DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment, filed 06/26/2025, has been entered. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 7 and 8 are cancelled. Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “a positive electrode lead and a negative electrode lead” is introduced separately; however, it is unclear how this differs from the electrode leads introduced in claim 1, as evidenced by pg. 8 lines 1-2 of the specification these appear to be mapped to the same elements Fig. 4, 111 and 112. Correction is required.
Claims 4-6 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Toshiyuki (JP2019186042 A, refer to enclosed translations for citations).
Regarding claim 1,
Toshiyuki teaches a battery module (Fig. 4, illustrative to 100; [0006]) comprising:
a battery cell stack (Fig. 5D, stack of 10; [0006]) in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked (Fig. 5D, 10; [0006]);
a bus bar (Fig. 12, bus bar 40; [0045]) wherein in the plurality of battery cells include electrode leads (Fig. 12, electrode leads 12) coupled to the bus bar (Fig. 12, busbar 40; [0045]);
and a cover disposed on the battery cell stack (Fig. 2, 300/400; [0052] disposed on cell stack of cells 10),
wherein at least a part of the bus bar is in contact with first surfaces of the electrode leads (wherein bus bar 40 is in contact with a first inner surface of electrode leads 12 as depicted in Fig. 11; see [0075]),
wherein the cover 300/400 includes a support frame (Fig. 1, 300; [0012])
defining an insertion opening (Fig. 9, peripheral edge of 300 in contact with 400)
configured to receive the electrode leads ([0012],[0014]),
and wherein the bus bar 40 is disposed such that a buffer space (annotated Fig. 11, “buffer space”) is formed between the bus bar 40 and the support frame 300 (see Fig. 9 and 11),
and wherein the buffer space is formed in a lower side of the bus bar (Fig. 11, left side of 40)
to buffer a tensile force generated in one of the plurality of battery cells (Fig. 11, 40; see [0074]-[0075] which at least teaches the cell expansion of 10 in a vertical direction is still possible, and wherein 40 is directly connected between leads 12n and 12 p in vertical direction thus buffering expansion) .
Regarding claim 9,
Toshiyuki in view of Kim teaches a battery pack ([0001], “battery module” wherein a battery module describes a battery pack), comprising the battery module according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 10,
Toshiyuki in view of Kim teaches a vehicle ([0011], “vehicle”), comprising the battery module according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiyuki (JP2019186042 A).
Regarding claim 2,
Toshiyuki teaches the battery module of claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the bus bar comprises: a first member (Fig. 17A, top portion of hat-shaped member 40) and a second member in contact with the first surfaces of the electrode leads (Fig. 17A, sidewall and brim portions of hat-shaped member 40 near 40b in contact with first surface of 12 at W1, and wherein all components of 100 are in direct or indirect contact). While 17A is respective to a different embodiment, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.). Additionally, the second embodiment incorporates all the claimed subject matter of claim 1 such that it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use the second embodiment of Toshiyuki
Regarding claim 3,
Toshiyuki teaches the battery module of claim 2 (see rejection of claim 2 above), wherein the first member (Fig. 17A, top portion of hat-shaped member 40) is disposed between a positive electrode lead and a negative electrode lead (Fig. 17A, 12n and 12p), and wherein the second member (Fig. 17A, sidewall and brim portions of hat-shaped member 40 near 40b) extends from the first member (top of 40, see above) toward each of the positive electrode lead and the negative electrode lead(12n and 12p, wherein the second member extends from top of 40 towards W1 and thus towards the positive electrode lead and negative electrode lead).
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshiyuki (JP2019186042 A, refer to enclosed translations for citations) in view of Kim (US-20140205889-A1).
Regarding claim 4,
Toshiyuki teaches the battery module of claim 3 (see rejection of claim 3 above), but fails to teach wherein the bus bar is formed in a "T" shape. Kim teaches a busbar formed in a T-like shape (Fig. 6, 250). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the shape of the bus bar is formed in a “T” shape in order to realize a high-strength yet flexible electrical connection to the terminals [0046].
Regarding claim 5,
Toshiyuki in view of Kim teaches the battery module of claim 4 (see rejection of claim 4 above), wherein the second member of the bus bar (see rejection of claim 2 above; Fig. 17A, sidewall and brim portions) is bonded by laser welding [0079] while being placed on first portions (Fig. 17A, W1, [0079]) of the electrode leads (Fig. 17A, 12; see rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6,
Toshiyuki in view of Kim teaches the battery module of claim 5 (see rejection of claim 5 above), but is silent to wherein the positive electrode lead is formed of an aluminum material and the negative electrode lead is formed of a copper material and wherein the bus bar is formed of an aluminum material melted during the laser welding, and bonded to an electrode lead formed of a copper material. Kim teaches wherein the positive electrode lead is formed of an aluminum material (Kim, [0053]), and the negative electrode lead is formed of a copper material (Kim, [0053]), and wherein the bus bar is formed of an aluminum material melted during the laser welding, and bonded to an electrode lead formed of a copper material (Kim, [0053]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to use a aluminum positive electrode lead and bus bar and copper negative electrode, as taught by Kim as known materials for these members in the art [0053]. Furthermore, Toshiyuki teaches that modification may be made to the device [0109].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/26/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that that the cells would expand upward such that a tensile force could not be buffered in the buffer space. However, this is not persuasive, because Kim is no longer relied in the rejection of claim 1.
In the interest of expedition prosecution, the examiner notes that the primary reference has a similar issue argued above, wherein the primary expansion direction is not vertical [0074]. The examiner notes that upon a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
In the instant case, the primary reference describes [0090] “restraint plate is less likely to expand in the direction in which battery cells are stacked” such that the prior art discloses that there is at least some degree of expansion possible in the stacking direction, despite restraint, such that 252 is capable of performing the claimed aspect of the invention across the buffer space (see annotated Fig. 6, 252 expanding across the buffer space; see rejection of claim 1 above).
Applicant argues that all claims should be allowable based off an allowable independent claim. However, the rejections on all claims have been sustained.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL CHRISTIAN ST WYROUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723