DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 69-71 and 73-79 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khong et al. (US 2017/0030995) in view of Reede et al. (US 2012/0032855).
Regarding claim 1, Khong discloses, a method of locating a transceiver (Figs. 1-2c), the method comprising:
(a) using a coordinator transceiver (7) to coordinate transmission of a plurality of signals by a plurality of transceivers (Para. 0002, lines 1-8 and see 8, 9, 10, 11) that includes the coordinator transceiver, a first transceiver and a second transceiver;
(b) using the first transceiver (8) to transmit a first signal at a first time scheduled by the coordinator transceiver (Para. 0002); and
(c) using the second transceiver (11) to sense the first signal at a second time to facilitate determination of a location of the first transceiver relative to the second transceiver (Para. 0002 and 0004; note, discloses using TOF signals to determine distance and location of second transceiver 11).
Khong does not disclose the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle; and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers.
Reede teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method of locating a transceiver that it would have been desirable to make the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle (Para. 0098); and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers (Para. 0098).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle; and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers as taught by the method of locating a transceiver of Reede in the method of locating a transceiver of Khong since Reede teaches it is known to include these features in a method of locating a transceiver for the purpose of providing an accurate and effective method of locating a transceiver.
Regarding claims 2 and 70, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, the plurality of transceivers are stationary and are disposed in a facility, and wherein the plurality of transceivers are configured to locate a transitory transceiver in the facility (Para. 0004, lines 1-9; note, discloses a plurality of transceivers located in a building/warehouse).
Regarding claim 3, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, at least one transceiver of the plurality of transceivers is disposed in a housing (see Figs. 2a-c) comprising (i) sensors or (ii) a sensor and an emitter (Para. 0018; note, discloses “target transceiver 2” receives “TOF initialization transmission 3” with a sensor and emits “TOF response transmission 4”).
Regarding claims 4 and 71, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, the plurality of transceivers are operatively coupled to a network of a facility in which the plurality of transceivers are disposed (Para. 0004, lines 1-9; note, discloses a network of a facility that includes a plurality of transceivers located in a building/warehouse).
Regarding claims 6 and 73, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, the coordinator transceiver coordinates transmission of a second signal by the second transceiver (Para. 0002).
Regarding claims 7 and 74, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, the first signal comprises identification data and/or time data (Para. 0018 and “4” of Fig. 1; note, discloses “TOF response transmission”).
Regarding claims 8 and 75, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, the location data comprises a distance (Para. 0002 and 0004), the distance comprises a distance between two transceivers (Para. 0002 and 0004).
Regarding claims 9 and 76, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, the time and/or location data is utilized to find a topology of the plurality of transceivers (Para. 0002 and 0004).
Regarding claim 69, Khong discloses, an apparatus (Figs. 1-2c), comprising:
at least one controller comprising circuitry, the at least one controller being configured to:
(a) operatively couple to a coordinator transceiver (7) and to a plurality of transceivers (Para. 0002, lines 1-8 and see 8, 9, 10, 11);
(b) use, or direct use of, a coordinator transceiver to coordinate transmission of a plurality of signals by a plurality of transceivers (Para. 0002 and 0004; note, discloses using TOF signals to determine distance and location of second transceiver 11) that includes the coordinator transceiver, a first transceiver (8) and a second transceiver (11);
(c) use, or direct use of, the first transceiver (8) to transmit a first signal at a first time scheduled by the coordinator transceiver (Para. 0002); and
(d) use, or direct use of, the second transceiver (11) to sense the first signal at a second time to facilitate determination of a location of the first transceiver relative to the second transceiver (Para. 0002 and 0004; note, discloses using TOF signals to determine distance and location of the first and second transceivers).
Khong does not disclose the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle; and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers.
Reede teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an apparatus that it would have been desirable to make the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle (Para. 0098); and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers (Para. 0098).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle; and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers as taught by the apparatus of Reede in the apparatus of Khong since Reede teaches it is known to include these features in an apparatus for the purpose of providing an accurate and effective apparatus.
