Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8 and 11-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somasundaram (US 20080220784) in view of Johansson (US 20130183974) further in view of Viering (US 20180132300) further in view of Chisu (US 20180302934).
Regarding claims 1 and 11-13, Somasundaram teaches a method for enhancing continuity of data transmissions and/or for reducing interruption or interruption periods of data transmissions between a user equipment and a mobile communication network, the mobile communication network comprising or being assigned to a radio access network, the radio access network comprising at least a first base station entity (Fig. 1, serving cell) and a second base station entity (Fig. 1, neighbor cell), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by the user equipment, a radio link threshold indication (serving cell threshold), the radio link threshold indication being related to at least one radio link quality parameter and indicating a threshold value regarding the at least one radio link quality parameter ([0106] “The serving cell threshold may be sent by the network in the SIB or measurement control message”)
measuring or detecting, by the user equipment while being in connected mode and being served by the first base station entity, a deterioration of a radio communication link to between the user equipment and the first base station entity ([0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x”); and
based on comparing the measured or detected deterioration to the threshold value of the radio link threshold indication, and prior to radio link failure, initiating, (the TTT interval is adjusted and a measurement report is transmitted), by the user equipment, a preparation stage for a radio link failure procedure (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down”; [0120] “In step 920, if the serving cell signal measurement falls below a serving cell threshold, the TTT interval is adjusted and a measurement report is transmitted before the expiration of the TTT interval, reporting that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold”. Note this step implicitly occurs before an occurrence of a radio link failure),
wherein a possible outcome of the radio link failure procedure is the user equipment being served by the second base station entity (neighbor cell) instead of the first base station entity (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down, thereby requesting the network to send the handover command”).
The method further comprises: prior to initiating the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure, receiving, by the user equipment, a radio cell list indication, the radio cell list indication being related to potential target cells for serving the user equipment after the radio communication link between the user equipment and the first base station entity is interrupted (“[0016] 1) Neighbor cell list (NCL); [0031] In active state, the WTRU always measures the cells in its neighbor list which is sent in SIB11 or in the measurement control message..WTRU could also search and detect neighboring cells and perform measurements on them” (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down, thereby requesting the network to send the handover command”);
Somasundaram implicitly teach prior to radio link failure, initiate a preparation stage for a radio link failure procedure ([0120] “In step 920, if the serving cell signal measurement falls below a serving cell threshold, the TTT interval is adjusted and a measurement report is transmitted before the expiration of the TTT interval, reporting that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold”), and the radio link failure procedure is not a handover procedure (the adjusting of the TTT interval and transmitting of a measurement report is not a handover procedure). Somasundaram implicitly teach prior to radio link failure. However, for compact prosecution purpose, Johansson is added to show a more explicit teaching.
In an analogous art, Johansson teaches prior to the radio link failure (Fig. 5 step a fast 517 RLF), initiate a preparation stage (start timer and sends measurement report) for a radio link failure procedure ([0047] There are many ways to shorten the RLF evaluation, and one of them is to use a new T310a timer (e.g., starts timer t310a when UE 501 sends measurement report in step 514).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Somasundaram’s teaching of sending the measurement report also include Johansson’s teaching initiating a preparation stage of sending the measurement report prior to the radio link failure so that the network can quickly address the network connection to reduce the outage time (Johansson, [0048] “The fast RLF mechanism thus reduces the outage time in the source cell”).
Johansson further teaches wherein the method further comprises: selecting, by the user equipment, the target cell from the radio cell list indication ([0047] “Upon fast RLF, UE 501 performs cell selection in step 518 followed by an RRC reestablishment procedure in step 519”); wherein the radio link failure procedure includes a Radio Link Reestablishment towards a target cell ([0047] “Upon fast RLF, UE 501 performs cell selection in step 518 followed by an RRC reestablishment procedure in step 519”);
wherein the radio link failure procedure does not include performing a handover (Fig. 5 shows Step 517 Fast RLF Radio Link Failure is followed by Cell Selection step 518 and does not include handover step);
Somasundaram and Johansson do not explicitly teach the newly amended limitations, “wherein the radio link failure procedure is based on a loss of the radio communication link and includes a Radio Link Reestablishment towards a target cell, wherein the radio link failure procedure does not include performing a handover; and wherein the threshold value corresponds to a quality level of the radio communication link between the user equipment and the first base station entity above a quality level that would trigger the radio link failure procedure, such that the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure is initiated prior to deterioration of the quality level of the radio communication link to a quality level
However, the examiner notes that these “wherein” limitations are non-functional limitations as they are not positively recited as active steps. Nonetheless for compact prosecution purpose, they are addressed as below.
