prosecution delay, nor that the claims could not have been presented together. Courts have consistently held that applicant-driven prosecution choices, such as filing multiple applications or continuations, do not warrant application for the two-way test. Therefore, the one-way test applies, and the double patenting rejection over ‘699 and ‘547.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the maintained / modified ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H.Y.L./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693