Regarding claim 77, Khong discloses, a non-transitory computer readable medium for locating a transceiver (Figs. 1-2c), the non-transitory computer readable medium comprises program instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to execute operations comprising:
(a) using, or directing use of, a coordinator transceiver (7) to coordinate transmission of a plurality of signals (Para. 0002 and 0004; note, discloses using TOF signals to determine distance and location of second transceiver 11) by a plurality of transceivers (Para. 0002, lines 1-8 and see 8, 9, 10, 11) that includes the coordinator transceiver, a first transceiver (8) and a second transceiver (11);
(b) using, or directing use of, the first transceiver (8) to transmit a first signal at a first time scheduled by the coordinator transceiver (Para. 0002); and
(c) using, or directing use of, the second transceiver (11) to sense the first signal at a second time to facilitate determination of a location of the first transceiver relative to the second transceiver (Para. 0002 and 0004; note, discloses using TOF signals to determine distance and location of second transceiver 11).
Khong does not disclose the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle; and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers.
Reede teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in an apparatus that it would have been desirable to make the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle (Para. 0098); and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers (Para. 0098).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first signal comprises location data; wherein the location data comprises an angle; and wherein the angle is an angle between two transceivers as taught by the apparatus of Reede in the apparatus of Khong since Reede teaches it is known to include these features in an apparatus for the purpose of providing an accurate and effective apparatus.
Regarding claim 78, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, the operations further comprise using, or directing use of, the coordinator transceiver (11) to coordinate transmission of a second signal by the second transceiver to determine of the location of the second transceiver with respect to at least one other transceiver of the plurality of transceivers (Para. 0002 and 0004; note, discloses using TOF signals to determine distance and location of the first and second transceivers).
Regarding claim 79, Khong in view of Reede discloses and teaches as set forth above, and Khong further discloses, the location data comprises a distance and the distance comprises a distance between two transceivers (Para. 0002 and 0004), and wherein the time and/or location data is utilized to find a topology of the plurality of transceivers (Para. 0018 and “4” of Fig. 1; note, discloses “TOF response transmission”).
Claims 5 and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khong et al. (US 2017/0030995) in view of Reede et al. (US 2012/0032855) as applied to claims 4 and 71 above, and further in view of Gherardi et al. (US 2019/0058977; already of record).
Khong in view of Reede remains as applied to claims 4 and 72 above.
Khong in view of Reede does not disclose the network (i) is configured to facilitate power and data communication on a single cable, (ii) is configured to facilitate at least a third generation, fourth generation or fifth generation cellular communication, (iii) comprises at least a portion that is a first network installed in the facility, (iv) comprises at least a portion disposed in an envelope of the facility, (v) is configured to facilitate control of the facility, (vi) is configured to facilitate media communication, data communication, cellular communication, and power communication, (vii) comprises a coaxial cable, an optical cable, and/or a twisted wire and/or (vii) comprises wired and/or wireless communication.
Gherardi teaches, from the same field of endeavor that in a method of locating a transceiver that it would have been desirable to make the network (i) is configured to facilitate power and data communication on a single cable (Para. 0079), (ii) is configured to facilitate at least a third generation, fourth generation or fifth generation cellular communication (Para. 0090), (iii) comprises at least a portion that is a first network installed in the facility (Para. 0221 and 0294), (iv) comprises at least a portion disposed in an envelope of the facility (Para. 0221 and 0294), (v) is configured to facilitate control of the facility (Para. 0221 and 0294), (vi) is configured to facilitate media communication, data communication, cellular communication, and power communication (Para. 0090), (vii) comprises a coaxial cable, an optical cable, and/or a twisted wire (Para. 0079) and/or (vii) comprises wired and/or wireless communication (Para. 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the network (i) is configured to facilitate power and data communication on a single cable, (ii) is configured to facilitate at least a third generation, fourth generation or fifth generation cellular communication, (iii) comprises at least a portion that is a first network installed in the facility, (iv) comprises at least a portion disposed in an envelope of the facility, (v) is configured to facilitate control of the facility, (vi) is configured to facilitate media communication, data communication, cellular communication, and power communication, (vii) comprises a coaxial cable, an optical cable, and/or a twisted wire and/or (vii) comprises wired and/or wireless communication as taught by the method of locating a transceiver of Gherardi in the combination of Khong in view of Reede since Gherardi teaches it is known to include these features in a method of locating a transceiver for the purpose of providing a reliable, accurate and precise method of locating a transceiver.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 and 69-79 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ahn et al. (US 2013/0196683) discloses an apparatus that includes at least one controller comprising circuitry, a coordinator transceiver, a first transceiver and a second transceiver. Lee et al. (US 2011/0026364) discloses a system that includes a coordinator transceiver, a first transceiver and a second transceiver in which a three-dimensional (3D) position is calculated based on distances and direction angles of the transceivers.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 03/24/2026