Johansson implicitly does not explicitly teach “RLF is based on a loss of the radio communication link”.
In an analogous art, Viering teaches “RLF is based on a loss of the radio communication link” ([0042] a radio link failure (RLF) basically refers to radio link or connection outage/drop/breakdown (due to bad quality on/of the radio link or connection). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Somasundaram’s teaching of sending the measurement report and Johansson’s teaching of RLF and Viering’s teaching of “RLF based on a loss of the radio link” because loss of radio link is one sure and known way of identifying a RLF radio link failure to comply with what is known in the art.
Chisu teaches the threshold value corresponds to a quality level of the radio communication link between the user equipment and the first base station entity above a quality level that would trigger the radio link failure procedure (above a radio link failure threshold 604), such that the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure is initiated prior to deterioration of the quality level of the radio communication link to the quality level (quality indicators including a signal to noise ratio being below a predetermined threshold) that would trigger the radio link failure procedure ([0041] “a consideration of a threshold for receive quality indicators including a signal to noise ratio being below a predetermined threshold and above a radio link failure threshold 604; a consideration of path loss 606”; [0042] “The determination of a degradation can involve one or more of the conditions noted, where in some instances it may only include a subset of detected conditions associated with one of the uplink or the downlink”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Somasundaram’s teaching of sending the measurement report and Johansson’s teaching of RLF and Viering’s teaching of “RLF based on a loss of the radio link” and Chisu’s teaching of the threshold value to be above a quality level that would trigger the radio link failure procedure to allow the UE to have enough time to communicate with the system and perform necessary tasks before the actual loss of signal.
With further regard to claim 11, Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu further teach system, comprising: a mobile communication network (Fig. 1 has serving cell and neighbor cell and Fig. 4 teaches WTRU); and a user equipment (Fig. 4 teaches WTRU) wherein the mobile communication network comprises or is assigned to a radio access network, the radio access network comprising at least a first base station entity (serving cell Fig. 1) and a second base station entity (neighbor cell Fig. 1);
With further regard to claim 12, Somasundaram further teaches user equipment (Fig. 4 WTRU) comprises: a processor (Fig.1 420)
Regarding claim 3, Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the radio cell list indication additionally indicates or is related to potential target cells for serving the user equipment after a radio communication link between the user equipment and a neighbor radio cell of the first base station entity is interrupted ([0031] “the WTRU always measures the cells in its neighbor list which is sent in SIB 11 or in the measurement control message”).
Regarding claim 4, Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu teach the method according to claim 1, wherein, in view of a potential establishment of a radio communication link with the second base station entity due to mobility of the user equipment, prioritized measurements are performed during the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure (“[0118] In step 720, mobility factors associated with the WTRU are monitored. In step 725, if the number of cell reselections exceeds a third value, and a high mobility factor is detected, a determination is made as to whether a first adjustment of the reselection timer should be performed by multiplying the first value with a first scaling factor, a second adjustment of the ranking criteria of the serving cell should be performed by multiplying the second value of the hysteresis value with a second scaling factor, or both of the first and second adjustments should be performed, to reduce the ranking of the serving cell.”; Abstract; cell ranking criteria is adjusted based on a hysteresis value and a scaling factor when a maximum number of reselections is exceeded and a high mobility factor is detected. Furthermore, a method of reporting cell signal measurements is disclosed, whereby a time-to-trigger time (TTT) interval is started when the neighbor cell signal measurement rises above a reporting range threshold.”) and/or at a point in time where actual radio link failure with the first base station entity has not yet occurred (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down, thereby requesting the network to send the handover command”);
wherein the user equipment initiates and/or performs cell search and/or cell identification procedures during the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure and/or at a point in time where actual radio link failure with the first base station entity has not yet occurred ([0031] In active state, the WTRU always measures the cells in its neighbor list which is sent in SIB 11 or in the measurement control message. If a neighbor list is truncated or removed as is being discussed in LTE, the WTRU could also search and detect neighboring cells and perform measurements on them.);
wherein during the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure and/or prior to the user equipment actually initiating a radio link failure procedure, the user equipment performs cell identification with respect to the second base station entity.
