DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/07/2022 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the projection of said central nozzle" in lines 11-12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the projection of which on said plane perpendicular to said axis" in lines 14-15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the projection on said plane perpendicular to said axis" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the projection on said first frontal median plane" in lines 1-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the projection on said plane perpendicular to said axis" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the projection of which on said plane perpendicular to said axis" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the projection on said plane perpendicular to said axis" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the projection of which on said plane perpendicular to said axis" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the at least one second lateral duct" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the projection on said first frontal median plane" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the projection on said plane perpendicular to said axis" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Mezzoli (US 6228070).
Regarding Claim 1, Mezzoli discloses a liquid dispenser (Fig.2A) for medical uses wherein a first membrane body (2) is shaped symmetrically with respect to a first front median plane (see annotated figure below) and to a second sagittal median plane (see annotated figure below) intersected in a central axis (see annotated figure below) (the first membrane body 2 is shaped symmetrically with respect to the first front median plane and the second sagittal median plane wherein the first front median plane and the second sagittal median plane intersect at the central axis as seen annotated figure below) and is delimited at the top by a dome (see annotated figure below); an extension of said first body (2) according to said second sagittal median plane being greater than an extension of said first body (2) according to said first front median plane (the extension of the first membrane body 2 is greater at the second sagittal median plane than the first front median plane as in annotated figure below); a second body (4d) being carried by said first body (2) inside said dome in a concentric position to said axis (Figs.2A-2D); said second body (4d) having a lower hollow portion (see annotated figure below) (the second body 4d is hollow, since fluid passes to connect holes 4a-c with conduction 5) (lines 33-37 in column 5) concentric with said axis (Figs.2A-D) and an upper portion (see annotated figure below) that has a central duct (lumen within upper portion where fluid passes; see annotated figure below) and at least a first lateral duct (see annotated figure below) ending in said dome (Fig.2A), respectively, with a central nozzle (see annotated figure below) and at least a first lateral nozzle (4c); characterized in that the projection of said central nozzle on a plane perpendicular to said axis has an oval or rectangular shape (Fig.2c), in that said central nozzle (4b) has a first lateral portion (see annotated figure below) the projection of which on said plane perpendicular to said axis extends laterally with respect to said second sagittal median plane (the first lateral portion extends lateral with respect to the second sagittal median plane; extends away from the central axis as seen in annotated figures below), and in that the projection on said plane perpendicular to said axis of said at least one first lateral nozzle (4c) is positioned entirely laterally with respect to said second sagittal median plane (Fig.2A).
Regarding Claim 2, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 1, and further discloses characterized in that the projection on said first frontal median plane of said at least one first lateral duct is at least partially overlapping the projection on said first frontal median plane of said central duct (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 3, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 1, and further discloses characterized in that the projection on said plane perpendicular to the axis of said at least one first lateral nozzle has an oval or rectangular shape (Fig.2c).
Regarding Claim 4, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 1, and further discloses characterized in that said central nozzle has a second lateral portion (see annotated figure below), the projection of which on said plane perpendicular to said axis extends laterally with respect to said second sagittal median plane and symmetrically with respect to said projection on said plane perpendicular to said axis of said first portion (see annotated figure below) of central nozzle (the second lateral portion extends lateral with respect to the second sagittal median plane; extends away from the central axis and symmetrical to the
firs lateral portion as seen in annotated figures below).
Regarding Claim 5, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 4, and further discloses characterized in that said dispenser comprises a second lateral duct (see annotated figure below) ending in said dome with a second lateral nozzle (4a), the projection of which on said plane perpendicular to said axis is positioned entirely laterally with respect to said second sagittal median plane (Fig.2A).
Regarding Claim 6, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 4, and further discloses characterized in that the projection on said first frontal median plane of said at least one second lateral duct at least partially overlaps the projection on said first frontal median plane of said central duct (see annotated figure below).
Regarding Claim 7, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 5, and further discloses characterized in that the projection on said plane perpendicular to the axis of said at least one second lateral nozzle has an oval or rectangular shape (Fig.2c).
Regarding Claim 8, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 1, and further discloses characterized in that said central nozzle is flared and has a section increasing towards said dome (the central nozzle is flared towards the dome as seen in Fig.2A).
Regarding Claim 9, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 5, and further discloses characterized in that said first and second lateral ducts are developed on parallel planes (the first and second lateral ducts are symmetrical; therefore, they are developed on parallel planes Fig.2A).
Regarding Claim 10, Mezzoli discloses the dispenser according to claim 1, and further discloses characterized in that said dome has externally at least one discharge groove (lines 43-56 in column 4).
Conclusion
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /BHISMA MEHTA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783