Regarding claim 5, Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu teach the method according to claim 1, further comprising: initiating, by the user equipment, the radio link failure procedure in case of a deterioration of the radio communication link (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down, thereby requesting the network to send the handover command”) between the user equipment and the first base station entity leading to an interruption of a data transmission or to an interruption period regarding a data transmission between the user equipment and the mobile communication network upon the user equipment traveling outside of a radio coverage area of the first base station entity.
Regarding claim 6, Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the radio link threshold indication is related to at least one out of the following radio link quality indicators: a number of re-transmissions or an indication that the number of re-transmissions is increased or is currently increasing, a number of out-of-sync events or an indication that the number of out-of-sync events is increased or is currently increasing, a value of the reference signal received power (RSRP), a value of the received signal strength indicator (RSSI), a value of the reference signal received quality; (RSRQ) (The examiner notes that these wherein clauses are non-functional descriptive optional and are not positively recited active steps as required by method claims. Nonetheless, these limitations are also addressed. “[0039] A wireless communication method of adjusting a reselection timer in a WTRU is also disclosed herein. A signal measurement, (e.g., RSRQ, RSCP, RSRP), of the serving cell is performed.”), or the value of the signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR).
Regarding claim 8, Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu teach the method according to claim 2, wherein the prioritized measurements are performed exclusively with respect to the potential target cells referred to by the radio cell list indication, during the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure and/or at a point in time where actual radio link failure with the first base station entity has not yet occurred (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down, thereby requesting the network to send the handover command”); and wherein the radio cell list indication contains three or less target cells.
Claims 7 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu in view of Lee (US 20100317362)
Regarding claim 7, Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu teach the method according to claim 2, wherein: at least one piece of information out of the radio link threshold indication or the radio cell list indication is broadcast by the first base station entity, or at least one piece of information out of the radio link threshold indication or the radio cell list indication is transmitted, by the first base station entity, to the user equipment in a dedicated manner (“[0101] the serving cell signal threshold may be transmitted separately through some dedicated RRC measurement control message.”),
However, Somasundaram does not teach
wherein different user equipment’s receive different radio link threshold indications or radio cell list indications having different respective values or different content; wherein the radio link threshold indication and/or the radio cell list indication is dynamically updated, based on a geographical location of the user equipment and/or based on load balancing.
In an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein different user equipment’s receive different radio link threshold indications or radio cell list indications having different respective values (“[0058] “Another area of optimization provided by the present invention is dynamic dedicated handoff (HO) thresholds for individual mobile transceivers 112.”) or different content;
wherein the radio link threshold indication and/or the radio cell list indication is dynamically updated, based on a geographical location of the user equipment and/or based on load balancing (“[0058] “Another area of optimization provided by the present invention is dynamic dedicated handoff (HO) thresholds for individual mobile transceivers 112. Using the E911 location information, each mobile transceiver 112 can have a unique, assigned HO (hand off) or SHO (soft hand off) threshold based on the network 100 resources, network 100 capacity, and as well as each subscriber's requirements”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Somasundaram’s teaching of handover to also include Lee’s teaching of different threshold for different UE and the threshold are based on location and load balancing/network capacity in order to tailor the UE’s or network specific condition and thereby optimize the system as taught by [0058] of Lee).
Claims 9 rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu in view of Chuang (US 20170318527)
Regarding claim 9, Somasundaram, Johansson, Viering and Chisu teach the method according to claim 1, except wherein the user equipment is intentionally unable to perform a handover procedure due to its device category, and wherein the user equipment is a machine type communication device and/or a narrow band internet-of-things device”). (The examiner notes that these wherein clauses are non-functional descriptive optional and are not positively recited active steps as required by method claims. Nonetheless, these limitations are also addressed).
In an analogous art, Chuang teaches the user equipment is unable to perform a handover procedure due to its device category, and wherein the user equipment is a machine type communication device ([0005] “With lack of real-time measurement results from the MTC device, the network is unable to tell the MTC device to switch to a cell that can better serve the MTC device. As the radio signal quality of the serving cell continues to deteriorate, the MTC device will experience a Radio Link Failure (RLF) which further leads to connection loss and service breakoff). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Somasundaram’s teaching of the handover to also include Chuang’s teaching of not enabling the MTC device to perform handover because MTC does not have real-time measurements.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues,
“Somasundaram likewise distinguishes between reselection and handover. See Somasundaram [0005] ("Reselection and handover are very different mechanisms. Reselection is performed by the WTRU in an RRC_idle state. Handover is performed by the WTRU in an RRC_connected state."). Somasundaram does not disclose performing reselection with regard to a WTRU in connected mode”.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., "”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant argues,
“Somasundaram thus does not disclose or suggest "based on comparing the measured or detected deterioration to the threshold value of the radio link threshold indication and prior to radio link failure, initiating, by the user equipment, a preparation stage for a radio link failure procedure,
wherein the radio link failure procedure is based on a loss of the radio link to a current serving cell and includes a Radio Link Reestablishment towards a target cell, and wherein the radio link failure procedure does not include performing a handover," as recited in claim 1.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Somasundaram teaches “based on comparing the measured or detected deterioration to the threshold value of the radio link threshold indication, and prior to radio link failure, initiating, (the TTT interval is adjusted and a measurement report is transmitted), by the user equipment, a preparation stage for a radio link failure procedure (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down”; [0120] “In step 920, if the serving cell signal measurement falls below a serving cell threshold, the TTT interval is adjusted and a measurement report is transmitted before the expiration of the TTT interval, reporting that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold”. Note this step implicitly occurs before an occurrence of a radio link failure).
The examiner notes that these “wherein” limitations are non-functional limitations as they are not positively recited as active steps. Nonetheless for compact prosecution purpose, they are addressed.
Johansson teaches wherein the radio link failure procedure includes a Radio Link Reestablishment towards a target cell ([0047] “Upon fast RLF, UE 501 performs cell selection in step 518 followed by an RRC reestablishment procedure in step 519”);
wherein the radio link failure procedure does not include performing a handover (Fig. 5 shows Step 517 Fast RLF Radio Link Failure is followed by Cell Selection step 518 and does not include handover step);
Viering teaches “RLF is based on a loss of the radio link to a current serving cell” ([0042] a radio link failure (RLF) basically refers to radio link or connection outage/drop/breakdown (due to bad quality on/of the radio link or connection).
Applicant argues,
“Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that in a handover procedure, the network selects the cell. See, e.g., Somasundaram [0005] ("Handover is network controlled and directed.'). In contrast, claim 1 recites that the user equipment is the entity which, in the context of a radio link failure procedure (not handover), selects the target cell.”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. Although, Somasundaram may teach "Handover is network controlled and directed”, Johansson was relied upon for the teaching of “wherein the method further comprises: selecting, by the user equipment, the target cell from the radio cell list indication ([0047] “Upon fast RLF, UE 501 performs cell selection in step 518 followed by an RRC reestablishment procedure in step 519”);
Applicant argues,
“Somasundaram further does not disclose or suggest "wherein the method further comprises: selecting, by the user equipment, the target cell from the radio cell list indication," as recited in claim 1“
Somasundaram was not cited for this limitation, Johansson was relied upon for the teaching of “wherein the method further comprises: selecting, by the user equipment, the target cell from the radio cell list indication ([0047] “Upon fast RLF, UE 501 performs cell selection in step 518 followed by an RRC reestablishment procedure in step 519”);
Applicant argues,
“Indeed, Somasundaram, which is the primary references used in the rejection, actually teaches away from the claimed invention by explicitly contradicting the express claim recitation that the radio link failure procedure "does not include performing a handover." Somasundaram's entire purpose is to facilitate and expedite a network-controlled handover when operating in a connected/active state. See, e.g., Somasundaram [0030], [0033], [0103]- [0104].”
The examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that these “wherein” limitations (i.e. “wherein the radio link failure procedure does not include performing a handover”) are non-functional limitations as they are not positively recited as active steps. For a more positive result, the examiner invites applicant to amend ”the wherein limitations” of claim 1 to positively recited active steps similar to limitations as claim 14 to distinguish the prior art from the “wherein the radio link failure procedure does not include performing a handover”.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is allowed.
The following is an examiner' s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 14 is allowed for the reasons as set forth in applicant' s response filed on 8/2/2020.
The closest prior art of records are Somasundaram (US 20080220784) in view of Johansson (US 20130183974) further in view of Viering (US 20180132300) further in view of Chisu (US 20180302934).
Regarding claim 14, Somasundaram teaches a method for enhancing continuity of data transmissions and/or for reducing interruption or interruption periods of data transmissions between a user equipment and a mobile communication network, the mobile communication network comprising or being assigned to a radio access network, the radio access network comprising at least a first base station entity (Fig. 1, serving cell) and a second base station entity (Fig. 1, neighbor cell), wherein the method comprises:
receiving, by the user equipment, a radio link threshold indication (serving cell threshold), the radio link threshold indication being related to at least one radio link quality parameter and indicating a threshold value regarding the at least one radio link quality parameter ([0106] “The serving cell threshold may be sent by the network in the SIB or measurement control message”)
measuring or detecting, by the user equipment while being in connected mode and being served by the first base station entity, a deterioration of a radio communication link between the user equipment and the first base station entity ([0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indifcates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x”); and
based on comparing the measured or detected deterioration to the threshold value of the radio link threshold indication, and prior to radio link failure, initiating, (the TTT interval is adjusted and a measurement report is transmitted), by the user equipment, a preparation stage for a radio link failure procedure (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down”),
wherein a possible outcome of the radio link failure procedure is the user equipment being served by the second base station entity (neighbor cell) instead of the first base station entity (“[0104] “the WTRU can send a measurement report that indicates that the serving cell signal measurement has fallen below the serving cell threshold x and identifies the neighbor cell on which the TTT interval is counting down, thereby requesting the network to send the handover command”).
The method further comprises: prior to initiating the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure, receiving, by the user equipment, a radio cell list indication, the radio cell list indication being related to potential target cells for serving the user equipment after the radio communication link between the user equipment and the first base station entity is interrupted (“[0016] 1) Neighbor cell list (NCL); [0031] In active state, the WTRU always measures the cells in its neighbor list which is sent in SIB11 or in the measurement control message..WTRU could also search and detect neighboring cells and perform measurements on them”);
Johansson teaches prior to the radio link failure (Fig. 5 step a fast 517 RLF), initiate a preparation stage (start timer and sends measurement report) for a radio link failure procedure ([0047] There are many ways to shorten the RLF evaluation, and one of them is to use a new T310a timer (e.g., starts timer t310a when UE 501 sends measurement report in step 514).)
Johansson further teaches wherein the method further comprises: selecting, by the user equipment, the target cell from the radio cell list indication ([0047] “Upon fast RLF, UE 501 performs cell selection in step 518 followed by an RRC reestablishment procedure in step 519”); wherein the radio link failure procedure includes a Radio Link Reestablishment towards a target cell ([0047] “Upon fast RLF, UE 501 performs cell selection in step 518 followed by an RRC reestablishment procedure in step 519”);
wherein the radio link failure procedure does not include performing a handover (Fig. 5 shows Step 517 Fast RLF Radio Link Failure is followed by Cell Selection step 518 and does not include handover step);
Johansson implicitly does not explicitly teach “RLF is based on a loss of the radio link to a current serving cell”.
In an analogous art, Viering teaches “RLF is based on a loss of the radio link to a current serving cell” ([0042] a radio link failure (RLF) basically refers to radio link or connection outage/drop/breakdown (due to bad quality on/of the radio link or connection).
Chisu teaches the threshold value corresponds to a quality level of the radio link between the user equipment and the first base station entity above a quality level that would trigger the radio link failure procedure (above a radio link failure threshold 604), such that the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure is initiated prior to deterioration of the quality level of the radio link to a quality level (quality indicators including a signal to noise ratio being below a predetermined threshold) at which the radio link failure procedure would be triggered ([0041] “a consideration of a threshold for receive quality indicators including a signal to noise ratio being below a predetermined threshold and above a radio link failure threshold 604; a consideration of path loss 606”.
However, the above references fail to teach all of the above limitations in combination with the following limitations:
after receiving the threshold indication and prior to initiating the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure, receiving, by the user equipment, a radio cell list indication containing three or less target cells;
during the preparation stage for the radio link failure procedure and at a point in time where actual radio link failure with the first base station entity has not yet occurred, performing a prioritized measurements using the target cells from the radio cell list indication;
in response to detecting a radio link failure procedure based on a loss of the radio link to a current serving cell and a Radio Link Reestablishment towards a target cell.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUNG L LAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2646
/JEANETTE J PARKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2646